Msian businessmen say police force most corrupt institution, survey finds PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 December 2008 21:23
by Maria J.Dass, The Sun

Malaysian business people are highly critical of the government's efforts to fight corruption compared with those in other Asia Pacific countries.

They also rated the police force as the most corrupt institution in the country with a Bribe Payers Index (BPI) of 4 (1:not all corrupt, 5: extremely corrupt), according to Transparency International's (TI) 2008 Bribe Payers Index (BPI) findings released today.

The business community also believes that their own companies are highly involved in corrupt practices in Malaysia and the region, while political parties were singled out as the most corrupt institutions in the Asia Pacific region with a BPI of 3.6.

The outcome of the survey is similar to the results in the Global Corruption Barometer 2007, said Transparency International-Malaysia (TI-M) president Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam.

"TI believes that while most of the world's wealthiest countries already subscribe to a ban on foreign bribery, under the Organisation for Economic Corporations and Development Anti-bribery Convention, there is little awareness of the convention among the senior business executives interviewed in the BPI."

"Therefore it is crucial that governments go beyond speeches and proclamations, and show greater dedication to combat bribery and corruption in spite of great resistance by self-serving pressure groups whose main interest is to benefit themselves even at the expense of civil society."

"Governments have to ensure that foreign bribery should be stopped at source and make good on commitments to prevent and prosecute such practices."

Ramon said TI-M believes that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) Bill and two other bills to be tabled by the government in this parliamentary session will help improve poor public perception at home and abroad - that Malaysia has a mediocre score and success in fighting corruption.

"It is important that all MPs support the bills and improve them during the second reading and pass them with maximum parliamentary and public support,," he said.

The survey was conducted among senior business executives from companies in 26 developed and developing countries, including Malaysia. A minimum 100 executives were interviewed in each country and the enterprises they represent were selected through a stratification process that took into consideration the size of firms, their sector and location.

Belgium and Canada showed good results by sharing the first place with a score of 8.8 out of 10.

written by Anak Desa, December 09, 2008 21:35:37
Datuk Ramon, Please tell us something new and honourable about our Police Force.
written by hellosunshine, December 09, 2008 21:37:04
So...what's new??? We don't need TI to tell us what everyone and his dog knows already for crying out loud.
What we really want to know is the outcome of the 3 new bills to be tabled in parliament.
written by ahmadneil, December 09, 2008 22:00:46
Everyone knows about this .It's not surprising at all.This dingoes not only take everything,it eats anything.
written by malsia1206, December 09, 2008 22:06:44
My take on the 2 most corrupted institutions in the country both start with a capital P : Police & Politicians.
written by Rozlan, December 09, 2008 22:10:36
I gues a compliment to the police forces...Hey 4 not bad after all smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif.They dont get 5 yet.. smilies/wink.gif
written by Kuku Burung, December 09, 2008 22:13:10
SHOCKING!I thought the BPI for the police force is the BIG 5! It is a bit let down the BPI is 4.
written by 1351, December 09, 2008 22:19:44
ACA, the Rolex's that all OCPD wear are real, not 'capalang' buys from the thieves market . As for Musa Hasan, he has long graduated to more exotic rare pieces. If 'kepimpinan melalui tauladan' is not mere speak, conduct an audit.

Musa Hasan should volunteer all information - matter of fact, all in civil service must come clean and make public declaration all assets. After all, it is public who pay wages and not UMNO.

Let me up the ante by saying Musa Hasan is a thief, almost all of UMNO Supreme Council are thieves. Imam Besar Hadhari is a thief, his entire family are thieves, defacto Premier is a thief so sue me please to prove otherwise.

written by justice6, December 09, 2008 22:36:39
sekarang baru tau ah... hello...where have you been Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam....?
written by Motherchell, December 09, 2008 23:29:24
Queen Elizabeth should pin a Victoria Cross directly on the to the skin of Musa's chest--- clipping his main artery with it !
written by jeffrey3005, December 10, 2008 00:29:27
there is no need for such surveys to be carried out cos it is a FACT that all govt departments are corrupted. the only way is to change and change has to come quickly, the sooner the better as current goben is in a denial mood..no recession..crimes are a perception...empty promises and whatever we can think of ...we are tired and sick of you flers ..fifty years and we are still so backwards compared to other neighboring countries.
written by AntiBN, December 10, 2008 00:46:54
They also rated the police force as the most corrupt institution in the country with a Bribe Payers Index (BPI) of 4 (1:not all corrupt, 5: extremely corrupt), according to Transparency International's (TI) 2008 Bribe Payers Index (BPI) findings released today.
_______________________________________________________ _________________________

I disagree with the survey. Our BPI should be 5, not 4.
written by Hakim Joe, December 10, 2008 00:52:57
Why inform us what all Malaysians already know?
DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!!!

written by Fart Fart Wah, December 10, 2008 01:13:40
I would rather have faith in the thugs of this country for protection than the police....At least the thugs have one thing in common do or die...our police are afraid to die..so they play a double game...uniform for cekap bersih amanah..
...collect for hati ke hati.. hati cepat sorok kuat jolok dan kerja betul selalu mogok .....

it is time the army move in.............

written by onnetline, December 10, 2008 01:18:55
Yesterday's news !!
written by axppin, December 10, 2008 08:22:08
Apa susah? Want to settle, go to balai and pay the full published rate of the offense committed. No discount. If anyone even asked, "Boleh runding ka?", immediately arrest and send them to lock-up. Amacam? Ada berani kah?
written by loosecannon, December 10, 2008 08:29:34
You all heard the saying before, "Birds of the same feather flock together". Now we know why the police is so involved in politics instead of looking after our security. And politicians like Shit Hamid likes to play police. What a bunch of shitheads!
written by adan, December 10, 2008 09:24:01
A CORRRUPTED GOVT'S POLITICAL SURVIVAL DEPENDS ON CORRUPTED POLICE,AG CHAMBERS ,JUDICIARY AND ALL GOVT INSTITUTIONS.They work hand-in-hand to protect
their corrupted way of life. It is -one -for -all and all-for -one... a lesson taken from the philosophy of MAHA-TIRU... If you want to be corrupted make sure ALL AROUND are corrupted .. there is strength in NUMBERS. To WIPE OUT CORRUPTION IN ALL GOVT, INSTITIONS AND AGENGIES IS IMPOSSIBLE UNLESS WE CAN FIGHT FOR A CORRUPT-FREE GOVENMRNT OR CHANGE THE GOVT.,
written by bambolero, December 10, 2008 09:26:20
Very True no doubt about that.You can fool some people sometimes but not all the people all the time. People are more educated nowadays.
written by MalaysianFirst, December 10, 2008 22:16:04
Speaking for myself, I'd say that everything the survey says is true.
What I cannot understand is why the fugg do Malaysians still vote for BN?
This is really something beyond me.