Why So Angry? PDF Print
Sunday, 07 December 2008 18:41

(Sin Chew Daily) If you're young, (and not so young) talented and angry, what do you do? Use your artistic skills to protest.  

I'm sure many of us possess talent in artistic creation. Man have always used art to express themselves.To put their message across. Through songs, poems, drawings, stage play, satires.

In the 1960s Bob Dylan with his protests songs made his mark. Very anti Vietnam war. Alongside Dylan during the Woodstock era were John Sebastian, Joan Baez, Arlo Guthrie and County Joe McDonald famous for his The “fish” cheer/ I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag.

In the late 1970s there were The Sex Pistols with Johnny Rotten as its lead singer. In 1980s Green day came to the fore. Then we were “hit” with the angst of teen spirit.Grunge music pioneered by Kurt Cobain of Nirvana. Even Bob Marley's reggae tunes were penned with anti social injustices messages.

At home during the reformasi era the authorities bore the onslaught of political cartoonist Zunar. (in fact Zunar is still at it). Anti government satires were staged, directed by activist Hishamuddin Rais.

Anyone can come up with songs as well as on-line 'biting' video clips, though it has got these people into trouble a couple of times. But I'm sure they knew of the consequences right from the start. But they went on to do it anyway.

Some call these works “kurang ajar”, obscene, rude. I've never met these young men ( and I love to have a chat with them over the tarik). But to me they're honest. They're not one who “keep everything in his chest”. That is better than keeping the anger until it explode.

Many youngsters are angry. No doubt about that. Angry with the system. Angry with the establishment. The logical thing for the authorities to do is, find out what he is angry about and why. Then solve it. At least try – because these artists are not alone. There are many angry souls out there. Young and not so young. (By MOHSIN ABDULLAH/ MySinchew)

written by densemy, December 07, 2008 18:52:20
Yeah, but they are also afraid ... and fear always wins
written by sydput, December 07, 2008 18:55:22
kurang ajar is very crude. indonesians uses a more apt word - kurang sopan
written by ibabonma, December 07, 2008 19:19:12
They are angry and they are angry at UMNO simply because UMNO members are known thieves and daylight robbers. Who doesn't know? So how to love this rotten UMNO?
written by simply_say, December 07, 2008 19:20:19
"No one can make you jealous, angry, vengeful, or greedy -- unless you let him." - Napoleon Hill 1883-1970, American Speaker, Motivational Writer, ''Think and Grow Rich''

Easily insert famous quotes and jokes in your writings at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by educationist, December 07, 2008 19:29:40
Interesting opinion!
But, no the UMNOputras are not interested to find out the cause why the young are so angry.
They are more interested to find ways and means to siphon off the nation's weaLTH into their pockets.
written by MalaysiaBaru, December 07, 2008 20:37:32
They're not one who “keep everything in the chest”. That is better than keeping the anger until it explode.

smilies/grin.gif I agree with you Mohsin Abdullah. One good example is the Deputy Prime Mistress who harbour deep hatred for her faithful husband's mongolian girlfriend. Her anger became so intense that she exploded her faithful husband's girlfriend with C4 smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by borneoman, December 07, 2008 20:51:46
ofcourse our youngsters are very2 angry because what they found in their real life situation is not like was the idealistic and surrealistic wonderful land called malaysia.world class education,malaysia boleh!c4,curi,sumpah,tipu semuanya boleh.
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 20:57:00
If you are angry then write to 'Dear Pete'.He will keep you cool!
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 20:58:12
I'm angry that they kill Aminah and got away with murder.
written by Eskay Lim, December 07, 2008 23:22:57
YES, many people were angry with the system in Bolehland, that's why they caused the March-08 tsunami.

But more youngsters are angry now with some Umno-MPs who are still arrogant and behaving like racists. They might even become angrier come GE-13.
written by Spear Bing, December 08, 2008 03:26:08
written by MalaysiaBaru, December 07, 2008 20:37:32

They're not one who “keep everything in the chest”. That is better than keeping the anger until it explode.

I agree with you Mohsin Abdullah. One good example is the Deputy Prime Mistress who harbour deep hatred for her faithful husband's mongolian girlfriend. Her anger became so intense that she exploded her faithful husband's girlfriend with C4

Not only that, she became so angry with RPK, she called up the Selangor royal palace and scolded RPK's cousin.
written by red1, December 08, 2008 07:23:17
Yaalaahhhh.. you are right!!! That is why we write!!!

Redhuan D. Oon
PendAtang Dengan Izin

written by malgal, December 08, 2008 11:22:49
Don't get angry. Get even. Theatre, cartoons and movies are creative outlets to channel angst and become cult champs. We see people like Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Michael Moore,etc who deliver their punch through movies.
Over this side of bolehness, we too get guffaws from our own comedians and actors. Just be creative to get round the irksome censorships.Let's get going....
written by DreamLady, December 08, 2008 11:49:22
There are several ways to release the bottled-up anger and frustration:---

The dramatic outburst....

1.Smashing pots and pans, plates, glasses against the walls.
2.Racing your vehicle through the streets in the middle of the nite for at least half an hour, and to avoid crashing into anybody, except with the likelihood your own life might be at stake.
3. Gang up with those in the same boat with you, and thrash out your anger with fist-fighting, wrestiling, kicking, boxing, (all in one) in the open ring with audience cheering on...

written by DreamLady, December 08, 2008 12:05:46

The softer version of letting go of your steam:---------

1.Take a deep breath and repeat it for the next 10 minutes or so.

2.Take a trip to a hospital, preferably the ward that houses those with broken limps, broken necks, in wheel chairs. Talk to each individual regarding their feelings and experiences as invalids. Later, you keep a vivid record of the conversation you have with them.

3.A visit to hospice would be most soul-searching, where the inmates are
on the dying lists. Think of various means to communicate with those whose hopes of living are ebbing, without jolting them with their impending death...

Later, write an elaborate illustration of your own experience to witness the dying people, and narrating how it affects your perception about life and death as the freshly collected images of hopelessness that clearly mirrored on their faces....
written by DreamLady, December 08, 2008 12:16:59

4.Cultivate the love for music and learn to play one of the musical instruments if you have none of the above. Music is therapeutic in terms of spiritual and mental health.

When we are in distress, nobody could help us except our own self. Do not for once, allow other's irresponsible act to provoke us into self-destruction.

It is not worth the trouble our mothers have taken to bring us into this world, only to witness the mess-up of their fruits of labour...

Poor mother of the world!!!
written by bambolero, December 09, 2008 06:59:54
Lyrics by one of Bob Dylan songs 'They will stone you if you are all alone "
Lyrics by one of James Taylor's song " They will take your soul if you let them, so don't you let them.
Lyric's from one of Santana songs " Make somebody happy make somebody strong
Lyrics from one of Glen Campbell song " True Grit "
Lyrics from one of Glen Campbell song " Try a little kindness"
Lyrics from one of Bob Marley song's " Get up stand up stand up for your right's.