Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Mohd Ali confident of replicating state's success

Mohd Ali confident of replicating state's success PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 10:53

Despite lacking in experience at the federal level, Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam feels that his success in changing the economic and tourism landscape of the historical city of Malacca will prove useful for the nation. Mohd Ali, who has offered himself for the second highest post in Umno, shares his vision with JASON GERALD JOHN

The New Straits Times

insidepix1
Q: How did you feel when you heard the news that you had received 47 nominations?
A:
I am happy that the divisions gave me the go-ahead to contest the post of deputy president. The nominations show that democracy is very much alive in Umno. All those who offered themselves, including Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib, have also qualified.

Members will now be able to choose the best of the three for the post. I believe Umno members are wise enough to see who can work together for the betterment of the party.

Q: Would the unprecedented three-cornered fight for the Umno deputy president's post lead to three factions in the party?
A:
I don't think so. In Umno, we are all like a family. Blood is thicker than water. Party members will surely be competing among themselves but it is done in a manner which will not jeopardise solidarity in the party.
I believe that in the March elections, we will come together as one family to vote for the best person to helm the party.

There is no worry about the emergence of camps among those vying for the No. 2 post. We feel that the most important thing is the party and we cannot create disunity and factions in the biggest political party in the country.

I wish to remind myself and my counterparts in the contest to always think of the interests of the party in our efforts to gain support.

We have to have integrity, always be sincere, work hard and be willing to lift the party at all times in our endeavour to win the post of deputy president.

If we are able to do this, I believe the people will return to Umno and Barisan Nasional.

Q: Much has been said about money politics in Umno and the Anti-Corruption Agency is also investigating it. How can money politics be curbed in Umno?
A:
There are a lot of people talking about this now. Measures have been taken but money politics seems to be spreading like a disease in the party. This could be due to greed, power and the election system.

The answer is simple. We have to implement a two-pronged strategy.

The first is to stress integrity and for the Umno elections to be held in the manner of the general election. This means that the more than three million party members will be eligible to vote and decide who they want to lead the party.

We have the experience and resources to conduct the party polls the way the general election is conducted. Furthermore, we can make use of information technology in the voting process to make it easier.

With all party members being voters, I believe money politics can be eradicated.

This is only my proposal and it has to be first looked into by the Umno supreme council before it is brought to the general assembly to be effected as it involves changes to certain clauses in the Umno constitution.

Q: A consensus is growing that the global economic downturn needs to be addressed immediately. What are your views on the measures that have to be taken?
A:
Managing the economy of a state and a nation by just focusing on economic growth without taking into account other factors, such as unemployment and poverty, is simple. Likewise, it is also easy to focus on combating inflation without looking at economic growth and people's incomes.

We have to strike a balance between economic growth, increasing GDP (gross domestic product) and household income, reducing the unemployment rate and also keeping inflation at a manageable level. This is difficult to achieve.

Take the Malacca economy, for example. From 2000 to last year, we managed to strike a delicate balance and what we have done in the state could be implemented at the federal level.

Over this period, Malacca's annual GDP grew by 5.9 per cent, per capita GDP rose by 5.6 per cent a year, household income went up by a staggering 51.4 per cent, poverty level fell to 1.8 per cent from 5.7 per cent (1999), unemployment rate was the lowest in the country at less than two per cent, inflation stood at 2.4 per cent a year, and rural-urban income disparity was brought down to 3.4 per cent.

Investors are also coming to Malacca, with the value of investments increasing by 32 per cent from RM235 million last year to RM309 million this year.

Is there any other state in the country with such an impressive record?

Q: How are you planning to replicate the state's success on the nation and what about the global economic situation?
A:
I do not foresee any problems in instituting the ideas, measures and policies which have led to the success of the state at the federal level.

I have been involved hands-on from the planning stages right up to the implementation stages in bringing change to the state's economic development.

I have first-hand experience in managing the economy and this could be used for the betterment of the country.

With regard to the economic situation, as leaders, we have to study and monitor the main problems faced by the world, which have a direct impact on the people. Then we outline concrete measures to overcome it.

There are six main areas we need to address -- the credit crunch, energy supply, food supply, climate change, clean water sources and inflation/stagflation.

We have to address these problems at once before it is too late. In doing so, the people must know what is happening, and they should contribute to resolving the issues.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Tompios, December 08, 2008 11:01:41
Good for you Mr. Ali Rustam. Come and join me to drink a cup of 'Nestam' someday. But, please do not repeat your mistake to put ISLAM in one basket with orang Melayu. Remember this!! Islam is Islam.

If Kazadan covert to Islam, it will never change the Kadazan as orang Melayu Malaya. Never!!
written by Tan Tan, December 08, 2008 11:17:34
This guy is a bad news...should be in top post.
written by Tan Tan, December 08, 2008 11:18:10
like the rest of our leaders...all bad news hahaha
written by Futurist, December 08, 2008 11:19:19
Changing economic and tourism landscapes in Malacca. My foot!! While I was working im Malacca for about a year in the state, I had a wonderful time there. Sitting along the water front in the evening near the padang, enjoying the fun at the Portuguese settlement. Where is the waterfront now? The sea front has become a concrete jungle now.
written by Arubin, December 08, 2008 11:49:33
Investors are also coming to Malacca, with the value of investments increasing by 32 per cent from RM235 million last year to RM309 million this year.

Is there any other state in the country with such an impressive record?

No doubt, this explains why the state has so much money as to spend RM80,000 on just two (count them, TWO) souvenirs during such troubling economic times.

Is there any other state in the country with such an impressively stupid budget? Oh wait, I suspect I already know the answer to that question...
written by onnetline, December 08, 2008 12:07:50
En Ali Roastam,

We need clean and not corrupted leaders up at federal level ! Are you one ???
written by HEADACHE, December 08, 2008 12:20:01
Investments of RM309 million in a year? That is indeed a very small amount! I cannot call this an impressive record.

And if the GDP rises by 5.6% per year, how does household income rise by a staggering 51.4%. I think that this guy is talking garbage!!

Now he wants to study Shahrukh's studio to built one in Melaka? For what purpose???

It is bad enough that this guy is very corrupted, he is also very stupid....
written by arazak, December 08, 2008 12:35:18
This Ketam with his 2 kilos moustache, had always thought he is a bollywood star. He thought he is very popular with the rakyaat. . .! Unkowing to him, the Pak Chiks at warung kopi and Mak Ciks selling "goreng pisang" in Malacca are cursing him day and night!
written by hckit, December 08, 2008 12:50:10
What is Melaka state success ?
written by Fuminari, December 08, 2008 14:31:05
these candidates hav been talking adversely about money politic but then why the hell this issue is getting out of hand??therefore proven,they are all munafiq!
written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 14:52:32
Oh, so he proclaims that Melaka is very successful. Now, I really want to know what success he is talking about.

AhLee is trumpeting like what Toyol did when the latter declared that Selangor had achieved developed nation status.

Only fools and the terminally blind will believe such proclamations. Please for those who haven't woken up yet, please go around town and see the state of our road, drains, parks, public amenities, closed-down commercial centres and shuttered shops, the filth, the indiscriminate destruction of our natural habitat, the poor living in deplorable conditions.... and compare it to the lavish lifestyles of the likes of AhLee...

And he has the nerve to tell us he has done a good job.

Wake up everybody!
written by Angela Ooi, December 08, 2008 15:16:35
Yucks, this guy sucks! Yet another of the 'Ketuanan UMNOputra' morons.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 08, 2008 16:39:28
How did you feel when you heard the news that you had received 47 nominations?
A: I am happy that the divisions gave me the go-ahead to contest the post of deputy president.

ER.... HOW MUCH DID U FORK OUT TO THESE GOONS FOR THEIR ENDORSEMENT???
I SUPPOSE EVERYONE IS VERY CLEAN AND PURE??
written by DezMalaysia, December 08, 2008 16:49:05
When he took over the Malacca CM post, he constructed the fake waterfall after consulting a Feng Shui master on how to make Melaka BN win big in the 12th GE. They did win big that time.

When the Hitler look-alike erected this Eye-On-Malacca,

it means, setting his target on Malacca's coffer !

When this Eye-On-Malaysia was put up / shifted to Melaka a few months ago,

it means, setting his aim / ambition to a higher level. The Deputy UMNO President post.

The conclusion is, eyeing Malacca & now Malaysia.
"Plundering Malacca then Malaysia"

OK ~ ! Habis cerita karut tetapi benar...

Pemimpin muka Hitler tu memang si KORUP besar Melaka. Tak percaya ? Tanya orang Melaka ! Hatten Group kroni siapa ? Kumpulan Melaka ? Samseng Belia 4B (Pertubuhan Kroni) semua gemuk-gemuk pungut wang parking kat Melaka Sentral yang sepatutnya wang tu di pungut oleh pekerja Bandaraya dan kemudiannya di masukkan ke tabung kerajaan untuk menolong orang-orang miskin negeri Melaka. Bina tebing sungai & empangan RM 400juta lebih semata-mata untuk River Cruise, pengurusan river cruise (satu lagi kroni). Menara Taming Sari, projek-projek raksaksa Ayer Keroh... Macam-macam lagi lah~

Kononlah semuanya untuk Melaka... Babi punya Hitler !

If he gets to the top, Malaysia Bankrap ! Vote him out in the next GE !
written by InEffective, December 08, 2008 17:43:24

I think he has the right attributes to join the incumbents topranks - ultra-racist, arrogant, self-serving, and only manages perception - no real delivery.

Perfect combination of skillsets to lead Malaysia.
(he join the ranks of paedophiles, money launderers, c4 experts, land expropriaters, bottom groppers, license extortioners ... - its all a beautiful melody of talent)

Ahh the pride of being a Malaysian Citizen...
written by jjireh99, December 08, 2008 20:14:43
get real! Our grandmothers and mothers told us he is a racist to the core!!! Still want to vote him in-ah? Please, you'll get another Najib clone, for crying out loud!
written by bn haramjadah, December 08, 2008 20:50:48
Remember these Famous words;
"Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam feels that his success in changing the economic and tourism landscape of the historical city of Malacca will prove useful for the nation"
But Latok, I have one question for you latok, ISN'T MALACCA STATE GOVERNMENT BANKRUPT, CHAPTER 11, IN DEEP DEBT, A DEFICIT BUDGET, A PARIAH STATE iN THE FORM of a begger STATE, BROUGHT ON BY YOUR ECONOMIC POLICIES.
DO YOU WANT TO EMULATE THESE STRANGE 'ACHEIVEMENTS'& 'ACCOMPLISHMENTS" of ' Jaguh kampung economics' TO THE NATIONAL AND FEDERAL LEVEL?
You mean to say, after focking up MELAKA, you want to focke us up?
I SAY THANK YOU, BUT NO THANK YOU, YOU ARE A MORRALLY BANGKRUPT, MORON OF THE FIRST DEGREE. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif With 'CHAMPIONS' like these who needs enemies. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by MsiaCTzen, December 09, 2008 09:54:52
WE HATE THIS BASTARD

vote agree or disagree below
written by Silent Saint, December 09, 2008 10:22:01

This chap is known as 10% in Melaka as he dmands 10% cut for all projects in the state.
written by asguard, December 09, 2008 10:49:21
Put a screw-up leaders at the top get more screw-up results!
written by CPY, December 09, 2008 11:51:33
Saya rasa org Melayu takkan sokong ini KM Melaka. Sebab dia cakap 'Sangat mudah mau jadi Melayu'. Cakap Melayu, Ikut(Budaya) Melayu, Masuk Islam & Sunat k***k! Ini menyebabkan yg bukanmelayu bukanislam telah menyamakan Melayu=Islam, sedangkan kat negara lain tidak. Kat China, Islam terlebih dahulu dikenali sebagai Hui Jiao(Agama Kaum Hui, yg sering digelar Cina Islam. Mrk mempunyai darah Arab & Han Cina. Nama mrk biasanya ada 'Ma' macam Ma Ha Teh(Mahathir), atau 'Mu' Mu Ha Ma(Muhamad)) Kat India, ia dikenali sebagai salah satu agama.