Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow THE MULTILINGUAL MALAYS

THE MULTILINGUAL MALAYS PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 16:04
I would like to share something that happened about 12 years ago that gave me the spark of an idea for the future of Malaysia. Since that incident I began to imagine how we might circumvent the problem of social integration by fostering a new culture of language accessibility. It is a simplistic view of things but nevertheless a good fantasy. Hear me out.

About 12 years ago, my wife taught a young and sweet Malay lady on the use of some general computer applications during one of the school holidays. I remembered when I inquired of her whether she could communicate in English, she replied in a beautiful Northern accent that sounded something like ‘tak berapo’. She did not indicate to us that she would prefer to be taught the subject in the language she was comfortable with. Besides having a sweet and calm demeanor, this lady was also a keen learner. We were glad to have such a student with us for that school holiday season. We were determined to impart to her as much computer knowledge as possible during that short period of time.

One evening we received a phone call from the student’s auntie who spoke to us in impeccable English. One of the first thing she said was “ We are Malays. Why did you speak to my niece in English?”.  Needless to say we were shocked for it was something very unexpected. In spite of our assurances that we will conduct the one-to-one lesson in the national language henceforth, it was the last we heard from both of them.

Recently, in the course of doing business I had an opportunity to exchange a sizeable amount of sms in English with a young Malay gentleman before we met.  During our first meeting, it took me a while before I realized that this guy had not spoken a word in English and he had this uncomfortable look in him. Realizing this I immediately shifted to the ‘national tool’ and that put him at ease till the end of the meeting. On my way home, I began to once again indulge myself in my 12 year old fantasy. Here’s my dream.

I fantasized the Malays in this country being very fluent in the Chinese language and Tamil. I recalled one Malay lady who spoke in perfect mandarin who worked in a computer assembling company. She exhibited a high sense of confidence when she moves about with her Chinese colleagues (in comparison to many Malays today). All sense of racial tension towards her was totally absent. She was respected and even loved. None of her dignity, religion and cultural brought up were taken away or denied her. They knew her religion forbids her from many things deemed harmful to faith and practice and they, from the bosses to the lowest ranked employees, accorded to her the highest respect and sensitivities due her as a Muslim.

I had always felt that true racial integration in this country (or in any country for that matter) can never be obtained by coercion and that maximum integration comes about only when there are mutually acceptable and varied tools of communication. This is especially true in a multiracial setting of Malaysia. The non-Malays in this country have proven an ability to abide by the nation’s political aspirations in the mastery of a national language. In spite of their natural inclination towards their mother tongue, the non-Malays had seen it wise to widen their skills and tools of communications. They knew they had nothing to lose but everything to gain. Their forefathers came from China and India and to master the local language was an absolute necessity for their future. But the world has ‘expanded’ since then and refusing to adapt to this reality of change can be liken to taking two steps backward after a step forward. In contrast to these brave non-Malays, some Malay leaders are like scarecrows - they just scare away their fellow Malays from taking the quantum leap in the mastery of foreign languages. The very serious absence of confidence among young Malays in languages other than their mother tongue as seen today, does not belie this fact.

The Malays are gentle people but they are also very overtly reliant on racial and cultural sentiments. It is hard to comprehend how the mastery of a foreign language such as the international English Language is a threat to their pride and existence. Perhaps the greatest bewilderment lies in how the ‘replacement policy’ of the government (replacing the English language as a medium of instruction in schools) is logical when a majority of its most senior and experienced politicians - past and present – are and were so fluent in the use of the English language.

This past twelve years would have been enough to produce a generation of all races fluent in multi-languages. If Mandarin and Tamil are indeed made a compulsory language diet of children today (together with the National language and English), then perhaps there will no longer be the need for the so-called vernacular school in this country. Let’s face it - the vernacular schools are not what it is. The students in Chinese schools are hardly fluent in English and their use of the national language is not fluent at all. Their pronunciations often lack the quality of a true Bahasa Malaysia.

Before any calls to close down the vernacular schools is heard again, the Malays must take the lead to foster trust and acceptance in this country. The Malay must be bold and courageous and have a new mindset. If Bahasa Malaysia, Mandarin, Tamil and English becomes the new language diet of the ordinary Malaysians, then it will most assuredly be the first steps towards attaining the much talked about true racial integration. And it will herald the rise of a truly modern Malay race. Malays must do everything possible to avoid being ‘trapped in this land’ (like the Thais in theirs) for another 1000 years to come.

Sometime it is good to dream positive things.

By CariJalan

written by DezMalaysia, December 08, 2008 16:16:19
If they can, so do we,
If they can't, how can we ?

It takes two hands to make a clap sound !
written by ibabonma, December 08, 2008 16:30:47
1. The very serious absence of confidence among young Malays in languages other than their mother tongue as seen today, does not belie this fact.

2. The students in Chinese schools are hardly fluent in English and their use of the national language is not fluent at all. Their pronunciations often lack the quality of a true Bahasa Malaysia.

I say;

THAT WHICH IS BAD FROM THE BEGINNING DOES NOT IMPROVE BY LENGTH OF TIME, IS TRUE IN THIS PARTICULAR CASE.
written by truthbespoken, December 08, 2008 16:32:27
Wah! What a beautiful and positive dream. But a dream it will possibly remain under the policies of the current Govt administration.

They wouldn't let Malaysians be Malaysians as they should be, equitably sharing each other's languages, English as well and their cultures without suspicions. The current govt only wanted the whole thing one way and that is "Ketuanan Melayu" way.

We will need a new govt to change this inferior and backward-looking mindset before real good changes could truly come the Malaysian way.
written by simply_say, December 08, 2008 16:48:56
"We are linked by blood, and blood is memory without language." - Joyce Carol Oates 1938-, American Author

Easily insert famous quotes and jokes in your writings at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by babihutan, December 08, 2008 18:32:57
They know B.Malaysia (for communication between human being)and B.Arabic (for communication with their god). Since their religion prohibit yoga, I guess learning tamil and mandarin are prohibited too.
Malaysia will only progress and move forward when the "native people" or sorry...should said "Prince of Earth" are open minded!!!
written by ssathia, December 08, 2008 18:53:58
Multi-lingualism opens the door to new frontiers of knowledge. That would be dangerous to those who wish to keep the people in darkness.

Instead of learning many languages which would be taxing the mind, the easy way of adopting mis-spelt words from many languages has been the order of the day, confusing everybody!
written by dassky2000, December 08, 2008 19:45:46
CariJalan, you are absolutely right. Sometimes it is good to to dream positive things. But how can we, when our thoughts are also controled by this draconian BN UMNO law.

I wish this dream of yours come true.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 08, 2008 19:58:54
After MAlaysia and Singapore parted, the two countries took opposite paths in their language policies and education system. 43 years later, Singapore achieves world class stnadard in education, virtually every citizens are bi-lingual, enjoy full employment including the MAlays !! There is no hundreds of thousands of unemployable graduates.

To top it all, Singapore achieves real racial and religious harmony. Singaporeans of different races interact with each other cordially. The best proof is, for two years in a row, the singapore idols were 2 MAlay, Taufik and Hardy Mirza. Mind you, these idols were not selected by givernemnt appointed panel who were trying to be politically correct. They were voted mostly by the young generation of Singaporeans ! and each have to pay 50 cents !! This is a solid proof that Singaporeans are already colour-blind, and see each other as Singaprean than anything else.

Would Malaysia even dream of this !!

Lee Kuan Yew has proven to the world what MAlaysia could have been !!

Now MAlaysia is totally screwed up, the young generation of Malay were led astray by completely reckless and moron UMNO politicians ! With the economy shrinking and foreign investment are going somewhere else, in 10 ~20 years time, Malaysians, ecpecially the MAlay men and women will face the same fate as the Indo and Philipine, forced to flee to foreign land to egg out a living !! Worst, would any country prefer MAlay over the INdon or Pino ? Pino speak English, Indon are cheaper and tougher ?

written by Debbie, December 08, 2008 20:01:46
My dream came true..........when my indonesian maid of 8yrs could spk better english then the graduates that are produced by the universities in Malaysia.
written by mali, December 08, 2008 20:08:44
the current umno-elites want the rakyat to be stupid (espcially the malays), so they can continue to plunder this country even via their children.
written by cylee, December 08, 2008 20:47:05
If this total integration is to be happen, it must be doom day for the BN.
All the UMNO, MCA, MIC goons must be shitting in their pant. No way men..!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by temenggong, December 08, 2008 21:27:06
No there is nothing wrong with the malays at all. Most of them are just being dumb and plain stupid. They are stubborn and refuse to learn other languages. They feel they must make the non malays kow tow to them by learning their language, malay.

Non malays have no such egotistical problems; they'll learn even swahili just to make their way in life.

It's up to the malays. Let them live in Bahasa Melayu. Or die in it. The writing is on the wall. All the talking has been done! There is no need for non malays to grate further.
written by citizenmy, December 08, 2008 22:55:30
scrap all languages...and we learn sign languages. Thats will suit everyone.
written by Jan, December 08, 2008 23:05:05
I noticed more and more Indon maids being able to speak English and some chinese dialects. To them it cost nothing to be bilingual and they do get a slightly better pay than those who are not.
Some of them speak better English than local graduates!! Isn't that embarassing?
written by non conformist, December 08, 2008 23:09:03
Cari Jalan said, "The students in Chinese schools are hardly fluent in English and their use of the national language is not fluent at all. Their pronunciations often lack the quality of a true Bahasa Malaysia."

That being the case, how does requiring them to learn an additional language, i.e Tamil, going to help them to do better in those two languages that they are already languishing in???

I would think it far easier that every one learn every subject in English, PLUS WHATEVER ethnic language each so choose. A far simpler solution.
written by lamepug, December 09, 2008 00:47:39
this is matter of a person bundled with discipline or not..
written by James Loh, December 09, 2008 02:58:41
Vernacular school:
I strongly disagree that vernacular school student can't speak or write proper English. We should be aware that NUS accepted a lot of these students. Maybe this is the reason that a lot parents preferred to send their kids to vernacular school.

However, I'll definitely agree with the writer that learning another language does help an individual a lot. As a Chinese Malaysian, I'm able to speak various language had definitely help me to understand other culture easily. I strongly agree that for Malay to be successful in the global economy they too must learn other language. Malaysia is a unique country which we can learn other language easily such as Bahasa Melayu, Mandarin, English, and Arab. Why can we see the advantage of learning different language? These language are spoken in many countries.
written by renoir, December 09, 2008 03:40:02
>The students in Chinese schools are hardly fluent in English and their use of the national language is not fluent at all. Their pronunciations often lack the quality of a true Bahasa Malaysia]]

Most students from national schools aren't fluent in English either (nor are bloggers here, generally). Think about German or Italian Americans such as John Travolta, Arnold Schwarzenegger or Henry Kissinger. Or, for that matter, Carlos Mencia (a hispanic comedian). Likewise, old Malaysians like me cannot claim to have "the quality of a true English" in our pronunciations, though in my case I'd lived in the states for several decades, tutoring in that language (a professor emeritus from my Uni once directed a linguistic class to markers in my speech that easily gave away my foreign origin).

Unless we want to be accomplished writers or orators, it's sufficient to be able to communicate. So-called "Malay" MPs that lapsed into Javanese during parliamentary hearings aren't that impressive either.

written by ylcc, December 09, 2008 05:17:33
If we choose to close down vernacular schools, then mother tongue has to be second language. English is the way forward, and mother tongue as a compulsory language to keep their Asian values. BM can be taught as a subject as it is the national language. Frankly, do we use BM in our daily lives?
Yes, it would be ideal if we can speak the various languages, but realistically can we manage that? Not everyone is a linguist, nor everyone a scientist or a mathematician. Can the students cope? The Malays are now in a dilemma as they have not been able to grasp the English language. Add another langauge to their curriculum, you are practically finishing them off. Tamil and Mandarin are the toughest of the 4 languages mentioned.
The Chinese do not need to be fluent in English or BM, although most Chinese are fluent in English. Spore LKY had the foresight to force all Singaporeans to learn Mandarin 40 yrs' ago. When China opened up its doors, guess who were the first in to trade and offer its expertise? More and more sensible Malays are taking up Mandarin for economic reasons. It makes business sense.
written by Rhan, December 09, 2008 09:55:16
Their pronunciations often lack the quality of a true Bahasa Malaysia.

Chinese from Malaysia and Hong Kong Mandarin pronunciation lack the quality of a true Mandarin (Pu Tong Hua or Beijing Hua) too. I can’t understand a single word from Mao ZeDong speech even though he spoke in Mandarin. And the southern Chinese especially Taiwanese would tell that the Mandarin spoke by Beijing ren is like shit.

I always thought the Kelantanese speak our true Bahasa Malaysia with German pronunciation. Lack of quality? No?

Don’t you know we have Bahasa Malaysia, Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Baku, Bahasa Pasar……and now Bahasa Indonesia.
written by mawi, December 09, 2008 10:21:58
During this lifetime, I have had the opportunity to travel to many countries including Japan and Europe. I was really astonished by the fact that most Europeans do NOT use English very widely despite the fact that they can speak English much more better than the Englishman or the Americans. So I questioned on why they do not converse much in English citing the languange being the common medium internationally and the need to master the language to progress globally. The answer I got was quite surprising.Majority of those who I had asked told me that English language is merely a tool that they use to communicate with those that does not speak their mother tongue. Its just a tool and nothing more. Their national language is always a priority but if they need to converse in English, then they are able to do so but it is more to assist the other person who do not know how to speak their mother's language.Some can even speak more than one language but its always the mother tongue that is being spoken most of the time. Some Europeans are even more extreme and radical such as the French. Even when they can understand and can converse, they'd prefer to speak in French. For me, a person who can write and speak appropriate English, I have now adopted the European's attitude towards English language.I speak mostly in Malay and will converse in Malay to those who can converse back in Malay. I will only speak in English when I need to use it and mostly it would be during those time when the other person does not understand or is not able to reciprocate in Malay or in an office culture where everybody tends to speak in English.

Contrary to the Europeans and other advanced Asian countries, in my personal observation, Malaysians treats English more than just a medium of instruction.One can speak English, in this country , would be looked upon as someone who is educated and are from a higher class of society. Although this may not seem rampant within the ethnic Malay and Chinese which is clustered to those that thinks highly of themselves when they speaks English, it is more obvious amongst the Indians. To prove my point, I was at a reputable private hospital the other day and from the entrance door to the lift that takes me to the wards, I had to walk through a whole lot of people doing their medical affairs. Whenever I come across a group of Indians, their medium , without fail, would be in English.Throughout the whole day, I could not hear a word of Tamil amongst any Indians that I had come acrossed, even the doctors themselves. And they speak in English like as if they are born with the language. My guess is that , they would only use Tamil only when they need to use it as a tool to mediate. Ironically, during my growing years in the rubber estates, I could not hear a word of English amongst the Indians.

Personally, I do not have any qualms over speaking English nor do I care much for it to be taught in school as I strongly believe that you may master in whatever other language that you feel comfortable with but the wrong part is when you associate it with something else other than just a tool to communicate with the other person that does not understand your mother tongue. There was a guy I know who can speak fluent Deutchn and he would try to impress us with this language only to send this message that he has been to Germany, he is well educated, he belongs to a higher class of society, he the liberal minded type and worse, he is a Mat Salleh. And he comes from Hutan Melintang, Perak

written by Wisdom above, December 09, 2008 10:51:58
Frankly speaking, just give it a deep thought .

Mastery of international " English Language " is the 'best tool' for national integration.

BN Politicians, Ministers, & rich Malays all send their children to do O-Level and A-Level overseas. Why this dichotomy ?

Integration come naturally .You cannot force it down on the old !
However, the young can acquired the " English Language " from infancy.

written by CPY, December 09, 2008 11:49:30
MOst political websites are in ENGLISH! Therefore, under the guise of language nationalism, they discourage the Malay from learning English. You must remember, during Newton's era, almost everybody in England spoke FRENCH, since french is the lingua franca. I totaly understand that our govt wants Malay to be a global language, surpassing English, but you can't simply supress that language. Many journals are published in English, then Russian. BTW, I hope the govt allows churches/temples/worshipping places to use BM as a common language. In Klang, near Little India, there is a Methodist Church, split to 3 which is Chinese MC, Tamil MC & English MC. Its certainly a waste of resources.smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by teo siew chin, December 09, 2008 12:37:15
Language is indeed a tool, and a most clumsy one at that, even in the most skilled of hands. But exposure of multi languages at a young age should be the norm. Fluency to get by is good enuf but excellence in at least ONE international language should be encouraged. Many a time, my dealings with the other rakyat is frustrated by "language" so we have to resort to 'rojak' ... works well but bear in mind, there is no rojak-ing when i am out of country.
written by panca, December 09, 2008 13:26:58
A case in point, I know a previous neighbour whose kids both speak not only their mother tongue(father's tongue actually) but mandarin and also chinese dialect, teochew, hokkien and smattering cantonese.

They are refined people as I see them and they are still muslims. Perhaps they get along with more people. "When difference means adding up to one's worth and value - panca"
written by panca, December 09, 2008 13:30:28
Sorry father's tongue is malay and they all speak english too.
written by evaangel, December 09, 2008 13:36:44
Eh - not sure I agree with this dream completely. It's putting too much pressure on our little ones. So many lessons taken up for languages only - what about history, geography, maths etc...?
Keep it simple:
- Bahasa Malaysia - so all Malaysians have a common language
- English - so we can converse with the world
- mother tongue (should probably be taught at home /- formal lessons in school) - so we can be proud of our respective cultural identities
- anything extra is optional
I personally would suffer if all languages were mandatory. While I excelled at English, my Bahasa was mediocre and my chinese skills were non-existent. I can probably say 'I love you' in passable Hindi and Tamil (quite handy for indian boyfriends) and curse in fluent Hokkein and Cantonese (quite handy for chinese boyfriends). But that's about it smilies/tongue.gif It's not for lack of trying though - my head is just wired in a certain way and for those of you that think I am pseudo-Chinese cos I can't speak or read Mandarin... Don't go there... smilies/tongue.gif
written by teo siew chin, December 09, 2008 14:45:06
non no no Evaangel, dont under estimate the little ones - there have super-powers! smilies/grin.gif Those in the country down south not only have to excel in their numerous school subjects, they have to excel in extra-curriculars too - can you imagine a 7-year old diving! But of course not all have a flair for language: I can't utter a word of mandarin to save my skin and mandarin is too refined a language to have cuss words! smilies/grin.gif