Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Johor Declares "STATE OF EMERGENCY" on Cyclists

Johor Declares "STATE OF EMERGENCY" on Cyclists PDF Print
Sunday, 07 December 2008 10:52

6th December, Skudai

This morning, the SUARAM office near the vicinity of Skudai turned into an emergency zone when the police mobilized their entire unit; from Light Strike Forces, FRU to traffic police, they erected road blocks which caused a massive traffic jam and massive public nuisance. This is to prevent around 40 young and energetic youths from cycling.

The police force, under the leadership of Skudai OCPD ACP Ruslan, called for the arrests of those who wanted to negotiate with him and said that he is arresting them for illegal assembly.

Around 12 people were arrested including PSM Secretary General S.Arutchelvan, Treasurer A.Sivarajan, Jerit Coordinator K.Simon, Semparuthi's Mohan, Salleh Alim and 13 year old son and many others. This was followed by the arrests of another four JERIT and SUARAM Johor coordinators including Ngo Jian Yee, Nyam Yee Han in which the police said that they were arrested for preventing the SUARAM office to be opened.

While 16 people were held in the Skudai police station, the police put the others on "house arrest" at the SUARAM office where they were prevented from leaving the office. They also started to collect intelligence reports in an intimidating way. Before that the police threatened to break down the SUARAM office doors.

After negotiations held between the OCPD and S.Arutchelvan, the police allowed everyone to leave with the condition that there will not be any cycling in Skudai. He said that he will arrest any person found cycling even when he was assured that the cyclists will go in single file. The only assurance the OCPD gave was the cyclists and their lorry will be allowed to leave his district without any problems.

What was further frustrating was when the police intimidated one of the lorries which was carrying the bicycles to Simpang Renggam when the team was heading to Kulai. Meanwhile, plain-clothes policemen intimidated and harassed the cyclists by snapping photographs etc.

With less bicycles and after sheer bullying by the police, the JERIT southern team decided to cycle one by one and even decided that they will cycle even if it means arrest. The police initially did not want to allow the cyclists to cycle at all.

Then, our team was met by Samad, the OCPD for Kulai. He allowed the cyclists to cycle but warned that he will arrest anyone who committed any traffic offences. Braving the intimidation, our team cycled on but less then 2 km later, the police once again diverted all the cyclists to the police station and this time said that they were stopped because they don't have reflectors.

This outrageous attitude further delayed the journey. The lorry carrying the remaining cyclists was harassed and even summoned. With this, since the day was getting dark, the organizers decided to move to their next destination - Simpang Renggam.

On arrival, the police again harassed the cyclists and the team. The team was met by some supporters from PKR who let them stay in their office.

It was a day later when the three districts in Johor had nothing to do except monitor a cycling team. It was a day where there was as if no other issues mattered in Johor. A small ceramah was held at Simpang Renggam.

For the cyclists, it was a frustrating day but yet their spirits were high. By midnight, the young cyclists were putting the reflectors on and getting ready to pedal on the next day.

Signing off at Simpang Renggam 12 midnight

Surind Raj

written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 11:02:04
This is worst than the Gestapo state of Hitler.No cycling,no vigils,no protest,no writers,no beers etc.What alot of crab! We must protest with strong voice.The police must be held fully responsible for this stupid action.
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 11:07:55
Blue dingos,what next,going to public toilet in a group of more than 4 is also illegal! Is that what you all bloody ass hole wants!Hell is what will be your final destination.
written by picadilly, December 07, 2008 11:09:54
cheekiaw, thats the axact paranoia the govt wants. everything will become dangerous! everyone will become scared of everything! So cannot do anything la.

Cannot bring children to peaceful assemblies, cannoy cycle, cannot light candle, cannot gather together, cannot sing negaraku, cannot fly malaysian flag, cannot bring Gandhi photo, cannot display agongs photo, cannot give flowers to PM, cannot go to parliament, cannot give memorandum, cannot wear yellow shirt, cannot do anything at all!

Then do what? sit at home and rant and rave on the PC?
written by sonofmalaysia, December 07, 2008 11:10:22
tHese anjing PDRM, they have sworn to protect the Rakyat ! Not only have they have gone against their swearing, now they have even intimidated and harassed the good citizens from doing something good for the country.

These anjings, have no chilrden, that's why they do not care about building a healthy future country for the children of Malaysia !!

These anjings are so stupid, they are helping to destroy the future home for their children, thei children and grand children will curse them for generations to come !!

written by wood, December 07, 2008 11:11:57
Police you may stop the cyclists physically, but you may not be able to stop their spirit ! Win the rakyat over with patience, tolerance and love. It could be more effective.
written by ylcc, December 07, 2008 11:25:58
These police have nothing else better to do. Surely, with the increasing crimes in JB one would think they have their plates full. Oh, I forgot. Children and peaceful citizens are easier to handle than hard-core criminals. The police ran away from Chow Kit, remember?
I wonder whether the Johor Royalty would intervene? By doing so, they could at least reverse some of the bad perception/image the public have of them.
written by A MI, December 07, 2008 12:00:47
PeeDeeArEm have only one duty- to serve AMNOites. Talking about escalating crime in JB and other cities. Not sure if they are also too busy being on others' payrolls.
written by mikewang, December 07, 2008 13:13:15
Let them cycle.

In respectable democracies, the police will allocate a reasonable time and area where others will not be overtly inconvenienced. They will also form a protective cordon around the protesting cyclists.

Here, the police is working hand in hand with the ruling party to minimise all kinds of protests.
written by FFT, December 07, 2008 13:15:00
written by ylcc, December 07, 2008 11:25:58
These police have nothing else better to do. Surely, with the increasing crimes in JB one would think they have their plates full.

Tsk, tsk...you poor little innocent soul.

It is the PDRM that is part of the enforcement and protection services for organized crime syndicates.
written by borneoman, December 07, 2008 13:38:46
police are too free cos rela is doing their job for them.pdrm swat vs cyclist?absolute mismatch.
written by Cinakelate, December 07, 2008 14:03:45
Who said crime rate is high in Johor? Only your perception la...
written by Xerxes, December 07, 2008 14:14:22
"....when the police mobilized their entire unit; from Light Strike Forces, FRU to traffic police, they erected road blocks which caused a massive traffic jam and massive public nuisance. This is to prevent around 40 young and energetic youths from cycling....."

Wow! I have never even seen the police mobilize their entire force when dealing with the Mat Rempit menace or even when crime was so rampant in Johor that the public had to gather a 300,000 signature campaign to get the police to do soemthing. And they would do all this to stop 40 cyclist cycling peacefully without bothering anyone.

If this is not selective prosecution I don't know what is.

written by malsia1206, December 07, 2008 14:28:58
White candles. T-shirts with the slogan theme. Cyclicts. The winds are blowing. The signs are all there. Go for a regime change. In solidarity.
written by Rodins Fist, December 07, 2008 14:52:57
These cyclists show exactly the kind of spirit we need to have. Well done!

As for the police, I'm not surprised. This is exactly the kind of pathetic running-dog govt-slaves thing they've been trained to do. Remember Bandar Mahkota Cheras?
written by tuankujuki, December 07, 2008 15:19:41
And we Malaysians are betting our lives in the hand of these morons to take care of our security. No wonder crimes are rampant these days. They are more likely to cuff cyclist rather than snatch theft. The Jerit Cyclists should have tried to bribe the POLISMAN. Not much man just give them 5 ringgit each and they will even cycle with ya all to Skudai or to whereever it takes.
written by Chuan, December 07, 2008 15:44:40
Is this the act of a Police Force that has sworn to protect the citizenry? Remove the IGP! If possible, setup a new Polis Di-Raja Malaysia!

The King should seriously look into this since it's directly associated with him!
written by sttb08, December 07, 2008 18:04:15
When they claim crime rate is very high in Johor, the response was they do not have sufficient manpower. For this gestapo action, no problem but to safeguard the lives of the Rakyat, sorry.
written by Joelim, December 07, 2008 18:24:44
What is this country turning into? How did all these idiots put incharge of the country's security? This is not the Malaysia I grew up in.
written by Thinker, December 07, 2008 18:26:54
Please, don't be too hard on our polis. They were only trying to stop a crime from occurring. Do you know what's the crime rate like in JB? These poor cyclists could have been mugged and their bicycles stolen! If that happens do you know the consequences? Our crime perception will
change for the worse again. This cannot be allowed.

It's a shame that they decided to indulge in dangerous behaviour like this. They should just stay at home and lock themselves in so that they will be safe. They can also protect their families and properties by doing this.
written by BennyG, December 08, 2008 00:21:36
JERIT and SUARAM,

Thank you for highlighting to the Johoreans that we need their support. A lot of my Johor friends are beginning to send emails and encourage their friends to vote other than BN. We should see more changes in Johor in GE13.

Whatever JERIT & SUARAM did was a step forward for change in Johor. Thank you again.
written by BennyG, December 08, 2008 00:24:08
Hey, could we have a cyclethon to Sunday vigils to highlight "NO TO PETROL TAX"?
written by temanmu, December 08, 2008 07:28:17
Cyclist haven't caused such great show of force since the Japanese came down the peninsula in WWII on bicycles!

What next? Send out the army to control the cyclists?

Crazy!

BTW, the smaller Japanese force managed to beat the larger British force!
written by Angela Ooi, December 08, 2008 10:33:08
Desperte times call for desperate measures. The blues are merely acting on orders from 'higher ups'. The bn govt is on its last legs and are even frightened of its own shadows. I could not get a permit to hold the Sban vigil even when I stipulated there would be no banners, hailers used and that we were merely gathering to do some dancing, singing and reading a couple poetry.
The first 3 vigils went ok even when we had Raja Petra's appearance (fresh from Kamunting)and over 150 pax. The police did not interfere and all went well with no traffic jams or any untoward incidents. Now the blues want me to hold it 'indoors' and I have to apply EVERY week even though my application says 'weekly affair'. This will mean 25 pages of almost empty papers cos I am not in any politcal party and I am doing so as a normal Jane unhappy with the ISA. These bullying nauseates and further distance us rakyat further from the ruling govt.
Kasee, maybe you should print the rejection letter so others can see how this govt is running scared over every little thing.
written by James, December 08, 2008 21:52:13
Those cycylists are worthy of praise. They stood for principals. Those so called officers of the law who had been paid by taxes from citizens have resorted to intimidating taxpayers upon whom they derive their income just so they can please their political masters and gain so points in furtherance of their goals and careers.
Therefore those cyclists deserve and got the admiration and support of the Malaysian citizens.