Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Najib's Agenda for Change Empty and Undemocratic

Najib's Agenda for Change Empty and Undemocratic PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 12:48

I strongly condemn the arrest of 16 people who are the organizers and participants of the 'Ride for Change' program by the Oppressed Peoples Coalition (Jerit) in Johor Bahru, Saturday.

Police had locked the door of human rights organisation, Suaram's, Johor Bahru office, confiscated the identity cards of the detainees and interrogated them. One of the detainees was a 13-year-old student.

The police have also imposed a ban on any cycling activity in Skudai, Johor. Anyone cycling alone would also be arrested. At the start of the campaign, one cyclist was arrested in Kedah and many were manhandled.

These actions crystallize the abuse of power by the police. The police have got it all wrong if they think that their fear tactics and constant harassment would force the organisers to abandon the campaign.

The campaign is part of Jerit's efforts to raise awareness of the current issues confronting the country such as food price hike, minimum wage, privatization projects, draconian laws, environmental threats and the current financial crisis.

The clampdown on the cyclists clearly shows the ruling UMNO-led government's intolerance to dissent. The government has been using the police force to arrest dissidents and attack protesters at peaceful candle light vigils and demonstrations.

It also gives us a glimpse of the possible self-styled dictatorship and political maneuvering of Prime Minister in waiting Najib Tun Razak and contradicts his recent statement.

Najib advocated that the Barisan Nasional needs to change to accommodate the demands by Malaysians for greater democratic space in a recent interview on Al-Jazeera while his government continues to use preventive laws and threats of arrest to curb any opposition to the leadership. 

The current regime's willingness to crackdown on dissent is similar to oppressive antics used by former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad to stay in power. 

The same arrogance displayed by UMNO under the leadership of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi led to the coalition's poor showing at the March general election. 

The people rejected Abdullah, who came to power with an overwhelming majority on a clean-government ticket, and his cronies. 

The Barisan Nasional government has, since, launched a series of attacks on civil society and the opposition. Bloggers have been jailed under the Internal Security Act which allows for detention without trial, journalists were attacked while on duty and now cyclists are denied their freedom of expression.

These desperate measures by the government and the latest concerted effort to suppress the Jerit campaign further exposes the chinks in the ruling government and its weakening grip on power.

It also shows that the BN government is not capable of reforming despite a public relations exercise embarked by Najib and other cabinet ministers on international television channels and various media platforms. 

As we look forward to the New Year with hopes for reforms within the country's administration, I urge the government to stop infringing on the democratic rights of the people. 

I also call upon SUHAKAM push for the implementation of the 125 recommendations by the Police Royal Commission. The government should urgently introduce the Independent Police Complaints and Monitoring Commission or IPCMC bill in parliament to reduce the abuse of police power.

Charles Santiago
Member of Parliament, Klang
016 626 7797

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 13:00:08
Najib's only legacy is to make money and strengthen his power . That's what his father did and he follows-- his children will do the same! This wont stop till we the people stop this abuse!!
written by Oscar Winner, December 08, 2008 13:05:25
written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 13:00:08

Najib's only legacy is to make money and strengthen his power . That's what his father did and he follows

From generation to generation....Will he ever change....??? YES and YES...When?? Well...when you see the sun rises from the west and sets in the east...The sun moves around planet earth, and planet earth moves around the moon....and you find water in rivers flowing upstream....and you see snowflakes falling from the sky above Bolehland...that’s when, dude!

written by ahmadneil, December 08, 2008 13:07:27
This playboy is following the footsteps of his mentor Racist mahathir.
Been unpopular ,after his affair with the Mongolian beauty is revealed, he is now using all sort of tactics,be it unpopular or dirty,to force the rakyat to submit to his ways.
All sort of activities are forbidden nowadays and it wouldn't be long before jogging in the park,a walk along the beach front with your girlfriend etc is also not allowed.
May be with his menopause,his temper is beyond control and he is taking on anybody that he seen to cross his path,even saiful.
So, malaysian,you be your own judge,whether this playboy will be allowed to sit on this high office ,is the choice for you all to ponder.
Yes,we can!
written by wood, December 08, 2008 13:14:08
Police and our BN leaders, please understand times have changed. People and their thinking are forever evolving and changing as we progress and mature. Are you all changing with the times too? Look what happen to the dinosaurs??? They did not evolve and became history!
smilies/wink.gif
written by sonofmalaysia, December 08, 2008 13:15:43
Just look at his face when he talks, he dos not have an aorta of credibility !

This guy thinks he still can fool most of MAlaysians!!

Having so much shit behind him, he will do the unthinkable to maintain power. He is the most dangerous man to MAalysia now. Even the chief of ATM has come out publicly that the army with team up with the PDRM, if need be, to so-called maintain public order ( read brutal suppression of the Rakyat or martial law or any possible draconian means !)

He had the money to buy off all the generals in the ATM !!

Our only hope is there will be enough moral upright, righteous patriotic Malay and army officers who care for the country, to overcome this dark forces !!
written by lamakawan, December 08, 2008 13:16:08
Najib will continue to do what has been done by Mahathir during his rule. Nothing will change even though Najib can continue to say that he will be willing to change. The umno dogs are now living in a closed society of fear. Fear of losing their control over Barisan Nasional. You can't blame them with Anwar hot on their trail wherever they go. They are going to Trengganu next and PAS will be seing them head on in the next round of by elections. The umno candidate must be sheeting ij his pants now.
written by Mickey, December 08, 2008 13:46:46
Its sad to see that the Govt hasn't learn anything from all this. This Jerit march is peaceful and likewise like all the previous organized expressions like candle light vigils. Malaysians are mature and peace loving, look what happened in Thailand where demonstrators forcibly disrupts the country economy. I am sad that the govt continues to handle things this way and to those who use violence to disrupt this like the torching of the bicycles of the mostly teenage group, please remember you have children of your own or relatives who are also teenagers who one day may have be on the receiving end of injustice - this is karma.
written by maran08, December 08, 2008 14:03:06
Everybody, this is good sign BN having problem with rakyat in Johor. This is what Johorian should pay for the support they gave to UMNO. They start demolish poor people house BN MPs keep quiet. They use police force against cyclist. BRAVO BN DO some more to make sure JOHOR is no more BN territory in next election.
written by Fuminari, December 08, 2008 14:20:35
this is becoming a real international joke!! bicycling can be an offence in malaysia,who knows??one day walking around could also fall into the similar catergory n rakyat are allowed only to crawling about someday soon!!who dare to say we are in better shape than myamar n zimbawee??
written by sonofmalaysia, December 08, 2008 14:26:18
Jerit and all NGO's should organise more activities to open the eyes and minds of the Johoreans, let them see their own utter stupidity, for electing such a crook, corrupted, cruel, unjust government !!

written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 14:35:50
There is a sense of hopelessness that I feel. All such blatant abuse of power (police power in this case and every other cases) is becoming so commonplace that all forms of protestations issued by the rakyat and Pakatan MP's are absolutely ignored.

I've come to the conclusions that BN will and can never change. It doesn't matter what verbal diarrhea the leaders spew. There will never be any change for the better.

But let it be known and reminded to all that we have to keep this up in reminding everyone all the injustice and abuse of power that is going on so that we do not for a moment forget. So that when the time comes again for the rakyat to cast our votes we all make the right decisions. This is very important because, especially in Malaysia, people easily forget, and we must never, never, never forget.

For the immediate objective, we have to concentrate on KT and bring true relevations to the people there so that the evil BN will be banished. Let us not let up, let us not forget.

After KT, there is Sarawak state elections .... we still have a lot to do. But we'll take it one step at a time.

If it is any consolation, all such BN thuggery will only hasten the self-destruction of BN. But we need to highlight them all to the rakyat so that we do not forget.
written by Cash Money, December 08, 2008 15:04:43
Don't be fooled by Najis Rakyat.

Remember, this Najis fellow very proud of his defence background...

Blow up he will,if needed be to seek power.
written by binkah1, December 08, 2008 15:31:18
Where is our PM when the nation most needs him?? With his silence, we the rakyat can only feels that he could be behind all these. Cant you speak up for once, Mr. Prime Minister??
written by borneoman, December 08, 2008 15:42:18
penangboi,After KT, there is Sarawak state elections .... we still have a lot to do. But we'll take it one step at a time.
yes you are absolutely right because at this moment in time the mps from sarawak are the king makers.sarawak is one third of malaysia and there is a hack of a lot of ground for pr to cover.pr must put in a concerted efforts to wrest sarawak from taib and his gang of thieves.dap and pkr of sarawak must stop their squabbling.
written by MAMR, December 08, 2008 16:11:02
Anything done by Holy Najib must have been blessed by UMNO AND BN and RAKYAT shouldnt go against, because until today RAKYAT HAD FAILED. However NOT TO GIVE UP, LETS GATHER STRENGTH BY SHOWING RAKYATS POWER BY VOTING OUT BN IN KUALA TRENGGANU.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 08, 2008 16:33:26
Najib advocated that the Barisan Nasional needs to change to accommodate the demands by Malaysians for greater democratic space in a recent interview on Al-Jazeera while his government continues to use preventive laws and threats of arrest to curb any opposition to the leadership.

HE BADLY NEED SOME SANDIWARA TO BOOST HIS POPULARITY AND SAGING INFLUENCE.
HOPE THE PEOPLE OF KT WILL SEE THROUGH HIS CHARADE AND KICK BEEND OUT WITH A THUMPING VICTORY FOR PAS.
written by InEffective, December 08, 2008 17:33:52

Its crystal clear to Malaysians that politicians and their henchmen (the police) believe that their functional status is as masters, and the rakyat are their servants and slaves.

Their actions and behavior reflect this idealogy - its is not going to change ("oppressors never ever voluntarily give up their positions of dominance - Gandhi").

We (the rakyat) should recognize this, understand it, and decide what should our be our consequent understanding, behavior and actions.

Do you believe and wish that your family and children to be subservient to politicians ? OR do you believe you are indeed electing your representative, and your rep is behaving as your champion ? (try asking a few friends and you will be surprised by the answers - then you'll understand how clueless the rakyat is even now)
written by Bigjoe99, December 09, 2008 09:37:32
Najib promises may be empty, but he is betting not enough people can make that fact count. And that is pretty good odds...
written by asguard, December 09, 2008 10:51:04
Najis won't be true to whatever he says now then later change his tune... that is way he is going the handle the country!
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 10, 2008 01:21:36
talk2stop, I believe you are speaking with your tongue-in-the-cheek? I have lived many years in Johore. In most places, the motorcyclists go without helmet. Do cyclists have to wear helmets? You ask the policeman. Mengapa tak saman? Tak payahlah, ini kampung...
JERIT is doing what they think is right and needful to bring the attention of the people to the plight of the marginalised. JERIT, JERIT tak apa, tak ada salah. TULIS, TULIS pun tak apa, bagusnya, janganlah BOM, BOM, ataupun BOGEL, BOGEL. Our government has lost the ability to "mendacingkan" whatever the rakyat are doing. It no longer knows how to weigh what is right and wrong, what is fair and just against what is lopsided prejudice and injustice in all aspects of public and civic life. It should no longer rule. It should go for "calibration" first. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif