Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP leaders to campaign in Kuala Terengganu

DAP leaders to campaign in Kuala Terengganu PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 09:21

(The Star) KUALA TERENGGANU: About 200 DAP national leaders are expected to campaign for the Pakatan Rakyat candidate in the parliamentary by-election here.

Kampung Cina DAP chairman Ng Chai Hing said the leaders would take turns to hold ceramah and conduct house-to-house campaigns.

He said the party’s focus would be the Chinese voters who were more concerned about national issues.

“The local issues will not influence the voters, except for the recent delay in providing flood assistance.

“The bickering among Barisan Nasional parties will work to our advantage. We are planning the strategies to attract the voters, especially the fence-sitters,” he said.

The Kuala Terengganu seat fell vacant following the death of Deputy Education Minister Datuk Razali Ismail last week.

Ng said they would concentrate on Bandar state seat now held by the MCA’s Toh Chin Yaw and Ladang (held by PAS) where there is a substantial number of Chinese voters.

The other state seats are Wakaf Mempelam and Batu Burok, both held by PAS.

Pakatan Rakyat is likely to field a local PAS leader based on the voters’ sentiments and the candidates tipped for nomination are state PAS Commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali, former Batu Burok assemblyman Wan Abdul Mutalib Embong and present Batu Burok assemblyman Dr Syed Azman Syed Nawawi.

PAS assemblyman for Ladang Datuk Tengku Hassan Tengku Omar said he would go all out to wrest the constituency from Barisan Nasional.

written by SamSan, December 06, 2008 09:50:21
I hope Pete, Zorro and all the other wonderful dignified and honourable Cyber Human Rights Gang will be there to help fight against the hegemony and blatant abuse of power by the corrupt, rapacious and sodomite BN/UMNO. I am also hoping that Saiful will be there campaigning for Barisan claiming again that the frail and back pain driven Anwar had forcefully sodomised him (although he initially enjoyed it according to the police findings of consensual sodomy)and that there was no other 4 witnesses to prove his wild allegation. Hoping also that Najib and Saiful will together take another oath on the Holy Koran that only they are truthful and solemn and that everything else reported in the cyber world (including all the Sworn affiadavits) are hoax. I am hoping that Che Det will also join them swearing on the Koran in Kuala Trengganu Mosque that Anwar punched himself blue black while under police custody and that the Tribunal Verdict finding the ex IGP guilty of the crime was fatally flawed judgement.
written by DreamLady, December 06, 2008 10:11:31
My dear all rakyat of Trengganu, please be wise in your choice when you cast your votes.

1.Vote for those who are sincere and clean.
2. Vote for the ones who are selfless.
3. Vote for those who are not corrupted.
4. Vote for those who care about your welfare, and your children's.
5. Vote for the ones who love the rakyat more than they love themselves.
6. Vote for those who risk their lives to defend you, to defend the rakyat against ISA and any law of jungle from UMNO/BN regime.
7. Vote out those who are murderers, who are robbers of nation's coffer, who stir up racial upheaval to sway your judgment.

Oh, God, please bless the people of Trengganu, bless them with an upright leader who fear God. God, please bless the people of Malaysia so that we shall be blessed with an upright, an honest, and scandalous-free PM. Thank you, Allah!
written by Ray, December 06, 2008 10:15:58
For sure Ms Altantuya will be there to hunt down Najib and the fat mumbo jumbo. Her soul will not rest in peace until her killers are send to the gallows.
written by cheekhiaw, December 06, 2008 14:07:51
DAP's campaign slogan should be 'Amar Ma'ruf Nahi Mungkar!'

written by Daryl, December 06, 2008 14:38:34
I totally disagree with PROARTE. KT voters go out and vote for "Pakatan Rakyat" because that is what the three parties promise us that they will work to better plan the future for Rakyat and Malaysia not their own pocket. If they fail in the next 5 or 10 years we can vote the other "hopefully reformed" party. ONLY RAKYAT benefit if we can throw whoever that doesn't keep their promise.

Like they say "Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. But if they fooll me for 40 years I must be pretty STUPID and deserved to be rob, rape and sodomize".

So, please choose wisely and marked a 'X' on the PR....
written by eloofk, December 06, 2008 15:04:30
Dear Proarte,

DAP doesnt need to explain why the party has to support a PAS candidate. The very fact that the PR coalition being united in its promise to deliver,unlike the corrupted BN parties hammering each other from within and being C4d by the untouchable from outside speak volumns of the disarray the BN is facing. The self-destructive BN will not be able to deliver the best for the residents of KT. Voters there are now wiser and street smart to see for themselves those empty promises by the corrupted UMNO officials enriching themselves instead of upgrading the standard of living for the residents there.

written by Daryl, December 06, 2008 21:37:34
Proarte
Thanks for the reminder what PR has or has not done in a short one year. Please remember all the things that BN is doing to Malaysia and tell me that is a better option after 51 years.
written by eloofk, December 06, 2008 22:05:08
Proarte,

Pakatan Stands for righteousness and justice in case you dont know.

Yes, PAS has already changed course after realising that they cant alienate the voters of other races if they continue with their hardline measures in trying to enact their extreme islamic laws.

Take a look at the State of Kelantan. It is still ruled by PAS. There are still many chinese and indian families residing in that State. What does that tells you? The 3 PK parties had forge a united front by accommodating each other's differences to stop UMNO from trying to disunite the different races by playing the racial card in their campaigns.