Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Landslides in Malaysia this year

Landslides in Malaysia this year PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 14:09

(The Star)

Dec 4 - 300 people were forced to evacuate two buildings when a landslide caused part of the retaining wall of a car park to collapse in Jalan Semantan, Kuala Lumpur.

Nov 30 - Two sisters were buried alive when a landslide hit their bungalow in Ulu Yam Perdana near Kuala Kubu Baru, Selangor.

Oct 22 - Tonnes of earth came crashing down a hill onto the grounds of the Taman Terubong Jaya apartments in Butterworth where over 1,000 residents were staying.

Oct 19 - Four families evacuated from houses along the banks of Sungai Kayu Ara in Petaling Jaya, Selangor, after landslide there.

Oct 17 - Two Indonesians were killed after they were buried alive by tonnes of sand in a landslide in Ganesan Quarry, Hulu Langat near Kajang, Selangor.

Oct 15 - A landslide after a downpour at Pinggir Bukit Segar, Cheras, Selangor caused a family to move out as they feared for their safety.

Sept 6 - Roads from the George Town to Teluk Bahang and Balik Pulau in Penang were cut off due to landslides and fallen trees.

Jan 17 - Two foreign workers were killed after they were buried in a landslide while working at a plantation in Cameron Highlands.

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by Saint, December 06, 2008 15:10:16
BN had a land slide and more soil is coming down. Next erosion in KT and hopefully a whole avalanche in the next GE
written by HamChak, December 06, 2008 16:37:45
Najib, Najib, it is not because of the hill site, lor
What are you talking? Talking like small boy with small brain.
Let me TELL you, it is because of your "Godfather" Mahathir's
NEP Universities that churned out ALL those "HalfPastSix" Zombies
Engineers, la. So simple also you do not know, ahh?
written by New Malaysian, December 06, 2008 16:50:38
How wonderful to be whisked to the site of tragedy, give your two cents' worth - without thinking or conviction - and go merrily along to become the Prime Minister of the nation.....

Only in Malaysia!

New Malaysian
written by Orang Muda, December 06, 2008 19:59:29
How about projects that being approved in the past and is currently on progress but could potentailly be dangerous?

Check this out:

http://www.savetamanmelawatihill.com/

Anyone care? Do we have to wait until ada orang mati then we start to make noise?
written by shepherdvoyage, December 07, 2008 08:42:13
Only when a landslide kills an UMNO member, say syed hamid, nazri, najib, badawi, or any of their relatives, will BN really conduct an invetigation (immediately) and punish the illegal developer and ban the licence for hillside developments.

If only civilians are killed in a landslide, BN just can't be bothered to really do something to prevent more landslides (therefore such tragedies happen over and again) other than making superficial statements like will set up an investigation committee (but findings had never been made known to the public), take action against law-breaking developers (but how many had really been charged for the tragedies than happened in the past?), ban licence for hillside developments (but we see more houses being built on the hillsides)...

CIVILIANS' LIVES JUST MEAN NOTHING TO BN!

This is not a Bolehland but Runtuhland! BN will also RUNTUH one day!