Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid cannot appeal, says PM

Zaid cannot appeal, says PM PDF Print
Friday, 05 December 2008 12:00

(The Star) - Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim cannot appeal against Umno’s decision to sack him, said party president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

“It is a decision that had been made. It is a normal decision – a decision which should be taken,” he said.

Zaid was sacked on Tuesday for attending events organised by several opposition parties, including PKR’s national congress at Stadium Malawati last week.

Asked if Zaid’s presence at Pakatan Rakyat functions showed that he had lost interest in Umno, Abdullah said “it looks like it”.

Asked if Zaid would be allowed to attend Umno functions, he said he could do so if he was invited.

“If Umno invites him, then yes. How can he come if he is not invited?” he said.

Umno information chief Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib said Zaid had “courted” the sacking for attending the events and not because of his strong criticisms against some government policies.

He said Zaid should know the consequences of his actions and attending Opposition gatherings was surely against party principles.

“It was a unanimous decision by the supreme council. Everyone who attended the meeting agreed that Zaid should be sacked,” he said after witnessing the signing of MoU between Kemas and Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris.

Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Khaled Nordin said Zaid was implying that he is “with them”.

“If he is with the Opposition, then he should not be with us. Umno’s decision to sack Zaid serves as a reminder to other members of the importance of adhering to party ethics,” he said.

Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said Zaid should prove that Umno was practising double standards.

However, his right to be heard should be considered and the party could give the explanation for the action taken, Dr Rais said at Parliament lobby.

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said Zaid’s statement that Umno was “inward-looking” was based on his own experience as the former Kota Baru Umno division chief.

He said Zaid’s attendance at Pakatan Rakyat functions was “regrettable, but I supported the move to sack him”.

“But now it’s very clear that if he receives any applause, it would be because he’s Zaid Ibrahim, the man, and not because he’s an Umno member,” he said.

written by Tom n Jerry, December 05, 2008 12:04:52
Leaving UMNO which is on the verge of sinking is the best he can do for the moment;at the very least he would not get *drowned when it sinks! smilies/grin.gif
written by Oscar Winner, December 05, 2008 12:07:28
Zaid, we know how you feel,
But what's there to appeal...??
It's their own fate they'll seal,
Don't appeal..it's no big deal....
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 12:17:23
Appeal? There is no love lost between UMNO and Zaid.
written by Democrats, December 05, 2008 12:17:26
Who wants to appeal anyway? Thickskin.....

If he really wanted to be an UMNO goon, he wouldn't have resign as minister or resign as senator!

Duh......bodohnya.....
written by hckit, December 05, 2008 12:26:01
UMNO should plead Zaid to take over UMNO President post to avoid losing Putrajaya to PR.
written by Frankfurtguy, December 05, 2008 12:28:30
What to appeal, my dear PM?

Do you appeal to scumbags?
Do you appeal to the Hantu syaitan so that yo can go back to HELL??

Useless news
Hopeless newspaper
Hopeless UMNO......
written by bogeyman, December 05, 2008 12:29:08
Huh? Appeal? Who wants to appeal? Mr PM, you should have the courage and dignity like Zaid and step down to let Anwar takeover. Spineless old fart!
written by ahmadneil, December 05, 2008 13:06:28
umno is sure to die.Jangan undi umno.Yes,we can!
written by doggone, December 05, 2008 13:09:17

Anyone who has any doubt that Sleepy has awaken from his slumber or that he will be instituting serious reforms is put to rest with that pathetic statement of his.

Knowing Zaid will not appeal his sacking, our esteem Paklah try to 'appeal' for some popularity vote himself by pretending to be a tough guy. Pordahhh !!

written by Dualties, December 05, 2008 14:11:22
UMNO has lost its glory. It was not like those years, members would feel proud to be associated with. But now UMNO depicts a highly corruptible political party why would Zaid Ibrahim want to appeal for the sacking. Zaid Ibrahim left because he wanted to change the ideology of the UMNO to its original days of patriotism.

Patriotism doesn't exist in UMNO now but Corruption, Money Politics and Egoism prevails the organisation. There is no loss for Zaid Ibrahim but UMNO lost a true politician.
written by lynn, December 05, 2008 14:29:39
Zaid,

You shld be glad you are out. From now onwards, others will look at you differently, with renewed respect.

This is a fight between the good and evil. We stand for the good and we stand by you all the way.
written by mahkota, December 05, 2008 14:38:02
Yes he will, because he is truly a man, with principle, more so now that he is out of the evil pact.
written by RumahPanjai, December 05, 2008 15:24:20
Either this Mohd2 is stupid or just plain ignorant. During the last election many UMNO members attended PAS and PK ceramahs. Why are they not sack????? What zaid said was right. UMNO practise double standards and UMNO malays are stupid enough to swallow line, hook and sinkers!
written by Angela Ooi, December 05, 2008 15:38:28
Hey PM, I bet you your luxury yacht, Zaid would never want to rejoin your evil, corrupt club as long as it remains in this state.
written by MAMR, December 05, 2008 17:56:35
Since the decision to sack Zaid comes from council of goatheads well it is not surprising at all. I dont think Zaid will bother anyway. Maybe certain member will cry and go to kiss the hands of The President and his Deputy asking for FORGIVENESS. There will be time inwhich it will come down.
written by alpha100, December 05, 2008 21:51:23
There u have it again! Malaysian politician don't know the value of apology, don't know how to apologise for wrong and so in tandem with it also don't know what is value of forgiveness and don't know how to forgive! No appeal is tantamont to inability to forgive! And they are teaching the young (the future of the country) to be unforgiving! Sad story!
written by CPY, December 06, 2008 09:47:00
HAHAHAHAHA! Pak Lah poked a hole in BN ship. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif