Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Walking on thin ice

Walking on thin ice PDF Print
Sunday, 07 December 2008 16:08

Politics, in Malaysia, is about race and religion. And no Malaysian can escape that. And this is why the 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament should not cross over yet, not if it is going to be 30 non-Malay Members of Parliament. It should only happen if the 30 are half Malay and half non-Malay.

It would be nice to be able to celebrate a white Christmas this year. But it does not snow in Malaysia so this may be quite impossible to wish for. Nevertheless, white and black are mere personal preferences and what is white to some may be black to others. Anyway, what is wrong with black when they say black is beautiful? So we have a ‘black’ or almost black US President who will soon be living in The White House. And certainly they will not change the name to ‘The Black House’ just for the sake of Obama. So white or black, what does it matter? As Deng Xiao Peng said: never mind if it is a black cat or a white cat -- so long as it catches a mouse.

A ‘white’ Christmas to most Malaysians would be to wake up on the morning of 25 December 2008 to changes in Malaysia. And ‘change’ here would mean a Pakatan Rakyat government heading the federal government of this nation. Would this be something hopeless to wish for? Would Santa fulfil our wish list this Christmas? Many are no longer holding their breath after the ‘aborted’ 16 September 2008 ‘change’ that did not happen. And it did not happen on the rescheduled date as well. So those who still hoped for a ‘delayed action’ now no longer harbour any hope.

But it is not as simple as many thought it would be. Sure, all it takes is for at least 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament to cross the aisle over to the ranks of the opposition. Is this so difficult? Are there not at least 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament amongst the 140 who clamour for change, as do 50% of the almost 11 million registered voters who voted for the opposition?

Actually, not all the 11 million registered voters came out to vote. As what happened in the 11 general elections before the 8 March 2008 general election, only about 70% of the registered voters came out to vote. The balance 30% stayed home, as they had done since two years before Merdeka in 1955 when we had our first (municipal) elections (the first general election was in 1959). And 12 general elections have shown that only 70% of the registered voters bother to vote. The other 30% do not care who rules Malaysia.

Then we had the 5 million eligible voters who did not even bother to register as voters. So only half the 16 million or so eligible voters actually cast their vote. 8 million Malaysians voted on 8 March 2008 and 8 million more either did not vote or did not register to vote. Half the ‘eligible’ Malaysians sought change. The other half were not concerned what happens to this country. That is the reality of the situation.

And the opposition got only 50% of the votes (which means votes from 25% of the eligible voters). But the 50% that the ruling coalition garnered (which also means votes from 25% of the eligible voters) helped them form the government in all but five states plus they managed to form the federal government with slightly under the two-thirds majority that it hoped it would get. But it still managed to form the federal government, nevertheless, with just half the votes.

Would 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament crossing over to Pakatan Rakyat help solve our problems? Not if the 30 are all non-Malays and the MP for Pasir Mas, Ibrahim Ali, plus the MP for Kulim, Zulkifli Nordin, cross over to Barisan Nasional to reduce Pakatan Rakyat’s majority even further. And we really do not know how many more Pakatan Rakyat MPs, or even some State Assemblymen/women, are lurking in the shadows waiting for the word to change sides. And this is not impossible to happen.

Umno’s nationwide campaign since 8 March 2008 is brilliant, though dangerous. Umno is saying that the Malays have lost political power. Umno is saying that 8 March 2008 was a repeat of 11 May 1969. And the solution to this problem must be the same as the 13 May 1969 ‘solution’, says Umno. This has not only worried the non-Malays but even the Malays as well. And some of these Malays include the Rulers or the Raja-raja Melayu. Umno is playing an extremely dangerous race game and is stoking the sentiments of the nationalist Malays. And there are many nationalist Malays still around, as the Permatang Pauh by-election has proven.

In the Permatang Pauh by-election, Anwar Ibrahim won two out of three votes. This is superb by any standards. But it was the first-timers or young voters who almost unanimously voted for Anwar. In the saluran 4 in one of the UPUs (unit peti undi) or polling stations where the first-timers voted, Anwar garnered more than 400 votes against Arif Shah Bin Omar Shah’s mere 7. But in saluran 1 of that same UPU where the old-timers voted, it was a 50:50 tie between Anwar and Arif Shah.

This means, while the first-timers or young voters were almost entirely with Anwar, the old-timers were split 50:50 between the opposition and Umno. There are many pre-Merdeka voters who still root for Malay nationalism and who do not want Umno out of office. Permatang Pauh proved this as will the Kuala Terengganu by-election probably also prove on 17 January 2009.

Therefore, Umno still has a strong following. There are many who still want Ketuanan Melayu to remain. Sure, they are no longer the majority. They have now been reduced to a minority. But the numbers are still significant, nevertheless. And these are the people the opposition has to win over. But it is not easy to win them over when prejudice, suspicion and distrust cloud their thinking. And to wait for them to die before the majority ‘Malaysian-minded’ swamp the minority ‘Malay-minded’ will take too long to happen. We will need at least another ten years to see this become reality. So this will only happen by the 14th or 15th general election long after 2020.

Thus far, the Umno ‘race-card campaign’ has not quite succeeded. Malaysians are not that bad at maths, though the teaching of maths has ding-donged between English and Bahasa Malaysia. Barisan Nasional has 140 Members of Parliament, 79 of them Malays and 61 non-Malays. Pakatan Rakyat, in turn, has 43 Malay Members of Parliament against 39 non-Malays. This means both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat are ‘Malay-majority’ coalitions.

But what happens when 30 non-Malay Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament cross over to Pakatan Rakyat? This would still give Barisan Nasional 79 Malays but it will be reduced to 31 non-Malays. This would make Barisan Nasional even more Malay than it is now. But Pakatan Rakyat would now have only 43 Malays against 69 non-Malays. So, while Barisan Nasional has become even more ‘Malay’, Pakatan Rakyat would become a ‘non-Malay’ coalition. And this would also mean that a ‘non-Malay’ government now runs this country once Pakatan Rakyat, with its 112 Members of Parliament, forms the federal government.

This is what concerns the Malays, the Rulers included. And their concern is not that the Malays have ‘lost political power’ and that the non-Malays have now ‘taken over’ this country. After all, they can even accept a non-Malay Prime Minister. So why fret over a non-Malay majority coalition running this country when the Prime Minister is still Malay? Their concern is that Umno will use this issue to ‘prove’ to the nationalist Malays that, finally, the Malays have lost political power, as they had been saying all along since the 8 March 2008 general election in their many road-shows the length and breadth of this country.

This is what Anwar has to guard against. And the Malays, as well as non-Malays, have told him so. The Rulers too have expressed their concern at the possible backlash from the nationalist Malays who will be led to believe that the Malays have lost political power. And if the numbers do not add up then this would make Umno’s job easier. Umno will have no problems convincing the nationalist Malays that the Malays have lost political power.

So, it is not just about the numbers. It is not just about 30 Barisan National Members of Parliament crossing over to Pakatan Rakyat. It is also about the ‘racial balance’. It is about 15 Malays and 15 non-Malays crossing over to enable Pakatan Rakyat to form the federal government with the ‘right’ balance that even Umno can’t quibble over.

The non-Malays do not like to hear this. It sounds too much like racism. Many Malays do not like it as well. But this is the reality of Malaysian politics that continues to haunt us. Politics, in Malaysia, is about race and religion. And no Malaysian can escape that. And this is why the 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament should not cross over yet, not if it is going to be 30 non-Malay Members of Parliament. It should only happen if the 30 are half Malay and half non-Malay. Then Umno will be silenced. Umno can no longer claim that the Malays have lost political power. Umno can no longer suggest that we are now seeing a repeat of May 1969. And Umno can’t propose that they need a May 1969 ‘solution’ to solve the ‘problem’.

Anwar must not just focus on changing the government. It is not about grabbing power. It is about peaceful change with no loss of life, limb or property. It is about a smooth transition where we can move forward to a better Malaysia -- not moving one step forwards and two steps backwards to the ‘dark ages’ of turmoil, distrust and polarisation. This must be what the game plan should be all about.

And Anwar knows this. The non-Malays, too, know this. And many Malays know this as well, the Rulers included. It is not just about the number 30. It is about a ‘solid’ 30. And ‘solid’ must be read as the number that Umno can’t use to turn victory for Pakatan Rakyat into defeat for race relations.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by justice, December 07, 2008 16:23:59

agree 577
written by sampalee, December 07, 2008 16:34:42
Let us have ketuanan Tuhan and there will be PEACE
disagree 65
agree 187
written by taxi90, December 07, 2008 16:36:37
Nothing and nobody rules forever. Not the roman empire, NAZIs, Alexander the great or Napoleon. You can safely say the same about UMNO. I just hope it happens in my lifetime.
agree 444
written by temenggong, December 07, 2008 16:40:47
Some legislation will be outvoted by Dec 18th. The crossovers begins. Badawi hands in his resignation. A period of turbulence. I'm not sure about a happy christmas but I'm quite certain that it's going to be a very happy New Year.

I also think that the malay-non malay mix in the Pakatan govt is no longer an issue. Perhaps it's even better, as it drives home the point that malays cannot rule this country without the non malays, and vice versa. Sure umno will create problems with marches, sit-ins and demands to the rulers, etc. This has to be faced squarely as it will continue till the next elections.
agree 122
written by mikewang, December 07, 2008 16:45:27
It is important too that PR, as an alternative coalition, hold steadfast to its Ketuanan Rakyat banner. If PK MPs or politicians behave like BN ones, the new generation of voters will be disillusioned.

Even with the presence of PR state governments, we already can see that they do influence BN governments to be better behaved. 4 years is not a long wait.
written by Penang Laksa, December 07, 2008 16:46:00
I think we've learned a lot since 308. The extremists or so-called Malay nationalists are still having the upperhand because nobody else could sink as low as them, in order to hold on to power and their ill-gotten wealth...In the case of the Perak State Government formation, the smart and far-sighted state Ruler had played a significant role to ensure a successful formation of a new state government, albeit the 'hoohahs' and misundersatnding between the Pakatan leaders initially... Perhaps the Ruler or the Conference of the Rulers could play the same role again and put a stop to the nonsense racial politics...well, just a wishful thought... smilies/kiss.gif
written by Oscar Winner, December 07, 2008 16:50:56
In the year of the golden rodent,
Strange things do really happen,
Americans choose a black as president,
For democracy it’s a good precedent,
Better be wary of white US citizens,
May try assassinate him like Reagan.

As for our Pak Lah it’s good riddance,
Whom many say will be Aussie resident,
Najis becomes PM many are frightened,
In that minority races will suffer in silence
Abuse of power will still be prevalent,
UMNO goons as usual will be indifferent…..
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 17:00:36
Anwar have the numbers and that numbers is just his imagination which he have to be positive with becos it's this number that will make him PM.So all month long he will have to say and live with it.
Many are doubtful including ahmadneil,but we all have to be as positive as possible .He did convince some and they are all waiting at the side line hoping that more of those who haven't made up their mind will switch over when they got the wind.
Sarawak have the most numbers and all these dayaks YBs and MPs are just not been approached 'enough'.If Anwar have more time with them ,I think more would have shown interest,but still Anwar won't have that numbers if it's only the sarawak MPs.Sabah also have a few but that still don't constitute to the numbers that Anwar wants.
But with a little more effort and hopefully Anwar will come up with the numbers.But if Anwar doesn't have the numbers,then he still have the next general election to look forward to.
With the financial crises gripping the whole world,may be this will be a turning point for the political scenario in malaysia.The rakyat is restless and with the gov't failure to advert this imminent crises ,this is going to be a time bomb waiting to explode.
If Anwar can capitalize on one of this issue,the rakyat will be eager to accept ideas and hopefully he will win over them.
Let see if this CHANGE is a reality or a mirage.Yes,we can!
written by Futurist, December 07, 2008 17:06:16
Whatever it is, just plan quietly and achieve the result. Do not keep blowing the trumpet at every turn. The 50% who voted for PR want to see action!
written by pugster, December 07, 2008 17:10:36
Dear Pete, you are indeed very receptive to the current scenario of politics in M'sia and I compliment you! The fight for change has always been a Malay affair due to its majority composition. It is the Malays that need to realise that they and only they can initiate that change for a better M'sia. Anwar certainly has the majority but he knows better, having been in politics for so long and a malay himself. My contention is, how about bumiputras being added into the equation to form the majority? Or are we saying that all Malays are bumis and non malay bumis are not counted eventhough they are rightfully the first to be in this land?? Double standard again ain't it? It should be majority bumiputra against minority non bumiputra that initiate a balance and not just Malays, chinese, indians etc... Give another 2 generations, our population would have been a rojak society due to cross marriages as is happening now. What then? Look at Singapore? You see a chinese looking guy and he is a singh! All these Malay thing will not see the light in tomorrow's globalized world. The way i see it, non bumis have no future in malaysia if we continue this charade and these brand of politics even with DSAI.
written by Motherchell, December 07, 2008 17:19:07
Umno's methods for success is to guillotine a man and say its saving him by applying a tourniquet for his neck .

Its the little mullahs who need to educate on for the need for amar maruf naihi munkar principles--not work with the demon. This base is important for all right thinking citizen . They cn move big mountains!
In the last eleven general elections, the Malay voters were expected to show their allegiance for Umno by voting en bloc for the party and its coalition partners in BN. This did not happen in the last general election .
I am confident the voters now know where they stand ! The Rulers too know they cannot leave all this to the morbid Laws to see their esteem run down by the Ruling imbeciles!..

written by Badrol, December 07, 2008 17:59:50
To all detractors of 916, I hope you all know now why it did not materialize. The numbers are there all along but not the desired composition. If Anwar is power crazy he would have gone ahead with 916, and would probably result in some 'loss of life, limb or property'. But he is a brilliant politician, he did not go for it ... for now.
written by cble, December 07, 2008 18:08:13
Dengan izin Allah, DSAI masih boleh menjadi PM sekiranya Najib hanya mendapat sebahagian daripada MP UMNO yang totok dan yang lainya akan kekal menyokong Paklah
written by ibabonma, December 07, 2008 18:09:22
Why not start with the 30 lawmakers?

I am sure soon after most of the UMNO goons will also jump ship for they cannot afford to remain in the opposition when PR form the new government, lest they will see BPR and the Police knocking on their doors soon after.
written by tkahyap, December 07, 2008 18:17:50
easy only lah.ask the non malays MP to convert to become malay, problem solved.
disagree 16
written by taxidriver, December 07, 2008 18:26:56
let us not treat this as a racial issue this as a national issue

mistaking how dangerously twisted the Machiavellian machinations to unseat a legitimate chosen PRIME MINISTER it is not only a political coup d’etat against the majority of the people who voted him into power. Nothing justifies the employment of means which ride roughshod over the majority principle in a parliamentary democracy. When to switch loyalties without so much as a by-your-leave from the people who put him in power, it smacks of rank political opportunism. While it is arrogant in the extreme for politicians to treat voters with so little respect, the bitter irony is that the attack on the most basic democratic principles has been perpetrated in the name mahatirism that says it is committed to democracy. Those who have been most vocal about the lack of transparency, accountability and integrity in governance have also been conspicuously silent on the cloak-and-dagger back room dealing. Some defenders of the rule of law have been deafeningly mute over the attempt to hijack the position of the prime minister. As if to seal the stamp of expediency, the partners in chauvinism have treated the open defiance of acceptable democratic practices with a smug shrug. This is neither the fresh winds of change nor the brand new politics the voters have bargained for. The political conspirators dubious means does not act in good faith. The political atmosphere has been poisoned because of what appears to be the intent to make the country back to MAHARTHIRISM situation is unsettling and does little to assuage concerns and confidence. It is time for democrats of all colors to distance themselves from the attempt to subvert the right of peoples leader not umno’s warlords to govern which the majority party in parliament could claim a mandate.
Is this the start of a dynasty MAHARTHIRISM in the Malaysian Public Life?
Does this mean that we Malaysians are so incapable that we need a select few families to tell us how to live our lives? Are we so dependent that all aspects of our lives need to be controlled? Are we so handicapped that we need these political dynasties to teach how to interact with each other?
There is a need to send a clarion call to all members of Parliament to honor the verdict of March 8.that Abullah hold the key to the change and he is going to change this time without any hesitation he got noting to lose Let this the beginning of a civil society in making,creating equal opportunities Empowering people for change improving lives .as for the fate of umno ah well the old umno is dead when high court declared it, this is is mahatir’s child you cannot change it .Is this the start of a dynasty MAHARTHIRISM in the Malaysian Public Life?
Does this mean that we Malaysians are so incapable that we need a select few families to tell us how to live our lives?
written by Fuminari, December 07, 2008 19:15:14
do not get confused,malay or melayu is a race where else melayu-umno is jus a tribe.
written by Badrol, December 07, 2008 19:27:25
nanakassim,

I would appreciate if you could decipher the above article simply, so that everyone can understand the message. Thank you.
written by Dominic, December 07, 2008 19:32:39
Today is Hari Raya Haji where Muslim strip down and only wear a piece of cloth over their body like Gandhi. The ideology is that ALL are equal in MECCA before GOD. The holiness exhibited there is left there and when they return to Malaysia the Racism of UMNO-PAS - Rulers Malays continues. Few malays only keep their Holiness and fairness in Malaysia.

We have been skating on thin ice of Racism for 51 years, the character of being Malaysian under UMNO-BN is like those building build on Hilly Slope (ala Bukit Antarabangsa). When Crisis hits, the blame is on everyone else except the Government in power who approved the building.

We will end UMNO Malay Racist rule even if Malay lose their power forever because we the NON MALAY will NOT TOLERATE UMNO-PAS or the MALAY RULERS continue to Insult ISLAM and leave their holiness in Mecca. We the non malay will restore Islam to its rightful place.

We need not fear the thin ice that RPK is concern about. We are sick of 51 years of Racism of UMNO-PAS Malays. We will use this crisis to BREAK the GRIP of RACISM forever. Even if it means Malaysia do not exist in the same form. This are EXTRAORDINARY TIMES for EXTRAORDINARY Actions and Outcome. We have a Black USA President in a country of 12.5% Blacks....No more will we be Brain washed by Raja Petra of the manner of change in Malaysia. Peace is an illusion when you are at war with your HUNGRY Stomach, fairness and opportunity. What's the Point life like this?? We are either EQUALS as Humans before God or we make those who think otherwise to YIELD.

NOW WE CAN & YES WE CAN CHANGE Malaysia Forever!! smilies/cool.gif
written by merlin2001, December 07, 2008 19:36:04
Let me just ask a question. Please define Malay and just who is a Malay today?
Are we saying Malay Supremacy or are we referring to Muslim Supremacy?
Assuming the 30 who crosses over are non "Malays" then is it the "Malays" who will fear losing power or is it the Muslims who are the ones?
This is the 15 million ringgit question.
If 15 are Muslims "Malays" and 15 are non Muslim "Malays" who crosses over, will it then be acceptable?
If a cacat Muslim is PM and calls himself a "Malay" and all his Party Alis' carry on their senanigans of cheating and robbing the Muslim "Malays", will this be acceptable?
This is Ironic is it not?
Whereas should a none Muslim becomes PM ( not that it will Happen )and gives the Muslim "Malays" pride of place, justice and meritocracy will it be so bad?
We have had 20 years of a self claimed Muslim "Malay". What good did he do to this country and to other countrys that he infleunced eg. Zimbawe for one. How many "Malays" benefited from his rule?
written by merlin2001, December 07, 2008 19:38:17
Correction...non Muslim.
written by pugster, December 07, 2008 20:15:27
nanakassim,
I believe you are the one missing the point. I mentioned even if 'DSAI takes over' with this brand of politics it would always be a malay affair eventhough we have a change of government(zero sum game). Did i agree on 916??? 2 things matter! Bumi and non bumi or muslim and the rest get it! Now which ones are the current situation? NONE! Only malay, chinese, indian etc. Point is where are we going even if DSAI takes over. Comprande senior? Sabah and sarawak majority are BUMIS but not necessary Muslim. Are we going to rob them of their rights to this country eventhough they may not be muslims? that is the questionlah!
written by Badrol, December 07, 2008 20:40:38
nanakassim,
I'm still waiting for your correct interpretation of the article.
written by SamYap, December 07, 2008 20:43:29
I wouldn't be far off the mark to say that most readers and commentors here already understood the racial factor in Malaysian politics and its effect on the race ratio of the 30 crossover MPs.

But I think RPK tripped up towards the end of the article...he forgot to point out that the main vector, or I should say the main culprit for fostering such a racial situation is none other than UMNO! And the Malay Nationalists should realize, in a modern world which now is almost borderless, this racial trend will spell doom for the nation and for the Malay race.
written by hellosunshine, December 07, 2008 21:08:12
RPK, if according to you, we can only change the govt in 2020, then Heaven help Malaysia as by then the ongoing racist policies and discrimination would have caused mass exodus of non-Malay entrepreneurs and brain drain of our cream de la creme to S'pore and the other countries. Malaysia would then become another Zimbabwe or Afghanistan.
written by Ali Cordoba, December 07, 2008 21:08:48
Rightfully so. An analysis that confirms what we have been saying since March 08. It also confirms our fears that Anwar will not be PM soon unless a Malay majority moves the mountains from the Umno to the PR, a daunting and almost impossible task. www.worldfutures.info
written by Proarte, December 07, 2008 21:14:26
We must not dance to UMNO's racist tune. That would be a betrayal of the new political paradigm which was promised the Rakyat in 2008.

The idea that we exclude MPs from joining Pakatan because it has exceeded its 'quota' of Kadazans, Chinese, and Ibans is plainly ridiculous.

The East Malaysians have provided BN with 25% of the seats in parliament and so it is reasonable to expect that 25% of development projects or budgetary allocation is given to them. Furthermore, their lands are rich in resources and have contributed tens of billions to the Malaysian economy which has seen lopsided development . Sadly, the East Malaysians generally are still languishing in relative poverty. This has been mainly due to the greed of the Malays in UMNO who have supported the minority Muslim/Malay leaders of East Malaysia who are UMNO proxies.

Why is it alright for minority Muslim/Malays leaders in East Malaysia to be the dominant political figures and plunder the states ? Where is the Malay sense of fairness. Should Malaysians pander to Malay racism
and greed? Should the majority non-Muslims in East Malaysia sit idly by and allow UMNO to bringing in millions of illegal Muslims into these States who will me made 'Malay' purely to shore up their political dominance? These 'New Malays' will soon become 'sensitive' about the Kadazan, Ibans and Christians around them and see them as challenging their 'Ketuanan' or Islam!

The same has happened in the peninsula. The Malays are an immigrant race like the majority of us. The true indigenous are the Orang Asli. The term Orang Asli is a Malay term and clearly acknowledges the 'Original People'. So the whole issue of 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam' is a wicked ploy of UMNO for political power and economic plunder. As a result of Malay rule in the peninsula, the Orang Asli have been humiliated, cheated and left out of development. They are the poorest group in the peninsula. Yet we are told to be 'sensitive' about Malay sense of 'Ketuanan'. Malays must be disabused of this lie otherwise it will destroy them and the country.

We support a political party on the basis of its principles. It the case of Pakatan is was supposedly a non-racial, democratic government based on the rule of law, freedom, equality and good governance. It was this sense of idealism which fired up the imagination of the Rakyat and gave the Opposition unprecedented gains. It is disappointing to see the betrayal of these values so soon after the election and this is even when Pakatan is not in power.

The problem lies with Pakatan and not with UMNO, notwithstanding the spin in the above article exaplaining Anwar's failure to wrest power from BN.

The fact is Pakatan is marriage of convenience of unhappy bedfellows. What gave it a semblance of unity and common purpose was the seduction of power. Now Pakatan members are figthing over the spoils and some have openly threatened to be spoilers if they do not get what they deem to be their fair share of the pie.

Below are a few reminders of the ongoing betrayal of the Rakyat by Pakatan.

1)PAS has openly said that it would not support a Pakatan government if the majority of MPs are non-Muslim.

2) Khalid Ibrahim the MB of Selangor has said the appointment of the Chinese non-Muslim Low Siew Moi as Head of PKNS was only temporary until a suitably qualified Malay could be found.

3)Anwar stalwart Zulkifli Noordin violently disrupted the Bar Council open forum on the impact of conversion to Islam in non-Muslim families. PKR lied that it would institute a disciplinary hearing on the matter and take potential action against Zul.

Personally, I do not believe that Pakatan in its present form can form a stable and viable government. Pakatan from now to the next election must formulate a common ideology and speak with one voice. The race and religious issue is the one which is most frought with difficulty but can be resolved if there is sincerity on all sides. There must be discipline exercised. Now we have a 'free for all' situation where 'sniping' can go on unpunished. This has to stop.

Pakatan should aim to be a 1st class opposition in Parliament over the next few years. We want to see them perform as a united voice. A shadow cabinet is a good idea because this will force the disparate parties to work together and the Rakyat can then assess their performance to see if they are fit to take over the reins of government.
written by Daryl, December 07, 2008 22:17:24
Do a survey in the community to gauge what is the sentiment about the non-malay mjority. These MPs are voted to serve Malaysian not any group of race and if they are I will vote them out in the next election regardless if they are PR or BN.
Rakyat must know any MPs must be religion-less and race-less no matter what. Is comfortable to work in your own group but they need put trust into the people they represent to come to them for help. If any of this MPs show any sign of race or religion discrimination and is proven guilty fire them. No room for errors from now onwards.
written by KUMON, December 07, 2008 23:07:31
I truly believe DSAI have the numbers, but like what RPK said, DSAI probably realised later the 'imbalance', he had to rethink his strategy to avoid givng UMNO something to shout about.

Yes, the relaity is racism and ketuana melayu, not nationalistic endeavors. Malaysian of the ketuanan melayu kind is still immature and racist.

Work on the fence sitters and the young voters. Tell them a truly united Malaysia based on meritocracy will benefit all and anyone who truly need help will not be left out, no matter race or creed.

This is the REAL SOCIAL CONTRACT. A contract for all RACES, protecting all true Malaysians to forge a better Malaysia.

http://myrealdeals.********.com

written by Mickey, December 07, 2008 23:50:09
The fact remains is the BN IDIOTs are still in power. So when is it gonna happen, when can we see daylight, when can we really have justice against the unscrupulous govt who continue to abuse us everyday. The lights are dimming everyday, I have voted for a change and am losing patience. If the right way to make this change is not coming, what should we do?
written by Hakim Joe, December 08, 2008 02:06:32
This is the 34th comment and it is way down low here so that nobody reads it. Citizenmy, you might be correct. DSAI never had the numbers. A very reliable source of mine said that there were only 17 names on the "list", and RPK, you might be incorrect in assuming that the 30 are all non-Malays.
From this source of mine, the 17 are all from UMNO.

written by Spear Bing, December 08, 2008 03:35:46
The Sultan of Selangor has already infered that ' Ketuanan Melayu' is not relevant, viewed from the perspective of the issue on'social contract'where there is compromise among the royal rulers, the Malays, Chinese and Indians. The Royalties are Malays, special rights are being given to the Malays,and that the Chinese and Indians were guaranteed of their freedom of religion and cultural practices. So what loss of Malay Supremacy are the UMNO Mullahs shouting about?
written by temanmu, December 08, 2008 05:54:02
mmm... The Sabah & Sarawak bumiputras are considered Malay or not?

Must their religion be considered?

Or maybe attribute 0.5 for each of them!

The race & religion mindset should be sent to the dustbin of history!
written by flyer168, December 08, 2008 06:50:16

With so much rethorics on so many issues, we all seem to end up with the same race, religion & the morality issues again...!

In my opinion, let us us all move forward instead of "Pi Mai, Pi Mai...Tang tu !

How about proposing & promoting Datuk Zaid to initiate/form an Alternative 3rd Front party to accommodate ALL ex BN component party members who would like to continue to serve their voters/ constituency as Independent members - then there will not be any morality, etc issues.

If YB LKS had managed to impress SAPP to leave BN to be independent & now with Datuk Zaid removed from UMNO as declared by PM...it is a blessing in disguise, as the nation NEEDS him to lead the 3rd Front in our struggle to achieve that elusive "New Dawn" !

I am confident with this Alternative 3rd Front under the Leadership of Datuk Zaid, there will be more genuine defections from BN to reduce the BN's/UMNO's majority - which is our focus !

Let us put our thinking caps together to reduce BN to just "UMNO" minus all the component parties !

Maybe then we can rid this great nation of the time expired "Ketetuanan" mentality in this 21st century context !

With the advent of the last G/E so much time has been lost & the "Window of Opportunity" will not remain for long for that "New Dawn".

This 3rd Front will then be able to strengthen itself to be the "King" maker should it team up with PR at a later date...
written by shepherdvoyage, December 08, 2008 08:34:00
Will Santa brave the political blizzard in Malaysia to deliver the present we want most this X’mas: a new government!
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 08, 2008 10:14:51
with no loss of life, limb or property. It is about a smooth transition where we can move forward to a better Malaysia -- not moving one step forwards and two steps backwards to the ‘dark ages’ of turmoil, distrust and polarisation. This must be what the game plan should be all about.
And Anwar knows this. The non-Malays, too, know this. And many Malays know this as well, the Rulers included. It is not just about the number 30. It is about a ‘solid’ 30. And ‘solid’ must be read as the number that Umno can’t use to turn victory for Pakatan Rakyat into defeat for race relations.

RPK, I FULLY AGREE AND UNDERSTAND NOW. PROBLEM IS AMENO AINT GONNA SIT QUIETLY AND WAIT FOR THE NEXT GE. WHO NOWS WHAT IS NOW FERMENTING AND BREEDING IN THIS BUNCH OF GOONS CROOKED MINDS?

written by malgal, December 08, 2008 11:16:09
Not easy being a politician. Dat's why it's easier to stand outside the ring and throw bricks and bats. I guess, that's why I chose to be out of the ring than in.
written by 4country, December 08, 2008 11:44:41
The numbers of the frog does not a matter, At lease voters know who is "pengecut"(MCA/MIC/PPP/GERAKAN), who is "hero" (Zaid/Yong Teik Lee),Who is Loser (UMNO-Flight the MPS to Taiwan)!

Think Out of the box
-"This is an early Practice to us "how and what may happen to us when PR Take over the BN"."
-"A Real Government must chose by Election."
-"PR althought can not be the government, but 2/3 of the kuasa Mutlak BN is denied.PR lose the power but win the Malaysian heart"
written by aryn, December 08, 2008 16:30:18
Seriously, if it was up to me, I would order a public flogging (1000 times) for all the Umno PMs from Tun Razak, Tun M and Abdullah including all Umno and BN cabinet members for what they did.

Enough of Malay PMs. Just look at what happened to Malaysia now. Socially and economically, we are ruined and the govt is just like the Myanmar junta.

We have seen the Malays Umno is incapable of leading the country, so move over and let the other Malaysians run the country. Unlike you are as kind and wise as Tunku Abdul Rahman.
written by dassky2000, December 08, 2008 19:28:27
Hey, what happened to the bus loads of illegall voters in Permatang Pauh election? Who was the real culprit behind the inportation of these illegals, does anyone know? Was there an inquiry? I miss out on that issue where BN UMNO brought in these illegals from indon to vote in our country under our very noses.

Geez This BN UMNO has been cheating votes all this while huh. Number one theives and we voted for them all these years.

And even if we rid off ketuanan melayu to ketuanan Tuhan, there will never be peacefull nation as BN UMNO will also play the same politics with TUHAN and be able to take control

Just wait and hope Pakatan takes over lah. No harm in waiting, we waited so long, why not wait a little bit longer.
written by Dogboy, December 08, 2008 20:42:45
I've got to disagree with RPK on this one. It makes sense the analysis here, however DSAI knew he did not have the right mix when he went on to annouce to the world about 916. So if the composition was not right why make the announcement that he would take over government on 916? If he did not know about the numbers and composition, then the question also is why announce what he announced?

The only scenario that would have allowed him to announce what he announced without egg being splatterd all over his face was if he had 50% Malay MPs crossing over. If he did not, it was rather a thoughtless and premature announcement.
written by non conformist, December 08, 2008 22:52:49
At the moment there are 79 Malay MPs with BN, and there are 43 Malay MPs with Pakatan. The Malay MPs will ALWAYS form the majority in the Parliament whether it is the BN or the Pakatan who form the Federal Government.

Add and subtract however you like... the Malay MPs will still form the absolute majority whether BN or Pakatan rule. The sad thing of course so many Malay are so poor in mathematics...

Anwar is just bullshitting...
yes BULL SHITTING...
if he can't present this simple mathematical fact to the Malays, and pacify and assure them of their self-conceited and misguided idea of 'ketuanan.'

written by Caesar, December 09, 2008 09:25:22
Article is very credible and Anwar (and some clean non-Malay MPs) is very concerned about worsening the Malay & nonMalay divide, knowing what some UMNO ultras will do.
But eventually, PR will triumph.
written by crayon, December 09, 2008 10:39:00
why are the Malays so worried about a smaller majority running the Executive body of the country? The non-Malays have, since Merdeka, had the Malays as the majority of the executive body, and yet we have survived. Yes I agree the country is ran poorly and biased by the UMNO party, but these are the things that makes us stronger. Imagine if the non-Malays have been given special privileges and "walking sticks" from UMNO, I think then we will be weak like the UMNO-putras today. I'm glad we do not enjoy those UMNO walking sticks. When I work amongst other races in the OUTSIDE WORLD (Malaysia is a tiny place) I feel proud of what and who I am today because of my own effort, and not because of the pampering and tongkat from UMNO.
written by Tornado, December 09, 2008 10:40:58
Apa susah-susah...

Ketuanan Melayu = PR MP's 70 BN Malay MP's

Kalo orang melayu takut hilang kuasa, paksa kesemua MP's Melayu sertai PR.
UMNO sudah tidak berguna. UMNO sudah terlekat dengan pelbagai masalah. UMNO sudah buruk, tak boleh dibaiki.

Masalah ketuanan Melayu ditentukan oleh orang Melayu sendiri. PR adalah parti pelbagai kaum, agama dan ideologi. PR bersatu kerana rakyat. Jika orang Melayu rasakan bahawa Ketuanan Melayu lebih penting dari dari Rakyat, susahlah....Jika orang Melayu benar-benar inginkan Ketuanan Melayu sebenar, paksa MP's Melayu sertai PR.

UMNO bukan Ketuanan Melayu, UMNO hanya untuk golongan elit Melayu. Mencekik dan hisap darah Rakyat untuk perkasa dan perkayakan diri sendiri. Buktinya sudah banyak dan harap orang Melayu sedar dan jaga.
written by crayon, December 09, 2008 10:43:34
I would like to add that, look at our neighbor Singapore today. Their currency is more than double our Ringgit. The country has an Indian President, a Chinese Prime Minister, and a multi-racial cabinet and ministry. They still abide by the "bumiputra" law where the bumiputras enjoy special discounts on housing, etc. To say that the Malay race is living in shame in Singapore is very wrong. Just go visit Singapore and LOOK AT HOW THE LOCAL MALAYS live. They are PROUD of who they are, and even more proud of their country. There are many who has achieved status beyond their non-Malay countrymen, and these Malays are the ones I truly respect because they are where they are without that stupid UMNO tongkat.
written by DontPlayGod, December 09, 2008 18:05:33
Sometimes I tend to think that the situation here is impossible. If politics is all about race and religion, then just let UMNO and PAS rule. Let them play havoc and rape the country and the Malays will still come out strongly in support of them.

As for the non-Malays, leave if they are not happy. And that is what the ultras in UMNO have been shouting.

Anyway, in another 15 to 20 years, everything will have been resolved when more than 80% of the population is made up of Malays. It's just going to be another Islamic state of Malaysia a la Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, and Saudi Arabia. And for this we have the Tun to thank for. Mathias, what say you.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 10, 2008 02:20:41
Everyone realises that politics is dirty - it is a game plan. It is spinning. It is the power of money. It is perception and image - all the US presidents have their spin doctors and their image PR consultants. Obama had his and also his $$$$ support which would be interesting to discover the source? Eh?

Mahathir had his too - so many of us were duped and hypnotised by him, Malays and non-Malays who applauded him for giving Malaysia a good image to the world. Well, the same people are now spitting on him as he has no spin doctor now. Najib has his spin doctors and so does Anwar. It is legit but who has the true heart of a hero - one can tell. The rakyat are not stupid.

Who rules the country? It can be anyone - Malays 100% or non-Malays 50:50. As a citizen, I only care about peace, harmony, justice and fairness and of course economic progress, intellectual and artistic enlightenment etc. I don't care what race and what religion. But when race and religion plays the checkmate here, it is time to say no to it. Race and religion is the medusa-head that stuns people. It should not be the criteria to rule. It should be meritocracy and the ability to rule fairly and justly that should be the criteria.

No Dark Ages please. No more for Malaysia. We love our nation. Don't force us to migrate after 4-5 generations here. My grandad fought and spied and lost his life for this nation, my great grandad gave his rations and food for these soldiers - don't tell me I must be Melayu to be privileged to rule etc. I am a Malaysian more so than just the two-generations Pakistani, or those who have come from Indonesia. Come on man. Get real.

My dear brother RPK, I understand what you are meaning, but I believe there must be a change in mindset now. The need for more Malay cross-overs ( 30?) and rule cannot be espoused... it will lose that not because of non-Malay threats etc. and also not because of the large population of Malays that will form the large ruling percentage but one of marriage. More of us are inter-marrying and when will there be a true-blooded Malay or that of an Indian, Chinese or orang asal? We must have bangsa Malaysia and that is the beautiful thing that we should look towards. Don't you think so, brother?
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 10, 2008 14:11:25
My bro Pete,

I have a sneaky feeling that you have been keeping an eye out for my comment posting to your article. Maybe I am mistaken, but whatever, sorry lah, my heavy schedule prevented me from keeping track of the going on in MT.

Your article is interesting and reflects the dilemmas of both the BN (UMNO) & the PKR.
UMNO is critically dependent on MCA & MIC for a resemblance of a BN coalition without appearing too Malay, while in actual fact, they are. Bumiputra MPs from Sabah & Sarawak are just making up the numbers for a general Bumiputra front which has not much bearing on the Peninsular Malay contents.

The PKR, as you rightly pointed out, will have more non Malays (with the 30 MPs crossover) and this will not go down well with the Malays or for their support. In return, in losing the 30 MPs, the BN will become even more Malay dominated.

So, what are the fixes to the dilemmas for both the PKR & the BN?

I don’t think anybody can give any clear cut remedies except maybe to have more constitutional Malays (i.e. Chinese & Indian converts) as MPs. This way, perhaps, the constitutional Malays can help bridge the Malay & non Malay issues.
If UMNO challenge the ‘real Malay’ MPs in the PKR, then that might be a good time to raise the issue of who and what constitute a real Malay.

Cheers!
written by kent chong, December 11, 2008 18:00:00
TO:RAKYAT MALAYSIA
It's time to join PAS/DAP/PKR to strengthen PR. When form the new govt, PR need talent /fairness/justice/ people just like u and me.