Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Green lung turned death trap

Green lung turned death trap PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 December 2008 10:54

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: Residents of Bukit Antarabangsa have now conceded that their neighbourhood, once a low density, natural paradise, has become an uncontrolled and overdeveloped death trap.

As more residents abandoned their homes for safer ground on the advice of the authorities following Saturday's landslide, there were some who could not help but feel shortchanged.

"Would it take more lives before they finally realise what's going on? Enough is enough," said a long-time resident, who only wanted to be known as Zahari.

Zahari, who was among the first to move into the area in 1991, said early occupants were then promised minimal development by developers.

The Selangor government also gave assurances that it would keep the area as green as possible.

"Outright lies, one housing estate became two, which later mushroomed into dozens."

Zahari said Bukit Antarabangsa continued to attract developers as they were aware of the demand from property hunters, many of whom were willing to pay millions for the natural surroundings.

"Recently, I was informed that even a tiny site was grabbed by a developer to build 21 double-storey units. With this kind of overdevelopment in sensitive areas like this, how can it cope?

Bukit Antarabangsa Residents' Association deputy chairman Raymond Jagathasan said complaints to the authorities fell on deaf ears.

"It's always the same. One landslide happens and the government bans hillside development. Six months or a year later, construction of a new condominium or housing estate takes place on even higher ground."

Jagathasan said many residents were contemplating selling their homes.

"But with the area having a notorious reputation like this, they are more likely to face losses."

The pre-dawn landslide on Saturday was the 12th in the Ampang hillside area since 1993.

written by batsman, December 09, 2008 11:15:22
Immediately after the tragic landslide, there was a coach crash that killed 10 people. Our public transport system is also a death trap and has been for a long time. The authorities also only mouth platitudes and make back seat belts mandatory. We need to run incompetency out of town and make it safe for people again.
written by ohuat, December 09, 2008 11:15:25
Works of ex-UMNO Khir Toyo
written by Arubin, December 09, 2008 12:00:10
The Selangor government also gave assurances that it would keep the area as green as possible.

"Outright lies, one housing estate became two, which later mushroomed into dozens."

Not that I do not want to sympathize with you, but the simple truth is that if you believe anything told to you by a BN and Khir Toyo-led government, than I've got a bridge to sell you in London.

If you never voted for BN, than good for you. If you did, than how stupid do you feel now?
written by axppin, December 09, 2008 12:06:02
Where is the original proposal to develop Bukit Antarabangsa and all those subsequent proposals to expand it and the technical studies to justify them? Surely they must kept somewhere in the government filing cabinets. Make it available for public scrutiny la. Unless they have been supernaturally removed by toyols. Hmm.!
written by Motherchell, December 09, 2008 13:04:46
So in Malaysia all Enforcement is after tragedies!!?? Who is responsible --- In bolehland --- GOD is responsible for this ! Billions will be spent for one submarine to take care of the Putra jaya Lake!!

written by kennyeu, December 09, 2008 13:18:47
We've been fighting with MPAJ for the last few months because they want to approve a bungalow development on the crown of a small hill, while our rundown, old and badly maintained apartments are sitting precariously on the slopes of that same hill not even 20 feet from the proposed development. Furthermore, our apartments which started construction in the late 1980's, are hovering over many semi-detached and link houses.

When the residents were called for meeting by MPAJ we found out that the potential developer had only conducted a basic soil and geo-technical study on the area which they were proposing to build on. They completely ignored the slope which we are built on and did not study the stability of the entire hill. Remember the proposed site for development is right at the top of a hill where apartments and houses already exists on the slopes and valley of that hill. What was worse was that MPAJ did not even bother to call the residents of the semi-detached and link houses to attend the meeting and completely disregarded their opinions and safety. We highlighted this and many other extremely important issues to MPAJ whilst shooting down every single argument the developer came up with because they were obviously unprepared and incompetent.

Disappointingly, towards the end of the meeting, MPAJ seem to take the side the developer and was interested in approving the project. Just to put things into perspective, the developer for this new development is the same group of people who built our apartments, the semi-detached houses and link houses. This is also the developer who abandoned all of these projects in the 1990's and declared bankrupt and apparently the link houses till this day still do not have CFs even though there have been people living in them for more than 10 years. We told MPAJ all this and they still wanted to approve the project.

All of us live less than 1km from the landslide zone which happened on Saturday morning. I don't understand how Abdullah Ahmad Badawi can say "enough is enough". This is his government that is doing all this. He is the one most responsible.
written by cruzeiro, December 09, 2008 14:40:13
Can anyone shed light on the predicament of all the reserve forests in S'ngor since the time of Mr. No-speakee-Engris and its evolution into Toyol policies?
written by BORN FREE, December 09, 2008 15:04:43
Those 2 ex-MB namely 2xMuhammad and Toyol should be accountable for this tragedy since this projects were already passed before Pakatan Rakyat took over from them. Again as usual, this Toyol guy got the cheek to blame our current MB for this, what he thinks of Selangorians? That dumb, dont know that those houses were build and passed during BN's era? We aint no FOOLS, Toyol !!
written by Jbao, December 09, 2008 17:44:57
The best solution is to avoid buying the properties by the said developer. For your information 60% of all the soil tests and soil boring are fictitious data. Corruption is so bad in this industry and has been for the last 30 years. All these failures are the results of past corrupt practices. The chickens have come home to roost. All these landslides and many other engineering disasters could have been avoided if only ........
written by ssathia, December 09, 2008 22:48:46
Is Bukit Antrabangsa the omen for Malaysia as a whole?