Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'Many non-Muslim native women unaware of rights'

'Many non-Muslim native women unaware of rights' PDF Print
Thursday, 11 December 2008 09:44

(Daily Express) here is a need for native women, particularly non-Muslims, to be aware of their rights pertaining to the family as prescribed under Sabah's native customary laws.

State Community Development and Consumer Affairs Minister, Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun, said it is imperative that they acquire such knowledge so that they would know which authority to refer their problems to.

"Muslim women nowadays are well aware of their rights under the family law and they would refer any matters related to marriages and property distribution to the Syariah Court.

"But many non-Muslim women are unaware of their rights provided for under the native customary laws. In fact many do not understand the important provisions as well. Consequently, they do not know where to go when facing family-related problems," she said at the opening of a Family Law Seminar on Native and Customary Laws, Tuesday.

The Legal Committee under the Sabah Women's Advisory Council (MPWS) organised the seminar to create and enhance awareness as well as disseminate legal information on family matters under native customary laws to the participants.

Another objective was to provide a platform to discuss the strengths and weaknesses of the Native Court system, including comparing conflicting issues in native laws vis-a-vis Syariah and Civil Courts.

By being aware of their legal rights, Azizah said native women regardless of their religious beliefs can be proactive and would not feel hesitant to take action if necessary.

"The native customary law is a unique legal system as it has long existed and been practised by the native people of Sabah.

The most apparent topic that often gives rise to problems is the issue of polygamous marriage which brings into question the issuance of birth certificates for the children, the status of the children born from such marriages and beneficiaries for family properties, she explained.

"Also, I note that the women are often the victims of discrimination in the Native Court when it comes to distribution of income and family properties as the men and nearest male kin would normally receive the bigger portion compared to the women," Azizah said.

She hoped that the 200 participants of the seminar comprising lawyers, native chiefs, district chiefs, marriage registrar, syarie judges, women NGOs and government departments would have a better understanding of the issues which arise when handling such problems.

written by michael chick, December 11, 2008 09:48:26
UMNO deliberately keeps the people stupid, so that it can retain power. Worse, UMNO uses the "God told me to tell you" to make sure that people toe the line.
written by michael chick, December 11, 2008 10:30:59
Dear Mawi, you may be right, but how do you explain Corruption in UMNO. Is UMNO above Allah? I say no. And I say we get rid of UMNO today.
written by sydput, December 11, 2008 10:47:38
mawi said -
everything is told upon us directly from Allah. In Islam, there is no intermediaries and this is well reflected in our Solah.
Who told you how to do the ritual prayers?
written by Tompios, December 11, 2008 10:51:52
There problem is, those to whom this native people come to see if they have marital problems are busy with political problems for they were chosen under flags of UMNO or BN parties.

Now, all Ketua Anak Negeri, Wakil Ketua Anak Negeri, Ketua Kampung people (don't say JKKK) hired by Political party. In Sabah, of course BN and UMNO people sitting on these chairs. They were chosen not by credibility as a leader but because of their relationship with ruler party.

In addition, people don't want to see them for advice since almost of these leaders are also robber of someone else wife. Using their position to take people lands, taking bribes, and busy talking nonsense. What do you expect from these people?

Most leaders Non-Islam in Northern part of Sabah have two wives at least. These Native and Customary laws allowing Non-Moslem people to have more then one wives as long as they pay the Native marriage's Laws fine (Sogit). If Non-Moslem in Sabah stick on NRD marriage laws, then these non-Moslems polygamous will ended at least 7 years maximum in jail or fined RM5000 if found practicing polygamy.

I do not agree that the Women Non-Moslem in Sabah lack of knowledge to their rights as a woman and wife in NCL. The problem is, they don't want to deal their marital problems with those immoral leaders who are sitting on the NCL.
written by mawi, December 11, 2008 11:24:41
Micheal,

Only this morning, on the news, Obama had instructed the new governor of Illinios to resign over some graft charges. So when you talk about corruption, it is all about greed. UMNO was a reputable party until greed took over and was immnently and obviously rampant so the extent that it had culminated into a culture and was impliedly legalised. That was main cause for the urban and educated Malays to divert their votes during the last GE.

Sydput,

The Quran. Prophet Mohammed perfected it.We merely exemplify.

Tompious,

Moslem women goes directly to syariah lawyers when they have marital problems not the JKKK.
written by Tompios, December 11, 2008 11:31:16
Mawi, is not about you and I am not talking about Moslem problem here. Read it again. None of my writing concerning the problem of Muslimah. Again, is nothing about you and any Muslimah problem HERE. I am talking about Non-Moslem women in SABAH my home COUNTRY not MUSLIMAH PROBLEM OR SYARIAH in any places.

written by sydput, December 11, 2008 12:17:55
mawi spoke with fork tongue by saying he learnt solat (ritual prayer) from the koran.
written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 12:25:17
MAWI Yes, Islam is perfect no doubt, but unfortunately it is implemented by the UMNO govt in malaysia, plus other so called islamic leaders who uses islam for their own purposes.
written by Malay Ultraman, December 11, 2008 12:28:33
Mawi must be so naive.. he is right that many muslim women know their right and know how to exercise their right. The problems now, the syariiah is TOOOO SLOWWW and TOO LAZY and lack of responsive and urgency. Some divorce cases prolong for yearssssszzzzz..

Again, this come to M sydrom. Malas, Malu and MeLayu... I am melayu.. I m proud of being Melayu.. but these Malays bring shames to Malays and Islam....

written by mawi, December 11, 2008 14:07:55
Sydput, Its either that I spoke with a fork tongue or its that you did not understand and I firmly believe its the latter. The Quran is God's own word and in the Quran, they are verses that tells us how to perform our prayers. If you need elaborations, go look for it yourself.You'd probably be able to comprehend why I quoted that Prophet Mohammad perfected it and we exemplify.

Sabahfan,

Thank you for acknowledging the Islam is perfect and for the rest of your argument, the quran says "Hablum minnan nas" Go find what it means. Never mind that you are so blind to the existence of god right and His commands right before your very eyes.

Tompious,

Since you have a problem in relating the scenarios, whew!, let me show it to you. It simply means that the Non Muslim women should exemplify their Muslim counterpart by exercising thier right through a proper channel already made available to them to exhaust under the NCL.Taking their case to the two timing Ketua Kampong or the others is definitely not the way to do it.

Ultraman,

Human bereaucracy my dear. Its common not just in the Syariah court, its everywhere. Conventional courts is faster, huh! Bet you are a slow provider yourself.

written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 15:32:17
MAWI,.... dont bask in your own self awarded medals...

ok for u to preach but my postings was edited and deleted..

so let me state my conditions for accepting that islam is perfect.

IT IS ONLY PERFECT WHEN IMPLEMENTED AND ENFORCED BY ALLAH HIMSELF, NOT YOU , NOT ANY OTHER HUMANS...

and the same comments i apply to all other religions on earth including kristians, hindu, buddhiest etc...

so dont pat yourself in the back too early..

bikin malu aje..
written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 15:34:17
and one more thing mawi..... U have no fukkking qualification to judge me... I am so blind for what? for not following your religion? if so then you are so blined with other religions such as kristians hindus becos u dont read them becos you are forbidden by your leaders to read bibles, sankrits..etc.

but for us we are free to read any books..

so who is blind and stupid??? malu tak pandai malu
written by peace, December 11, 2008 16:41:52
Dear RPK, This link is good for you http://mutalibmd.********.com/ where to expose all the illegal immigrants who obtained FREE MYCARD and become instant bumiputra in Sabah.
written by peace, December 11, 2008 16:43:08
To MAWI, May you RIP. Amen
written by mawi, December 11, 2008 16:45:53
Sabahfan,

Your conditions accepted. So you say its perfect when implemented and enforced by Allah . Through the Quran, Allah has already implement and enforced Islam upon its followers and since it is being implemented and enforced by Allah, it is perfected. Me, I do not implement let alone enforce. I do not add or delete anything to what is already there in the Quran. No other person until today has been able to do likewise. There has been attempt to implement new things by unscrupulous people by altering the content of the Quran and disguising it as a genuine revelation but all of the attempt to introduce human intevention in the implementation and the enforcement had victoriously failed.

If you are referring to a scenario where , in due course of implementing and enforcing , God physically come down to earth with a whip and tell you to do something and if you disobeyed he'd whipped your sorry ass, then I think you have been seeing too much Tenage Mutant Ninja Turtles cartoons.

By the way, I stand by Surah Al Kafirun when it matters other religion and yes I do not qualify myself to judge your blindness, its just that you had made your blindness so blatantly visible to the extent that even a blind person can notice how blind you are. No offence intended and apologies extended.Anyway, for a bit of qualification and for your information, I hailed from a profound Christian missionary schools where my teachers, mentors and role models are those fathers and Brother as well as those mothers and Sisters who taught me a little bit about life in a classroom where wall are decorated with statues of Jesus Christ and the Trinity. I also do not also discount the fact that I was raised in the ambience of a rubber estate where Hinduism is visibly practised.
written by peace, December 11, 2008 16:56:25
Mawi,

May Almighty JESUS saves you from your sin. To guard your tongue and delivered you out from the evil one. Amen
written by peace, December 11, 2008 17:46:31
MAWI,

Do you believe JESUS dies at the cross for your sin? Only through JESUS can save you? We can't communicate with GOD directly because of our sin. That's why we PRAY THROUGH JESUS CHRIST. Amen.

Christmas is not about the SANTA CLAUS or Chirstmas tree, Christmas is about the BORN of the SON of GOD coming into this world to save our sins.
written by mawi, December 11, 2008 18:18:10
As I had posted earlier that whemn it comes to other religion , I stand by the Quran's Sura Al Kafiiruun. But Peace, let's not get into discussing comparative religion as this is not the right place or the right time. But I do like to caution you that your statement might just make our fan from Sabah (Sabahfan ) fans his tail a little bit more vigorously since he does not believe in mediators.
written by monstercat, December 11, 2008 22:39:59
written by Sabahfan, December 11, 2008 15:32:17
MAWI,.... dont bask in your own self awarded medals...
ok for u to preach but my postings was edited and deleted..
so let me state my conditions for accepting that islam is perfect.
IT IS ONLY PERFECT WHEN IMPLEMENTED AND ENFORCED BY ALLAH HIMSELF, NOT YOU , NOT ANY OTHER HUMANS...
and the same comments i apply to all other religions on earth including kristians, hindu, buddhiest etc...
so dont pat yourself in the back too early..
bikin malu aje..
--------------------------------
Totally agree with u here. The practitioners of religions are never and will never be perfect! Even the prophets were not perfect!
If you know of such person, please state his/her name here.
written by monstercat, December 11, 2008 22:51:56
Peace, Christmas in reality has no relation to Jesus Christ our saviour. However, it is a day to commemorate his birth & to remind Christians that He sacrificed His human life for us, the sinners. Don't get me wrong; there's nothing wrong in celebrating this day.

And Jesus Christ wasn't a mediator, he is part of the trinity. That's what we believe so please respect that!
written by Tompios, December 11, 2008 23:32:21
Dear Mawi,

Should you go against everyone here? Keep your faith for yourself. What scenario that I cannot understand? I don't even touch you and look down your religion. If you believe that Quran is from God, keep it for yourself. No single people on this earth can prove that Quran is from God anyway. Nobody see it with bare eyes. Assumption and pre-assumption is all about people view on many things. If you believe Quran as a perfect and copyright from Allah then NOBODY can challenge you. Because it your rights to protect your OPINIONS.

Now, tell me the scenario with your statement, "Moslem women goes directly to syariah lawyers when they have marital problems not the JKKK". Tell me morally scenario for you to tell me about Moslem women goes directly to syariah lawyers and to go to JKKK? Is the any relation idea from both of us? Do you think I care Moslem women go directly to syariah lawyer? What is the relation between my first statement with your third statements above? Did I say something about Islam women? My statement is nothing to do with YOU. I am SABAHAN and I know the real scenarios of my very OWN people. I do not CARE about ISLAM problems. Here, I only care for Non-ISLAM problems. I know the situation because this is my field works. Syariah care for their people and NCL care for their own people. That's for sure!! North and South.

Don't try to tie white thread with black thread and force to see it as one colour scenario. People will blame your teachers and entitled them as stupid teacher for they have failed to teach you smartly and logically.

Now, seem that YOU want to associate Non-Islam problems with Islam matters! Who are you to tell Non-Moslem to see the scenario between kafir and Islam? Or, are you want to tell me that you want to fight for Non-Moslem women rights in Sabah? Why you put yourself in so contradict situation and condition? Again, don't bring me to your situation. My comment is not for YOU.

Anyway, alang2 mandi biar basah!! Your statement: "Taking their case to the (two timing?) Ketua Kampong or the others is definitely not the way to do it." This is another scenarios that you cannot see its background. Do you think, those Non-Moslem women who live in urban area will go to the Ketua Kampung to find the solution of their marriage problems? For sure, they will go to their own Lawyers! Now, Sabah Daily Express is talking about Women rights in general particularly those women who are staying in rural area-kampung. Women in kampung need to go to Ketua Kampung to settle their problems. If Ketua Kampung can't handle the case, the Ketua Kampung will bring it to the Wakil Ketua Anak Negeri or Ketua Anak Negeri to settle it. If still can't settle it down then the KAN will advice them to go to Makamah Anak Negeri or Civil Court. That is the correct procedures for Native in Sabah. Tell me, what scenario you have in mind? Please check back your Pengajian Am (Makamah Malaysia termasuk Sabah dan Sarawak). Do not make your teachers feel ashamed over you.

Those women who live in kampung generally will use Ketua Kampung to settle their marriage problems. That is the right thing to do for rural folks. By using this instrument, cost can be minimized. And, the peaceful rooted can be maintained perfectly. Anyway, this is the main objective.

One of thing, in Quran, Nabi Isa title is not 'Isa Alahissalam' but Isa Al-Masehu and we should call him Nabi Isa Al-Masehu as it written in Surah Maryam. Please read your Quran. There is a huge meaning between Alahiwa'salam and Al-Masehu. No single Prophets in Quran have Al-Masehu title only Nabi Isa.

Well, good luck for you, dear Mawi.

written by mawi, December 12, 2008 00:01:55
Tompious,

Okay la, since you are so sensitive by getting so agitated by the word Muslim (or Islam) is mentioned, let me requote myself.

Quote: Probably, the women from East Malaysia should exemplify the women in West Malaysia and urban women who had educated themselves hence being able to defend their rights ,when there is a marital problem ,through the proper channel since the channel has always been there for them to exhaust. Unquote.

I have now avoided using the Ixxxx or the mxxxxx word.Happy now.

BTW "Alaihisalam" is not a title or a name . Its just a salutation quoted after mentioning a name of a prophet. ( I purposely did not mention the Ixxxx word so that you will not pop around in rage like a heated corn)

written by mawi, December 12, 2008 00:21:51
And Monstercat,

The religion is perfect as it comes from God but the practitioners are mere human who are weak mortals and is forever prone to the attraction of sins. This is even acknowledged in Islam in that humans are not perfect and is always at loss.

written by Old Man, December 12, 2008 07:31:48
Knowing or not knowing one's right got nothing to do with religion. It's through proper education and common sense. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by amoker, December 12, 2008 12:25:25
wei, stop bickering. hehe

I am just looking at the irony of her statement. Due to the little investment from goverment in native and their law vs huge investment in Syariah ( equip with courts, people, housing etc.), this minister then lamented that the native court is underdevelop. And not only underdevelop, but not fair enough like the syariah court where the male would dominate. So, she is saying that syariah court is superior and surely, Islam is fairer than the less educated natives.

Are Sabah native is going to be quiet on this ?
written by Whatif, December 13, 2008 23:39:43
Actually, quite a few muslim women I know, feel that the Syariah system is not being very fair to them. Ask Sister in Islam on the problems faced by their womenfolk and you would know the situation better.

The current male-dominated rules must be amended in line with current times when women also work to support the whole family. When financial problems occur in the family, the womenfolk are normally the conscientious ones to chip in to help but when the time comes to divide the family properties, the ladies get the shorter end of the stick.

It would augur well for the muslim community if the relevant authority could look into addressing this disparity to be fair to the ladies. We would want our ladies to be happy, would'nt we?

Just an observation.