Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Leader Pushes For Reforms Before Retiring

Leader Pushes For Reforms Before Retiring PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 December 2008 16:31

(AP) KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia's leader pushed for major legislative reforms to boost judicial transparency and combat corruption Wednesday (10 Dec) in a bid to fulfill his promises of better governance before he retires in less than four months.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi introduced two proposals in Parliament to create an independent panel that would help select senior judges and to give wider powers to the government's anti-graft agency.

The proposed reforms form part of the government's response to severe losses suffered in March general elections that were attributed to public grievances over a host of political, economic and social issues.

"We will see a lot of improvements," Abdullah told reporters. "It will increase the level of confidence in these two institutions" of the judiciary and anti-corruption agency.

Lawmakers will debate the proposals and vote whether to approve them by 18 Dec.

Critics have said the judiciary and government's anti-corruption watchdog are heavily politicized and prone to influence by power-brokers.

Abdullah pledged to set up an independent panel to identify and recommend judges for high-level courts after a prominent lawyer was accused last year of brokering judicial appointments through his political and business connections.

Senior judges are currently chosen and recommended for appointment by the prime minister, though the king formally appoints them. Under the new plan, the prime minister would retain the biggest say, but observers hope an independent body would weed out unwarranted candidates.

Abdullah's other key proposal involves giving the state anti-corruption body more powers such as to choose which cases it wants to investigate.

Opposition leader Lim Kit Siang said the reforms would make things "much better than presently ... but fall short of the promise that it will be an all-out war against corruption."

Abdullah recently announced he would hand power to his deputy, Najib Razak, by early April to revive the government's fortunes after the opposition made unprecedented inroads in March, winning five of Malaysia's 13 states and more than one-third of parliamentary seats. (By JULIA ZAPPEI/ AP)

written by thinktank observer, December 10, 2008 16:38:18
There's no difference either you make changes or not, you will still be reminded as the most laziest and sleeping beauty PM of Malaysia. PR will rule the country soon and make a better change for Malaysia.
written by educationist, December 10, 2008 16:45:23
What sort of reform is Badawi talking about?
Malaysiakini report says tne JudiciAL Appointments Commission will still be under the thumbs of the PM.
Isn't this the status qou?
Isn't this the reason we have a parachute CJ?
written by thinktank observer, December 10, 2008 16:54:47
Why giving more power when you can give full power for the ACA to investigate all cases including your own. Thats what you call independent. Full power and independency. Even after the changes made by the PM succeed later, I'm sure that the ACA still have limitations, and still will be abused and directed under your leadership and the future PM.
written by ahmadneil, December 10, 2008 17:09:48
Still the PM hold the key.He will decide the outcome of anything that is within his power even if it affect his name or his integrity.Nothing is impossible in Bolehland.
written by Democrats, December 10, 2008 17:56:16
this you call reform? Might as well retire. i thought you have some REAL change to implement, that is why you need time before going off.
written by Motherchell, December 10, 2008 18:21:03
This is for his posterity ! He wants his grandchildren to be recognized when they drive the streets in Lamborghinis, Porches and Ferraris to being leered at for their grandparents loose arxxholes !! The Tsars of sodomy!!

written by hiro, December 10, 2008 19:37:14
It won't work. Here are the reasons:

http://hiroblog2007.********.com/
written by asguard, December 10, 2008 20:40:19
I doubt that barang naik will give in to MACC!
written by fletcher, December 10, 2008 21:16:53
What reform is he talking about. Is half baked and still politician have a final say. Please dont test the intelligence of the rakyat of malaysia, we are not fool and you expect the people to believe this is the reform we are all waiting for and disappointed.
written by harryo, December 10, 2008 23:02:44
Put all the commissions not answerable to PM but to the Parliament and these commissions should have full power to act without prejudice.
written by Xerxes, December 10, 2008 23:08:36
He chickened out on the IPCMC yet again.

I guess he does not want to antagonise the PDRM since he is leaving office soon and he needs friends in the PDRM if he does not want to end like Anwar with his black eye.
written by borneoman, December 11, 2008 05:01:35
i think aab is giving najis and muyyidin yassin a taste of their own medicine for forcing him to resign his pm post earlier.the cornered dog is going to bite back at the those people who cornered him. aab is doing pr a big favour by doing this because it would be the people of tuan melayu umno themselves who would be his victims once the show begins.HOPEFULLY.