Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Are you a Secularist?

Are you a Secularist? PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 12:12

By Medisetti Rajesh 

Please answer these questions for yourself

-There are nearly 52 Muslim countries. 

-Show one Muslim country which provides Haj subsidy except a secular country like India.

-Show one Muslim country where Hindus are extended the special rights that Muslims are accorded in India.

-Show one country where the 85% majority craves for the indulgence of the 15% minority.

-Show one Muslim country, which has a Non-Muslim as its President or Prime Minister.

-Show one Mullah or Maulvi who has declared a 'fatwa' against terrorists.

-Hindu-majority Maharashtra, Bihar, Kerala, Pondicherry , etc. have in the past elected Muslims as CM's, …..

Can you ever imagine a Hindu becoming the CM of Muslim - majority J&K?

-In 1947, when India was partitioned, the Hindu population in Pakistan was about 24% ….Today it is not even 1%.

-In 1947, the Hindu population in East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) was 30% …. Today it is about 7%.
What happened to the missing Hindus?
Do Hindus have human rights? 

-In contrast, in India, Muslim population has gone up from 10.4% in 1951 to about 14% today;
…whereas Hindu population has come down from 87.2% in 1951 to 85% in 1991.
Do you still think that Hindus are fundamentalists? 

-In India today Hindus are 85%. If Hindus are intolerant, how come Masjids and madrasas are thriving?
How come Muslims are offering Namaz on the road?
How come Muslims are proclaiming 5 times a day on loud speakers that there is no God except Allah?

-When Hindus gave to Muslims 30% of Bharat for a song, why should Hindus now beg for their sacred places at Ayodhya, Mathura And Kashi?

-Why Gandhiji objected to the decision of the cabinet and insisted that Somnath Temple should be reconstructed out of public funds, not government funds. When in January 1948 he  pressurized Nehru and Patel to carry on renovation of the Mosques of Delhi at government expenses?

-Why Gandhi supported Khilafat Movement (nothing to do with our freedom movement) and what he got in return.

-If Muslims & Christians are minorities in Maharashtra, UP, Bihar etc., are Hindus not minorities in J&K, Mizoram, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya etc? Why are  Hindus denied minority rights in these states? 

-When Haj pilgrims are given a subsidy, why are Hindu pilgrims to Amarnath, Sabarimalai & Kailash Mansarovar taxed?

-When Christian and Muslim schools can teach the Bible and Quran,…. Why can't Hindus teach the Gita or Ramayan in our schools?

-Do you admit that Hindus do have problems that need to be recognized? Or do you think that those who call themselves Hindus are themselves The Problem?

-Why post - Godhra is blown out of proportion, when no-one talks of the ethnic cleansing of 4 lakh Hindus from Kashmir?

-Do you consider that - Sanskrit is communal and Urdu is secular, Mandir is Communal and Masjid is Secular, Sadhu is Communal and Imam is secular, BJP is communal and Muslim league is Secular, Dr.Praveen BhaiTogadia is ANTI-NATIONAL and Bhukari is Secular, VandeMatharam is communal and Allah-O-Akbar is secular, Shriman is communal and Mian is secular, Hinduism is Communal and Islam is Secular, Hindutva is communal and Jihadism is secular, and Bharat is communal and Italy is Secular?

-Why are Temple funds spent for the welfare of Muslims and Christians, when they are free to spend their money in any way they like?

-When uniforms are made compulsory for school children, why is there is no Uniform Civil Code for citizens?

-In what way is J&K different from Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu or Uttar Pradesh, to have Article 370?

-Abdul Rehman Antuley was made a trustee of the famous Siddhi Vinayak Temple in Prabhadevi, Mumbai ….Can a Hindu - say Mulayam or Laloo – ever become a trustee of a Masjid or Madrasa?

-Dr. Praveen bhai Togadia has been arrested many times on flimsy grounds.
Has the Shahi Imam of Jama Masjid, Delhi, Ahmed Bhukari been arrested for claiming to be an ISI agent and advocating the partition of Bharat?

-A Muslim President, A Hindu Prime Minister and a Christian Defence Minister run the affairs of the nation with a unity of purpose ( BJP or NDA  Govt). 
Can this happen anywhere, except in a HINDU NATION - BHARATH?

JAI HIND !!!

"Hinduism is not a religion it is a way of life.
- Swami Vivekananda

Sent in by R Shan (Human Being)

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Tompios, December 08, 2008 12:20:03
smilies/grin.gif let us unite to answer this question in the real hell. Anyway, bees community are the best example if we keeping insisting particularly or my religion is the best religion.
written by temenggong, December 08, 2008 12:26:01
Hindus do not know when to be tolerant and when to be firm. They should ask Hindraf. smilies/grin.gif

A small dose of intolerance will straighten everyone up! smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 12:30:36
To add to that -- it has had an Air force Chief , Presidents, Entrepreneurs of World fame -- ones who can confidently speak about their inventions and products. What ever is said --- those brothers out there are very progressive .
When Gus Dur visited India and was given an honor to address the Indian parliament-- he said he was grateful for the culture that they gave Indonesia.
So much for the berserk to learn from the others than sit inside a cocoon as slaves of the distractors !!
The richness of cross cultures is the richness of society-- from the US , Europe to the Middle East. If you gave me a free ticket to Thailand and a free ticket to Japan --- i would choose Thailand -- as there is more to relish and wonder of its variety of truths!!

written by FFT, December 08, 2008 12:54:42
Brilliant! The Paks have unleashed on themselves an impending sh*tstorm that they cannot even begin to contemplate.

This is the way Muslims have to be schooled...in terms of brutal and ruthless consequences. Soon, it will be the majority of civilization united in one voice against Islam. And there will be hell to pay if the Muslims don't get their act together and start routing the extremists.
written by gorshan, December 08, 2008 13:21:44
someday Bharat should tell those squatters "times up" and snatched back Bharat's land those squatters refers to as Pakistan. smilies/grin.gif
written by krising1, December 08, 2008 13:55:01
We forgot all the Khans who thrive in Bollywood!
written by sonofmalaysia, December 08, 2008 14:09:47
India is in a very unfortunate and precarious situation, a secular country with a long history of religious animosity with the most violence prone religion in the world. With such a hugh population of Muslim and growing rapidly, with global radical Islamic movement on the rise and fervent pitch, the problem is beyond human solution. Unless there is divine help, India will have a long long traumatic road ahead !!
written by adan, December 08, 2008 14:40:14
Secularism is simply opposed to the world dominated by perverts
written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 14:46:40
For all their nobleness and righteousness, religions in the hands of irresponsible human beings, is perhaps one of the biggest contributors to human tragedy in the world.

I always maintain that religions are not the problem but it is their professed followers who are.

I am no theologist, but on the surface, it does appear that Islam as is commonly projected by current practitioners appears to be a very unforgiving religion. I truly do not believe that Islam in its pure original form was like what it is in present time.

Religious fanaticism, irregardless of what religion, is just NOT right. It is even more tragic when religion is used as a tool for political and power gains as in Malaysia.

When secularism is sacrificed for religious fanaticism, it spells the death of true democracy.
written by joeawk, December 08, 2008 19:13:16
There certainly is a marked difference between people who embrace humanity and those who fondle their own balls.

Don't talk about m......, it makes for a lousy day. Small people with pea brains. Long live the Hindus...........
written by babihutan, December 08, 2008 19:50:15
Majority population of India are non-muslim. It only proved one thing:- Non-muslim can accept muslim but not vice versa.
Most of the muslim minority countries have Muslim Terrorist, including india. Why? Any one want to answer? Or, Even Muslim countries have terrorist too! ??????
written by bn haramjadah, December 08, 2008 21:07:48
Lets ask a simple question, IF the people of PUNJAB DEMAND THE RETURN OF THEIR HOMELAND, which was carved up and given to the muslims to form east Pakistan, would there be a clamour amongst the U.N., that they do have an actual right, same as the palestenians of GAZA. will the umno govt. defend this demand?
written by Apache3, December 08, 2008 22:56:19
There are two kind of Islam.
1. By the Prophet(pbuh)
2. By the Mullas (esp Khommeni/Iran)who/which exported his brand of Islam after the Islamic Revolution in Iran. And not to forget the Wahabi style of Islam from Saudi. Get rid of all these and stick to the Holy Prophet(pbuh) and the Quran all will be well. I am sure.
written by advocatusdiaboli, December 08, 2008 23:13:55
Rozlan you taking hallucinogenics is it? India was never a predominantly muslim nation. Who was your History teacher? Mamak Mahathir and the UMNOpu**putras? Even you Muslims have different sects and clans, also caste system la. I can also say Islam is a backwards religion based on the same reasoning that you used to call Hindus such. Need I say more? U melayus lived in dark ages before others like Chinese and Indians helped to build up the economy of this country. This is because the British knew for a fact that you melayus are not the most industrious and hardworking people la. Rozlan you are also a pendatang like all of us lah. Muslims had and still have a very bad record up to this day. Wake up la. Melayu tak sedar diri. Stop taking drugs and raping your children la. Indians also have many proverbs about the Malays especially the UMNO Malays. Need I say all the proverbs to you? Then you will froth through your mouth and scream Jihad la ans start waving the keris. Uneducated fool. Face it la Rozlan, don't live up to your last 3 letters in your name, LANciau. Remember what u said here is directly applicable to you too. Go look into the mirror la. LANciau!
disagree 16
written by temenggong, December 08, 2008 23:26:56
Let us remember that Christianity is no less a militant faith than Islam - historically, the violence committed in its name - the complete and irreversible extirpation of native cultures and population there - has rivalled and likely surpassed anything done by a wild-eyed jihadist.

Things have changed somewhat today. Like Islam, Christianity continues to aim for total world domination. These are imperialistic faiths, with little to do with spirituality except as showcase purposes, to win the natives over.

Listen to your Temenggong you unwashed fools: Unlike Islam, Christianity uses its allied western institutions, including governments sympathetic to its mission, NGO's operating under "charitable" pretenses, and "human rights" bodies given to what the British philosopher John Gray calls "liberal imperialism", to legitimize its mass proselytization campaigns.

When Christianity meets with resistance, it invokes secular Enlightenment values, like the misconceived "freedom of religion" to shame pagan religions and their feckless governments into a sort of moral submission. But when freedom of religion promotes sectarian strife, as it does in India, then it winds up destroying itself, which means that in certain cultures it is no freedom at all.
written by CoolMama54, December 09, 2008 01:12:55
The writer deserves no respect from me. Instead of calling out against terrorism (which would have had my backing), the writer is firing up hate.

What crime did the remaining 999 million Muslims do, to deserve such hate?
written by temenggong, December 09, 2008 01:22:53
LChuah, smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ylcc, December 09, 2008 08:35:02
btw, Temenggong, I posted this reply to your comment on Christians and Muslims:

"To critize and pass comments on other religions relfect your shallow character and intolerance. Unless you know the difference between Judaism, Protestants, Catholics, Seven Days Adventists, and which denomination the writer belongs to, you should not be as you say "blind and pea brained!"
written by ylcc, December 09, 2008 08:36:18
FYI: Temenggong had referred to the Muslims and Christians as blind and pea brained.
written by Apek, December 09, 2008 09:35:51
I cannot agree with the writer.

Such postings will only serve to highlight differences of the people in Religion and Race rather than similarities. It is upon these lines that opportunistic politicians have used to divide and ultimately rule India. Although I must take into account the sentiment and anger of the people of India against the dastardly actions of a group of madmen (and not Pakistanis - as there are an equal number of madmen anywhere in the world) in the recent Mumbai siege, this piece cannot be accepted to properly reflect mainstream India.

India will survive and continue to thrive as long as it continues upon the path of wealth creation rather than arms deployment. Manmohan Singh has correctly plotted the path of India to put all its resources into high technology and economic purpose and to keep Arms at a deterrant level only. Pakistan should emulate such a policy and in the process thrive also - a Mumbai has.

Rather than highlight the differences, the writer should point to the similarities of all peoples of India and Pakistan who wish for freedom, economic gain and a better place for their children. Is this not similarity enough for the peoples of India and Pakistan to think about?

written by Apek, December 09, 2008 10:21:06
My goodness Rozlan,

You have to expand your readings in History further than the racial and religious undertones that your teachers have thought you. The written History of India is at least 4,000 years old. The History of India begins in the Indus valley (don't you go saying that Indus is in Pakistan and therefore Muslim because Islam was only founded in about 600 AD whereas I am talking circa 4,000 BC). From the Bronze age up till about 326 BC, there were successive Hindu dynasties.

You will also remember that Alexander the Great took on an Indian empire in about 326 BC and was dead several years later (so don't you go telling me that Alexander the Great was Muslim because Islam only came about in about 6 century AD whereas Alexander conquered Persia in 300 BC). He brought to India, Greek and Perisan cultures at that time.

In the 4th century BC, the North had its Gupta Empire and the South was controlled by several dynasties that spread Hindu culture and religion to much of South East Asia. You will note that many coastal ports along the Malayan peninsular to be colonized by the Indians from the subcontinent and Hinduism spread amongst the locals (I am afraid you cannot deny this part of Malayan history as Hinduism in Lembah Bujang is well documented. Also not to be denied is the fact that Parameswara was also a Hindu Prince who was Hindu because of Southern Hindu influence from the Sub-continent during this Golden Age of India).

Islam only arrived on the Indian Sub-continent in about 700 AD. And even then it was not a strong foothold. Successive invasions of Muslims to depose the Muslims that came before continued through 10th century to the 15th century finally to settle with the Mughal Empire in the north (West and South India being independently ruled by smaller Hindu dynasties).

The Mughals were shrewd administrators. Here they were in control of a large population of Non-Mulims who if religious sensitivities were enraged, would loose their entire empire. So like the Manchus of China (also foreign and also small in number) they decided to let live the Hindus so that they too could live. It is only with the gradual decline of the Mughal Empire that the British then entered into India.

Now, where is it in History that India was Muslim before the entry of the British? I am afraid that you look at history through racial and religious glasses. They only serve to cloud your judgment.

Secondly, I would have you smacked for your racist comments of the Hindus in your postings above. Asoka the Great never abandoned Hinduism to advance himself to be the great lawmaker of the Hindus. Neither did Shah Jahan abandon Islam to become the great architect of his time. The point is that no one needs to abandon his religion, or to submit himself to Islam or secularism to be a better man. He only needs to strive to be a better man - that's all.

I am ashamed of you. Your comments only reflect poorly upon your upbringing and your learning. Improve yourself - and in the process bring goodwill to all Malaysians.
written by Shiva, December 09, 2008 10:40:24
guys, i came across some comments above and we are talking about terroist.
now within every faith, there are fanatics.
the are fanatics because to think they own the faith and that god had asked for the other kind to be eliminated, as i am superior to you.
now if one know one's own religion trully and deeply will there be hatred.
from my experience - please see what we teach the young: PLEASE CORRECT ME - IF I AM WRONG.

The christians - believe in jesus and mother mary
the buddhist - believe in attaining nirwana
the hindus - believe in karmic actions and reaction - towards nirwana
the islam in malaysia -"tiada tuhan lain melainkan ******", now why at this time and age - why there is still a religion that instead of improving the spiritual of every individuals is instigating comparison that i am better and you are not.
when every one starts to talk about their differances, we have fanatics and terrorist. now if we share what we have as being the similar, we will have unity in diverisity.
written by Rhan, December 09, 2008 12:01:27
Some people only reveal his good knowledge when he write to whack the Muslim, Christian and Chinese.

Other then this, he is a dumb most of the time.
written by renoir, December 09, 2008 15:32:15
written by ylcc:
>temenggong, I concur with LChuah]]

I think you misunderstood my posting, ylcc, and the overall thrust of Temenggong's message as well.

The single-minded goal of the West has been largely intact since the 15th century, and all human thought and activities have been directed towards that goal. Find out more about Zbigniew Brzezinski and what he said about the purpose of the Cold War and you'll probably see things from another perspective.

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 10, 2008 01:04:00
Wow! Some of us still have the Dark Ages in our minds. There is always Truth in every religion and also non-truths ( when it is one's opinions or intepretations of that religion translated into daily life - theirs I mean). There is good universal truth in Hinduism, in Islam, in Christianity and Buddhism and other isms. Didn't we come from one God, the Maker of all things?

Just so there are bad apples in every religion. Just as the Crusades showed the bad part of Christianity or the Jihad the bad part of Islam or others which I don't want to mention at this point about Hinduism ( in Orissa state where they killed and burnt Christians, orphanages and olk folks homes etc. knowing there were children and women inside the homes ) and Buddhists too. There are good Muslims and bad ones justa s there are good Buddhists and bad ones etc.

There are good rulers from whatever religions and evil conniving ones like mad Nero who was happy when Rome burnt and he put the Christians to be his flaming torches when he held parties in his garden.

I believe it is the universal values we hold that are important and put there by God. It is to love and be mindful of our neighbour and his rights and to consider others more than ourselves. When that happens, it is called true religion. To love others more than ourselves is real religion. So the true measure of a civilisation or a group of people ( whether ruling or civic, whether nobility or plebian ) is that they care for one another's rights and live in harmony. That is the measure of an enlightened society. Apart from that is all "hogwash" and ego-centric. That goes for the West and the East too.