Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No plans to disband Rela, says Syed Hamid

No plans to disband Rela, says Syed Hamid PDF Print
Monday, 08 December 2008 10:23

By Meera Vijayan, The Star

The Government has no plans to disband Rela but will continue to improve the organisation, provide training and exposure to its members.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said although there were instances of abuse by Rela members, there was no need to disband the volunteer organisation, adding that it had performed well.

“There are no plans whatsoever to disband Rela.

“The Bar Council surely have better things to do than to call for Rela to be disbanded,” he said in an interview yesterday.

The council made the call recently, citing numerous reports alleging that Rela members had abused their powers during enforcement raids.

Syed Hamid said that if there were problems within Rela, efforts should be made to tackle them.

“Rela has served the country well and has a useful purpose. Yes, there are instances of abuse, but we take quick action,” he said, adding that Rela members were also better disciplined now.

He added that at present, training was provided on a continuous basis and Rela members worked more closely with the police to increase their exposure.

“These are volunteers and we want to encourage the spirit of volunteerism,” he said but noted that the Government would not compromise on standards.

Syed Hamid said that the complaints against Rela were not big despite Rela having about 200,000 active members.

“Rela does not lead any of the operations, but mostly complements the police and other enforcement agencies. We continue to look at ways to improve Rela,” he said.

written by Motherchell, December 08, 2008 10:31:36
Albar for what you say as Home Minister in your judgements --- better you remove your western attire -- wear a turban and become a Taliban looking Tribal Head of the Home Ministry.
I cannot believe you went to do a LLB!!

""complaints against Rela were not big..."" you will learn the day their abuse hits you close to your home ...

written by Tompios, December 08, 2008 10:41:24
Hamid! Yes, you are right. You need Rela and will continue support Rela in the future. But, bear in MIND, Rela needs reformation or may be just change their status like Security Guards in the shopping mall.
written by ahmadneil, December 08, 2008 10:46:51
Spending money on these useless enforcer is another way to fatten your pockets.
written by apasalahku, December 08, 2008 10:49:18
wait till someone takes a picture of your wife peeing in a truck
written by msiaman, December 08, 2008 11:02:30
When it comes to oppression, you need none other than The Shit Al-Blur. ISA, RELA and whatever, you name it. I think he is feeling the power now more than before where he never had much to show for his portfolio. The lost Island episode is one which he like to forget and disassociate.
written by supplier, December 08, 2008 11:06:32
All BN ADUN are Lt. Colonels in Rela and with all the top positions who are corrupted and power abusers, what you expect the people below them
written by Tan Tan, December 08, 2008 11:16:10
So far there isn't good news about Rela but bad news.

Honestly, Rela members should be banned from raid operation and just help to policemen in handling traffic jams and issue of tickets for double park cars or operation to catch and prevent Mat Rempit.

Since they acts like Mat Rempit themselves, I cannot think of any better ppls to do the task of handling Mat rempit problems.

Fight fire with fire.
written by Arubin, December 08, 2008 11:38:55
“These are volunteers and we want to encourage the spirit of volunteerism,” he said but noted that the Government would not compromise on standards.

And what are these standards exactly?
- Must be willing to barge uninvited into people's houses?
- Must enjoy trashing the place while pocketing valuables?
- Must have no qualms about harassing and even raping female immigrants?
written by densemy, December 08, 2008 11:59:46
Rela is an organisation which promotes the worst aspects of human nature.

But in Malaysia its all about control and repression, doesnt matter how debased you are if you are in control you then think you are superior
written by wood, December 08, 2008 13:35:19
Imagine people like you can comment " The Bar Council sure have better things to do than to call for Rela to be disbanded. "
Syed, don't you too have better things to say about the Bar Council too???
written by penangboi, December 08, 2008 15:00:58
Whatever Botak says is pure verbal diarrhea....

We need ISA.
We need RELA.
We need police brutality.
We need corrupt judicial.

Ughhh..... you make me really sick!
written by simnl, December 09, 2008 00:03:04
The spirit of voluteerism do not come with allowances. True volunteerism is from the heart not for $$$$. These 200,000 active members should do more charitable deeds
written by MsiaCTzen, December 09, 2008 10:11:54
RELA

They are UMNO and Jakim private army.
RELA members are PARIAH,Jobless Idiot,Peeping Toms and thieve.

They are licence Rapist. I was F*#k by one of them so that he will not arrest me.
His cock is so small and lembeh and force me to do oral.
They are MOtherF*$ker.