Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ex-minister Zaid slams Umno

Ex-minister Zaid slams Umno PDF Print
Friday, 05 December 2008 08:48

MALAYSIA'S former law minister accused the ruling party yesterday of pandering to the ethnic Malay Muslim majority and threatening decades of harmony among the country's racially diverse communities.

Umno expelled Datuk Zaid Ibrahim on Tuesday for attending opposition gatherings, less than three months after he quit the Cabinet to protest the use of a law allowing detention without trial.

Mr Zaid yesterday went on the attack against Umno, saying he was sacked for speaking too bluntly about sensitive issues. In recent months, he has criticised affirmative action policies for Malays, saying they were discriminatory and failed to inspire cooperation among different racial groups.

Mr Zaid told a news conference: 'Umno has become more ethnocentric...but that is not our role. Umno's role is to be the provider, the one who takes care of everyone, the one who has the trust of all the communities.'

But Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi said yesterday there was nothing unusual about Mr Zaid's sacking.

'The decision has been made; it was a normal decision and it was necessary,' said Datuk Seri Abdullah.

Mr Zaid said some party officials often made racially provocative remarks that could hurt the feelings of the ethnic Chinese and Indian minorities.

'We have to do everything possible to maintain good relations, harmony in the country and stability, because there is no economic stability if there is no political or social stability,' he said.

De facto Law Minister Nazri Abdul Aziz rejected Mr Zaid's criticism, saying the government has successfully managed race relations to ensure peace.

ASSOCIATED PRESS

written by krising1, December 05, 2008 08:57:24
Liar! Liar. Dr. M attended meetings/talks organised by opposition. Abdullah or UMNO Supreme Council did not sack him. If that is not selective enforcement, what is? When Dr. M does anthing, all UMNOputras are like eunuchs - emasculated. Now he is saying there is no "ketuanan Melayu". I am waiting for the police to take his statement.
written by ahmadneil, December 05, 2008 08:57:59
To hell with umno!umno is dead.To leave umno is happiness not sadness.
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 09:00:26
Zaid Ibrahim's rationale thinking is what the Sultan of Selangor would say - common sense. UMNO knows he is perfectly right, but what else do you want them to say? When someone loses an argument (people like Tajuddin, Ahmad ...), what do you want them to say?
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 05, 2008 09:05:08
Ex-minister Zaid slams Umno

BETWEEN ZAID'S AND BODOWI'S STATEMENT ON WHO IS PRACTISING DOUBLE STANDARDS, I AM INCLINED TO FAVOUR ZAID. HOW COME THIS SLEEPY PEEM DID NOT DARE TO SACK THE BLOODY TYRANT WITH ALL HIS RANTINGS AND RAVINGS ON THE PARTY?? UMNO IS ALSO SYNONYMOUS WITH DOUBLE STANDARDS. WHAT COURAGE YOU HV IN SEPARATING YOURSELF FROM THE STINKING LOT, ZAID.
written by lamakawan, December 05, 2008 09:09:19
De facto law minister Nazri is telling lies. He says, " ..the gomen has successfully managed race relations to ensure peace." How come you have the Hindraf protesting when you have succeeded to ensure peace? Who wants to protest when there is peace and harmony? How come you have umno people concerned about their rights? Are not their rights stated in the Constitution since independence? Why can't the gomen tell the umno people their rights akready in the Constitution? They are worried there is no peace thats why they are shouting here and there like mad dogs saying they want to protect their rights?
written by Birdbrain, December 05, 2008 09:11:18
The present AMENO is not the original party! The AMENO now is a party which breeds recalcitrant leaders, gangsterism, hijackers, robbers and murderers. All these happened during the 22 years of dictatorial rule led by a PSEUDO malay.

Cuckoo!
written by kkselvam, December 05, 2008 09:13:57
De facto Law Minister Nazri Abdul Aziz rejected Mr Zaid's criticism, saying the government has successfully managed race relations to ensure peace.

Yeah! Yeah! Again, come and suk my di*k la you moron UMNO ar*ehole. You can't even dream to command the same respect and admiration that we give to Datuk Zaid Ibrahim as the later is a true gentlement and statesment but you? Well,...............no comments la..
written by truthbespoken, December 05, 2008 09:24:00
UMNO is a racist ship now sinking deeper and deeper in Malaysian waters!
written by Old Man, December 05, 2008 09:24:57
Datuk Zaid, you are simply different from others and you deserved to be the next PM of Malaysia. Please form a new Party without hesitation and I'm sure that you'll get support from all peace loving Malaysians regardless of race or religion! My friends, families and I will definitely join your Party! Best wishes... smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Bigjoe99, December 05, 2008 09:35:24
What struck me about his press conference was that he did not want to come right out and say that UMNO breaks its own rules. He obviously think that is the worst thing about his sacking not about him per se...
written by cahaya, December 05, 2008 09:54:15
Pak Lah says there was nothing unusual about the sacking. It was a normal decision. Why did he say that? Because the party leaders cannot tolerate a member who openly opposes the party’s race-based policies, especially someone who reveals how race-based policies had contributed to widespread corruption and “a political culture of promoting fear and division amongst the people”.
Without race-based politics, the party and its race-based partners would not exist.
written by mountainking, December 05, 2008 09:59:42
UMNO is screwed and messed. hopeless..... it will be remembered in history as the most idiotic party that has ever existed.

do you know why Mahathir insist not to be a member anymore? if umno has hope, you think he won't join. he knows it well UMNO will be a history and he will defend his legacy by saying " I was out of UMNO, and maybe that's the reason with UMNO extinction".
written by Taufique, December 05, 2008 11:41:38
Datuk Zaid,
You are a good man at heart, and please remain that way despite any challenges you face. This country needs more men like you.

Faklah, NaziAziz, please all go to hell. There's probably already a spot there for you.
written by wannabepatriotic, December 05, 2008 13:37:10
Mr Zaid,

Please don't just 'slam' UMNO... do us RAKYAT a pro bono favour... BURY UMNO!!!
written by Malaysiaputra, December 05, 2008 16:40:32
Zaid, your "mistake" is that you are talking of a Malaysian Malaysia and not Umno-Malay Malaysia.

Equality and fairness to all Malaysians is not what Umno wants. Umno wants a Umno-Malay Malaysia where all the non Malays especially will continue to be marginalised.

Only Umno-Malays will be tuan. This reminds me of the caste system of India and the case of the Dalits.
written by Agahdemo, December 06, 2008 07:40:24
UMNO has all the characteristics of what Malaysia does not need....