Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno targets bigger win in K. Terengganu

Umno targets bigger win in K. Terengganu PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 December 2008 09:10

By Sim Leoi Leoi, The Star

Umno has set itself a target of not only retaining the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat but also winning the by-election with a bigger margin.

Secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said Umno had decided on this during two meetings it held recently.

“We also discussed various strategies we could put in place,” he told reporters after attending a Hari Raya Haji event at Precinct 11 here where 69 cows were slaughtered.

“The Barisan Nasional supreme council will meet tomorrow (today) and I am sure the by-election will be on the agenda,” he added.

The seat fell vacant when Datuk Razali Ismail, who was Deputy Education Minister, died while playing badminton on Nov 28.

At the last general election, Razali won with a 628-vote majority against PAS candidate Mohamad Sabu and a 31,877-vote majority over the oldest candidate in the polls, independent Maimun Yusof.

The Election Commission has fixed Jan 17 for the by-election with nomination on Jan 6.

However, Tengku Adnan declined to comment if the meeting discussed or shortlisted names of possible candidates for the by-election.

He said that it was up to party president and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to make the decision and announcement.

Asked on Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh’s statement that he had “the X-factor” to win the by-election if chosen, Tengku Adnan said any Umno member could offer himself.

“The decision still rests with the Prime Minister. He will decide when to announce the name of our candidate,” he said.

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by Tompios, December 09, 2008 09:23:38
"the x-factor" to win the election? you must be kidding! you UMNO people always using x-factor to win here and there in Malaysia election. Example: 1) Floating voters, Phantom voters, Alien voters. money, sweet stuffs, and the most important is EC people engineer! Those x-factors always give you victories!!

x-factor gigi mu!!
written by jjireh99, December 09, 2008 09:47:47
this x-factor thingy is MONEY-LAH! what else? It's already a FACT and not just rhetorics anymore. Sheesh...... wasting time talking about it!
written by alpha100, December 09, 2008 10:19:00
must have seen too much "X files" movies!
PR target very modest! Menang cukup lah!
written by asguard, December 09, 2008 10:58:17
Just don't the umno win that seat... if not ...their ego will be become bigger and more daring .....
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 09, 2008 12:25:29
Umno has set itself a target of not only retaining the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat but also winning the by-election with a bigger margin.

Secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said Umno had decided on this during two meetings it held recently

SO BRACE ON FOR A DELUGE OF FUNDS TO FLOOD THE KT VOTERS. WHAT U WANT AND WHAT U WILL GET FROM NOW ON ARE TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT THINGS.