Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow MIC’s Pathetic Drivel

MIC’s Pathetic Drivel PDF Print
Thursday, 11 December 2008 15:05
Recently the MIC propaganda machine apparently tried to set the record straight about its so-called re-branding exercise. Evidently, this setting straight of the record by the ‘MIC communication team’ was more of an retaliatory move to undermine the arguments various critics of MIC have been making, rather than a credible or convincing attempt to set the proverbial record ‘straight.’ I am not the least bit surprised that the ‘communication team’ was largely propagandist rather than substantive in its thrust.

As you might know, to say that I’ve been rather critical of the MIC leadership and its impotence would be a gross understatement. So I think it is not only appropriate if I do take the liberty to respond to Samy’s ‘communication team,’ I think I would be remiss not to – once again – point out exactly why the criticism that many of MIC’s critics have leveled against the party, contrary to its claims, is not only highly warranted but indeed a contribution to genuinely setting the record straight. To this end, rather than respond to and comment on every single rhetorical point of the MIC’s ‘communication team,’ I will make my points about the problem with MIC and its credibility be responding to selected remarks of the MIC team. 

At one point, the ‘communication team’ claims, ‘MIC and its leaders are not arrogant. Arrogance only steps in when one denies the truth and remains ignorant of the facts of the subject matter.’

I submit to you that in recent months alone, there have been several instances of arrogance where, to quote the ‘communication team, ‘one denies the truth and remains ignorant of the facts of the subject matter.’ Let me highlight one case in point of ignorance – as described by the MIC’s team itself – displayed by one of its leaders. Several weeks back, the MIC’s deputy president had insisted that Indians in Malaysia are not marginalised. Now, talk about an ignorant (and arrogant?) statement! How’s that for denying the truth and being ignorant! But then, when one is engaging in propaganda, what’s the use for facts? So, you see why it is impossible for me to take seriously these kinds of propaganda claims by the MIC’s so-called ‘communication team’?

Let me take up another example from the ‘communication team’ to illustrate another shortcoming evident in its propaganda. It is claimed that the ‘MIC does not engage in fashionable actions such as street demonstrations which have been popular but rather ineffective. MIC has its own institution whose effectiveness has been tested and proven. It has the power to mobilise 500,000 people overnight if it wants to. Confrontational measures are our last resort whereas mutual respect and negotiations have always been our modus operandi. ’

Now, maybe the blind and brain-dead cronies of Samy Vellu may be impressed. I’m not. First, let me say that after almost half a century of having a stranglehold and monopoly over the preponderance of Malaysian Indian voters, it would be embarrassing indeed if the MIC could not ‘mobilise’ a few hundred thousand people if it wanted to. I would think that given all the MIC’s incompetence and ineptness, at least it could stir up enough of MIC cronies to do this much. So don’t be too self-congratulatory about something that is not particularly much of a challenge to accomplish.

Second, I’m equally humoured at your sense of cognitive dissonance and arrogance about your – at best – dismal accomplishments to date. The claim that the ‘MIC has its own institutions whose effectiveness has been tested and proven’ are not only overly – once more – self-congratulatory, they’re also utterly hollow and without credibility in the eyes of millions. I submit that the Hindu temple destructions is a perfect example of why such a claim by the MIC ‘communication team’ is not only nonsensical, it is farcical. Only recently, we learnt again of another case of a Hindu shrine being destroyed in Taman Desa, Seputeh.

By the MIC’s own admission, this destruction at Taman Desa upset the MIC because it supposedly had an understanding with the Federal Territories Minister that no temples would be destroyed unless alternative land is first allocated for the displaced temple.  Continue Reading Here

written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 15:10:52
i would have thought, rebranding means new name, new product, new chairman of the company, even new colours new quality but as far as i can see, it is the same ole blackie with half a value or semi value. with the same ole lies, and same ole propaganda. if this MIC survives another year in existence, then there must be millions of stupid malaysians.
written by AKIKO, December 11, 2008 15:46:11
MIC can't even talk nor walk straight but wants to Blog lies and half truths. Check out http://indiansmalaya.********.com
written by Apache, December 11, 2008 15:47:52
MIC rebranding my foot. Im just waiting for MIC to lie down and die together with Semi Vellu and his cronies. We indians are lagging in everything bcos of this heading MIC. MIC should be dissolved for all i care. No indians in his right mind should support MIC anymore unless complete revamp id done by kicking out Semi vellu 1st.
written by carribeanking7, December 11, 2008 16:09:50
When it comes to lame political spin MIC is not very different from UMNO.

You allow them too much credit G.Krishnan when you gave the the benefit of doubt of their boast of being able
to mobilize 500,000 people overnight, I say BULLSHIT !! I challenge them to do this.
MIC brags about having 600,000 members yet in GE12 they only managed to get only 179,422 popular votes,
which represents a pathetic 2.21% of the total votes that too by those who still gave MIC the benefit of the doubt.

Then MIC announced that their campaign in Permatang Pauh by election was a success, Imagine that !!

Their "communication team" must have been inspired by our buffoon of an ex-information minister Zainudin Maidin.

When Hindraf leaders were arrested Samy became UMNO's lackey when he agreed that they had links to the Tamil Tigers,
until his lies were exposed on NDTV India, the interview is in the following link, see how he squirms and evades the issue,
The mainstream media of course kept this info from the Malaysian public.

http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/story.aspx?id=NEWEN20080037517&ch=1/2/2008 6:04:00 PM

Samy is known to kill the messenger, he cannot stand bad news news thus there are many apple polishers within the party who dont tell him the actual situation. thus his overconfidence bordering on arrogance that caused MIC to lose 6 out their 9 seats obtained in 2004.
They have lost their support by a whopping 75%
In GE12 pakatan has 9 representatives of Indian ethnicity against MIC's 3,(not including appointed senators)
so it is laughable for them to proclaim that they represent the Indian community, I would further to venture that the 3600 delegates he talks about have a bastard legitimacy.

Since he is deafeningly silent on the challenge YB Kulasegaran has posed to him for a debate on the Maika debacle
I think a tribunal should be set up to exorcise the 25 year old Maika holdings ghost.

Samy Velu failed to see the writing on the wall , in fact his arrogance was glaring just prior to GE 12.
He declared that if I am not wanted by the Indians I will go,
if the results of the last polls is not an indicator, I do not know what is.

written by ahmadneil, December 11, 2008 16:48:07
Samy is not worried about the plight of the Indians.He is only worried that his wig is stays on his head and not get blown away by the wind.
written by Msian Idol3, December 11, 2008 17:03:55
Someone like Semi who swindle his own race & have no shame is indeed a pariah. Amazingly theres so many cari makan fellas in MIC & they need Semi & son. Well this is only good news for PR. Long live Semi, longer you are around the better it is for PR.
written by sdcsrcc, December 11, 2008 19:25:01
To rebrand is to give a brand to an old product....it does not at all mean that the product is a newer alternative to the earlier one. That is what exactly MIC is doing. In the 60s, and early 70s rebranding was a common thing where due to the lack of global communicational channel to make the customers aware, the latter were exploited by ruthless producers by merely rebranding without much improvement on the quality of the product.

MIC would need a major OVERHAUL and then it has RETHINK and RECREATE it s ideologies and finally wisely REPOSITION itself to gain the PUBLIC CONFIDENCE again. MUST RE-MEMBER that Malaysian Indians are much more smarter and educated than the older generation!

With REBRANDing, the only place that MIC would get is the back streets....!
written by maran08, December 11, 2008 20:15:59
MIC still can make it.

Choose a real Leader, Change the whole bunch of MIC.
What we have now
Branch level - All the member is own family.
- Not educated. Never mind but no vision & mission
- No acctivities, only Merdeka game become own family gathering.
State level - Same but Family members & others
- Educated but out of order.Can not think.
- Activities were useless.
Nation Level - Me & my son
- Dont know?
- Allocation from gov. Good profit.

We need change everything to fit our generation. If not MIC will be a party without members.

Makkaleh think.

written by alpha100, December 11, 2008 21:53:25
ophs! I thought they no more around! Still around kah? smilies/grin.gif
written by kedahan63, December 12, 2008 09:23:53
Dear Commentors & bloggers, do you think we should dumb down our comments? I'm afraid we might cause dear ole Pete a 2nd stay in "Royale Kamunting" as our comments might be wayyyy, wayyyy over the heads of the dungus. smilies/shocked.gif Like the pointy haired boss in Dilbert, if the dungus can;t understand what's written, they'll create all kinds of excuses to get all of us a room in Royale Kamunting and our dear Mini-ster of Infernal Affairs(whatever)the melayu celups in aaamno will certainly grant their "wishes"
written by devious17, December 12, 2008 10:29:54
MIC - Malayan Idiots Congress!what were you expecting? smilies/cheesy.gif They have been existance for so long and look at where the indian community are at? Pathetic indeed! smilies/angry.gif
written by ellyna, December 12, 2008 10:56:09
Samy is not dead yet kah?