Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 3 reports lodged over astronaut's fee for talks

3 reports lodged over astronaut's fee for talks PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 10:21

(New Straits Times) - Three reports have so far been lodged against Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor Sheikh Mustapha for allegedly charging exorbitant fees to give motivational talks.

Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Fadillah Yusof said the reports were lodged by two non-governmental organisations and a government body.

Without revealing the names of the organisations, Fadillah said the ministry would issue a statement next week to reveal the outcome of its investigations, which had attracted public interest.

"So far we have only received three complaints regarding this issue," he said in a phone interview.

Yesterday, the committee under the ministry which had been tasked with probing claims that Dr Sheikh Muszaphar had been imposing enormous charges for his appearances, met to discuss the preliminary findings of the probe.

Fadillah said the seven-man committee comprised officers of the ministry and its agencies as well as several "outside" people.

It is understood that the committee may also call in the complainants to facilitate investigations.

Dr Sheikh Muszaphar is also likely to be called in for his side of the story.

Fadillah said the extension of the Angkasawan Negara's contract with the government was also likely to depend on the outcome of the investigations.

Sheikh Muszaphar's contract with the government, which he signed two years ago, expires on Dec 31.

Dr Sheikh Muszaphar was reported to have made RM1.2 million from charging clients to talk about his experience in the International Space Station last year. Reports said he charged RM8,000 per hour to speak.

written by Adrian, December 06, 2008 10:36:53
He is not just an air traveler but a fashion model too. So you must be clear when you engage him for what purpose mah. Modeling must pay one mah.
written by Ken Liew, December 06, 2008 10:39:02
he did not deserve to talk. after all the Rakyat paid him of his trip to space. so, why we need to pay him for him to open his mouth. Blood sucking UNMOral type of people.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 06, 2008 10:39:24
Another shameful result of UMNO wastful project !!

written by tokioRain, December 06, 2008 10:40:51
Holy mother of God. The goddamn faggot actually gets paid for his experiences.
written by Motherchell, December 06, 2008 10:40:53
Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor Sheikh cannot be blamed . HE IS A PRODUCT OF THE SYSTEM UMNO nurtured. Its always money first Science and technology? What is that? No use Shukor showing off his titles in front of him he should display what is behind him! A disgrace to Society! A RM 100M gold plated garbage bin!
written by michaelT, December 06, 2008 10:41:55
Can we blame the 3 who lodged the police report for Dr Sheikh motivational talk fees. In the right mind no fees should be charged as he is not an astronaut per se. As listed in the NAZA list he is classified as Participant. The Government apid to send him and not a listed company. So no fees should be imposed. He by right must get the Government approval before charging fees. Dr Sheikh should be clear on this issue. He must return the fees that he charges to those who have receipt
written by Lembing, December 06, 2008 11:02:35
One of the reasons given by the UMNO government for sending Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor as a passenger on the Soviet spcaecraft, is to conduct medical research and that the Americans will not share the results of their medical research conducted in Space. SO where is the final report on the medical research, if any, conducted in just a few days in space by the great hero, the Malaysian Spaceman, Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor?

My guess is that no such research were performed and as usual the multi-millions spent was, of course, money well spent. DOWN THE DRAIN to RUSSIAN'S space program.
written by adan, December 06, 2008 11:31:39
In Bolehland ,everything and everyone is for SALE..Make MONEY and LOTS and LOTS of it in whatever way, whichever way one can. DATUK DR.you are A LIVING EXAMPLE of what it costs the taxpayers to produce A'TOWERING MALAYASIAN'!! Yet we have to pay thousands /millions to listen to you!!! good business.
written by aimmsia, December 06, 2008 11:51:23
I attended a talk by the air traveller. He is a nice man, his presentation is ordinary. With a few hours of research I think I can do better than him except I am not as handsome and did not have a chance to take few photos in the Russian spaceship. I don't blame Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, but I curse UMNO for this stupid project, and most of all send the person who received commission on this project to hell.
written by borneoman, December 06, 2008 11:53:55
he was picked for rendezvous in the outer space because of his look,name,race,religion and culture and not his brain,what kind of doctor is he anyway?
written by ylcc, December 06, 2008 12:06:22
Think of all the money that had been dumped onto ONE person, being distributed among the many poor. UMNO should learn how to walk before running. We cannot even make it to the top 200 universities, we are already flying off to the moon!
written by Mark C, December 06, 2008 12:26:50
Malaysia boleh!..... the very notion of demanding payment for yapping because of a trip financed by OUR money speaks volumes about his mentality. Apa pun sapu....really a product of UMNO's version of NEP.
written by apa jadi, December 06, 2008 13:09:50
Holy mackerel! Rm8000 per hour?! Have I read it wrong? Or Rm 8000 per session (of 1 hour)?

Anyway, how much did/do these motivational companies charge the participants? No organisation will conduct a loss business. How much did these motivational companies make? I think it is a fair and square business if they agree to pay. Why make noise only after they got him to appear? Is he that important to motivate the participant or working as a celebrity and crowd puller?

On the other hand, this is what Malaysia is heading. He learnt it from our leaders: make the most of it while you still shine.

For all that glitters, it lasts only a short while. Go back to your medical profession, and help out the needy please.
written by Msian Idol3, December 06, 2008 13:58:46
Its OK if he can earn that much money if someone is silly enough to listen & pay. Datuk's beware. His gorgeous looks may snare the datins. Anyway I can't afford to attend his motivational UMNO crap. Besides why waste time on this bodoh-not, product of bodoh land.
written by Daryl, December 06, 2008 14:48:30
Okay... these three organizations deserve what is coming to them. Unless this so call astronaut put a gun to their heads and demand for money or the contract is misleading they should just go away. Hey, if someone can make money on sodomy allegation or a second Statutory Declaration why not this guy who actually gone to space and come back alive.
written by Adrian, December 06, 2008 17:13:22
If like that can make fast and easy money, next round sure many AMNOPUTRA will fight tooth and nail for the place.
written by cheekhiaw, December 06, 2008 17:45:36
Why are people taking issue with some space tourist making money from talking about making teh tarik in space, and how the compass works in space?

If there are fools willing to pay for it, let it be.

written by malgal, December 06, 2008 18:12:10
If our angkasawan is truly in demand as a speaker, malaysia must market him overseas on speaking engagements to emblazon our fame. What has he brought back to enrich space technology for mankind?
written by thegodfather, December 06, 2008 21:27:32
The reports must clarify if the fees charged were for lectures or other services. Everything has a fee.
written by onnetline, December 07, 2008 02:11:37
This space traveller has got the nerve to charge the very people( rakyat ) who sent him to space.
Plainly, shameless like those corrupted shitheads from Barisan Najis !
written by Orang Muda, December 07, 2008 02:14:31
"So far we have only received three complaints regarding this issue,"

oooh..., only 3 complaints, so no need to do anything-lah? Want to wait until there are 30 complaints baru nak ambil tindakan ke?

I can almost hear the same tone of voice: "So far we have only have three land slide tragedy since 1993 at Bukit Antara Bangsa..." smilies/sad.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 07, 2008 13:08:00
He went up on tax payer's money.Then how can he charge the rakyat again.He must return all that he got from illegal means.Shame on SMS.His name is tainted and he will have to be charged in court.
The gov't have to take responsibility for this becos all his talks are arranged through the gov't.The gov't have a role in this problem.SMS will be answerable to this allegations.He must stop all this nonsense.
written by mikewang, December 07, 2008 13:32:22
I cannot understand the mentality of those who lodge reports over exorbitant fees.

If you don't agree to his fees, don't invite the space passenger to speak.