Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Bitter vindication

Bitter vindication PDF Print
Thursday, 11 December 2008 10:05

I was told they particularly disliked me and called me "lan-si" (arrogant) just because during a public meeting of developers, NGOs, residents and the exco, one of the key developers questioned how the state government could stop hillslope development, and I answered, "Because we can…" And none were too happy when I had to repeatedly wave the Total Planning Guidelines book at them.

Elizabeth Wong for The Sun

ONE of the earliest policy decisions by the Pakatan Rakyat Selangor government was to throw out any housing and building applications for Class 3 and Class 4 hillslopes to preserve environmentally sensitive areas and prevent landslides. This was decided at an executive council meeting on April 2.

Selangor became the first state in the federation to have complied with the Federal Town and Country Planning Department’s Total Planning Guidelines 1997 (2nd edition, 2001) which states that no housing development should be allowed on slopes with 25° and above gradients.

Developers thought it was a late April Fool’s joke. Since our ban, they have used all means – the media, blogs, lobbying by state reps and MPs etc to change our minds. We were vilified as "anti-business" and "anti-development". I have even had some of our Pakatan MPs asking us to make exceptions for Class 3 slopes.

I was told they particularly disliked me and called me "lan-si" (arrogant) just because during a public meeting of developers, NGOs, residents and the exco, one of the key developers questioned how the state government could stop hillslope development, and I answered, "Because we can…" And none were too happy when I had to repeatedly wave the Total Planning Guidelines book at them.

And every couple of months, we have had to repeat our policy decision. Even as recent as last month, developers were insisting that they had the right to develop hill slopes and some had told a couple of exco members that they were planning to sue us. One of them said we would have to compensate them RM330 million (25% of our state budget) for possible loss of profits. Imagine the pressure of a lobby group whose combined income and assets dwarfs the state government!

Saturday’s tragedy proves the correctness of the decision of the state government. But vindication which comes after the loss of four lives and more homes is unspeakably bitter. There are some 5,000 residents living in the vicinity of the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide who face uncertainty and may have to vacate their homes.

We ask that developers stop pursuing and pressuring us to review our policy, and instead thoroughly go through every single technicality of their existing hillslope projects.

While Ikram and the Public Works Department are responsible for pinpointing the cause of the tragedy, the state government will immediately review all approved hillslope projects by the previous administration, whether standing or partially built.

Those where there is no construction yet but approved before March 8 should not be allowed to proceed, especially along the same range of Bukit Antarabangsa and Hulu Kelang – which should include Taman Hijau and Bukit Melawati.

We had come too late. Many of the hillslope projects have been standing for a number of years, some were half completed when we came into power. Without proper maintenance of slopes and drainage on these private lands, tragedy will strike after many years, always after the period of indemnity is over. Those areas shown to be prone to landslides such as in Hulu Kelang, where the Public Works Department had flashed its red card in 2005, more stringent conditions will be imposed on existing projects.

All developers and private land owners have to protect and reinforce their own hillslopes if they want to continue to prosper, own property and do business in Selangor. We recently received complaints from Ampang, Kajang, Cheras and Pandan where private landowners and developers have neglected to protect hillslopes and there are already signs of wear and tear. Some have used plastic sheets and some said they were bankrupt and don’t have the funds to repair their slopes. Whatever. If they do not do the necessary, we will blacklist them.

We ask that "people" be put ahead of "profits".

We are heartened that finally, after eight months of battling the housing industry, the federal government has come to our side to give Selangor, both the moral and policy support it needs, with both the prime minister and deputy prime minister calling for all hillslope development permits to be cancelled.

We can only hope the federal government doesn’t forget Dec 6, 2008 - like what had happened to Highland Towers (1993); Taman Hillview (2002) and Kg Pasir (2006) - which was less than a kilometre from Saturday’s landslide. Lest the lives lost would be in vain.

The writer is assemblywoman for Bukit Lanjan and state executive councillor in charge of the environment.

written by michael chick, December 11, 2008 10:08:57
How many more Innocent Malaysian have to die before they realize that Corruption is the source of all evils in Malaysia? I say you Jail those who receive and GIVE Corruption for a start. Both Parties are equally as guilty.

Nuff said
written by Lembing, December 11, 2008 10:17:41
Those officers who have approved hillside development contrary to "Federal Town and Country Planning Department’s Total Planning Guidelines 1997 (2nd edition, 2001)" should be charged either for negligence or for receipt of bribes.

It is most likely that the latter is relevent. SO the Indonesian KHIR TOYO must be held responsible for these hillside developments that were approved NOT WITHIN the guidelines. He can afford to pay billions so he must be sued for billions.
written by sydput, December 11, 2008 10:21:40
For those already living in the hill side like bukit antarabangsa, the authorities should make them pay an extra tax to fund hill monitoring and landslide prevention measures. I am sure they would not mind this.
written by Kuku Burung, December 11, 2008 10:23:22
Ms YB Elizabeth, You are absolutely right in insisting that hill-side housing development be stopped. These developers will do all kinds of tricks to get what they want -- profits. Don't succumb to their pressure. With this horrible incident, it just proved that you and the Selangor state government are right and have rakyats welfare in mind. I agree that we need to suit the Toyol guy!
written by Xerxes, December 11, 2008 10:41:24
Name and shame those developers. I have yet to see a single developer's name mentioned in any media. If such callous and greedy developers who has no consideration for human lives can be made known to the public, then people would not buy their houses or land and that will force them to improve. Otherwise, as Dr Benjamin says, we will see the same nonsense repeated in three months time.
written by Littlebird, December 11, 2008 10:44:25
I think the problem is so many people confused with houses not to be built on 25% or more slope. The truth is those houses got flatten in recent Bkt Abgsa (BA) tragedy were on flat land but too close to almost 69 to 70 degree 100 to 200 feet slope. Even the new development of Ukay Perdana have many houses which can be considered as sitting ducks. Take a look at the new project at Sering ukay along the ukay perdana main road. isn't the 300 feet hill almost vertical hill is too close to the houses?

All these projects were approved by the previous administration. If I may, current Selangor government should publish a blue print of a detailed map declaring which are the safe zone and dangerous zone. In this way, the state government can help the house buyers to evaluate the safety of their properties and also teach those greedy developers who would be stuck with unwanted houses or suit by residents for selling houses dangerous for occupancy. Selangor state government can show their sincerity now.

By so many media reports saying BA is a dangerous place they causing unnecessary hardship on house built by developer on safe and sound location. Come out with a blue print and YB Elizabeth Wong.

p.s. I also noticed there are too many selfish residents who simply object other development just because the want to maintain tranquility of their area. They have forgotten they too once chopped of treas to build the houses they reside now.
written by MsLim, December 11, 2008 10:44:45
Khir Toyo who no comment from you?
written by borneoman, December 11, 2008 10:52:40
umno and khir toyol are solely responsible for all these tragedies.it was during his tenure as cm when all these projects was approved.
written by Msian Idol3, December 11, 2008 11:04:11
Toyo, are you hiding in Indonesia ? We just want to be fair to hear from your side of this saga whether you took any money or have some shares in these hill side projects.
written by cahaya, December 11, 2008 11:35:11
Other Malaysian states should follow what the Selangor government has done, and put a total ban on the development of Class 3 and Class 4 slopes. They should also extend the ban to all other hill-slopes. All those guilty of ignoring the hill-slope development ban should be punished by stiff penalties.
written by Counterpointer, December 11, 2008 12:11:24
written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 12:12:39
Dear Elizabeth apart from what u said, U should also says this.

Despite the total planning guidelines, the govt inaction due RM

then the people themselves must find ways to avoid buying these dangerous houses. yah i know, u need houses becos of shortages but then that is the choice, buy an expensive and deadly houses on the slopes or learn to live in smaller safer houses, until other non dangerous houses can be found. It is a delimma but everyone already is aware since the highland towers, everyone is already aware what kind of corrupted govt we have. everyone knows they could not care about you.
written by asguard, December 11, 2008 12:45:44
Hara Kiri Toyol.....
written by whlau, December 11, 2008 13:01:08
And on another note, why ain't there any developers gone to jail for abandoning their projects when clearly they have a duty to hand over properties for which buyers have the agreements/contracts signed between them?

Isn't this criminal breach of trust when the developers abandoned their projects after pocketing the buyers money. And I am talking about hundreds of millions of RM, whereas, a poor chap who steals a few ringgit to help feed his family is jailed for months and years.

Is the housing laws in this country fair to consumers? And to add insult to injury, the same developer can open shop again under a different name and carry on with another project to presumably try the same con job again. This has been happening for ages and the government does not seem to get serious with these irresponsible developers. When will there be a stop to all these nonsense?
written by Kopi37, December 11, 2008 13:25:03
Though there is strict guide line for the local Municipal Council prior to approval of CF for any housing development, in particular, for the hill land project, requirements are not only subjected to gradient and altitude, the provision of infra structures such as RC retaining wall and storm water drains etc are of paramount importance to prevent land slide and erosion etc.

Clearly, the affected project was built not according to the 'approved planning permit', compounded with under-counter traded off for any shortfalls, the ignorant residents down hill had been shortchanged until innocent lives had been claimed! If this is not the responsibility of the so-called Authority, who is?! It's already a norm in the industry, approval could be bought with dols, depending on the thickness and who you play golf with! Just ask yourself, how many of those Umno goons, the former Councilors in the Building committee, how many of them know about technicality of engineering plan other than counting dols and measuring it's thickness?! Those are the scumbags where action should be taken against them, with Toyo not exempted from answer his guilts and responsibility!
written by batsman, December 11, 2008 13:33:39
Developers are still unrepentant as is Toyo. It is even difficult to differentiate rescuers from looters. Malaysia needs a fresh new start.
written by batsman, December 11, 2008 13:34:37
After 51 years of UMNO rule, Malaysians are swimming in a cesspool of sin.
written by pengembara, December 11, 2008 13:58:38
Hi

"The problem may not lie in the developer's plans but in the monitoring work that should, by right, be done by local council officers. It bears remembering also that sometimes, in order to cut costs, developers do not carry out what is detailed in the plans. This is why local councils need to stringently and regularly inspect these work sites to ensure that nothing is amiss."

Even if the local council monitor the hillslopes, etc effectively, development there may and will cause problems downstream.

Hills work like a natural floodgates and regulate flow of surface water. When they are replaced with concrete surface and drains the water will flow much faster and higher volume downstream towards other populated area unregulated. This as we all know cause flash-floods in towns and cities.

More of the taxpayers' funds will be spent in flood mitigation besides causing miseries and more wastage in terms of traffic jam and manpower hours lost unproductively.
Likewise with concentration of development in a particular location, bottlenecks are caused by traffic. Just imagine if one taman has two lanes on traffic coming out during peak hours and there are, say, 10 tamans along a highway. This works out to 20 lanes of traffic squeezing into 2, 3 or 4 lanes. Who pay for that? The Rakyat again.
Sure, developers create jobs directly and indirectly. But that is a different story.

Now we know why developers are always associated with BN?
written by alarcarte, December 11, 2008 17:08:37
These super rich Housing developers are more like satan trying to tempt the weaker beings in the authorities for approval on development on hill sides. Can you guys resist the temptations?

Sooner or later some of the Gomen Servants will fall for the forbidden fruit offered by the developers. This explains why even after the collapsed of Highland Towers, more and more houses kept on mushrooming around the same vicinity.

The banning of developement of housing on hill slopes is definitely the correct decision, but what about the thousand of houses already built on hill slopes and now occupied? Take a drive around K.L. and the suburbs and see how many were on top of hill or on hill slopes, I can even see highrise units sitting on hill tops but void of vegetation along the slopes.

The PR Selangor Gomen need some kind of action plan to ensure that the existing housing estates built on hills of hill slopes need to monitor and drainage be maintained properly, when another tragedy occur and I am sure it will, it will just be not good enough to blame the previous Khir Toyo Gomen. Too bad PR has inherired a lot of shitty problerm from them.
written by thor, December 11, 2008 18:38:05
Not surprising that that Indonesian pendatang hve no comment bcos to do so now at this time will have shit thrown at him and he might have to go to Indonesian spa forever,maybe using part of the funds controlled by his wive/wive(s). Lives are lost bcos of greed, and he is the most greedy one of them all causing such grief. Hand pick by our dear Tun.

There is a saying those of the same nature flock together.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES.