Respecting Change PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 December 2008 22:06
A friend of mine told me recently that he was considering home-schooling his two sons. A battle with the private international school where his sons are enrolled and fruitless encounters with Ministry officials who were either incapable of seeing his point of view or could not empathise nor appreciate his lack of options had brought him to that point.

It could be that to many a civil servant, private schooling is an elitist luxury that one purchases at the expense of its ills and pains. If so, this overlooks the reality that for many in this country private schooling is not about snob appeal but rather a necessity in an increasingly competitive world.

Many a parent is caught in a conflict between wanting to avail themselves of public services, be they education, medical or otherwise, on the one hand, and doing the right thing for those they love on the other. They, like many others here in Malaysia, have been forced into these positions of conflict by a public system that has been increasingly undermined by political and vested interests despite the obvious consequences.

READ MORE HERE: http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by LKO, December 09, 2008 23:14:16
lynn, are you sure that these parents have superficial knowledge or you yourself has superficial knowledge?

If it is as simple as you have mention many would have dropped the Bible and Christianity since Bible is the basis. The atrocities, sex, violence is a record of what happened and what God despises too!

If you want something easy, lovey dovey and cosy, might I suggest writing of Hans Christian Anderson. Or is that too violent too.
written by Motherchell, December 09, 2008 23:23:02
Why did the imbeciles like TDM , when he was the Education Minister kill the Independent schools? Why did they kill the convents and license the mushrooming of International Schools . What was the agenda ?
The Independent schools were affordable in the 50--60's . The so called Masters of policy in the marble corridors sip the most expensive water -- sent their kids to the best Public schools in Europe --- should i say they are patriots or basxxrds ?? A dog in the manger --- letting all the mullahs rule and run wild so that they can savour the power and money that piles into their pockets by the secs!!!
written by fireduck, December 10, 2008 01:05:05
I don't believe this lynn's comments about reading the whole Old Testament. That is hardcore reading (no pun intended), and if it is full of atrocities, sex, and contradictions, and enough to make you puke, then why bother reading the WHOLE Old Testament? Maybe all those make it interesting for you, and you are more perverted than you realize. smilies/wink.gif
written by LKO, December 10, 2008 10:41:00
Additionally, doing religious study subjects not necessary means the person will end up a a religious teacher or leader. I know one student who did a degree related to religion only. He did quite well in life.

He ended up as a Prime Minister.