Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Forcing accountability

Forcing accountability PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 December 2008 11:49

The reoccurrence of landslides in Ulu Klang, Ampang, capped by the tragedy of Bukit Antarabangsa, is a compelling reason for the reintroduction of local government elections.

Amidst all the finger-pointing, justifying and spin-doctoring, one thing remains clear: that something is very wrong with the way the overseeing of hillside developments in that area, perhaps even other areas, is being managed. If it were otherwise, we would have not been seeing the scenarios we have since 1993 when Block 1, Highland Towers toppled.

Let me expand on why I have assigned blame in the way I have. Let us assume for a moment that the landslides are exclusively caused by soil-conditions, as some might have us believe. If that is the case then one must assume that the area is unsafe for occupation. That begs the question of why is it that housing estates were permitted to be developed in the area and people allowed to take up occupation there.

written by tanwi, December 10, 2008 14:54:20
lets see... When Raf'dah revealed that she gave all (ok its only 90%) the lucrative AP contracts to a lone Bumiputera acquaintance... Malaysians did nothing.

when the police force selectively arrested protestors in ISA campaign (whilst ignoring Malaysian BAR protests and countless other gatherings/arrests).. Malaysians did nothing.

For many years all of us are slogging to work in the horrific jam and high petrol prices where the govt choose to no longer subsidize a natural resource belonging to Malaysians... Malaysians did nothing.

We witness the rakyat get raped, robbed, assaulted and murdered by criminals whilst the IGP goes on saying that Malaysia is safe... Malaysians did nothing.

When a writer, a politican and a journalist was thrown in the ISA, whilst choosing to ignore the biggest ass on earth,Ahmad Ismail (ok maybe third behind Ahkbar and Nazri), Malaysians did nothing.

Its good to see Malaysians do something now. In fact, for all that we did not do, lets do it in the next voting campaign.
written by axppin, December 10, 2008 15:29:42
To wait for local government election lambat. After all GE was 9 months ago and we now have capable, competent and accountable state leaders. Let the new state administrators clean up the local governments lah. Hire and fire should be the order of the day. Get capable people in fast and start managing la. Wait some more and tragedies will cause more lives. Tunggu apa lagi?!! Tarak berani ka?!!
written by kent chong, December 10, 2008 15:35:51
INDIA Local coucil resigned after the Terrorist attack! This is responsble people we want... dont just tell you go 5 times prayer that good Muslim!
written by my oumrie, December 10, 2008 16:15:14
Most of present gomen and Mohamadan ruling party is a bunch of Munafiqs!. Cakap tak serupa bikin. Bukan rasuah, "money politics" konon.
written by Motherchell, December 10, 2008 18:46:31
This govt is trying to tell me hillside development is dangerous ?? What will they say if i said that Petronas Towers is sitting on a fault line! --- Well ! they will say -- no way! --- they had spent RM 1 Billion on its Geophysical studies before construction. Who made the money for basics ?
So was it a selective construction by UMNO for their names to be engraved in gold ?? and the citizens animals in the zoo??
written by CPY, December 10, 2008 19:57:19
If there's such elections, opposition will benefit. In local council, the urbanites has a bigger say than ruralites, in contrast to state & federal constituencies where rural area has a disproportionately bigger say than urban area to 'facilitate MP in solving burst pipes & etc, which is the responsibility of others, esp local council.' This is why ppl alleged there is gerrymandering.
written by Aming, December 10, 2008 20:20:29
"You can shout till your throat dry up, get infected and rot, that is your problem. Not mine." say little/big Napoleans.
written by InEffective, December 10, 2008 21:33:17

The mental cripples that we have as judges have decided that no local government can be legally accountable.

Nice - the local councils, property developers now have the license to do anything indirectly with fear and without repercussions - murder, extort, expropriate, siphon, incentives... etc.

No one accountable - what a wonderful system.

(and we have our brilliant minister whose contribution is - lets also blame the buyer community)

The Malaysian intellect is truly inspiring...
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 10, 2008 21:47:21
Yes, local council elections are the way to go. Stop the corruption. More effective implementation and controls.