Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib banking on Pakatan disunity

Najib banking on Pakatan disunity PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 10:46

By B. Suresh Ram, NST

The Barisan Nasional expects to retain the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat at the Jan 17 by-election despite opposition claims of serious differences within the coalition, Datuk Seri Najib Razak said. 

"I do not think that the disagreements will affect BN's chances in Kuala Terengganu," said Najib, who is the BN deputy chairman.

He pointed out that disputes had also arisen between the parties of the Pakatan Rakyat.

He said the voters in Kuala Terengganu wanted to bring in a party which worked for their future.

"The Pakatan Rakyat has its own internal problems. So don't just look at the BN.
"What happens in the BN always gets media coverage compared with what takes place in Pakatan Rakyat," he said after handing 179 head of cattle and two camels to representatives of surau and mosques in his constituency for slaughter in conjunction with Hari Raya Aidiladha.

"In truth, strains and cracks are beginning to appear in the Pakatan Rakyat."

Najib, who is also the Umno deputy president and deputy prime minister, said Umno had had several meetings on preparations for the by-election.

"The party's management committee has had several meetings with the Terengganu state liaision committee and also met the Kuala Terengganu division two days ago.

"Instructions have been given for them to make preparations and take the necessary action."

Najib said the candidate to be fielded would be announced next month.

The Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of deputy education minister Datuk Razali Ismail on Nov 28.

written by ahmadneil, December 08, 2008 10:52:33
PR is as solid as rock.Najis is just spreading lies to achieve his ambition.Never will the people of Trengganu be fool by him.Vote for PAS,throw out umno.Jangan undi umno.Yes,we can!
written by ahmadneil, December 08, 2008 10:54:13
Aminah murder and the release of Razak Baginda will be a hot topic in Trengganu .This will be the main cause for umno's defeat.
written by Tompios, December 08, 2008 10:55:44
O really, Mr. Najib? Anyway, people will forget the disunity among Pakatan Rakyat for the sake of toppling UMNO which has 51 years records of spreading sporadic poisonous dunks among Malaysians.

Where is the promise 100 days development of Sabah? Where? Again I ask you UMNO, where? It was almost 20 years but Sabah still almost the same!!
written by Hope4all, December 08, 2008 10:58:09
Wan Azizah or Rosmah, who captures most of the people's heart? Let the rakyat decide.
written by malsia1206, December 08, 2008 10:58:17
BN can bang on the disunity and differences within Pakatan all they want. The rakyat only need to bang on the abuses, arrogance and blatant corruption of the present Government. That's good enough for me.
written by ibabonma, December 08, 2008 11:02:50
The ghosts of Altantunya and Kublai Khan will hunt Najis here, in Kuala Terengganu. Big Moma, you better stay at home because when they exploded the C4 bomb on her tummy, you were watching and smiling.
written by Futurist, December 08, 2008 11:07:58
PR may have squabbles. But the mind is focused in one direction and united in that. TO BE IN PUTRAJAYA. With BN components being shouted at to leave the coalition if not happy, it can be seen which party is in shambles. KT people, just deliver an astounding result for PR. Just like in PP.
written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 11:32:41
This is the kind of politics UMNO practices. One need not go to John F Kennedy School of Politics to study this . But still the children of the Umnoputras will be sent there with our Tax Money for other purposes like shopping and sightseeing-- and they will rule the slaves who stand with their hands folded and mouths shut and run amok when signaled!

written by lynn, December 08, 2008 11:38:48
Everyone knows the BN govt ministers are corrupt to the core. Mindlessly wasting the country's wealth for 30 yrs.

Kuala Trengganu folks shld multiply RM300 million by 5 years and then divide the cash among only Trengganu folks. How much does each of you get? If there are 200,000 of you, you shld each get RM1500 every year.

So will you vote Umno? Of course not! You don't vote people in who will take your Trengganu oil wealth and party every year while you watched on the sidelines or up a treetop in your old T-shirt or sarong. You vote them out!!!! You get rid of them, you encourage your fellow Trengganu friends to do likewise.

Corruption is a crime in all societies except in Bodohland.!
written by cheekymate, December 08, 2008 11:41:25
..."In truth, strains and cracks are beginning to appear in the Pakatan Rakyat."
Dear Mr Hopeful Prime Minister In Waiting,
Do you know your UMNO and its lapdogs have strains the size of cosmic craters?
Your own tainted image will be your downfall. The spirit of Altantuya will see to that.
written by archie, December 08, 2008 11:42:11
"In truth, strains and cracks are beginning to appear in the Pakatan Ratyat"

In truth, strains and cracks have already happened in the BN - SAPP has left the coalition, PPP threatens to leave if ISA is not abolished, Gerakan's rank and file are in favour of leaving..........
written by clarity, December 08, 2008 12:30:51
Last time BN won the parliamentary seat by a few hundred votes. This time PR will win by a few thousand votes because 1} the people want change 2} they are fed up of corruption e.g. monsoon cup, the sea wall, the mercedes cars for councillors, the crystal mosque and the list goes on and 3} E. coast states would be a little behind in media savvy but this one year they would have caught up. They don't want all this shit again. Worst for BN, a lot of non malays now have a lot of respect for Nik Aziz.
written by wood, December 08, 2008 13:19:00
BN also said they are confident of winning the Permatang Pauh recent by-election and now they expect to retain the seat in KT! Perhaps still haven't woke up from their slumber/sleep and dreaming away!smilies/wink.gif
written by JJFoo, December 08, 2008 13:32:34
With righteousness and fairness as PR's core, any cracks or flaws are just the unpolished part of the Diamond. Najib will be in for a surprise.
written by varvoom, December 08, 2008 13:34:54
Two Camel Dung 4 U 2 Najib!
written by krising1, December 08, 2008 13:57:01
Disagreement is not disunity. Disunity exists in UMNO and BN. Will Najib agree not to become PM if BN does not win Kuala Trengganu? That is the real test.
written by Sagaladoola, December 08, 2008 15:48:20
"The Pakatan Rakyat has its own internal problems. So don't just look at the BN.

Hahaha, Good joke. How are you going to bank on Pakatan disunity, when Barisan itself is also disunited?

"What happens in the BN always gets media coverage compared with what takes place in Pakatan Rakyat," he said after handing 179 head of cattle and two camels to representatives of surau and mosques in his constituency for slaughter in conjunction with Hari Raya Aidiladha.

BN gets media coverage? True.. But more on positive news, isn't it? Depends on which type of media. The mainstream media is controlled by whome, that is not hard to answer, perhaps.

written by ROBERTNGTG, December 08, 2008 16:31:09
The Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of deputy education minister Datuk Razali Ismail on Nov 28.

MAY THE GHOSTS OF THE MONGOL HORDES AND ALTANTUNYA RISE TO HAUNT AND TAUNT BEEND INTO SUBMISSION WITH THE ERASURE OF ALL THE ACCOMPLICES ONE BY ONE, STARTING WITH THE ONE WHO ERASED THE IMMIGRATION RECORDS.
written by Siapabohong, December 08, 2008 18:03:06
To PR leaders specially DSAI, he has directly challenged you all to show to him that you all are united. Not only that, we all who are longing for a change of government really want to see you all get united in the true sense and spirit and let focus your thought and mind to the task ahead to take over the government as soon as possible. Show him that you all are not as what he rethorically say so.
written by bn haramjadah, December 08, 2008 20:57:22
'after handing 179 head of cattle and two camels to representatives' two camels tu halal kah? beli dengan wang halal kah?
why bukan kambing?, bukankah ini adat lama culturally orang melayu, mana orang melayu dulu pernah makan UNTA?
bolih jadi ni diet baru kot' MAKANLAH UNTA, KUAT BADAN, OTAK JADI BODOH MACAM UNTA'KEKEKEKKEKE smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif BOLIH JADI LEBIH ARAB KALAU MAKAN UNTA KAH?
written by Just Gan, December 08, 2008 21:06:32
"The Government will not be issuing any more permits for hillside developments following the landslide tragedy at Bukit Antarabangsa early Saturday morning.Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said this on Saturday at a press conference after visiting the (Bukit Antarabangsa) tragedy site (LESTER KONG - The Star)

With refernce to Najib's above-statement - Yes, no more permits for hillside project. We are dead serious. That's why the BN/UMNO govt will not approve any application for the NEXT 100 DAYS. Surely, the long period for suspension of all hillside developments shows the govt's seriousness. And to show that we are sincere, we will only allow BN/UMNO linked developers to undertake hillside projects after the 100 days as only they are the ones who have the know-how to give Malaysians the kind of houses they should be given in accordance with BN/UMNO's principles.

The approving authorities and developers involved have been very responsible and professional and need to be lauded for having done their part in delivering quality disaster-free homes. It would be absolutely wrong to charge them for even negligence or unprofessionalism. In order to show that they are not in any way responsible for this landslide, we will commission a study by experts from our world-class Malaysian universities to prove their innocence and determine the true cause of this landslide. We are determined to find out why and who is responsible, and are prepared to spend hundreds of millions of ringgit for the study as it is absolutely vital to prevent THIS landslide from happening again. For all you know, this landslide could have been the work of some irresponsible Pakatan Rakyat kids whose combined piss caused the mud and earth to collapse. You can be assured that we will find those kids and we will charge them under ISA!
written by Food Thought, December 09, 2008 06:17:54
The only cracks I see is Najib's back smilies/grin.gif. UMNO cracks as PM is setting down, struggles within party, Gerakan is slowly moving into PR side, MCA still singing the old tune about ketuanan melayu, while MIC is still control by hollow vellu.. so Najib, whose crack is it ? yours ? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Bigjoe99, December 09, 2008 09:33:30
This is Najib strategy in everything - the other guy do worst than he!!Its never about him doing better because HE CAN'T!!!