Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib: We will retain Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat

Najib: We will retain Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat PDF Print
Saturday, 06 December 2008 09:20

(The Star) KUALA TERENGGANU: Barisan Nasional is confident of retaining the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat as the state is a stronghold of the coalition, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said.

The Deputy Prime Minister noted that the state of affairs and scenario in Kuala Terengganu were different from that in Permatang Pauh, where the Opposition won in the last by-election.

Moral support: Najib shaking hands with the late Razali’s son Khairul Ariff at the family’s home in Kampung Batu Burok. Looking on are Razali’s wife Datin Noraini Lob Yusoff (left) and son Khairul Amar.

“We cannot compare the two constituencies. The state of affairs and scenario are different. We will retain our seat,” he said after visiting the home of the late Kuala Terengganu MP Datuk Razali Ismail at Kampung Batu Burok, here, last night.

On whether the campaigning by Barisan during the by-election would differ from that of Permatang Pauh, Najib said he would announce that later.

“My purpose of visit here today is to meet Umno leaders from all levels. Only then will I get the actual picture,” he said.

Najib also said that the Election Commission had taken every aspect into consideration including the weather before announcing the nomination and polling dates.

He said the Barisan machinery was ready to face the 12-day campaigning period.

The seat fell vacant after Razali, who was also the Deputy Education Minister, died while playing badminton at Institut Aminuddin Baki in Genting Highlands on Nov 28.

Najib described Razali as an extraordinary leader and very committed in executing his duties as a deputy minister.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Krepot, December 06, 2008 09:37:10
Najib,

Put your money where your mouth is!
If you dont retain KT, QUIT!
simple.
written by DreamLady, December 06, 2008 09:52:41
Najib, jangan cakap besar, belum apa-apa lagi dah rasa cukup riak tak terhingga.

You would continue to use dirty tricks to woo the voters: you would put Saiful the So-domme to campaign for you, and allow him to talk about porn graphic in action by the roadside to smear Anwar and PR, and you would pour in thousands and thousands of taxpayers' money to 'sweeten' and 'soften' the hearts of the voters, and you would employ lots of BN phantom voters to multiphy themselves by the hundreds.....

But Najib, listen properly, no matter how much tricks you have up your sleeve, God is watching closely, He will only reward those who are deserving enough to lead Trengganu !!!

If you won, you are lucky, I salute you, otherwise, your days as the PM in-waiting shall look much gloomy than ever !!!

So, please don't count the chicken before they are hatched !!!
written by shamadz72, December 06, 2008 11:28:27
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 06, 2008 12:58:35
Malaysians are made Suckers by UMNO..You spend 200 million over for a passenger seat and to perform some monkey tricks in space.( I am saying this because there is no report on what was done unless it is another OSA)
This guy comes back and then is given a Datukship..( do you see the way it is given??) and then he ends up playing the government..

UMNO did this with the motive to play the Ketuanan Melayu game again to say that a Malay went into space..and the result is a slap in the face for the Malays..another loss of self esteem..

It is of utmost importance that UMNO be objective and realise that this Ketuanan Melayu Agenda is a failure ..the more they drum up this the more ridiculous the UMNO Malays( many other ordinary Malays on the street are now laughing too) are going to look, and the population is getting weary of this racial games and overtones and what not.

it is time that UMNO focuses on integrating the population and seriously look this serioulsy before they are wiped out. Look into the honest possibility of involving all 3 races into any major project that centers on integration and assimilation of the rakyat
written by krising1, December 06, 2008 14:03:02
Najib, want to bet? Kuala Trengganu will be PAS seat this time.
written by wannabepatriotic, December 06, 2008 17:10:53
Sounds like the typical bodoh sombong arrogance of UMNO. Didn't ya'll say the same about Permatang Pauh? ... I'd prepare more excuses this time when you lose in KT.

A new sense of dejavu for 2009 for Malaysians, I hope