Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow So, is he going... or staying?

So, is he going... or staying? PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 10:40

Will he change his mind? No, says his supporters and friends. They say that it is important for Abdullah to be remembered as a man of his word.

The Malaysian Insider 

Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang says that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should only step down as Prime Minister once he has fulfilled his slew of promises to Malaysians.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah says that Abdullah can stay on as Prime Minister even if he is no longer the Umno president.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad says that there is every possibility that Abdullah will go back on his word and remain in the top job after party elections in March.

What's happening? What is driving this sudden examination and speculation of Abdullah's options? Is Abdullah reconsidering his retirement plans?

The short answer to the last question appears to be NO. Sources told The Malaysian Insider that Abdullah has already made plans for his post-Prime Minister days. He will shift out of Seri Perdana and move into a kampung-style house in Sungai Penchala, on the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur. As for filling up his retirement days, he has told his friends that he would like to spend time strengthening ties between Malaysia and the Middle East.

His staff members are also looking ahead and counting the days. Some of them are scouting for employment while members of the security detail will return to the general pool. The consensus is that Abdullah is at peace with the decision to hand over power to Datuk Seri Najib Razak at the party annual assembly in March 2009.

"He seems much happier than he was in the last few months. The mess after the March elections really weighed him down, with calls for him to step down and the back-biting and political back-stabbing. Now he looks relaxed and healthier… I think he accepts that his time is up, '' said a senior Umno official, who spoke on condition of anonymity.

Will he change his mind? No, says his supporters and friends. They say that it is important for Abdullah to be remembered as a man of his word. Also, he does not have a clinical streak in him or the temperament to go against convention, all very necessary tools if he wants to hold onto to the premiership beyond March.

After he has ushered in the legislation for the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Bill, the Judicial Appointments Commission and the special tribunal for enforcement agencies and widened the social security net to cover more than 100,000 households, he will step down. But this will not stop speculation by the cheerleaders from the sidelines or the doubters.

Pas president Abdul Hadi said that the Islamic party would like Abdullah to stay on as Prime Minister until his main tasks were fulfilled. He noted that the MCAC had not been tabled in Parliament while the other reforms which the Prime Minister promised Malaysians were only in infancy stage.

He also felt that Abdullah should overhaul the Election Commission which still was not credible in the eyes of many Malaysians. "He should only go after overcoming the weaknesses and shortcomings of this body which oversees elections, '' said the MP for Marang.

Not difficult to see why Hadi has suddenly become a fan of Abdullah's. He and other Opposition politicians know that there will be chaos in Umno and Barisan Nasional if Abdullah does not vacate his office in Putrajaya as planned. Pakatan Rakyat politicians sense that with the transition issue settled, Umno seems to have become a more settled political animal, a more dangerous foe. Nurturing the idea of Abdullah staying on as Prime Minister will certainly help knock the party off its stride and keep it unbalanced for some time to come.

Last week, Tengku Razaleigh said that there was nothing to stop Abdullah from staying on a PM, noting that he had received the mandate in March to stay on for five years more. "He commands the confidence of the majority of the MPs. And the Prime Minister is appointed by the King and not the Umno General Assembly,'' said the Kelantan prince and former Finance Minister.

As tempting as this idea is, it may not move Abdullah. The reason: he needs to be embraced and loved by his party. He never wants to be viewed as a usurper of the party's collective will. He did not contest the party elections and therefore will no longer have its mandate to rule. He may have the mandate from Malaysians but not the mandate from his party. That distinction is all important to him.

In a recent interview with The Sun, he was asked why he did not use the 90 per cent approval rating in 2004 to push through reforms. He said that having the support of Malaysians was one thing but precious to him was the endorsement of his party.

In the eyes of many party men including Abdullah, Najib, who was elected party president by the Umno divisions, has the mandate to lead the party and the country.

written by Tompios, December 08, 2008 10:47:05
Abdullah my Hamba Allah, i think better for you to stay and create new history and record as the first PM who has no main title in the party but still entitled PM of Malaysia. Najib as UMNO president and you as UMNO dictator persona. What a nice combination! Make new history man. Let the Mahathir's legend vanish to the air.

The Induns dan Pilaks in Sabah must be very happy if your stay remain as Malaysia PM for THREE years more. Bravo!!

written by ahmadneil, December 08, 2008 10:56:39
If forced and shamed,AAB will make a 'U' turn a he is famously known as flip flog .Let this be his last flip flog.
written by ibabonma, December 08, 2008 11:19:10
He will stay on and he has indicated it once, that it was never his intention to relinquish the PM post immediately soon after March, he might stay on for a few more months (till end of the year?).

Dollah, how could you hand over Malaysia to an alleged murderer, as claimed by millions of Malaysians? You are sending Malaysia to the dogs so that you can live happily ever after with your Jin?
written by RumahPanjai, December 08, 2008 11:30:52
Quote "They say that it is important for Abdullah to be remembered as a man of his word."
Has Abdullah ever been known as a man of his word? Our voting in the last election is because his words last for 24 hours. He will leave behind a legacy and be remembered as a man who forgot his words.
written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 12:22:30
I'll declare upfront: I am no Pak Lah supporter!!!

But given a choice between Pak Lah and Najis, it's a no-brainer. I'll take Pak Lah, sleepyhead notwithstanding, anytime.

It's a simple case of the lesser of two evils ...... the ideal alternative is Pakatan of course but since it's not going to happen overnight we have no choice.

So for once, I really hope that Pak Lah is consistent in his flip-flop and reverse his decision and stay on.
written by densemy, December 08, 2008 12:24:07
"As for filling up his retirement days, he has told his friends that he would like to spend time strengthening ties between Malaysia and the Middle East."

What a wonderful idea... Never mind about all the problems that still exist in Malaysia.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 08, 2008 13:04:58
PM,

you seemed to have received many wrong advice since you took office !! Everything you proposed turned out to be a dud !

You know fully well that if NAjib take over, the country is heading for self destruction.

You are an IMAm, professed to take care of people. Now the interest of the country is far more important than any man made arbitrary date. Your proposed bills are vital steps to a better Malaysia. I and many Malaysians plead with you, Malaysians have been tremendously let down by you before, this round it must not be the same. You have the mandate by the Rakyat,
After all, you already have nothing to lose, why not go all out, muster your gut and strenght you have, finish your job as promised !!

You begin your ofice with a high note, you should end it with a big bang !
Let MAlaysians have something positive to remember you by!!
written by krising1, December 08, 2008 14:04:54
When Pak Lah says NO it means yes. Remember the all the negative replies when turned out to be true. The plane. The wedding. The dissolution of Parliament. This time I do not mind if you flip flop once more. It will give Dr. M one more heart attack. In-fighting in UMNO will continue. Najib will not be PM. After so many flip flops, one more will not matter.
written by adan, December 08, 2008 15:08:33
PA LAH should once in a way 'give back' to DR.M. the generous doasage of insults and humilation that he has been receciving. There are TWO SIMPLE WAYS to get back at him. FIRST, carry out all the PROMISED REFORMS.. DR.M. is ALLERGIC to reforms and this can be FATAL to him. SECONDLY,make the trade-mark flip-flop and declare that he(AAB) will CONTINUE TO BE PM after March 2009...and that should give him a MASSIVE HEART ATTACK... Once in way one should do or say something to prove that he is alive or least awake.
written by temanmu, December 08, 2008 17:40:45
"He said that having the support of Malaysians was one thing but precious to him was the endorsement of his party."
-------------

Clearly AAB is the slave of UMNO, not the PM of all Malaysians ... useless no backbone!
written by gorshan, December 08, 2008 19:59:08
i will remember him as that sleepy whatshisname ex PM. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Old Man, December 13, 2008 21:15:52
AAB should continue to stay. Otherwise history will remember him as a President cum PM of UMNO who got kicked out for committing incest and adultery with his brother-in-law's wife ! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif