Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Jerit's bicycles torched

Jerit's bicycles torched PDF Print
Sunday, 07 December 2008 18:38

(Bernama) A non-governmental organisation (NGO) lodged a police report alleging the torching of eight bicycles used in an expedition from Alor Star to Parliament House in Kuala Lumpur early today while the participants were asleep early today.

The Jaringan Rakyat Tertindas (Jerit) claimed through its coordinator R. Rani Mohanarani that the bicycles were set on fire at about 3am while the participants were asleep at the Yayasan Aman complex in Kubang Semang here.

“A crew member heard what sounded like an explosion and saw several bicycles on fire. We could not see who had torched the bicycles,” she said when met at the scene.

Rani said that following the incident, the participants spotted a car exit through the gate of the complex and heard a man shout that he did not care if they wanted to die.

The “People Riding for Change” expedition, which had 65 participants, was to have stopped over in Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor before proceeding to Parliament House to hand over a people’s claim to the government.

Penang deputy police chief Datuk Salleh Mat Rasid advised the organiser to call off the programme because of the risk to safety.

“The incident reflected the people’s dislike for the Jerit programme to tour Malaysia and police did not rule out the possibility of it raising tension and creating disorder,” he said in a statement.

written by Fuminari, December 07, 2008 18:50:09
besides being non-civilized,the umno tribe has started to inflict cynical fear n violent tactics.
written by Motherchell, December 07, 2008 18:52:00
PDRM pays goons , Mat rempits to create fear and death--- So in Bolehland we have an entity that produces gangsters as part of govt . policy . This is the first of its kind in the world ---

WHEN THE GREENPEACE -- RAINBOW WARRIOR WAS SUNK IN NEW ZEALAND BY THE FRENCH INTELLIGENCE--- THE LAWS OF THE LAND BROUGHT DOWN THE SECURITY MINISTER AND BROUGHT SHAME TO THE FRENCH .

Malaysia's laws are meant only for the people !---not for the lords up in the floors of Putra Jaya and the Umnoputras !!!!!
At this rate -=-- Malaysia will become another Zimbabwe in time soon!! The police agents work against the will of the people !!!

written by educationist, December 07, 2008 19:39:32
Hmm.. instead of investigating the crime, the police are reprimanding the victims.
Getting a cPO like that obviously means he's taking orders from the UMNOputras rather than doing his job in upholding the law!!
Shameless!! smilies/angry.gif
written by ylcc, December 07, 2008 19:41:56
Penang deputy police chief Datuk Salleh Mat Rasid:
“The incident reflected the people’s dislike for the Jerit programme to tour Malaysia".

UMNO/police dislike or people's dislike? Stupid statement. We love and support the Jerit programme. We love and support the candle light vigils. These are very sensible and peaceful ways of going about it, unlike the violence permeated by UMNO and their goons. It does not take much to hire a few thugs to torch the bicycles. It just proves more to the public that the police are never there when needed. Shame on them - BIG BULLIES! The police can now relax and "cari makan". No more bikes to go after!
Contrary to what this guy had said, I get extremely mad when I see these ugly UMNO-backed protests being allowed without any police interference (ref: police did not rule out the possibility of it raising tension and creating disorder).

written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 21:04:22
We will start a big bike rally with all wearing'Down ISA' T shirts and carrying "CHANGE" banners.The rally will start in Johor and will proceed to Putrajaya before ending in Penang with a visit to Lim Guan Eng.
We will show the gov't what we meant,and we meant business!
written by Joe, December 07, 2008 21:42:17

There are people in this country that would support, and feel very happy to read that these bicycles were torched. I bet some of them read the comments on this website and think to themselves "servers them right".

Well to them I say... this kind of stuff, never happened before, but its happening now. Whats gonna happen next?
written by mykantree, December 07, 2008 21:50:10
"The incident reflected the people’s dislike for the Jerit programme to tour Malaysia and police did not rule out the possibility of it raising tension and creating disorder,” he said in a statement."

With a statement like that from the police, anyone still have any doubt that the crime rate is what it is in Malaysia. What a sorry state of affairs. What shame to the rakyat. What shame to the institution that bears the royal name.
written by ylcc, December 07, 2008 21:51:53
Ahmadneil, the big bikes that I see being filled up at the Esso station before the Malaysian exit point (Tuas)? Wow, don't think the police can catch them then!
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 07, 2008 22:17:47
Just can't rule out the SB has got their hands tainted if it isn't UMNO.
written by Dominic, December 07, 2008 22:43:34
Arn`t the Police be the one to investigate and arrest the culprits. No one else is supposed to take the law into its own hand. If at all any trouble arises out of that,PDRM is soley to be blamed !!!!
written by cpchen, December 07, 2008 23:02:55
The JERIT bicycle team reminded me of the Novel "Oliver Twist" A boy who dare to stand up to ask for more food was punished instead. The police has shown their true colour, they act like the 'MASTER' and not the 'SERVANT' of the Rakyat.
written by mikewang, December 08, 2008 00:09:40
The modus operandi are similar to those who threw molotov cocktail parties at YB Kok's home.

Without a doubt, they seem to share a common ground with those who use violence to intimidate when they find that the tide is against them.
written by temenggong, December 08, 2008 01:27:36
Not to worry! The Agong will take this into consideration. His intelligence agents were there by the way.
written by SocratesI, December 08, 2008 02:15:29

As I have said many times before, what is the use of railing against what we all know to be the Anjing DiRaja M'sia who is the Anjing of the UMNO/ BN Govt. and will not protect the RAKYAT, and in fact, will intimidate the RAKYAT ! Do something about it ! Let us re-form our Rukun Tetannga groups and vigilante groups to protect our own communities.

We cannot just sit down and watch our loved ones safety and security being threatened !! It is time to take matters into our hands and do something positive about it. Justice, Fairness, Equality, Freedom & Security must prevail !!

written by yapsir, December 08, 2008 05:43:28
would the "authority" uses ISA again to "protect" the Bikers?

For The"Jerit",take cares my fellow Malaysian.
written by Old Man, December 08, 2008 06:42:30
In Malaysia, do arsonists got licence to burn? How can one deputy police chief Salleh Mad come to a conclusion that people dislike the JERIT? So does he mean to say people like the "legalized" arsonists? Disgusting! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Rozlan, December 08, 2008 07:25:31
I believes it was done by UMNO thugs...
written by adan, December 08, 2008 07:55:43
'JERITS' BICYCLES TORCHED' .JUSTIFIED??

Of course! 'PEOPLE DISLIKE THE JERIT PROGRAMME But who are the 'PEOPLE' and WHAT IS THE "PROGRAMME' that these arsonists are against?? The answer is SELF-EVIDENT and these crooks will get away scot-free... DUE TO LACK OF EVIDENCE!!1
written by Daryl, December 08, 2008 09:12:25
“The incident reflected the people’s dislike for the Jerit programme to tour Malaysia and police did not rule out the possibility of it raising tension and creating disorder,” he said in a statement.

Wrong response. He need to start with "We strongly advise against any violence against this peaceful demostration. Anyone caught using violence will be punish severely." Than your advise. Dumb PDRM as usual.
written by FFT, December 08, 2008 09:22:11
Your tax dollars at work. Your PDRM in service, burning bicycles.
written by Alice, December 08, 2008 10:13:48
Penang deputy police chief Datuk Salleh Mat Rasid advised the organiser to call off the programme because of the risk to safety.

My my what kind of a rationale is this .

PEOPLE'S DISLIKE - WHO???????????? UMNO? RACIST MALAYS???? BE MORE SPECIFIC I AM ALSO UNDER THE CATEGORY OF PEOPLE AND I FULLY SUPPORT JERIT!! smilies/angry.gif
written by CPY, December 08, 2008 10:17:34
Now, we want to save petrol, u torch ppl bikes, forcing us to use cars, HOW TO CHANGE LIFESTYLES LIKE THAT!? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by malgal, December 08, 2008 11:36:28
Who are the real hooligans here?
A group of concerned citizens expressing their voice through their peaceable cycling or the goons whose mission is to discourage, destroy and damn?
To the JERIT cyclists, I say, your guts are clear to all.
written by Thinker, December 08, 2008 11:44:04
These Jerit guys are too much. They refused to listen to our kind police force's advice and now look what has happened?

They added another crime to our national statistics and are making our police men write additional reports. Should have just stayed home to prevent crimes from happening to them.
written by ctm999, December 08, 2008 13:08:56
If "Rakyat Tertindas" is equated to slaves, then the "Penindas Rakyat" is the masters.

The incident reflected the people’s dislike for the Jerit programme

If the program is by some rakyat tertindas for all the other rakyat tertindas why would they ,the people dislike it. More likely is the penindas that don't like the program and send loyal dogs to sabotage them.

And the cops (as in all movies) after advising the rakyat tertindas to cease their activities will proceed to the penindas house for a drink and a game of poker.
written by Mickey, December 08, 2008 14:03:15
These actions against a group of teenagers who will form the next generation of voters will certainly vote out the current govt. Just wait and see.
written by truthbespoken, December 08, 2008 16:01:59
The culprits are cowards and have taken the law into their own hands.

The police are crime abettors and have sided with the cowardly culprits who fled the crime scene. More so, the police had blamed the victims.

The victims were mere cyclists on a peaceful mission to deliver a Malaysian message for all. How then can one expect the people to ever trust police response and actions and not take the laws into their own hands just like the culprits did if other similar incidents should happen?

Our police are not professional in their jobs, like to play politics and do not behave like Malaysians should! They are outwardly prone to supporting racist elements and criminals from certain sectors of the population! Shame! What a bloody shame on our Malaysian police!