Salesman drank weedkiller after 'abuse by sergeant' PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 December 2008 09:20

By V. Shankar Ganeshshanky, NST

KLANG: Shaken by his experience at a police station, a 28-year-old salesman went home and drank weedkiller. 

K. Kathiravan drank the weed-killer in his home last Saturday after a traumatic experience at the Kapar police station earlier in the afternoon.

He was rushed to the Tengku Ampuan Rahimah hospital here, where doctors managed to save him.

Relating the events that led to the incident, his relatives said Kathiravan had lodged a police report on Dec 1 stating that his father was missing.

Following that, several men had come to his house demanding money allegedly owed to them by his father.
They also threatened to harm him and his family.

Kathiravan's uncles lodged three more police reports over the incident.

Kathiravan's relatives alleged that he was summoned to the police station last Saturday and that a police sergeant had abused him verbally.

"The policeman threatened to arrest Kathiravan for lodging a false report should the whereabouts of his father be discovered.

"The policeman then told Kathiravan that he would be beaten up by the police.

"Kathiravan was also made to buy cigarettes and prepaid phone cards for the policeman."

According to a relative, Kathiravan was allegedly told to go home and think carefully about how he wanted to resolve the case and whether he wanted to withdraw the report.

Traumatised by the incident, Kathiravan drank the weedkiller.

Kapar member of parliament S. Manikavasagam visited Kathiravan at the hospital yesterday and urged police to investigate the allegations.

He said this was not the first time a complaint had been received about the police sergeant.

He also hoped that the police would place more high-ranking police officers in Kapar as the number of cases there was high.

He added that he would seek an appointment with state police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar over the incident.
written by so bold, December 09, 2008 09:40:31
Can someone please enlighten me? What is the primary role of the police force? To protect or to threaten, harass and beat up the Rakyat?

I probably have been away too long, but does the law require me to buy cigarettes and prepaid phone cards for police officers? What is the penalty if I refuse?
written by Tompios, December 09, 2008 09:41:31
Malaysia police soon or later experienced 'Greece war' if they do not change their behaviour. I warn you PDRM to check your dignity among Malaysians new generation!! Do not let your life in misery when people do not afraid of bullets that might breaking their skulls.
written by jjireh99, December 09, 2008 09:44:37
yes, if the allegations are authentic, I urged all Rakyat to condemn this act by this moron sergeant and sent him to the gallows to rid this garbage! Period! No need to rehabilitate him. Sheesh....
written by MsiaCTzen, December 09, 2008 09:47:55
Thousand of citizen refuse to report wrong doing to the police because the Police Force can be trusted in doing their jobs. They are the laziest bunch. They are uneducated, not train in public relation and idiots. they ask stupid question and behave worst then the gangster. They have not ethic and not color blind.
Even the head of department including Hamid all are cock talker.

The public have no confident in the Police Force.
Just ask anyone, what do they thing will happen to their report after they have leave the Police Station.
Answer.
NOTHING WILL HAPPEN, As is my duty to report and hope that they will look into it. Normally they will have no feedback from the Police Force.
Q. So what are you going to do about.
A. Go home and drink weedkiller lah!
written by arazak, December 09, 2008 09:49:48
Ever wonder why we often receive Ahlong business cards in our mailboxes and flyers on our car windshields? These cards and flyers from the Ahlong syndicates have their full address, phone number and even email addresses. You can easily contact them for short-term loans with no collateral but of course the interest rate is steep. And, ever wonder why despite all these information made available by the criminals they are not being caught by the authorities . . .?, Did those people who are supposed to safeguard the wellbeing and security of the rakyaat work hand in glove with the criminals?

I will leave it to your imagination as to what had happened to K. Kathiravan. . .!
written by SCM, December 09, 2008 10:12:02
What do you expect when you have a thug as the IGP who doesn't care about crime but only is interested in lobbying for billion ringgit projects for his family? That gangster Musa should be charged in court for all the crimes committed against Malaysians.
written by FFT, December 09, 2008 10:18:38
Interesting behavior form the police over the last one year. I think the illegal bookies (protected by PDRM, by the way) should start taking wagers for the next hottest bet in town: how soon before ordinary Malaysians start taking matters into their own hands?

But in the meanwhile, everyone has to keep this in mind. This behavior in the police force is the direct manifestation of the Ketuanan Melayu philosophy. That is why they can act with impunity and get away with it. And those of you who think that a change to Pakatan-led government will improve things...keep on dreaming. The rot is so set into the civil service, that any Pakatan Federal government will be forced to play ball with the Little Tuans in the civil service.
written by jwars, December 09, 2008 10:56:46
gm all
fft sorry i disagree with your comment, when PR becomes the FEDERAL GOV. they will know how to get rid of the thievies in the polis depertment starting from the HEAD (PIG or is it ipg)?
julian
written by ericc, December 09, 2008 11:19:40
i dont bother making police reports anymore. everytime get the same thing from them - 'dont bother making a report la, we wont be able to find the criminal'. i wonder if their in-laws are the criminals, or the cops themselves, as has been proven.

once i think they told me unless i got the address of the crooks, it's no point. i have absolutely no respect for the police force.

this weedkiller case is in the extreme and warrants investigation and action. disgusting coppers.
written by Umar Rentaka, December 09, 2008 11:30:20
Four months ago, my friend from Scotland had his personal items stolen in a bus and I accompanied him to lodge a report at the Butterworth Police Station.

While I was lodging the report to a young police-woman, a good looking Malay gentleman came to clarify some matters. After he left, another police-woman, a Corporal, at the desk asked the police-woman handling my case, why she didn't "mengurat" the man since he was so good looking....

I was shocked at the standard of ethics of these policewoman. She was a higher officer, yet talked and behaved so lowly to an officer lower in ranking to her.
written by SL Chan, December 09, 2008 11:46:54
This is what you call PRDM..POLIS RAJA DI MALAYSIA!!!
written by MyBUDAK, December 09, 2008 12:00:21
confirmed some-1 paid to do de job 4 some-1... smilies/cool.gif

this is 1 of the black sheeps... smilies/angry.gif
written by Concerned_Citizen, December 09, 2008 12:06:06
(this happened in KL area)Few weeks ago, my friend had a minor car accident which the side of his car was hit by another car. Then both of the parties came out and try to settle. However, the other party said that it was my friend fault and not his. After arguing for half an hour, then my friend suggested that they should let the police to settle who was right and wrong. The fellow agreed and my friend called the police. After a while, that silly fellow offered my friend RM100 so that no police report was made. RM100 was not enough to cover the repair cost and even dumbful, he made the offer after a call to the police station. How are you going to tell the police which was on the way? Main-main!

Then report was successfully lodged at the balai. The fellow came later that day due to he got something to do. On the next day, my friend called up the balai to get hold of the result. He was told that the other party broke the traffic regulations and a saman would be given to him. He was even told to send his car for repair and claim the othe side party insurance.

Few days later, he called again to make sure some documentation and the officer recommended a workshop to him. After thinking a while, he thought of better to go for a more established workshop and when the workshop mechanic went to see the sergeant in charge of the case for keputusan police, the mechanic was told that my friend was the one who broke the law, not the other side, and which my friend would be given a saman. First was the other side wrong and now was my friend!

My friend suspected that the other party had offered money to the officer so that he could alter the report and instead making him wrong. BTW, the officer even offered to my friend if he could buy him drink than he could even settle for him, no saman. WTF!

I have really completely lost faith and hope to our Polis Raja Di Malaysia. I think any criminals are better.
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 09, 2008 12:15:44
At 8 am they report for for duty. At 8.30 they are at breakfast..free. .until about
9.45am...then go around and do some collections..you know-lah..then they adjourn for lunch ...somewhere..until 2.pm walking under the shade of trees..then u see them again suddenly..and again another round of collections..and then home..

Where there is a crime being committed you do not see them. Where there is a traffic light failure and you need them..u do not see them..A million times the taffic light breaks down in Jln Pantai right next to a police station..causing a major jam..but they are not to be seen...sometimes they cause a jam..( Jln Travers and Brickfields..one guy doing in Travers , he does not care there is a jam in Brickfields right up to the schools there. Where are his mates?? They have an important mission defending the country??
YOU MUSA OR KUSA OR BUSA..MUST WALK YOUR TALK..go take a walk on the streets and see where your men are at the peak periods and what the fck they are doing half the time...or better still let the army come in..stop the criminal rot..
written by apa jadi, December 09, 2008 12:46:48
What has the "Entertop Network" website design advertisement to do with this case??

Back to the topic, this is what Malaysia is nowadays. When the are has high crime rate, the police station would give way to the underworld--- Chow Kit. Where the crime rate is low, the public will be "caught" by a few uniformed robbers.

Look at what is alleged in the Bukit Antarabangsa disaster relief team. I am dumbfounded....as far as the security in Malaysia is concerned.
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, December 09, 2008 13:00:40
This is not the first of its kind. There have been many untold stories of police abusiveness.
PDRM must act now. Or the Minister incharge (who ever la)
PDRM should be like their couterpart in Thailand.
written by chebella, December 09, 2008 13:18:02
ah long, crime bosses, police and igp
guess they are all the same people
otherwise things like this will not happen
from my recent memory
i can only recalled the police causing traffic jams
beating the rakyat for singing negaraku
hassling bicycle riders
hassling motobike riders and foreign workers
taking picture of gros whilst they are pissing
escorting VIPs
giving a black eye to dsai
and blowing up mongolian model with C4
meanwhile crime in our neighborhood are not attended to
written by cruzeiro, December 09, 2008 14:31:24
If I'm not mistaken, some people in high places would call this "just a perception"....... becos they have reclassified what constitutes a crime!!!!
written by cruzeiro, December 09, 2008 14:32:51
Now they want a watered down "ombudsman" commision to take care of this problem...
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 09, 2008 14:55:07
We've to weed out these pests from PDRM beginning with the IGP. To turn that into reality we've to get rid off UMNO first.
written by fireduck, December 09, 2008 16:56:19
Kapar member of parliament S. Manikavasagam visited Kathiravan at the hospital yesterday and urged police to investigate the allegations.

How? You are asking the Police to investigate themselves? With no upright and morally strong police personnel who can still tell the difference between black and white, wrong from right, macam mana mau investigate?

I can't believe there are NO incorruptible cops in Malaysia! Only when these good cops dare to stand up and be counted, can we then begin to heal the force. Only when the Malaysian Frank Serpico emerges can we even think that corruption in the force can be tackled. So far, none of the police personnel have the guts to do the right thing. And I don't think Abdullah can do zilch to take care of the problem by March.

What the heck is the 'Saya anti-rasuah' badge they police wear for, if they do not believe and practice it?
written by mikewang, December 09, 2008 16:58:36
People don't simply label them "legal gangsters" for no reason.
written by Rozlan, December 09, 2008 17:53:38
I understand the inciddent..Sometime when bad things happen to us,we just didnt know to whom should we refer to.The polices are no less crook than the crooks themselves...

However I dont understand Kathivaran action..Why should he try to kill himself? Did it solve his problem?
written by Fairminded, December 09, 2008 22:07:09
To understand the police of Malaysia under UMNO one has to read "Animal farm" by George Orwell. They are the dogs nurtured by Snowball to be his tool in terrorizing the population into submission. Dictators always run a police state.
written by Taufique, December 09, 2008 23:52:29
Haiya, you all banyak emosi lah.

Pandangan kamu semua serong lah. Where got crime so much wan? Itu kita buat business maa. U tak tolong I, mana boleh I tolong you?!!! Kita sama sama garu belakang lah.

yours deviously,
Inspector S.Rasuah bin Duit
written by Steven Tan, December 10, 2008 01:14:39
ALL THE WELL ORGANISED ILLEGAL SYNDICATES SUCH AS ALONG, ILLEGAL VCD, ILLEGAL 4D, SLOT MACHINES OPERATOR, SAND STEALING AND ETC ARE HAVING BACK UP OR PROTECTION FROM THE BIG SHOTS, MOST OF THE TIMES THEY ALSO ARE THE "ANONYMOUS" SHARE HOLDER IN THAT BUSINESS.

FOR OUT SITE WORLD, THEY CAN BE A VERY RESPECTED PEOPLE AND WILL DOING A CLEAN BUSINESS OR WILL BE HOLDING VERY VERY HIGH GOVERNMENT POST.

JUST FOR YOUR INFO....WITHOUT ALL THESE BIG SHOTS INVOLVED IN THESE TYPE OF ILLEGAL BUSINESSES, THESE ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES COULDN'T GO VERY SMOOTH. I THINK THE REST, YOU CAN FIGURE IT YOURSELF. smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/angry.gif