Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Wan Ahmad: I have the X-factor to win

Wan Ahmad: I have the X-factor to win PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 09:24

(NST) Senator Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, the man who is touted to carry Barisan Nasional's flag in the Kuala Terengganu by-election, said his "X-factor" could help secure a victory.

However, Wan Ahmad said it would not be without a tough fight from Pakatan Rakyat and its component, Pas.

Although he had been hearing rumours about his name as the most likely candidate for the by-election, Wan Ahmad said he had not been officially informed.

However, he said he had been getting numerous congratulatory messages from all quarters, including through his Facebook account, in which he had expressed grief over the "sudden and premature passing of his MP, a close friend and comrade-in-arms".

Wan Ahmad, who is also deputy home minister, said in a phone interview with the New Straits Times that while BN and Pas had an equal chance with the majority Malay voters, the party that could win over the more than 10,000 Chinese votes would break the tie and secure a win.
Wary of sounding like a lobbyist, Wan Ahmad Farid said he had the "X-factor" that could help BN win the by-election.

He attributed his 17-year partnership with a Chinese associate in running a firm that had kept him in touch with the Chinese grassroots in Kuala Terengganu.

"The Chinese there like me, as a lawyer and politician, and my relationship with them goes back a long way.

"So, if I could put it this way ... if Wan Ahmad is fielded, we (the BN) stand a good chance of winning."

Of the BN's main rival in the by-election, Pas, Wan Ahmad said the fact that they won three out of four state seats in Kuala Terengganu in the general election, did not mean that they could wrest the seat from BN this time.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Ken Liew, December 06, 2008 09:42:36
SO your "17-year partnership with a Chinese associate" does these mean they have FED you for the last 17 years. Do you think they like you more, OR hate you paying you the Kopi "O"? lets put an end to this. we dont need to feed the mini-sir, cos our tax already paying them more then what they're working for.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 06, 2008 10:09:43
This by election is just the start of a small hurdle for Najis. NAjis is already shitting in his pant !! After KT fall to PR, it wll be all the way down for BN Najis! CAlling all MAlaysians in and around KT, go tell all the pakciks and makciks in the kampongs about what is happenning in our country, how much the UMNO crooks have stole their money, especially Trengganu oil money! Let put our effort together to dig a grave for BN and UMNO. UNMO has become a lanun gang who only want to steal more and more from the Rakyat !!

Only by burying UMNO and BN will Malaysia has a bettter future!
written by Ray, December 06, 2008 10:30:20
The "X-factor" is the same old vote buying and using phantom voters. Once you umno guys raise your buttocks, we the Rakyat already know whether you want to piss or shit. Its not that the Rakyat are smart but it is you umno guys are damn stupid. We don't buy what umno said anymore.
written by Rashid, December 06, 2008 10:59:25
Hear hear. I want the Chinese to listen to me very well: Umno MPs win with Chinese votes but when they reach Parliament, they start spitting at the Chinese. Mukhriz Mahathir was beaten by the PAS candidate in Jerlun for the Malay vote but he scraped through with Chinese vote after Mahathir and his wife begged them ceaselessly to vote for their son. Then what happened? He now says the Chinese should stop (deleted). Malaysia Castrated Asso will come to KT and tell you about "BN spirit". Do you eat "spirit"? You need dignity and accomodation and PAS/Pakatan will offer that to you despite the hiccups. The late Razali was beaten by Mohd Sabu for the Malay vote by a wide margin but he scraped through with Chinese vote. But does Umno even consider the Chinese as human beings? The choice is yours and your future is at stake. Don't fall for flattery and handouts. Vote PAS/Pakatan and save your children's future. If the Chinese in KT vote for Umno, then we the Pakatan Malays will not give two hoots to whatever Umno will do to the Chinese because there is a Kiswahili proverb that says: msiba wa kujitakia hauna pole (A self inflicted pain has no sorry). Can we say sorry for Umno's humilation when you settle for Umno? You have a choice.

Remember, in Permatang Pauh they said Arif Shah loves the Chinese, speaks their language and protecs Chinese education. But what is Umno doing today? calling for the closure of Chinese schools. I hope you will see through this charade.
written by zanie, December 06, 2008 11:00:23
Oh yeah? tell me what is the "X" factor please? Phantom voters and implanted votes right?
written by Lembing, December 06, 2008 11:13:27
TO RASHID I totally agree.

written by borneoman, December 06, 2008 11:26:20
sarawakian will be watching very closely because our turn will come in y2010.how pr fare at trengganu would surely have big impact on the 2010 poll in sarawak.good luck pr.
x factor=back stabbing.
written by borneoman, December 06, 2008 11:27:29
mr.rashid,i concur with you.keep upthe pressure on bn.
written by adamckteh, December 06, 2008 13:03:12

You people may not agree with what I say: "The Chinese voted BN candidate because they are under threat and under fear". They fear the May 13 and the military rule or emergency rule. To counter that you need somebody to say "over my dead body if you touch any Chinese" liked one of the PAS candidates said during the election campaign.
Peace!
written by wes wong, December 06, 2008 15:30:50

does he mean this X factor?
written by jjireh99, December 06, 2008 16:27:39
good one, wes wong. I hope everyone (PR/PAS) will not take for granted, too. Please go all out to win KT for the people, please.