Christian worldview - an interview with Ravi Zacharias PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 10:25

There is no law in the land where I live, compelling me to [be a Christian]. But in your land, if I chose to disbelieve [Islam], I have to stand before a tribunal of justices and explain it.

By Julia Duin
The Washington Times

Indian-born Ravi Zacharias, who grew up steeped in Hinduism, is one of the first Christian apologists to come out of the Third World. Headquartered in Atlanta, his expertise on comparative religions has earned him audiences from Capitol Hill to Harvard. The following are excerpts from an interview by Julia Duin with Mr. Zacharias, who was in town recently for a lecture at the C.S. Lewis Institute.

Q: How do you present the uniqueness of Christianity?

A: I am totally convinced the Christian faith is the most coherent worldview around. Everyone: pantheist, atheist, skeptic, polytheist has to answer these questions: Where did I come from? What is life's meaning? How do I define right from wrong and what happens to me when I die? Those are the fulcrum points of our existence. I deal with cultural issues whether they be in the Middle East, Far East, the Orient or the West. You broach questions in the context of their culture and then present Christian answers.

Q: Why do you call "Jesus Among Other Gods" your most significant book?

A: There was no life so impeccably lived as His. There are those who've claimed prophetic status who have led pretty heavily duplicitous lives. But in Christ, you never see that. You never find Him in any compromising situation that shows itself where He was driven by the sensuality of the moment. After 2000 years, no name has been scrutinized more, none abused or challenged more in the public media. I find a lot of Western journalists intellectually cowardly here. They would never do with Mohammed what they do with Jesus. They don't have the courage to do that. If the major magazines - Time, Newsweek or U.S. News and World Report - did with Mohammed on one of their major festivals what they do to Jesus on Christmas or Easter, they probably wouldn't be in existence any more.

Q: Why are people so fascinated with Eastern religions?

A: Because they give you the privilege of morality without having God. Even aspects of the entire New Age movement are a moralizing philosophy without the positing of a central deity. Buddhism also gives you that. Bahaism gives you a pluralistic view, and a lot of aspects of Hinduism give you a moral framework with no accountability other than the karmic system. There's no linear movement or point of accountability toward God. I was in a hearing with [former presidential speechwriter] Peggy Noonan years ago and she asked this question: Do terrorists fear anything? I said, 'I suspect they would fear a morally strong America.' They would know that a morally strong America would not be dislodged. You can always appeal to a point of vulnerability which would break a people up. [Terrorists] don't fear so much the weaponry as the moral courage, and I think a morally strong America would be intimidating to them.

Q: What has been your experience on American campuses?

A: If I speak on Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam or whatever, I am quite free to do it without any repercussions. But if you speak on the Christian faith, somebody is going to question why you are there. You talk to any Christian campus group on any major campus and they'll tell you about the intimidation there. It's sad. I lived in India, then in Canada and then I've come here. America seems to take a hit for everything it does. But worse can be done in other parts of the world and it will be done with impunity. For instance, racism: I could take you to parts of the world today where racism is horrible, blatant. The same people who will tell you that, are the ones who will take us to task. I will tell you what is hidden under all of this. I believe because we live under the outworking of a Christian worldview, we are willing to face the self-criticism and scrutiny. Other worldviews are not willing to lend themselves to that.

Q: How much freedom do you have in Muslim countries?

A: [Muslims] will tell you there is no compulsion in religion. I was with the minister of religion of a major country that I will leave unnamed. He was a very courteous man and he was talking about the work they were doing. They had just met in Malaysia about improving the image of Islam. I asked, 'Why do you feel it needs to be improved?' He said, 'Well, September 11. We are often represented as using compulsion in religion.' I said, 'I don't want to be discourteous, but if I were in your country and I were a Muslim, would I be free to disagree with it?' He said, 'Why would you want to do that?' I said, 'No, I am just asking theologically: Would I be free to disbelieve it?' He said, 'Well, these things get more complicated when you deal with a country's laws and all.' I said, 'When you say there is no compulsion in religion, you are looking at one side of the coin, meaning you will never force someone to become what you are. But to have no compulsion means you should not compel somebody to believe something when they want to disbelieve it. That is a very critical test for compulsion.

There is no law in the land where I live, compelling me to [be a Christian]. But in your land, if I chose to disbelieve [Islam], I have to stand before a tribunal of justices and explain it. How can I withstand such intimidation and be honest and not pay for it at the same time? Frankly, he wouldn't give me an answer. I think if Islam is going to rise to the level many moderates want to see it, they will have to take off the heavy foot of compulsion in their own lands. Then it can be a legitimate representation of how many believe.

Q: How can Christianity meet the needs of a place like India?

A: I was born and raised in Bombay and I go back there twice a year. India is agony writ large. The voices of the millions are not heard. Walk through the streets of Calcutta and it hits you. At the same time, it's the center of India's learning. Some of her greatest philosophers come from Calcutta. The first thing Christianity does is raise the level of every individual. There's an essential dignity. Every human being is of essential worth. The second thing it does is give the impetus to love and reach out in a way that rescues the person, not just the function. Look at where the missionary organizations - the hospitals, orphanages and health care - came from. I spoke three weeks ago at Bahrain at the 100th anniversary of the American missionary hospital, which was founded in Saudi Arabia and now is in Bahrain. Many of the sheiks were born there and several were represented in the audience to which I spoke. From where came the impetus? It came from the love of Christ.

Q: What does American culture need rescuing from?

A: What America needs more than anything else right now is to know she cannot exist without the worldview that helped bring her into being. And that was the Judeo-Christian worldview. What America also needs is the willingness to allow the Christian faith freedom of access in the institutions that it allows every other faith to have. Isn't it interesting that when these mainline divinity schools were conservative, room was given for the liberals. But they have become liberal and the conservatives are squeezed out, if not humiliated out, which is a fascinating reality.

Correction: The hospital was founded in Bahrain (not Saudi Arabia as originally stated) and the missionaries traveled by road to Saudi Arabia to treat people and Royalty there.

Correction: Ravi Zacharias was born in Chennai (Madras) and raised in Delhi, not Bombay as this article states.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 11:09:56
""'I was with the minister of religion of a major country that I will leave unnamed. He was a very courteous man and he was talking about the work they were doing""'

It is ones like the "unnamed" who do more damage to the progressive culture that should simmer in a country like Malaysia. The rate at which Malaysia has gone down all levels of regards when it came to freedom and justice is graphic. ---unless Malaysia has its own technologies to uproot itself from this planet and stay on its own like a super power without legs to walk the Intelligent thinking.
Countries in the Middle East(esp-Jordan, UAE) , Algeria , and Egypt have come a long way with the younger gens. educated in different places of higher thinking and learning to see the real truths. This has conversely made an impact of progressiveness -- as man is always considered an intelligent being!
What do we have here, the lucky ones who had that chance to give this Nation the fill for that gaps ? --- with ones like Zulkifli!! they work against the grain of what they learn.
Can we connect to the world ?? Not till they go thro another phase of slavery which they seem to enjoy!! while letting the powers that be sodomise and rape their very generation .
Little realizing that they feed the Powers that be to plunder further for themselves ,in the name of beholders of their rights! A very sad scenario!!
This truth is so clearly visible in the Corridors of Power!- which the "unnamed" is beholden to!

written by Freedom, December 08, 2008 11:48:59
Please check the website www.faithfreedom.org. The site was developed by once Muslim who is now apostate. Read with open mind.
written by borneoman, December 08, 2008 11:51:50
all non muslim in sarawak demands fair distributions of funds from the government based on the sarawakian ratio and not based on malaya ratio.which mean christian are the majority and Christianity should be considered the official religion for sarawak unfortunately it is just a dream.i dont think the tuan umno muslim of malaya will ever allow that to happen.
written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 12:17:15
In a real and truly freedom of religion state there should be no compulsion whatsoever.

Put this in the context of of Malaysia. Don't need to be an Einstein to figure out whether this holds true.

Perhaps to clarify the issue at hand I'll paraphrase the real situation:

In Malaysia, you have the freedom to practise any religion you want as long as you do not touch on Islam.

In Malaysia, you are free to practise Buddhism, Hinduism and other mainline 'isms' but NOT in the confines of Islam.

In Malaysia Islam is a one-way street. Once you walk through it you cannot turn back, doesn't matter if you decide later that it is not the right religion for you. And this is for the lucky ones who are not born into the religion. If you were born a Muslim, it's too bad, you are stuck with it for life.

True compulsion-free relgion is when a believer can disagree with other believers.... ah, that's the crux of the issue. Is this allowed in Malaysia? Don't know? Ask RPK...........
written by chanatak, December 08, 2008 14:47:37

I doubt if many readers ( in this narrow-minded bigotted nation) have the depth of consciousness to understand the significance of what was discussed, much less the courage to stand up to the issues.

Admittedly, "Christians" have killed in the name of religion - but those who did, killed in disobedience to the teachings of the bible. (Hence "christians" is in quotation marks ).

On the other hand, when m*****s kill, they kill in OBEDIENCE to their holy book and they are proud of it, while shouting out how great their god is . Therein lies the difference.

There is no law in the land where I live, compelling me to [be a Christian]. But in your land, if I chose to disbelieve [Islam], I have to stand before a tribunal of justices and explain it. How can I withstand such intimidation and be honest and not pay for it at the same time? Frankly, he wouldn't give me an answer

Therefore, in Malaysia the open-minded ones are persecuted and subjected to peer pressure to conform. If one chooses to speak, one speaks with fear and caution; or one speaks in patronizing tones, not daring to be honest.

And which muslim has an answer to what was stated in the quote above? Remember Lina Joy and the price she has to pay?

But we will continue to hear the illogical and irrational mouthing of the verse "there is no compulsion" and at the same time see compulsion. Is that not telling a lie with eyes wide open?

written by Goodbites, December 08, 2008 16:43:44
Go to www.rzim.org
written by gorshan, December 08, 2008 19:42:21
The origins of the Hebrews remain shrouded in mystery. Could it be that the Hebrews were nothing more than Brahmins, who migrated to the Middle East?

Why does the Star of David bear a remarkable resemblance to the Hindu Shiva and Shakti symbols?

Why does the name Abraham, Sarah (Sarai), Isaac, Ishmael, bear a remarkable resemblance to the names Brahma, Sarasvati, Ishvaaku and Soma?

may be someday,after a deep thorough research, the Jew, the Christian and the Moslem will come to a mind numbing realisation they are all Hindus? heh heh heh. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Stormquest, December 08, 2008 20:08:37
Aha! I see votes for and against what I wrote earlier :-)

No problem. Feel free to disagree. That's what freedom of speech is about, isn't it? Ofcourse, I'd appreciate that you state what it is you disagree about, preferably from a historical and archaeological stand point, and not from a theological standpoint. That way we learn. Or are we not open minded about learning?

Are you aware that the story of Adam & Eve is not confined only to the so-called "Abrahamic" faiths, but can also be found in Hinduism? Don't believe me? Look it up. It's in Wikipedia.

"Eve is mentioned in Hinduism as Havyavati and is considered to be the consort of Adhama (Adam). In Hinduism, Eve is the child of Vishnu-Kardama and is said to increase the generations of mlecchas. In the time of Kali Yuga, a deity named Kali Purusha worshipped Naryana. After some time, the lord appeared and said to him that there is a man named Adama and his wife Havyavati, and that they will increase the generations of mlecchas. This took place in the city of Pradan, where there was a sacred forest (God-given Forest). The forest was on the east side of Pradan city, and was sixteen square yojanas in size. Adam was staying under the Papa-Vriksha tree and was eager to see his wife Havyavati. The deity Kali purusha transformed herself into a serpent and persuaded them to disobey the Lord. They lived by eating air with the leaves called udumbar. They had a son named Sveta-nama".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eve_(Bible)

I can go on about other parallels, but I shall leave it at that for now.

Have a nice day.
written by temenggong, December 08, 2008 22:54:28
You can see the large crowd of christian sympathisers here. They hog the blogs! Mention abraham and they all come out of the woodwork and disclose themselves and their naivety! smilies/grin.gif

Overlook them. They are blind and pea brained just like the muslims. smilies/grin.gif

But then this is not a christian bashing forum. This is a muslim umno bashing forum lah! Lets remain focused. smilies/grin.gif
written by Jack Sparrow, December 08, 2008 22:59:01
Gorshan smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif you are a real joker smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by AsamLaksa, December 08, 2008 23:26:42
Somewhat interesting read but really nothing applaudable. The good side of America today is not so much about Christianity seeping into every crook and cranny of America. It is thanks to the foresight of the founding fathers of the United States of America that drafted a constitution that prevents any one religion becoming dominant and institutionalised. There were opposition to secularism and a faction that wanted to make America a Christian state. "In God We Trust" was the clever concession the founding fathers came up with. Nowhere does it read only a Christian God.

Before Christianity morality has already taken shape. We learn right from wrong even before we heard of Jesus. I am always amused that many Christians have this world view that all credit for morality is on Christianity. Ridiculous.

Christianity should be thankful that it was sound mind and true faith that finally broke the Vatican stranglehold. During the middle ages there was compulsion in Christianity. Even today there are lots of pressure to conform with Christian values. Death related with abortion clinics will show you the evils of forcing values onto others.

What we need is not so much of one faith prevailing over the other. The blood of the victims of such a goal is not worth it. What we need is for good values to be treasured from whichever sources. This means looking at all faiths with open minds and appreciating all of them. Dividing lines and setting up stout guard towers will not benefit humanity. Not going to see that happening in the near future.

Anyway, believe what you like as long as you do no real harm to others.
written by Davy McChester, December 09, 2008 03:43:21
Once upon a time,there was no real freedom,an essential ingredient for progress, in Christainity,but that has all changed the last 500 years. All other religions have gone beyond that,except for Islam,which is still struggling and does not accept "freedom" as a very essential component for individual and nations progress.A Jew, Buddhist, Hindu, Christain, Jain,Sikh,tao,non-believer,believer,agnostic,are all free to leave their religion anytime.Most live in all the most progressive nations: Europe ,America,Japan,Korea,Taiwan,Singapore,Australia,New Zealand,and developing nations. Surprisingly ,followers of the "peaceful religion" who are so fearful of freedom have also flocked in droves to the non muslim world.
written by ylcc, December 09, 2008 08:24:12
Temenggong, to critize other religions relfect on your shallow character and intolerance. Unless you know the difference between Judaism, Protestants, Catholics, Seven Days Adventists, and which denomination the writer belongs to, you should not be as you say "blind and pea brained!"