Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Silly season far from over

Silly season far from over PDF Print
Sunday, 07 December 2008 17:23

While Malaysians are gearing themselves to deal with the economic downturn, some politicians are still living in their own world and making headlines for the wrong reasons.

ON THE BEAT WITH WONG CHUN WAI, The Star

IT has to be the most sensible statement of the week by a politician as Malaysians cringed with embarrassment at the ludicrous remarks made by our legislators.

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak told Malaysians there was no time for politicking but to focus on overcoming the economic challenges ahead and to create opportunities for the people.

The Deputy Prime Minister said the general election was over and “this is the time when we, as a nation, must come together and unite to face the grave external economic challenges”.

Opening the Malaysian Capital Market Summit organised by the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (Asli) last week, he echoed what most Malaysians are saying but we hope the politicians got his message. The impression among the people, and by that we mean the man on the street, is that ambitious and selfish politicians are too busy playing communal heroes ahead of the party polls.

Unfortunately, the perception is that some of these politicians belong to his own party – Umno. Ordinary people are too busy trying to feed their families and pay off their household bills.

We don’t have time to indulge in politicking because we have work to do, unlike politicians who can find time and afford to criss-cross the country to garner votes.

They are shooting themselves in the foot and losing more votes for the Barisan Nasional with their sometimes ill-conceived statements, and we are worried that this silly season will drag on until March.

This does not come as a surprise. It is the job of politicians to be involved in politicking although many claim they want to serve the rakyat and are not politicking. But the Pakatan Rakyat politicians are just as guilty. Changing road signs should hardly be a priority for a state government that’s hardly eight months old.

With factories cutting production and retrenchments in the pipeline, the last thing on the Penang state government’s mind should be changing these signs, which won’t help increase tourist arrivals for sure.

But it did create a storm in a tea cup, which is a good political distraction. Whatever the merits of putting additional languages, which is actually a harmless exercise, the point still remains if it would help us solve our economic problems. Investors in the region are concerned, if not alarmed, at our seeming lack of concern in dealing with the global economic issues, which would be felt even more in months to come.

The perception is that except for a few senior leaders like Najib, there is a lack of interest among our MPs. How many of them have taken the trouble to speak about it? Instead, they grab media headlines by acting dumb and dumber. It has come to a point where some have to be offensive and foul-mouthed in the Dewan Rakyat to get national attention.

Now, that’s serious politicking – and a complete waste of taxpayers’ money. Najib is right in saying that Malaysians must unite. Politi­cians and vernacular newspapers, especially, should not be raising issues that disunite the nation.

While some of the Rulers have become more progressive in their statements, some politicians, on the other hand, have become more insular and backward, unable to grasp the changing political landscape.

They have become political dinosaurs, whipping up racial issues when there is none and creating insecurity among the people. Najib, as the Prime Minister-in-waiting, has pressed the right buttons so far. He has come out as a fair-minded person who speaks for all Malaysians and has handled a few recent controversies by dousing the fire quickly.

He has been careful in dealing with the perception of people supposedly close to him, as the media speculates on the membership of his inner circle. Names like Rohana Mahmood and Omar Mustapha Ong have cropped up but these talented people have actually moved on.

Mustapha was a special officer to Najib and remains in touch with the office, helping out in certain areas, while Rohana has more interest in the corporate sector now. In short, she is not a member of the elite club.

Najib has kept tight his choice of advisers around him, preferring not to favour anyone and is certainly upset, if not angry, with people who use his name as well as that of his family members.

There will be businessmen and political analysts who claim to be close to Najib or are perceived to be so but they need not necessarily be beneficiaries of his administration.

Malaysians will back him if he can lead us through the rough economic challenges ahead. But please crack your whip on recalcitrant politicians who do not give second thoughts to using the race card to advance their political careers.

written by Rashid, December 07, 2008 17:46:49
We don't take the advice of UMNO lapdogs for your information however good it is bcoz you work for evil.
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 17:49:53
This Playboy is only interested in hiding Bala and he don't know where this country is going.
Fresh from a defense posting to a new job which he is unfamiliar with,I know where malaysia is heading,down into the ravine.
This serious financial crises must be handle by people with experiences and at present I don't see our gov't assembling a team to do this job.
He seems not fit to tackle this crises especially with so many allegations against him.
written by cheekymate, December 07, 2008 17:51:29
Wong Chun Hai.,
Well written article for your boss and master Najib. Keep backing him and praising what a fantastic leader he is, what a joke, lol. We the citizens are not fools and we are not ball carriers like you. Do not try to fool us, get the hell lost and take your trash article with you.
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 17:55:17
Ever since the death of Aminah,this playboy is still trying to to regain his composure.Lately he is not in the 'mood' and often he is seen talking like a trumpet.Probably having 'mongolian lag'.
written by sttb08, December 07, 2008 17:58:24
Good advice indeed, only problem is that it coming from a bloody unprincipled, unethical, corrupt amno politician with lots & lots of baggage. Are we to trust this finance minister who says Malaysia will not face the recession? Are we to trust this idiot who rules no more hanging of clothes on Jan 1st without thinking about the effects this would have on the lower income?
Sorry, what this Najis does is for Najis. If we can live without us, the Rakyat, I am sure we would already be in the rubbish dump.
written by Motherchell, December 07, 2008 18:05:08
If Najib is going to play a symphony of selective conveniences --- hes finished !!!!! let him know that this is not the 60's where he can play the fiddle to sooth his nerves! The Country has gone thro a change ,a the new team of youngsters today who can read and write against all odds suffered with a maligned system in place. They will speak of the choices!! Not Najib!! water cannons and tear gas cannot stop these minds!

Noting is forever --- as we can see now --- Lies have no place in nation building !!! this he has to wake up to or its better he migrates lock stock barrel!

written by clarity, December 07, 2008 18:11:09
No time for politicking because of economic slowdown could also mean don'y chalenge me because of the econmy. The running dog wong is trying to use psychology to trick us. Does it mean that only good economy can politick? Nincompoop!
written by Thinker, December 07, 2008 18:18:16
Rubbish. Are you writing about the man who would rather change perception of crime than combatting it? Is this the same man who's talking about how Malaysians should dry their laundry?

Probably trying to get some breathing space for his new master. I can't wait for Jocelyn's article next week on how Rosmah is advising people to eat less in times of economic uncertainty.
written by ibabonma, December 07, 2008 18:47:19
As for UMNO, the denial syndrome is hard to be swallowed. In them the Goons, imagining themselves as their lordships amongst the ignorant Melayu kampong; thus the birth of the silly KETUANAN.
written by asguard, December 07, 2008 20:15:59
If you (WONG CHUN WAI) are so loyal to najis ... then go and ask him a job! we won't wanted to hear a11 rubbish crap that you written for Najis.. in him no better than the mamak that rule for 22 years!
written by myke, December 07, 2008 22:35:15
Wong chun wai,
Please la, most people are fed-up with u like BN, u write with your rice bowl in mind only, we understand, but you sold your soul and dignity for money. That is lower than a dog.

You and your words are worthless to us.
written by willove, December 07, 2008 23:00:20
Listen up you shameless WCW (if you are reading this, which you should):
1. Putting up multi-language road signs in Penang is really a "no issue", it is the BN or rather UMNO goons who make it a BIG issue, remember?
2. Of course by putting up such road signs will attract more tourists, you dumbhead (It makes me wonder if you understand a word of Chinese or ever travel abroad for that matter. Because if you haven't I symphatize with you, if yes then you have proved you are an ass licker)
3. PR states in its short term of management have achieved much more than what BN states, or Malaysia as a whole for that matter had achieved in the past 10 years. So don't chirp on petty issues.
4. Hello! It is your dear Najib who said Malaysia would not be affected by the economic crisis. Selective memory syndrome like TDM?
5. "...he has pressed the right button..." My FOOT! When racist scumbags like Ahmad Ismail, Toyo, Tajudin, Nazri,... went idiotic, did Najib do anything to check them? Give me your stand on the decisions made by the people paid by the BN government like JAKIM ban on Yoga and Syed Albar's circus play, the we can start talking.
6. When the world is hit by the economic storm, the government-controlled (means Najib controlled) media's headline still reads headlines like Yoga ban and "perception" on crime???
7, 8, 9,.....Endless issues you would have to respond before start to write on politics.
Well, maybe you are still waiting for your license renewal for next year? Poor thing...
written by jayenjr, December 07, 2008 23:04:03
written by mikewang, December 08, 2008 01:03:37
"Changing road signs should hardly be a priority for a state government that’s hardly eight months old."

Yes, arse licker.
Changing road signs should be a routine procedure, a common effort like those multilingual signs at airports, for the ease of tourists and tourism.

It's basically a non-issue until UMNO scumbags put a racial twist to this.
written by temanmu, December 08, 2008 06:29:11
WCW: You can point out the economy going down, but why you & Najib didnt mention about stopping the UMNO corruption & leakages which is a further drag on the economy?

All cheap talk!
written by adan, December 08, 2008 08:28:12
One thing I admire this guy is that he is very CONSISTENT with his views. His great journalistic principles are based on ....how to 'BODEK HIS BN MASTERS'..... and how to'DEVALUE' all worthwhile attempts by the PAKATAN RAKYAT State Governments. A GOOD WRITER POSSIBLY DRIVEN BY THE GREATER MOTIVATION FOR THE EASY WAY TO FAME,.POSITON AND RICHES.