Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The real meaning of sacrifice

The real meaning of sacrifice PDF Print
Thursday, 11 December 2008 11:52

Is Najib prepared to sacrifice power and position? Is he prepared to give up his post as Deputy Prime Minister and reject the post of Prime Minister that he is expected to take in March 2009? That is the real sacrifice and is what sacrifice is all about.

This is what the New Straits Times reported on 8 December 2008:

Najib: We must make sacrifices

PEKAN: Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said the significance of Hari Raya Aidil Adha lies in the fact that if Muslims seek to progress and succeed in their endeavours, spiritually and materially, it would not come without sacrifice.

He said the awareness of the need to sacrifice for success should be inculcated in all Muslims.

"The need to sacrifice, which is a blessing from God, is not only a matter of faith but also in our tasks undertaken," he said, at the handing over of 179 head of cattle and two camels to representatives of surau and mosques in his constituency.

Present at the function was Najib's wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor.

Because of the heavy rain at Najib's family house, the hand over of the cattle and camel was shifted to the Sultan Ahmad Shah Convention Centre at the town centre here.

The live animals were brought into the convention centre in a lorry and Najib handed them over to the coordinator of the programme.

The animals, which will be taken to the respective surau and mosques in the Pekan constituency, will be slaughtered after Aidiladha prayers today. – NST, 8 Dec 2008

How often do we hear Muslims talk about ‘sacrifice’ and ‘jihad’? These two words are probably the most used words alongside the words ‘akidah’ and ‘tawhid’.

Today I do not want to talk about akidah or tawhid. I already debated this matter with the ustaz from Jakim while in Kamunting and the debate went nowhere. Basically, they look at things from the theoretical point of view but offer no solutions as to how to put theory into practice. When we offer them examples of practical applications gone awry they quickly look at their watch and tell us that time does not permit us to prolong the debate and that we should break for lunch.

No, they do not want to confront reality in spite of them knowing that theory can sometimes be a great departure from practice. Communism, in theory, sounds good. In practice it’s another thing altogether. Capitalism is another ‘theory’ that is proving disastrous. It has now dawned on the world that capitalism may yet trigger the ‘end of the world’ that we have known for 200 years and that we may be seeing, at the point of a gun, the beginning of a new system that will replace capitalism.

Did not Jesus physically evict the moneychangers from the temple? 2,000 years later we might, again, be evicting the moneychangers from the Temple of Capitalism. Money has become worthless, at least the paper money that we know today.

Will we see the exit of ‘paper’ and the re-emergence of barter trade? Seven of my goats for one of your cows! Fifty of my chickens for one of your goats! One cow for a vote for Barisan Nasional -- five cows for an Umno Supreme Council post! One handshake from Nurul Izzah Anwar or a kiss on the cheek from Hannah Yeoh for one vote for Pakatan Rakyat! (I voted for Hannah Yeoh for just a sweet, enchanting smile. But then I come cheap -- ooo….what a smile from a sweet young thing can do for me.)

The list of barter trading possibilities is endless so let your imagination run wild on this one. (I can already anticipate the comments from readers on the barter trading they are going to propose). Yes, soon, paper money will be so worthless no one will want it. It will have to be goods for goods or goods for services, and vice versa. That’s how it used to be until some smart aleck replaced the system with paper money. And that was the beginning of our problems, and which is going to haunt us come 2009.

And Najib Tun Razak wants to become Prime Minister just when this economic earthquake hits us. If I were Najib I would allow Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to stay on till 2010. I would not want to be the Prime Minister who takes the blame for the worst economic period in Malaysian history. And the Finance Minister 2 says that we shall not be having a recession in 2009. Sheesh, where did he learn economics?

Anyway, back to the subject matter. Najib talked about ‘sacrifice’ in his statement on Hari Raya Korban (the Ide’ of Sacrifice). For those who do not know what Hari Raya Korban is all about, it is a festival to celebrate Abraham’s sacrifice of his son, which was originally ordered by God and then, just as he was about to carry out God’s command, was replaced by a sacrifice of an animal, at the command of God.

“What has Abraham got to do with Islam?” some of you may ask. The Quran says that all the followers of Moses and the followers of Jesus who follow the way of Abraham are the true submitters (Muslim). So the way of Abraham is the way (adeen) of Islam. And that is why Kofi Anan, in his speech in the UN, said, “We are all children of Abraham (meaning Jews, Christians and Muslims).”

Does this therefore make Jews, Christians and Muslims brothers/sisters? 99% of those from the Abrahamic faith would answer “No!” They will argue that Jews, Christians and Muslims are enemies of one another. This is not surprising considering that Jews, Christians and Muslims are enemies amongst themselves, what more inter-religion.

Sacrifice and jihad come together. They cannot be separated. They are like Siamese twins where two bodies share one internal organ. And I am not talking about the jihad of fighting the Russian army in Afghanistan. That is the Small Jihad. I am talking about the Greater Jihad. I am talking about the Great War. I am talking about the war you wage against yourself.

Jihad is the war you wage against temptation, lust, jealousy, greed, envy, vanity and egoism -- just to mention but seven of the many ills afflicting humankind. “Get thee behind me Satan,” say the Christians. And Muslims too believe that Satan has made a deal with God to tempt humankind and lead him astray. The Christians and Muslims actually believe the same thing in many things.

When we talk about lust it is not just about sexual lust. Lust for power and wealth are in fact more dangerous than sexual lust. When you lust for power and wealth you will stop at nothing to get them and this is what makes humankind most immoral. When you are envious about the success of others and you too want the power and wealth that others have this too makes you immoral. When you are vain and have a huge ego and think that you too deserve power and wealth the immoral streak in you takes over.

Can you see how temptation, lust, jealousy, greed, envy, vanity and egoism come as a package? Normally, when have one, then you have all seven. And the Greater Jihad is the fight against the ‘seven deadly sins’? These seven are all within us. It is something that lurks in our hearts. And fighting it is harder than fighting the Russian army in Afghanistan.

"The need to sacrifice, which is a blessing from God, is not only a matter of faith but also in our tasks undertaken," said Najib. I agree and I welcome that statement from Najib. But ‘sacrifice’ is more than just about slaughtering a poor cow and eating its meat afterwards. It is bigger than that. Sacrifice is about embarking on the Greater Jihad to shut out the feelings of temptation, lust, jealousy, greed, envy, vanity and egoism. If you can’t do this then you have sacrificed nothing, other than an unfortunate cow.

Is Najib prepared to sacrifice power and position? Is he prepared to give up his post as Deputy Prime Minister and reject the post of Prime Minister that he is expected to take in March 2009? That is the real sacrifice and is what sacrifice is all about. That is the Greater Jihad, the Jihad of sacrifice -- the rejection of temptation, lust, jealousy, greed, envy, vanity and egoism. But all we have seen thus far is the sacrifice of cows. You did not sacrifice anything. It was the cow that sacrificed its life, albeit reluctantly since it had no choice in the matter.

I love talking about Jihad and sacrifice. It is my favourite subject. But many who also talk about it do not understand its concept. It is not about killing cows to eat its meat. It is not about fighting the Russians in Afghanistan. It is about you telling Satan, “Get behind me.” I know there are many Satans already standing behind Najib, waiting for him to take over as Prime Minister. But this is not quite what I mean. These Satans standing behind Najib are waiting to rip off what is left of our country come March 2009 when Najib takes over as Prime Minister.

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by batsman, December 11, 2008 12:02:48
Hasn't Najib sacrificed enough with this C4 thing? If he did it for himself, then maybe he should sacrifice some more, but if he did it for UMNO, then doesn't he deserve his just desserts by being promoted to PM?
written by panca, December 11, 2008 12:03:42
Bro Pete,

They have no MIRROR IN THE HOUSE, not anywhere, maybe there is one right on top the ceiling of hid bedroom!

Itu apa nama.....Oh, Cakap tak serupa bikin!
written by indianputra, December 11, 2008 12:06:26
You don't need to sacrifice dumb animals in the name of God! God never wanted or asked anyone of us to sacrifice any blood in His name. It is not only the Muslims, but the Indians also sacrifice animals as a vow to achieve their wishes.

God does not want animal sacrifices. What He wants is all of us to remove the animal instincts in each one of us. Sacrifice those animal instincts that are causing misery and unhappiness to each one of us... and leave the animals alone.
disagree 18
agree 213
written by michael chick, December 11, 2008 12:13:20
What Sacrifice?? Najib should go to Jail !!!

agree 213
written by Tompios, December 11, 2008 12:16:19
Good! You are coming back Dear Angmoh. Sacrifice? Good spirit. Come and preach this in my temple dear RPK.
written by Rashid, December 11, 2008 12:26:06
sacrifice? My foot. Najis talking about Islam and the Malays? well, they say a man is his family and children. Look at his son and then see if he has "sacrificed" for anything, anything whatsoever.
fondling "kafir" breasts. I guess this is Najib's "sacrifice".
Najib "sacrificing" Malaysians so that his son can get many concubines
Najib showing how his son "sacrifices" for the Malays so that they "progress"
Najib's son showing what "ultimate sacrifice" is all about. Hidup Melayu.
written by Bandit, December 11, 2008 12:26:21
Cowards kill animals in the name of religion. Yeah go ahead and attack me. Those who kill defenceless animals are the worst of all creatures. The sight of an animal dying after the throat is slit is the last thing any real god fearing man would want to indulge in. Coming to the meaning of sacrifice, why arent we sacrificing our own dirty habits and promising to change for the better? Politicians like Najib cannot change. What do the mean by sacrificing animals and giving their meat to the poor and needy means? It means that "they" ie the coward who provided the poor animal for sacrifice is actually the provider and puts himself above God. Politicians consider themselves above God and its only power and money they worship. The rest is all a sandiwara.
disagree 19
agree 153
written by Rashid, December 11, 2008 12:34:42
I really like this part:
He said the awareness of the need to sacrifice for success should be inculcated in all Muslims.

Well, that's how the Umnoputras have manipulated the Malay people. That's how they show 'sacrifice'. And then this is what their children do.
Najib's son showing some 'sacrifice'
Umno Minister Nazri's son showing "ultimate" sacrifice for "Islam" and the "Malays"

An Umno minister's son showing how he sacrifices for Ketuanan Melayu

An Umno Minister shows sacrifice through his son for the "Malays" and "Islam"
written by malaysianohope, December 11, 2008 12:45:54
Wah Abang! Sure or not... 179 cows & 2 camels is alot of meat enough to feed the whole town of Pekan lo! I think the word sacrifice in not in C4 vocabulary, bearing in mind he has to deal with Rosie whose thirst for power bears no boundary. In my life I've witness a few real sacrifices like the partner of a large firm giving up his profession to do full time Ministry and the sacrifices of Single Mothers who had to edge out a living to raise their kids single handedly. For these sacrifices I salute you all out there whoever you are!

Btw I had to say your bits about Hanna Yeoh is hilarious but I'm sure Marina is not the jealous type & that she knows the devil in you better than anyone here.
Abang, Marina & family, you all have a fruitful weekend!
From you fan
written by anak penang, December 11, 2008 12:47:47
Present at the function was Najib's wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor.

RPK-that was a mistake in your sentence.
It should read " Present at the function was Najib's husband, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, December 11, 2008 12:48:21
I understand your despair--- when change is a bad word to them -- how will any good things happen. Keeping the fable of religion from detention centers to the streets of the Nation wont bring the progress Malaysia needs. -- If he ever becomes a PM --- he would consolidate to rule with an iron hand than cater to , change for the better things that have gone down the drain.
UMNO is the disease--- we are the cure for it !Its a 51 year old epidemic!!

written by Tornado, December 11, 2008 12:48:24
Agree! Most people thinks JIHAD is fighting enemy during war however that JIHAD is one amongst all JIHAD. The biggest and greatest JIHAD is finghting ourselves. Fighting ourselves from mungkar things & behaviours. The biggest JIHAD is "Amar Mahruf, Nahi Mungkar".
written by Apache3, December 11, 2008 12:50:05
YM RPK your words ARE TRUE.
JIHAD means fighting the TEMPTATIONS OF THE DEVIL WITHIN YOU.
written by zin dahari, December 11, 2008 12:54:18
"One handshake from Nurul Izzah Anwar or a kiss on the cheek from Hannah Yeoh for one vote for Pakatan Rakyat! (I voted for Hannah Yeoh for just a sweet, enchanting smile. But then I come cheap -- ooo….what a smile from a sweet young thing can do for me.)"

--------------

Ha ha ha ... that's the beauty about age (58, right Pete?). One can be wisely cheeky but shall not lose sight of the real issue. A minor distraction makes good reading anyway. Of course, I concur with your view on the Greater Jihad.
written by sampalee, December 11, 2008 13:00:33
The light of Allah shine through RPK as he pen this article.Yes,Najib will be selamat if he can make the sacrifice suggested by RPK.Tuhan is most forgiving
written by cahaya, December 11, 2008 13:03:43
Someone did an analysis on Authority, and he suggested four components:

1. The Authority of Competence: the more competent the other fellow knows you are, the more confident he will be that you know what you are talking about and the more likely he will be to follow your orders, requests, or suggestions. He will think of you as an authority in the matter under consideration and will feel it risky to ignore your wishes.

2. The Authority of Position: This component gives you the right to tell someone, “Do it or else.” It has teeth. “The boss wants it” is a bugle call that can snap many an office or shop into action.

3. The Authority of Personality: The easier it is for the other fellow to talk to you, to listen to you, or to work with you, the easier he will find it to respond to your wishes.

4. The Authority of Character: This component is your “credit rating” with other people as to your integrity, reliability, honesty, loyalty, sincerity, personal morals, and ethics. Obviously you will get more and better from a man who has respect for your character than from one who hasn’t.

William Oncken, Jr., Colorado Institute of Technology Journal, vol. 22 (July 1970): p.273.

Many local leaders would fail this test on Authority. Not only due to a lack of Competence, but because they have sacrificed Character (that is, now they lack integrity, reliability, honesty, loyalty, sincerity, personal morals, and ethics).
written by merlin2001, December 11, 2008 13:07:28
If I give one of my kidney to someone I do not know, that is sacrifice.
If I volunteer to donate my organs to others when my passing comes about that is sacrifice.
If I give my self made hard earned money to any form of charity that is sacrifice.
True sacrifice comes from what is really mine to give.
False sacrifices come from dirty corrupt cheating treasure chest to give.
Are not the people who accept it and eat the meat bought with dirty money just as sinful as the giver?
Sorry Pete Najib will never give up the opportunity to be PM. Think of how much more he will make being the chief.
Somewhere, somehow, someone, or some group will have to invoke this to save our nation from further embarrassment.
If the delegates of UMNO remembers their Muslim teaching, then they must say no to Najib. They also have to realize that here lies the integrity of UMNO and its future. If money is too important to them which I think is always the case then it is a lost cause.
Alternatively and most very unlikely is for PR to move a motion in the house to stand off Najib. If MCA, MIC, and the eastern brother parties knows what is good for them they will vote with PR. Should they decide otherwise they will be toast come 2013.
Jan 17 the KT elections will be walk the talk to test the purity of Muslims with a little help of the Chinese there.
written by SCM, December 11, 2008 13:32:10
Is Najib prepared to sacrifice power and position and reject the post of Prime Minister? I think there's a better chance of Samy Vellu and Nallakarupan helping the Indians than Najis giving up this lucrative position and lose out on raping Malaysians of billions. Will fatty pig Rosmah even let him think of quitting? No way. I think Najib should sacrifice that fat pig Rosmah and feed her to the hungry. There will be enough left over even after feeding all the hungry in Darfur.
written by delCapo, December 11, 2008 13:35:35
Najib cannot be PM.... or else Rosie will makan even more of our $$$
For a start let him "lose" KT by elections.... that will send a mother of all spanners into his works =]

written by batsman, December 11, 2008 13:44:08
Will Najib sacrifice more by refusing to be PM or by being PM? After all with this cloud of suspicion of murder hanging over him, how will be face foreign dignitaries? Don’t forget he will be representing Malaysia. What about foreign intelligence agencies? Knowing his reputation as a playboy, they must be falling over themselves to use seductive agents to try and get him in compromising positions and blackmail him. Who knows if this has not already happened? Judging by the way he handles the global crisis as Malaysia’s Finance Minister, it seems he is trying to help the US rather than help Malaysia. Heaven forbid if the Israelis start to blackmail him.

Don’t talk about foreigners. How will he face Malaysians? He must grow at least 2 inches of extra skin. Don’t forget he will be role model for all our kids and innocent children. What will they be thinking when they are saying their prayers and Najib’s face comes on TV?

Don’t talk about Malaysians, what about his own wife and children? Will they make the ultimate sacrifice of not blackmailing him to get goodies? How about extra powers for the Kitchen Cabinet? How about that new Ferrari that just came onto the market? How about a few hundred thousand a month extra pocket money?

Don’t talk about his wife and children. What about facing himself? Will he have enough respect for himself? Will he say “What the heck, if people already think I am a bad guy, why not be the bad guy anyway?” Can he keep his fingers off the nation’s Treasury? Will he be able to keep his fingers off other people’s wives?

Looks to me like Najib will be making a lot more sacrifices by being PM than by refusing to be PM.
written by The dragonheart, December 11, 2008 13:56:13
My understanding of Korban (Sacrifice) and Jihad (Fight for God) .....

1. Nobody sacrifice 100% to another human being (or even materials). No hero will be willing to die in a stupid way. Most heros who died due to plain bravery are stupid people. Heros don't die because they are smart. They do things in the smartest way. Prophet Muhammad PBUH did not die in battle field but on bed. Korban is the highest form of sacrifice that one gives to God and God only. Any other sacrifice other then for God, I called them as Commitment. Pure and raw commitment is like a very sick mother who is bed ridden crawl to the kitchen at 3 am in the morning to make the best milk for her crying and hungry baby. Human do no give 100% of what they got to another human, not even a mother to a child. She might give 99% but not 100%. There a Human should say "I am committed..." rather then " I must sacrifice ..." for another fellow human....UNLESS he is doing it for God and nothing less.

2. People fight because of Emotions, jealously (not love), to gain more power, greed of property and wealth, defend his family, defend is country etc. All these fights are due to emotions and nothing more. Jihad is for God only nothing less. There's a history of Saidina Ali during a war name Uhud war. Saidina Ali got involved in this war after Muslim's warriors fought with Jewish warriors, at last Saidina Ali, alone, fought with a Jewish warrior. Suddenly, Saidina Ali got the chance to kill his enemy. when he wanted to kill his enemy, suddenly, the Jewish spit on his face. Then, Saidina Ali ran and left that Jewish. On the next day, that Jewish came to Saidina Ali and asked him why he didn't kill him as he got the chance to kill him. Saidina Ali answered, 'when I wanted to kill you, I wanted to fight For ALLAH, but when you spit on my face, I ran, not because I'm scared of you. But I'm scared of Allah. If I still kill you, I won't kill because of Allah, but i kill because of my anger and emotion, and the truth about anger is one of the devil attitude. On that time, that jewish has converted to Islam. Basically this explains what Jihad means in comparison to fight due to emotions. Most of us Muslims and non-Muslims fights due to emotions.
written by burn22, December 11, 2008 13:57:59
will wait till the cow jump over the moon... than i will believe
written by carribeanking7, December 11, 2008 13:58:22
Quote :
Will we see the exit of ‘paper’ and the re-emergence of barter trade? Seven of my goats for one of your cows! Fifty of my chickens for one of your goats!

Actually I sent a note to Pak lah on warkahuntukPM - on my idea to have barter trade with Saudi Arabia, our palm oil for their black crude at an agreed upon exchange, this would have removed part of these commodities out of the volatile hands of speculative commodities futures traders but....Pak lah asked us to "ubah gaya hidup." and Najibs solution to falling oil palm prices is to give out fertiliser subsidies.

As for Jihad and Korban, Pete- you have said yet again in an eloquent way, that substance is more important than form.
written by ahmadneil, December 11, 2008 14:00:41
Aminah was his sacrificial lamb and she was sacrifice to save himself.
written by Thinkwisely, December 11, 2008 14:11:12
Hi Pete,
What you said is perfectly correct. Any good religion is sharing almost the same teaching whereby the greatest sacrifice begins with self repentance of sins committed. Theoretically everything laid down by the God is perfect but as you said practically it is hard for human being to truly understand it and execute it accordingly. This is what happen in this world where true religion teaching was somehow misinterpreted and manipulated by those seeking power and wealth and causes confusion and chaos.

Truly religious leader will refuse to resume power for he/she knows it may potentially deviate from their faith due to the irresistible temptation of wealth and others sin. Truly religious leader once resume power will sacrifice his own possession be it wealth, family etc for the sake of people. Truly religious leader knows that whatever they do will have great implication when comes to his/her own judgment day as their act will means benefit or suffering of thousands of human beings. It is kind of either you will receive thousand of credits or commit thousands of afflictions because the impact is just too great.

If we study the history of man kind civilization, it is not difficult to find out that great evolution of man kind happened as a result of great sacrifice of the truly great leader
written by Siapabohong, December 11, 2008 14:50:22
Dear The dragonheart, very interesting story about Saidina Ali, but alas how many especially those who profess the heavenly religions would do such a thing. When opportunity arises they would kill rather than sacrify in the name of God. worst they would shout the name of God as though God has given them the right to kill. Mumbai tragedy is a very clear example. Locally, the attitude of 'kasi bunuh itu India, itu Cina, kasi halau itu India, itu Cina', vice versa, still very thick in the mind of us. Bukit Antarabangsa landslide another good example, why bother to help the late Ng Ying Peng, she was not one of us, mati apa susah!
written by Kunta Kinte, December 11, 2008 14:53:55
Dear pete,
Najib bought Rosmah from that RTM presenter.How can he even sacrifice anything besides talk, talk and talk? C4 and lust says it all. Poor cows! Have Mercy on them!
written by Susanna, December 11, 2008 15:07:19
Don't we already know all those in UMNO are munafiq, munafiq, munafiq? They have no qualms about lip service. Their hearts are hardened. Willing to even sacrifice family and human lives what is that to just talk. talk is cheap. NATO - No Action Talk Only.
written by FuLinYu, December 11, 2008 15:51:59
I love talking about Jihad and sacrifice. It is my favourite subject. But many who also talk about it do not understand its concept. It is not about killing cows to eat its meat. It is not about fighting the Russians in Afghanistan. It is about you telling Satan, “Get behind me.” I know there are many Satans already standing behind Najib, waiting for him to take over as Prime Minister. But this is not quite what I mean.

Hahaha! Thanks, abang Pete. I had a real good laugh here! Keep it coming.
written by Catharsis, December 11, 2008 16:18:38
Tolong Lah.......lest these infantiles may ban the words Jesus, Moses and Abraham from being used by the Christians and keep them exclusively for their use only as they are recorded in the Holy Koran.................
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 11, 2008 17:03:22
Salam Pete,

I just love the last sentence in the last paragraph.
written by zam3886, December 11, 2008 17:14:23
The 7 inherent sins are already deeply embeded in our lives and society. Unknowingly, we are using certain aspects of the sins to do/drive seemingly acceptable things like having a successful career to enjoying a movie to getting the best bargain in pasar malam and etc. We have come to depend so much on them that we wouln't know what is there left in life without it. We have to find a way to experience the beauty of not indulging in the seven sins.
written by cahaya, December 11, 2008 17:43:38
The ritual of sacrifice without heart is meaningless and useless.

An obedient mind and humble heart is always the true sacrifice.
To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.
written by Msian Idol3, December 11, 2008 17:45:58
What kind of sacrifices are we talking about when we have people like Najlis using race & religion to hijack the real issues face by the country. Meantime they just race around KL with their outriders. These people have not sacrifice an ounce of daily hardship waiting in line at traffic jams let alone wanting to sacrifice their good intentions. One can easily name so many negative issues in the country from C4 crime to many many mores ....If they are really working hard & sacrificing their time for the rakyat & country or even helping their own race, things won't be so bad. So what sacrifice when they are always in denial of facts & that someone is always to be blamed but not their "quality" leadership. Lets make sure KT goes to PR.
written by cahaya, December 11, 2008 17:46:36
He should sacrifice some time from his busy schedule to attend court and to answer many questions, so that he can fully account for himself.
written by malgal, December 11, 2008 18:03:41
I think the jerit cyclists sacrificed time, money, sleep and safety from police taunts.
written by miwaki, December 11, 2008 18:30:23
If cows could talk,it would tell human that they would not want to be sacrifice.Why can't human replace cows or any other animals as sacrifice with vegetables.If animals such as cow,chicken or fish are meant for food of human then God should make them climax when they are slaughtered,not pain !
written by bakas, December 11, 2008 18:48:19
It is about you telling Satan, “Get behind me.” I know there are many Satans already standing behind Najib, waiting for him to take over as Prime Minister. But this is not quite what I mean. These Satans standing behind Najib are waiting to rip off what is left of our country come March 2009 when Najib takes over as Prime Minister.

LOL...priceless...absolutely priceless. Try reading between the lines, you guys...

LOL......Wahahahahaha...!!!!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cheemengwong, December 11, 2008 19:35:07
Pete make a lot of sacrifices writing and educating the public. He sacrificed his time, money, freedom and family for the sake of many. How many of us recognize this?

The Mongolian girl sacrificed her life so that some bigshot can continue living in luxury!

Your mother and mine sacrificed their youth and beauty to have us. So let us not be moronic like Najis.

You too can sacrificed your time to learn some noble issues so that when the time comes we can act right and make this place a better one.

The list goes on...

Young people should not sacrificed their virginity for a moments pleasure and regret a life time!

My friend Jack Seng forgot about it and came back from Thailand with his Penis looking like a machine gun's muzzle with holes everywhere. Now his mental state is compromised and can never think selflessly. He became selfish, and would sell his mother at moments notice to serve his selfishness.

There are many forms of sacrifice but sacrificing without asking back for anything is noble.

If you don't believe me, go ask your mother!
written by Rozlan, December 11, 2008 19:36:00
We muslims sacrifice cows and eat them...Why should we worship them.I mean why should we worship things dumber than us.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Anyway back to the issue.Najib didnt know what sacrifice mean.What he know that during Hariraya Korban got public holiday...Thats..But he truly know the phrase "sacrificing others".. smilies/smiley.gif
written by MatPenang, December 11, 2008 19:55:28
written by MatPenang, December 11, 2008 19:57:07
(I voted for Hannah Yeoh for just a sweet, enchanting smile. But then I come cheap -- ooo….what a smile from a sweet young thing can do for me.)
Just for you Pete!!!
http://lh4.ggpht.com/_vDahPpWTFDU/R8nQha_xG2I/AAAAAAAAAO4/YnjXSTvRHMA/nurul_izzah_01March2008_USJ12_05.jpg
written by jeya, December 11, 2008 19:58:15
Good Peoples of MT! smilies/cool.gif
If it means that I slaughter a God's animal as sacrifice, then I will not.
If it means that by killing God's creatures for my gain, then I will not.
If it means that I get power by killing God's animals, then I rather die!

For if such is the case, I will kill humans!

Bukit Antarabangsa is the SUPREME EXAMPLE of LOCAL GOVERNMENT GENOCIDE!

So, sorry RPK!

The animals,frogs,birds,monkeys,dogs & cats that are around my home - well my good wife says God has send them to us.

So, Sorry Lah!

Maybe x 100, my ol'friend Nagib{ 40 years ago } will not kill{oops sacrifice God's animals anymore!

Godspeed! smilies/cool.gif
written by sampalee, December 11, 2008 20:12:08
RPK understanding of Islam is wat above many ulamak and his faith so much stronger.A true mukmim.
written by Jit Dharma, December 11, 2008 22:06:15
Brother RPK, I agree with Sampalee, you are a true mukmim.Swami
Vivekananda, the great Hindu reformer and Saint, asked," how is it
that a man can love God whom he can't see,if he can't love the
people around him that he can see?" You radiate a love for your
countrymen of all faiths and so I suspect you also have a strong
love for the Creator. As it should be.They that love the idea of
heaven more than their own brethren will never see it.
written by Awaken64, December 11, 2008 23:04:46
RPK... you definately are a realised being!!!

The problem is we see things in concepts and hold so tight to these beliefs. Man created GOD as a concept during the primordial times and it has latched on since.
Refer this Gods of the Gap - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God_of_the_gaps

The purpose of life and ones spirituality precedes the action. We control the mortal sin and purify our mind. We are what we think.

Here lies the problems that becomes in our society.
written by mick_err_stan, December 11, 2008 23:28:28
How can a racist make sacrifice? How can someone who want to bath his Keris with Chinese blood make sacrifice ? Malaysia with a unique diverse racial mix and blessed with natural resources has the potential to be a great nation, setting the pace for others to follow. After 51 years the shallow are still promoting Malay Supremacy/NEP, calling non-malays pendatang, using ISA to silence the enlightened, supporting the ignorant to intimidate and to promote fear to maintain power.

After 51 years, any other race** would have achieve supremacy based on acquired abilities and knowledge to compete with the best with the special priviledges and preferencial treatment accorded to them. How many more years do you need before you can catch-up with the minority.

**My apologies to my Malay friends who on their own merits, today are successful. I have no intention of belittling fellow Malaysians, but to direct attention to the adversity of 51 years of racial governance adopted by the present government resulting to a divided country moving backward instead of forward.
written by chiongguo, December 12, 2008 00:07:02
The nature of giving or giving-up is such that when it is viewed as a sacrifice it is no longer a sacrifice. If we could give or give-up something without thought of the value that we have given or given-up then there is no attachment and the giving is a true giving and is most valuable. If we HAVE to give or give-up because it is expected of us or if it helped us score political mileage then our reward is given in full.

We often make offerings in the name of religion and we even have certain rules that we follow to go through the ritual. But true giving comes from the heart and the object of the giving then become less important. Once a very staunch follower of Buddha in the desert met with a highly accomplished practitioner. The follower asked the person to be his teacher. The yogi in turn asked the follower to make him an offering. The follower was lost and didn't know what kind of offering would please the yogi. The yogi laughed, stripped off his pants and urinated on the sand. He scooped up a handful of the sand and shaped it it into a piece of cake offering and said this offering would be enough and he proceeded to smash it over the follower's head. The follower at that moment could see very clearly all the dharma he had been practising. His consciousness was riped and only needed a slight push.

It is not the gift but the heart of giving that matters and if it is true giving there is no sacrifice involved.

written by gurkha_malaya, December 12, 2008 01:14:19
all muslim n non muslim are invited:

www.saudagarsenja.********.com
written by ASK4u, December 12, 2008 02:02:20
Why did an omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient, 'maha-pengasih', 'maha penyayang', GOD wanted Abraham to sacrifice his son? Was it because GOD wanted to test Abraham's faith in him? Done, than why was the need to sacrifice the lamb instead? Doesn't the one who created animals, love them too? Granted, if the meat is for consumption but definitely, a wise and loving creator would not let an animal die in pain & fear for nothing. Probably, in order to satisfy their palate, the fat old lazy glutton priests of Abrahamic period intelligently schemed a master plan to manipulate the poor peasants.

...Abraham said, "God himself will provide the lamb for a burnt offering....
... the blood of the paschal lamb now sprinkled by priests named Melchizedek on the altar of burnt offering....Genesis 14

Fruits and vegetables could have been scarce but weren't Dates in abundance those days?

So my question is, not withstanding The real meaning of sacrifice as espoused by RPK, since GOD is all merciful, what is the actual purpose of an animal sacrifice made in GOD's name? What does a Muslim who is a Vegetarian (there are some whom I know personally) sacrifice for Eid ul Adha?
written by teo siew chin, December 12, 2008 08:01:51
Powers that be who play God of course will sacrifice.
The sacrificial lamb will be the rakyat!
written by Raja Petra, December 12, 2008 08:34:31
Dear MatPenang, thank you. You sure know how to make an old man happy. Two in one......sigh........
written by Raja Petra, December 12, 2008 08:37:32
Dear thinktank, using your same argument, then you should not take about politics since you have never won an election.
written by teo siew chin, December 12, 2008 08:46:12
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

If the ISA dont 'shut' u up...will a SYT? ...this round better be on the look out for sashaying skirts and RUN !!! or not! smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Stay safe and happy!
written by TWOG, December 12, 2008 09:55:06
/// He said the awareness of the need to sacrifice for success should be inculcated in all Muslims. ///

What Najib said is incompatible with NEP and the Ketuanan Melayu concept. The whole idea of the NEP is to get something without exerting any effort - so why the need for sacrifice? The whole idea of the Ketuanan Melayu concept is to lord over others and collect protection money - again why the need for sacrifice?

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 12, 2008 12:26:35
"Because of the heavy rain at Najib's family house, the hand over of the cattle and camel was shifted to the Sultan Ahmad Shah Convention Centre at the town centre here".

Looks like even Najib's sacrificial cattle & camel have been rejected and found unworthy by the Almighty!

As for all those many Satans standing behind Najib waiting for March 2009, the Great Almighty might have a surprise for them. At such times, we humans do indeed need to put our full trust in Allah.

Sacrifices comes in many forms, and most times the sacrificer is the only human being who truly knows what he/she has sacrificed. There is no need to relate one’s sacrifices as that would be tantamount to bragging about one’s deeds which, in the eyes of Allah the great Almighty, might nullify these deeds. Indeed, without ‘bragging’ about one’s sacrifices is a sacrifice in itself as the one making the sacrifices will not get any pat on the back nor medals and fancy titles, and recognition of any kind from fellow human beings.
written by borneoman, December 12, 2008 15:22:54
life of animals lost = umno sacrifice.
written by Panca Indera, December 12, 2008 15:43:29
"If animals such as cow,chicken or fish are meant for food of human then God should make them climax when they are slaughtered,not pain !"
I can understand and tolerate vegetarians(Freedom of choice/pro choice etc.etc), but to tell others not to eat meat and make comments as as above!

Which planet are you guys from??? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Panca Indera, December 12, 2008 15:47:40
Oh! forgot to comment on RPK"s article.

Excellent article! hit the nail on the head.
But then, it's like try putting a square peg in a round hole
Daaah
I sacrificed my lunch the other day smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by DezMalaysia, December 12, 2008 17:12:40
All I know is the DPM Najib, SACRIFICED a Mongolian Beauty to ensure he achieve his long awaited ambition to become reality next year. What an unfortunate Mongolian Female Cow that was made a sacrifice for the Najib's butt to gain an inch closer to the PM's chair.

BN Government = Boleh Negotiate Government
Commissions, commission, commissions...