Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Tajuddin’s remarks racist but many MPs have done the same, says dep speaker

Tajuddin’s remarks racist but many MPs have done the same, says dep speaker PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 10:29

, The Edge

Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman’s (Pasir Salak-BN) remark that Lim Kit Siang (Ipoh Timur-DAP) was “anti Malay” was a racist statement, Deputy Speaker Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said Thursday.

However, he told the Dewan Rakyat that he would not order Tajuddin to retract his remark as other members of parliament (MPs) from both sides of the divide had also uttered similar indecent and racist remarks in the past.

Citing unparliamentary remarks which had been uttered by several MPs in the past, he said all MPs should take his ruling as a lesson and not to repeat similar mistakes in the future.

Before announcing his decision on a point of order raised by Lim, the deputy speaker said after referring to points of order and other decisions made in other parliaments worldwide, he could not rule that the “anti Malay” remark was unparliamentary.

“After discussions with the speaker, we found that the word uttered by YB Pasir Salak was a racist word,” he said.

Earlier, in deciding on another point of order which was also raised by Lim, Wan Junaidi ruled that there was no need to refer Deputy Higher Education Minister Datuk Idris Haron to the Privileges Committee for allegedly misleading the house.

He found that Idris had no intention to humiliate former University Malaya vice-chancellor Datuk Rafiah Salim.

Rafiah had demanded an open apology from the deputy minister and contended that Idris questioned her service and performance when he said in Parliament on Nov 13 that her successor, Prof Datuk Dr Ghauth Jasmon, had been appointed because of his track record.

Wan Junaidi said he had no right to order Idris to apologise to Rafiah.

written by Motherchell, December 06, 2008 10:44:00
In other words the D. speaker is a true *****! Great leaders in Parliament!
written by borneoman, December 06, 2008 11:02:33
hello phd curi,you are a total disgrace and embarrassment to all sarawakian.what kind of moron are you anyway.a rule is a rule and you cant just bend it because of a fcuking bn friend.sarawkian like you sell the soul,pride and dignity of sarawak to please your fcuking tuan melayu umno led bn.it would be a real pleasure for the native to have your head detached from your body.shame on you and may all the curse lead you to your grave.
written by Msian Idol3, December 06, 2008 11:29:13
Such a low class deputy speaker. Your recent remarks reflect your substance. You allow it, so who else should take responsibility for such behaviours. A product of UMNO is only good in blaming others & just as ugly in respecting the rakyat. No wonder you guys cannot take care of the general malay population welfare as U guys are too busy being arrogant & feeding off each other. Fortunately there are other malays who see different and are fighting you guys for an alternative govt to represent malays & the others.
written by malsia1206, December 06, 2008 11:55:36
What this Deputy Speaker was saying is as good as you can go out and kill someone just because you happen to know someone else who had done it in the past. In other words, a similar wrongful act can be committed again just because it had been done by someone in the past. Great, I simply love Malaysia for the gracious thought and expressed view coming out from our lawmakers in Parliament.
written by ylcc, December 06, 2008 11:57:49
How many were there in the past, Dy Speaker? Were the statements all from UMNO? It is still not too late to ask Tajuddin to retract his remark instead of "naughty, naughty, don't do that again!". It certainly took the Dy Speaker a long time to realise that "anti Malay" is a racist statement. I remembered in Tony Phua's blog somewhere in April, when he had mentioned Pasir Salak as a racist. But, of course, we cannot compare the intelligence of the opposition to UMNO/Speakers' stupidity. When the opposition protests, they are thrown out by the Speakers. Another reason why we should not vote for BN.
written by Ray, December 06, 2008 12:12:35
This type of Speaker can be found by the roadside...no class at all...phd also another question mark.
written by Rodins Fist, December 06, 2008 12:18:46
Ray,
The PhD question is "got discount"?
written by Oyster, December 06, 2008 15:44:10
If Racist remarks are tolerated in the dewan rakyat then what hope is there for ending racism amongst the people????
Sack this idiot Tajuddin and the useless ignorant speaker.
End racism now!
written by temanmu, December 06, 2008 19:45:20
"Bully" (uttered by Fong Po Kuan) was ruled un- parliamentary language...

UMNO "bullies" the other BN components ... is un-parliamentary !

the Speaker is really BODOH!
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 06, 2008 20:52:06
Looks like a speaker

Sounds like a speaker

Is he really a speaker?

Looks smart, sounds dumb, is he really a PHD material?

Manay village idiots in Malaysia too utter more intelligent remark then this "LUMB ASK".

written by Mustapha Kamal, December 06, 2008 21:27:32
There have been many such examples of BN MPs, especially from UMNO, who have shown themselves to be foul-mouthed buffoons. They even get promoted to become leaders of the Barisan Back-Benchers Club ! So what can we, ordinary Malaysians, assume ? That it pays if you are a foul-mouthed UMNO buffoon ! Pathetic !
written by alpha100, December 06, 2008 21:54:35
So a speakers accept precedent and allow it to continue! smilies/grin.gif and paliament become a zoo loh!
written by Orang Muda, December 07, 2008 01:44:41
I don't understand... what kind of twisted logic is this?

It sounds to me a bit like if someone was caught stealing or robbing or murdering, then during the court hearing the judge said:" what you committed no doubt is a crime, but because there are so many other who also committed the same crime, therefore I am going to let you go..."

written by kurangfaham, December 07, 2008 09:59:21
ITU SPEAKER MEMANG LAYAK UNTUK JAGA zooooooo NEGARA.
written by mikewang, December 07, 2008 13:30:27
Deputy Speaker Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar,

Just because both sides of parliament utter racist comments, it has become ok now ?
So if one side C4 the other, it will be ok for the other side to throw a molotov cocktail back at the opposite bench ?

How do you expect "all MPs should take his ruling as a lesson and not to repeat similar mistakes in the future." ?

You're plain stupid !