Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Foreign doctors not interested to serve in Malaysia

Foreign doctors not interested to serve in Malaysia PDF Print
Friday, 12 December 2008 09:11

(Bernama) Foreign doctors and medical specialists regard Malaysia as the last choice to work although the Malaysian government offers them various incentives.

Deputy Health Minister Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad said the lack of doctors was a global problem currently.

“We try to attract doctors from India to work here but they are more interested to serve in first-choice countries like the United States and in Europe or the second choice, the Middle East,” he told reporters after opening the Methadone Conference, here, today.

He said the shortage of doctors in Malaysia had forced the government to look for an alternative by inviting foreign doctors and medical specialists to work in this country but it was not easy.

“Only an attractive package will make them come here but this will be very expensive for us.
“In fact, getting doctors from Indonesia to serve in Malaysia is also difficult as they are each being paid a monthly salary of 40-50 million rupiah (about RM15,000) while for the same position in government service in Malaysia, they will earn only about RM6,000 monthly despite having to work overtime.

“In contrast to the salary scheme in Malaysia, the Indonesian provinces which produce oil pay high salaries to the doctors there,” he said.

Malaysia would need 2,000 doctors, 1,000 assistant pharmacists and thousands of nurses in 2009, he said, and the best way to fill the vacancies for doctors was to hire foreigners.

However, the country would be able to overcome the shortage of doctors by 2016, he added.

Dr Abdul Latiff was also asked about the criticism by the opposition that the government was willing to spend billions of ringgit on defence equipment and not the same amount on improving the medical facilities.

To this, he said other than on hospital buildings and equipment, some expenses could not be seen such as on training and recruitment of doctors, nurses and other medical personnel.

“The common public complaint is the unsatisfactory service and the long wait at the hospitals to be seen by a doctor.

“Due to the shortage of doctors, many of them have to work overtime, but they are human beings, not robots.

“So, we hope the public will understand. After so many hours at work, they should not feel slighted or annoyed if the doctor is not putting on a smile,” he said.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, December 12, 2008 09:25:46
"However, the country would be able to overcome the shortage of doctors by 2016, he added."
How many times have we heard such statement before. There are many bright students who are capable of being qualified to be doctors but have not been given the chance by the government because of its racist policy. If not for parents who finance their children medical education, the shortage would even be more acute today. Above that, I heard from a doctor's friend that there are many foreigners including the well-to-do using government medical facilities in Sabah and Sarawak without paying. It's a norm to wait for five or six hours to be attended to by a doctor in a government outpatient clinic.
written by kingelvis, December 12, 2008 09:33:07
Frankly it's the NEP. Also many available to teach English in schools (qualified solely because their 1st language is english) but not employed because wrong race and religion. How more ridiculous can you get. Gomen knows real reason but won't change. Keep the malays living in the bubble.
NEP WAS MEANT TO HELP MALAYSIA NOT DESTROY IT! THINK THINK!!
written by batsman, December 12, 2008 09:45:00
Why not??? You can practice your skill and experiment without fear of being held responsible. You can even cause patient's death and get away with it if you are smart enough and have good political connections.
written by tanwi, December 12, 2008 09:47:02
truth be told is that there are plenty of Malaysian doctors just that they prefer to ply their trade in Singapore or other countries. When they graduate, officials from Singapore Govt will already be there to lure these doctors. Who could resist. Good pay and benefits, good security, low taxes etc etc. I dont blame this ppl but of course those who graduate as doctors by obtaining Malaysian study loans and grants should serve time in Malaysia.
written by Bigjoe99, December 12, 2008 10:05:03
Foreign doctors? LOCAL doctors don't want to work here!!!! Foreign doctors rather work as a nurse in US/UK/Australia than to work as a doctor here. Someday the many crappy LOCAL doctors will do the same!!!
written by ellyna, December 12, 2008 10:43:40
Hallo!! Local doctors also don't want to work here. And those that you give scholarships based on race are so inferior, the patients fear further damage to their health or lives when going for treatment. You should close shop and migrate to some uninhabited planet. The whole lot of you UMNO/BN are not fit to be on earth!
written by Melly, December 12, 2008 10:49:22
The gov'nt has fail the Rakyaat, again.
written by raven1958, December 12, 2008 11:01:59
In 2006...a dungu called Noorimee Morad of the Planning Division stated foreign doctors were incompetent, and our ball sucking DG followed suit and termed them troublesome. 200 were sacked. And this was reported in the world media including many blogs througout the world......No foreigner with the right qualifications will come to work for the crooks and buffoons running the Mnistry of Health.....Badawi instead of trying so hard to reinstate a criminal as its Washington Ambassodar ....should look into cleaning up the Ministry of Health and saving a few Malaysian lives.
written by sydput, December 12, 2008 11:02:54
I know one indian doctor who served at the universiti hospital for decades. Till the day he retired, he could not get PR nor citizenship.
This country gives PR to non-tax paying JI terrorist like Hambali, but denies PR and citizenship to thousands of tax paying and/or proffesionals from europe/india/china/singapore/australia who wanted to make malaysia their home.
written by cheekhiaw, December 12, 2008 11:07:07
What doctor would find it a privilege to serve under thieves, liars and murderers?

The only way that can happen is for them to doctor some medical degrees and qualifications for some nincompoops...

written by cllim123, December 12, 2008 11:20:48
How is it attractive when you put in the hard work and someone else gets promoted? How is it attractive when you work like dog and get paid less that a lazy ...(oink)?

But this is just the situation as it appears. What about our top scholars who had to study abroad because they could not get into our local uni for Medicine but somehow can qualify for Royal College of Surgeons? They who are many, have refused to come back. Our gormen chased them away... because of some obvious reasons of course.

Morons.
written by Lembing, December 12, 2008 11:43:46
This problem of shortage of doctors should not have occurred. BUT we should expect this because we have a bunch of idiotic ministers and Government servants whose main purpose is to fatten their own pockets with slimy schemes to launder their bribes.

An easy solution is to increase the intake of medical students. Best of all lower the entry level so that more intelligent BUMIPUTRAs can be admitted in medical schools. Never mind the quality of the medical graduates, after all they will be in Public Hospitals treating the bodoh rakyat, and most UMNOPUTRAS and their cronies have been seeking treatment in overseas hospitals.

Any court cases for medical negligence will be defended and most certainly won by the government with their friends in the judicial system.

SO the easy way out, lower the entry level into medical schools and admitting more Bumiputras. This would also means more Malays are being assisted by the Ketuan Melayu policy.......hitting 2 birds with one stone. Why didn't those idiotic UMNOPUTRAS think of this simple solution.

written by Mat Dude, December 12, 2008 11:45:19
yupe stupid gomen,,,increase the salarylah,,, u can afford to give foreign doc higher salary n cant give local doc the same amount? with basic salary of RM1700,better to work at electronic factory,,,after the OT,still can get that amount!
written by cheekhiaw, December 12, 2008 11:48:55
They pay local doctors so little because they think good doctors earn their living the way they do, by thievery, lies and taking people's lives.

written by Mat Dude, December 12, 2008 11:49:05
sorry,,,it had been increased to RM2400....RM1700 was during my housemanship period,8 yrs back,,,hehhehe...
written by cheekhiaw, December 12, 2008 11:49:42
They pay local doctors so little because they think good doctors earn their living the way they do, by thievery, lies and taking people's lives, for granted.

written by RumahPanjai, December 12, 2008 12:02:20
Where are all the qualified doctors from MU? Where are all our bumi doctors? The local universities should mass produce more doctors. Just dish out and give them their paper qualifications and in no time we will have a lot of quake doctors. Isn't this the government policy? After all, merit doesn't count when you study medicine in local universities.
written by Motherchell, December 12, 2008 12:56:16
""'Deputy Health Minister Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad said the lack of doctors was a global problem currently----- he needs a hard knock on his head.
Great Education Policies that exsit to keep away all the brains-- and yet this minister says he never lost his moustache!
written by Sabahfan, December 12, 2008 13:14:59
Yes, we now have plenty of bright young doctors even amonsts bumiputra...

but what happens? even the bumi doctors are given a very bad deal...

no chance of improving their skills or anything except to rot as GP in hospital for RM2000 per month. thats why they leave...

Only a few well connected docs get promoted to be director of health... but the rest dont even have a chance to become specialist or upgrade themselves to Masters level, the stupid govt of Malazutland expects that docs with only BMSc can cure all the deseases and ailments in this world...

SOLUTION.... GET RID OF THE UMNO AND BN GOVT FIRST, WE NEED TO CHANGE ALL THE POLICIES IN THIS BLOOODY COUNTRY..
written by Daryl, December 12, 2008 13:33:38
Dr Abdul Latiff was also asked about the criticism by the opposition that the government was willing to spend billions of ringgit on defence equipment and not the same amount on improving the medical facilities.

To this, he said other than on hospital buildings and equipment, some expenses could not be seen such as on training and recruitment of doctors, nurses and other medical personnel.

Aha.. aha.... Before I go can you please show me the numbers for expenditure between these two sectors. Also, please don't give me the rakyat cannot understand because rakyat can set up commitee that comprise of world top engineers, accountants, economics and educators to look through your report. Than these people can bring it to the rakyat and explain it in layman's term.
So, please don't BS as anymore....
written by diff2view, December 12, 2008 15:52:44
Remember the burmese doctor who gave the sincere report? how the goverment treat him? giving him pressure from all corner for wrong reasons..if this is the case, which doctor will come forward? mangkok bn.. smilies/cool.gif
written by lynn, December 12, 2008 15:54:09
This country has been destroyed by umno-led bn govt racist policies for decades.

Those ultra malays who think they are very smart to deny chinese & indian students scholarship to study medicine locally or abroad, who think in terms of ketuanan melayu & quotas are the traitors of the people. Today we are severely short of medical specialists like skin doctors, oncologists. Those seeking to enter such professions shld never hv been blocked by quotas. It's basic common sense. This decison by the ultras to block the non-Malays from taking medicine now comes back to haunt us - of course, the corrupt umnoputras can afford Prince Court Medical Centre or Pantai - but most of us cannot afford those high priced fees!

It's the govt's fault, mahathir's fault - if you are poor & have to visit the govt hospital, wait months or years for treatment, and you support bn, i say u best die, you stupid MF!!!
written by jamaludinjames, December 12, 2008 17:05:30
One thing for sure that our g'vt fail is they are blind. I have a friend whose son academic result was distinction from primary one until upper six. But, he was not qualified for UKM. smilies/sad.gif. why is this happening. Then, when certain people came back, they have to sit for BM test. Then again, when we appoint foreign doctors, they don't even speak BM. very very funny. WHAT A STUPID POLICY. OR MAYBE THE POLICY WAS MAKE BY STUPID MINISTERS. If this don't change, who would want to come back. The education policy now most probably math & science will be taught in BM, but the minister son study english abroad. come on lah, WHAT KIND OF LEADER IS THIS. IBU KETAM AJAR ANAK JALAN LURUS, TAPI SENDIRI????????? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Susanna, December 12, 2008 17:51:35
Aiyah we got so good doctors from University Malaya previously before the stupid education system caused it to downfall. Our doctors so good that they are so recognised in Singapore and other countries and why want to come back when they are not treated like first class citizens. So many bright students are siphoned off by the Singapore government via their Asean scholarship. And these are the ones our government let slip away because of their stupid education policy which looks at kulit qualification instead of by merit! Macam mana boleh ask foreigners to come when sendiri punya orang chase away?
written by Gargamel, December 12, 2008 18:45:23
Wah, Indonesia paying RM15,000 a month? Bye!
written by Gargamel, December 12, 2008 18:53:22
Check out doctors' salaries in the US:
http://www.allied-physicians.c...laries.htm

smilies/shocked.gif
written by AsamLaksa, December 12, 2008 19:25:56
Is this Deputy Health Minister for real??? Come tell us, Mr Deputy Minister, what information have you gathered as to the reasons why foreign doctors avoid Malaysia? If you do not know the cause then you won't be able to sort it out. Is lower pay all there is to it?

Typical BN culture - unable to face up on the current sorry state of affairs.
written by readmylips, December 12, 2008 21:38:17
Your're just another monkey in the chain of leaders in this country. Who in their right mind would want to come and live in Malaysia? Just read what that ape of a police head said about the rescue personnel who did not help. You sick people have Fu...ked up Malaysia.
written by kavidibaku, December 12, 2008 22:39:20
We try to attract doctors from India to work here but they are more interested to serve in first-choice countries like the United States and in Europe or the second choice, the Middle East,” he told reporters after opening the Methadone Conference, here, today.
You think indians are stupid to come to this racist country? They know well about the racist policies and how the indians are being treated here. Change your policies dude.
written by Invictus, December 12, 2008 22:54:48
Forget foreign doctors!! What about the local doctors welfare???
We are so short of doctors that each unfortunate doctor has to do the job of a couple of doctors (without sleep).
Nobody cares!!! As long as no one makes a Hu haa, gomen just can continue treating them as slaves.It's not that the doctors have a union to protect them (doctors are not permitted to).If finally any doctor speaks out because of fatigue and frustration :...... Use this line to shut them up..... " Medicine is a noble profession, so u shouldn't complain"
Doctor's are not slaves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-
written by Old Man, December 13, 2008 22:47:08
Yes, Indons are given not only PR but also Malaysia Citizenship in the name of race and religion. Foreign doctors are treated like slaves. Local doctors only know how play politics but do not know how to treat patients! Our Uitm is equivalent to Madrasahs of Pakistan! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif