Dr M spooking Najib to go his way PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 09:42

“Najib is going to be surrounded by Abdullah's people and through these people Abdullah will control the government of Najib. Najib has already abandoned Muhyiddin, the fierce critic of Abdullah. He does not want to incur the displeasure of his boss. Would he refuse to appoint Abdullah's nominees? Would he dare go against them?” he provoked.

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER COMMENTARY

Here we go again.

That must be the sentiment being felt by Prime-Minister-in-waiting Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his band of supporters in recent days after Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad ratcheted up pressure on him to become his “own man” and support certain aspirants to senior positions in Umno.

The Deputy Prime Minister knows that the caustic comments and biting statements will not stop until the party elections are over in March or until he gives his full backing to candidates endorsed by Dr Mahathir.

On the flip side, he also has to accept that showing favour to one set of candidates or becoming a proxy for the former prime minister could provoke other candidates to go for broke and destroy any sense of stability in a ruling party already knee deep in controversy and facing an important by-election on Jan 17.

Running through Dr Mahathir’s recent statements and postings on his blog, he appears peeved that Najib has become too comfortable with the transition plan and not assertive enough in supporting Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as his choice for the number two position in Umno.

Muhyiddin, who played a significant role in building up momentum for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s ouster, has been Dr Mahathir’s only choice for the number two position.

He is up against Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Mohd Ali Rustam and Rural Development Minister Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib for the deputy president’s position.

Dr Mahathir is also partial to his son Datuk Muhkriz Mahathir being elected Umno Youth chief over Khairy Jamaluddin and Datuk Seri Dr Khir Toyo.

In a posting on his blog, he accused Abdullah of busy campaigning for his chosen candidates for the posts of deputy president, Wanita chief and Youth chief, noting that winners will be rewarded with appointments as ministers.

“Najib is going to be surrounded by Abdullah's people and through these people Abdullah will control the government of Najib. Najib has already abandoned Muhyiddin, the fierce critic of Abdullah. He does not want to incur the displeasure of his boss. Would he refuse to appoint Abdullah's nominees? Would he dare go against them?” he provoked.

Several days ago, he suggested that Najib may end up as the president of Umno but Abdullah will hold the ultimate prize — the prime ministership.

In an interview with Riz Khan on Al Jazeera, he followed up with another observation, noting that Najib is “more a follower than a leader and must change that.”

These statements are designed to spook Najib and his supporters and provoke them into action, namely showing clear support for candidates with antipathy towards Abdullah.

These statements must also be read together with the warning by Dr Mahathir to expose election candidates who he believes are guilty of buying support.

In his opinion, Muhyiddin should be a shoo-in for the number two job.

Instead, he appears to be in a dog fight with Ali and Muhammad Taib, two candidates said to be close to Abdullah.

Sources told The Malaysian Insider that Najib may prefer Muhyiddin over the other two candidates but will not publicly endorse anyone contesting the party elections.

The reason: he believes that it could complicate efforts to restore unity to the party after March.

Also, it is too early in the game to be showing his hand.

The party polls are a good four months away and no candidate in any category is an overwhelming favourite.

Finally, if Najib endorses any candidate or a slate of candidates, he runs the risk of exposing himself to fire from those left out of the equation.

Given the poisonous mood in the party, the return fire could be damaging.

So for the time being at least, staying on the sidelines makes sense for Najib.

Only problem is that Dr Mahathir is not going to be silent.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, December 06, 2008 09:55:33
Keep fanning the fire, Mahathir. You love to speak your mind, don't you? We love the happenings within your UMNO. To be precise, we are having a GOOD laugh at how pathetic you all are clawing and scratching each others eyes out. All in the name of power, greed and the all important money, money, money. Good show, keep it coming!
written by bkho, December 06, 2008 10:24:45
For someone who said he earned only 240k a year, he's staying in a multi-million dollar mansion in Mines Resort.

bkho.********.com
written by KotaDamansara73, December 06, 2008 11:54:48
Mahathir and Muhiyiddin has sign a pact that Mahathir will support Muhiyiddin all the way if Muhiyiddin can bring down Badawi. So Muhiyiddin went for broke and brought Badawi down.

Now Mahathir has to do something for Muhiyiddin and Mukhriz.

Mahathir, we are not stupid. Malaysians are not stupid anymore. We can see through your plan.
written by prsupporter, December 06, 2008 12:39:46
What are you all fighting for? PR will be the next govn and DSAI will be newly appointed PM. smilies/grin.gif Hidup PR!!!
written by kkselvam, December 06, 2008 13:07:25
Aarrgh!!!!! It feels good to see Mahataik keeps shitting on Pak Lah's head and send shivers down that murderer's Najis spine! Muhiyiddin is a weasel and everyone knows what a big time corrupted he is.In short, non of current UMNO leaders are fit to rule our country!
My vote goes to DSAI anytime!
written by PeacefulMalaysia, December 06, 2008 13:39:54
Dr. Mathathir Son of Kutty Mohamed - you said you are NOT an Indian.
Then what are you - you consider yourself a Malay - yes at this moment you can be called a Malay and the Indian community internationally do NOT want you to be called an INDIAN. The INDIANS are ashamed of you if you were an INDIAN.INDIANS are VERY SMART PEOPLE, GENTLE PEOPLE , GOD FEARING
AND NOT IDIOTS.
Reasons:
1. You are a SNAKE
2. A traitor
3. An IDIOT
4. A braggard
5. A thief
6. A devil of a Muslim
7. An instigator
8. A trouble maker
9. An unsatisfied person
10. A DOG in a PIG's outfit.

Hello DOG - go back and trace your roots.
written by magickriver, December 06, 2008 14:54:42
Ha ha ha... they are DOOMED... that whole sinking ship full of stinking, corrupt, benighted & tempurung-headed Umnoids! GLUB GLUB GLUB GLUB GLUB GLUB...

The only ones who will be saved are those that get thrown overboard in time... like Anwar & Zaid... so they don't get sucked down by the vortex as the KD Barisannajis succumbs to gravity & too many rotten rusted leaky plates in the ship's hull.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 06, 2008 15:28:07
Dr M spooking Najib to go his way

AND WE ARE SPOOKING YOU TO DO A ZAKARIA ACT PRONTO.
LET'S SEE. DR M KILLS OFF BODOWI, BODOWI KILLS OFF NAJIS, NAJIS KILL OFF MUHIDEEN, MUHIDEEN KILLS OF RUSTY & M2M, KJ KILLS OFF MUKRIZ & TOYOL,
BOTAK ISA SUFFERS MASSIVE HEART ATTACK WITH PATAIL, MUSANG... WOW. AINT THAT NICE?? PR TAKES OVER GOMEN. A NEW GROUP OF YOUNG HONEST DEDICATED UMNO LEADERS EMERGE TO FIGHT FOR A NEW BEGINNING. JUDICIAL AND ACA REFORM BILLS PASSED. STOCK MARKETS SURGE. ALL ISA DETAINEES RELEASED. HOW'S THAT?