Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M says there is no Ketuanan Melayu without parity

Dr M says there is no Ketuanan Melayu without parity PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 23:49

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 4 - Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed joined the roiling debate on race relations by declaring there was no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu, or Malay Supremacy because racial parity had not been achieved yet.

He also said that Malaysians were not yet ready for freedom of speech, while he also expressed doubts about Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s leadership abilities.

Speaking on a special interview with Riz Khan on satellite television station Al-Jazeera, he said that Malays were in fact, the underdogs.

"There is no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu. We are the underdog.

"The shoe-polisher is not the Tuan (master). The man who pays you is the Tuan. I used to have a Chinese driver, he called me Tuan," he quipped.

Dr Mahathir defended the Malay affirmative action policies in Malaysia despitethe fact that Malays formed the majority of the country, whereas affirmative action in other countries were implemented to help minorities.

"It is not about majority or minority. It is to address the disparity.

"The Chinese dominate the economy but the majority is poor and we need to bring them up to achieve parity," he said.

Having been in office for over two decades, Malaysia's longest serving Prime Minister added that the stronger presence of the Malays in the political field was to balance out the dominance of the Chinese in the economy.

He also added that there was nothing to stop the country from having a non-Malay Prime Minister so long as "he has the support of the majority."

When Khan suggested that the system was skewed to the Malays, Dr Mahathir disagreed, saying "it is not skewed, it is in the constitution."

Dr Mahathir also insisted that he was a Malay and not an Indian. Khan had implied that Dr Mahathir had tried to deny his Indian ancestry in the past.

"There is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," Mahathir replied, adding that he is Malay by definition.

He also expressed concerns that current Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak might not step up to the premiership after the March Umno party polls despite winning the presidency unconstested.

Dr Mahathir had recently said that his successor and current Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi may choose to stay on as PM despite not being Umno president, which he claims will be to the detriment of the party and country.

"Najib has not shown any strength in the political field. He is more a follower than a leader and he must change that," Dr Mahathir explained.

Khan then asked if this "change" meant a reversion to "Mahathirism."

"Mahathirism... I do not know what that is," was the elder statesman's reply.

He rejected the idea that his rule was autocratic but merely "sensible" due to the fact that Malaysia is "prone to instability" as it is a multiracial society. He further suggested that Mahathirism was synonymous with economic development instead.

On this point, he also criticised the level of openness practised by the current administration, stating that the country is not ready for such liberalisation.

"They say it is good to be more open but it is premature. The people do not understand freedom of speech and it has caused racial tension," he said.

He told Khan that in his tenure as Prime Minister, such matters were discussed between leaders behind closed doors. He concurred with the suggestion that racial sentiments were more heated today than during his premiership as "now, the different races are at each other's throats.”

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Namolos, December 04, 2008 23:59:46
The Former PM is right.....there is NO such thing as Ketuanan Melayu, or Malay Supremacy.

Its Just that there are some uneducated ''so call'' Malays of dubious blood line that went on ARROGANTLY to demand [ NOT EARNED ] that they are respected as such.

What a wash hog demand...!!!
written by binarytan, December 04, 2008 23:59:59
This Mama is talkign cock again. Who was the one started this NEP and making full use of national resources to enrich own family and cronies. Mama is the father of all these wrong doings and caused UMNO the deeply infected cancer which could not be remove. In order to cure it, better terminate UMNO so PR will turn it round. Then, only there is hope for Malaysia!
written by raven1958, December 05, 2008 00:05:55
Conman to the core......Mahathir will twist and turn and ..screw every Malaysian into believing he is right....
written by Gargamel, December 05, 2008 00:10:15
"...there was no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu."

"... it is in the constitution."

There you have it - two contradictory statements from the same mouth. Which one do you believe?

written by Wudan, December 05, 2008 00:11:07
"There is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," Mahathir replied, adding that he is Malay by DEFINITION.
--------------------------------------------------------------

Tun, suddenly I feel sad upon reading this.
written by my oumrie, December 05, 2008 00:14:56
MM, the king of munafiqs, lied thru his teeth with a sickly smile on his face. Just to spite him, I hope Pak Lah stays as long as possible or if not, there's always DSAI, to put MM's nose out of joint!
written by Motherchell, December 05, 2008 00:24:38
TDM has a wonderful habit of obscuring his facade by being the cat and the mouse to the conveniences he loves to enjoy. He is now the hunted !

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by shissun, December 05, 2008 00:26:28
"There is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," Mahathir replied, adding that he is Malay by definition.

This is the real kick...Funny.
written by fireduck, December 05, 2008 00:36:14
So, if Mahathir can deny his roots and declare himself a Malay, is there really a Malay race then? And Mahathir's father came from India? That makes him even 'less Malaysian', let alone 'a Malay', than a whole bunch of others whose forefathers came and settled here hundreds of years ago.

I am really confused now on what a Malay is. How come some 'Malays' are so fair in complexion and some are so dark? Is it really true that you only need to dress like one, speak the language, and embrace Islam, then you are a Malay? Then that means the Malay race is a relatively young race, circa the 15th century? As that was the time of the spread of Islam into the Malay Archipelago. Were they a Malay race prior to Islam reaching this region?

Please enlighten me and do correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks!
written by nothing less, December 05, 2008 00:37:53
A intereting letter I read at http://www.normanfernandez.********.com/
Malaysiakini
A Somali View on Dr Mahathir and Malaysia
Din,
I’m a Somali living in Malaysia who follows the local scene here very much. I would have to admit that Tun Dr M’s greatest disadvantage is his pure, unadulterated hatred for anyone who disagrees with him....
AbubakarOctober 25, 2008 at 5:43 pm
written by venna, December 05, 2008 00:38:49

"The shoe-polisher is not the Tuan (master). The man who pays you is the Tuan. I used to have a Chinese driver, he called me Tuan,"

It is clear that Mahathir wants the chinese and indians to polish shoes and become drivers so that the equation will become balanced ! Such a chauvinistic racist to the core. It is shameful that one can deny his own roots - just for the sake of money and power ! His contradictory statements showed that he should retire. Soon he will meet his creator and be answerable to all his deeds. I agree with the comment of Wudan sooooooooooooo sad to be in a predicament that you feel embarrassed to be who you are!
written by fireduck, December 05, 2008 00:49:23
On this point, he also criticised the level of openness practised by the current administration, stating that the country is not ready for such liberalisation.

So, now that his influence is back in favour, Mahathir is complaining about AAB's openness. Remember how he complained about Abdullah controlling the media and denying him his right to voice out? Sigh, I am starting to see Mahathir for the bad dude that he really is. He will say whatever suits his interests and his interests alone. He's one bad dude.
written by Fuminari, December 05, 2008 01:04:44
""he also criticised the level of openness practised by the current administration, stating that the country is not ready for such liberalisation.""
this mm in disguised as a malay but turned out to be melayu-umno is jus shameless n disgusting with the type of divisive statements above,this nation is already 51 yrs old,n sitting at the helm for 22 yrs. so u tell me who shall we blame for the state we are in now?who hav really robbed the nation,the race n the community?who are the ones that in actual fact do not want the malay to stand on their own two feet but keep on continue feeding them with the 'drug of clutches'?who are the ones that keep on killing the malay's confidence with cynical fear n telling them that they are always backwards till to date of what u hav witnessed?who are the ones that impeding the malay's morale to brave the world?
written by justinlian, December 05, 2008 01:05:49
His smile makes a thousand words,
You guys can think what it means.
written by truthbespoken, December 05, 2008 01:24:19
Mahathir: The majority is poor.
Response: The majority is not poor, they are STILL poor b'cos UMNOputras have stolen the bulk from them.

Mahathir:The people do not understand freedom of speech and it has caused racial tension.
Response: Mahathir think the best way to control people is to shut the people's mouths and continue with the big cover-up on UMNO's atrocities committed on the people.

Mahathir: He said he is a Malay BY DEFINITION!
Response: Someone's ancestry from India will turn over in their graves!

So short an interview yet so many flaws revealed! Age has certainly caught up with this man.
written by sactyr, December 05, 2008 01:32:16
"The Chinese dominate the economy but the majority is poor and we need to bring them up to achieve parity," he said.

So if that's the case, no poor among Indians? No one poor among "Others" No one poor among the Kadazans, Ibans, Penans? This is like saying only the Malays are poor and all others have money trees in their backyard.

I can see brighter side of bringing the "poor" up to parity, but then why classify "poor" into races then?

http://sactyr.********.com
written by Lim Lim, December 05, 2008 01:33:36
the old senile could not tell what is mahatahism...well,well...
mahatahism = indian lawyer chinese businessman melayu-umno politician gang
up n screwed the the judiciary system.
mahatahism = to rule with divisive rhetoric n policies n must never be inclusive,unity must only remain as a bluff.
mahatahism = to stay on power,the majority of the malay must be hoodwinked with cynical fear against the other races,n umno would be in power for ever.
mahatahism = freedom of speech n expression even how peaceful it is must remain forbidden,becos this would whack a bid dent on those lies from mahatahism.
mahatahism = ISA must remain a tool of political convenient to suppress umno political opponent or potential dissident,.
mahatahism = to rob,steal n rip off as much as u can,as fast as possible,as big time as possible,as long as the money is still there.
mahatahism = money politic is mandatory to stay in power,malaysia must be essential a police state!!
mahatahism = can buy Police Inspector General--P.I.G,can buy AG.
written by Penang Laksa, December 05, 2008 01:39:46
Let's not fall into the trap of this 'old snake'- the question of disparity is between the corrupted rich and the poor underprivillage, between the umnoputra and the rest of the rakyat. See the issue with your eyes open - it has never been a racial thing when it comes to economy and education until the unscrupulous BN turned it into one - After they (UMNO) have 'robbed' their own Malays, they tell them it's the Chinese & Indians fault. After they (MCA, MIC) have conspired to 'rob' their own people, they tell them the Malays are being unfair! Well, new breed Malaysians will not be fooled by these corrupted, greedy and lying racists anymore!
written by taxidriver, December 05, 2008 01:42:07
When Dr Mahathir took over power, he emphasised Ketuanan Melayu. Racial division became the modus operandi of BN during his tenure. It was Dr Mahathir who in fact gloated that Umno could rule Malaysia without non-Malay support. So much for promoting racial harmony and Bangsa Malaysia.
country if they wanted to prosper and live peacefully.
He rewrote Malaysian history, selectively applied the 1957 constitution and encouraged a racist agenda in the civil service
This is 'Mahathirism' in short - a Machiavellian ploy to exploit race and religion for financial gain and power. Dr Mahathir is shameless in his duplicity and the only reason why he was able to succeed was because he was a leader of a feudally minded people who were economically and educationally backward. His Machiavellian psychological ploy was to engender a tongkat mentality in the Malay community to make them loyal to Umno.

Dr Mahathir was able to bring about a semblance of unity and economic progress during his tenure due to his dictatorial grip on all institutions of governance. He was willing to share the wealth with the leaders of BN component parties as long as they acquiesced to his Ketuanan Melayu stipulation. It is no surprise that MCA and MIC leaders became immensely rich but had to sell out their communities as part of the deal.

It was only a matter of time that we would see Mahathirism unravel because it was based on a lie and was becoming economically, socially and politically untenable. Anwar Ibrahim's sacking was a symptom of this. This led to the haemorrhage of support from Umno to PAS and PKR.

I was suprised by mr Wong Chun Wai the chief editor of the Star's coment he said'We can take confort in the fact that Najib is a British trained economist,has vast experience and speaks perfact English . We can illafford a Sarah Pallin situation'. WHY you did not mention his keris sandiwara to your people now you cowards always camoflage you cari makan hippocrites just goes with the flow and focuses on keeping his party men happy, he can be sure that a large swathe of Malaysians will continue to stay away from Barisan Nasional and give him the thumbs down. Hishammuddin said: “It is better for leaders of BN component parties to join the Opposition if they want to continue questioning historical facts.’’Umno has deteriorated to a level where it no longer has the moral right to determine leaders of the nation. It has lost that "bestowed" qualification to choose leaders at all levels for this blessed nation. engulfed and overwhelmed by graft and the resulting across the board corrupt culture, it ceases to function as a democratically principled party. Where the corrupts are held with contempt in civil societies, in umno they are place on pedestals with reverence.Most of the component parties were founded onracialground.The leadership of these parties, from UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP etc exist for one sole purpose, that is to articulate, promote and protect the interest of the race they came from. Otherwise, they will not be elected to the leadership. They are all together in BN, because they will not survive the election alone. For the sake of the future generation, it is good for the BN to split and to let each party find their standing and acceptance in the coming election. The future is not for racially or even religiously based parties. It is not even for loosely formed consortium, such as the Pakatan Rakyat. The future are for parties that does not propagate racially or religiously slanted agenda but instead always strive to give hope, promote enterprise and reward achievement for all Malaysian.
written by taxidriver, December 05, 2008 02:24:43
dear alpha1
The begining of end mahatir’s legacy
The beginning of the end of mahatir ’s legacy and his brand of unmo .the result of permatang puah but the final nail to its coffin yet this old man never shut his mouth.He has so much Vernon in him each time he fight is more maybe all the good ofHim has turn into this but why dsai what he did u so bad u are picking on him it looks like u have made up with Pa Dollah after the by election. U have repaid him for his royalty in you style .he cannot stand as your no, 2 when u sodomise this nation the to The maximum yet u falsely fabricated him tell the world he is a sodomiser. But now you are jealous of his raise from ashes all him. All of you wrote him off When he comes out from spending six years in prison all because of u and you’re fabricated charges .you are jealous because he had created history in this country guiding the voters that unmo and partner can be thrown out u got sacred then u whispered to najib to recycle you’re sodomy 2 .what happen after that is history making 2 .NOW U ARE MORE SACRED u are sending signal to PAK LAH to Makeup with him, but too late The people u sodomise for last 22years has open their eyes u cannot drug them anymoreYou’re brand of racially divide and rule is finish as like u re days of ripping off this great nation ours… Now you are at dead end the person whom you forced Pak Dolah to as his deputyWas totally rejected by the voters he has became a burden to PAK DOLLAH…and you are no more in umno . all this is gods wish like you’re slip off tongue a when you’re are forced resign you’re presidency of unmo and you’re prime mastership now you are asking god to stop dsai but god is always with good people not evils like you. You said that there are others to offer better money to BNMPS.. dsai never offered money . Now I remember the guy who made peace between u and KU LI to bury his semagat46. I understand he is holding in trust you’re ill-gotten wealth .are u planning to use this black money to buy over go ahead find a proxy to do this for u whatever u do it will be on dsai terms only. the thing u get is to topple the government that u left . U sees how god is playing with. I appeal to all right thinking members of house you were given the mandate by the people…It is pay time you cannot miss this great chance in history making lets not play politics of end justify the means. let us think this great nation of ours with one vision with one Malaysian race and take to great developed nation .you don’t have cross over be what u are u cannot change them but u can chase them this my wish on the of our independence day.

written by FFT, December 05, 2008 02:33:36
"They say it is good to be more open but it is premature. The people do not understand freedom of speech and it has caused racial tension," he said.

This lying is the main instigator of racial tension. Mahathir is the spawn of a Nazi family.
written by Desert Fox, December 05, 2008 03:58:54
We don't understand the freedom of speech but we are forced for over 20 years to listen to this snake spewing venom from his forked tongue smilies/angry.gif
written by Arubin, December 05, 2008 04:24:50

Foreign blood. You're one to talk. You're ashamed of the blood of your father.

But since you're sure that you're Malay by definition, perhaps you would like to share what it is since I'm pretty sure everyone here has no freaking clue what a Malay is. All I know is that a whole bunch of immigrants from Indonesia claim to be one, while my family who has been here for at least 3 generations are somehow the immigrants instead.

Who's the foreign blood here, really?
written by Shimshon, December 05, 2008 06:01:25
Dr Mahathir also insisted that he was a Malay and not an Indian. Khan had implied that Dr Mahathir had tried to deny his Indian ancestry in the past."There is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," Mahathir replied, adding that he is Malay by definition.

Michael Chick said: Malaysia: Truly Asia - Truly Pendatangs!

Dr M by saying that, "there is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," thus acknowledged that the socalled 'Malays' ARE NOT NATIVES/INDIGENOUS - and are pendatangs.

All the "vital" terms & words of this socalled Malay country, are Indian, eg: Mahathir, Malai, Bumiputra, Perdana Menteri, Sultan, Raja, Putrajaya, ... etc etc etc.

Indian 'cultural colonization' in this region goes back some 1500 years.

Nevermind about that. But!!.....

The true natives, indigenous, Orang Asals of the Peninsula (incldg. the likely some thousands of Melayu Jatis), and of Sabah, Sarawak - should "make some noise"!!

Ask the socalled Malays, how come you claim INDIGENOUS & NATIVE rights, privileges, protectionism, etc - when you also openly admit/acknowledge your "alien/foreign/pendatang" blood, parentage, ancestry??!!

The "Malays" when amongst their own kind always try to mention their "pendatang" race, of Arab, various Indonesian races, (minus if they're Indian, etc). Even the Sultans & Raja2 Melayu proudly "insist" that they're descendants of Alexander the Great(minus the part of Alex's marriage with some Indian girl), all the way to being also descendants of Prophet Muhammad!

But in front of the socalled Pendatang Chinese, Indians, etc - it's 'Ketuanan Melayu-Islam', etc in this "Semenanjung Tanah Melayu" all the way to Sabah and Sarawak..... and even dreaming of a global Ketuanan Melayu, ref. 'Melayu Glokal'(global & local).

written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 06:16:58
I wonder why Tun MM had a Chinese driver when he could have given the job to a Malay? I have nothing against chauffeurs, but in Singapore that is a protected job meant strictly for locals. It is an industry monopolised by the Malays, and they earn salaries more than you and I through their overtime. Either he himself did not trust a Malay or he was just out to show "Ketuanan Melayu". Carry on this way, and the objectives of the NEP will never be met in Malaysia - even when you are watching from your grave!

MM Lee Kuan Yew will go down in history as a stateman. And Tun MM? I say this and I shall say it again and again - Tun MM suffers an inferiority complex vis-a-vis MM LKY! MM LKY succeeded where he had failed. That explains his dislike of the Minister Mentor. TRUE or FALSE?
written by mikewang, December 05, 2008 06:30:23
1. Anyone who is the son of an Indian father is an Indian.
The lineage is with the father.
Try registering yourself in the peninsular as a Kadazan if you have a Chinese father, despite the fact that your mother is Kadazan.
2. Of course the country is ready for freedom of speech. It's only UMNO which is not ready because they are the ones who are mainly responsible for creating racial tension with what they utter.
If the opposition ever come to power, they must try UMNO and ban it from existence like what they do to Taksin's party in Thailand.
3. All men are created equal. Very often those born with a silver spoon in his mouth will squander away what he/she has inherited in a generation.
Wealth generation is 90% perspiration, physical & mental and 10% luck.
4. Dr M had been a lousy CEO. All his handpicked successors were never up to the mark. They were either purged or criticised by him for lacking leadership after being put into succession positions by him.
5. If not because of Mahathirism, we could be among one of the 4 tigers like Singapore or Korea.
written by Tokyobanker, December 05, 2008 06:58:11
Malaysians are too immature to have open dialogue on various issues??

The statement should read "I may be senile, but I am not going to allow free speeches in this country for as long as I am in power"

Tun Dr. Mahathir - THE NAME WILL GO DOWN IN HISTORY AS THE FATHER OF RACIAL SEPARATION IN MALAYSIA!!

THE BIGGEST CRIME YOU COMMITTED IS DRIVING THE WEDGE THAT DESTROYS THE MULTI-RACIAL HARMONY THAT EXISTED ALL THESE YEARS IN MALAYSIA!

PLEASE MOVE ON! WE DO NOT MISS YOU!
written by Old Man, December 05, 2008 07:52:15
The only Tuan in Malaysia is Tuan Mamak. Currently he is driving Porshe ( renowned German sports car ) instead of Proton while a lot of marginalised Malaysians ( including Malays ) cannot even afford a bicycle! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 08:08:48
BTW, Tun MM. We are more civilized in the corporate world. Drivers call their bosses "Mr. So and So", and as the other staff, their salaries are paid by the companies. Unless your driver was a personal driver, it was the taxpayers who were paying his salary!
written by Liberace, December 05, 2008 08:31:38
Let's for argument's sake agree with you, Mahathir. The Malays are still not at parity' they're either filthy rich or living near the poverty line. How do you explain this since this has happened during the time you were in power? And if the poor are not benefitting from affirmative action either for lack of opportunity or loss in translation, don't you think after 30 years, it's time to try something else? The African-Americans in the state of California understood this and they have chosen not to have Affirmation Action for their community because they know that unless they build their own muscles, they'll NEVER be able to carry their own burdens. You're a doctor, you should know about human anatomy. Any muscle in your body that you don't use will eventually atrophy, and that goes too for the human nature. If you don't stretch your abilities and talents to compete with the best, you will never know what you can do and you will never have the mental nor emotional capacity to rise to the top.
written by cheekhiaw, December 05, 2008 09:51:45
If idiots, thieves, liars and murderers can be prime ministers, who need parity?

written by CPY, December 05, 2008 10:08:32
Dr Mahathir also insisted that he was a Malay and not an Indian. Khan had implied that Dr Mahathir had tried to deny his Indian ancestry in the past.

How can we trust a person who denies his anscestry!? Its unfillial at the 1st place! Ketuanan Melayu to us sounds like Ketuanan UMNO bcos every Malaysian has been brainwashed to believe that UMNO=Melayu. Therefore the opposition critisms towards UMNO sounds like attacking the Malays. We must remember in order to bury UMNO & its eunuchs, we must separate the notions of UMNO & Malay.
written by borneoman, December 05, 2008 10:23:19
now mahatir finally confessed to be the underdog ,no wonder all the umno behave like puppies of the bitches.mahatir would you also please confess who was your bad mamma who allows the dog to be on top to screw her?
regards from sarawakian.
give us back our ancestral rights NOW!
written by 2edgedsword, December 05, 2008 13:23:53
TDM, if there is no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu without parity, you are admiting that the NEP has failed. So if only the provider is tuan, are you saying that there is Ketuanan Cina? However, Chinese are independent and secure and will not need to hide behind Ketuanan slogans.
Instead of helping the Malays to progress through hard work and competition, you are enslaving them by spoiling them so that you will always apppear to be the champion of Malay rights (rather Malay weakness!) and be voted back into government perpetually. You have done great injustice to the Malays with your manipulation.
written by Catharsis, December 05, 2008 13:40:33
........."Dr Mahathir also insisted that he was a Malay and not an Indian. Khan had implied that Dr Mahathir had tried to deny his Indian ancestry in the past.

"There is a lot of foreign blood in this country... we are at the crossing point between the East and West," Mahathir replied, adding that he is Malay by definition".....................

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHA.............

TDM YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO YOUR FOREBEARs.............we have Eurasians, Nyonyas, Chindian, Mamaks.............and why can't you be a MAMAK just like any Mamak who is proud of his heritage.........

SHAME ON YOU TDM as an elder "STATESMAN"
written by antiilluminati, December 05, 2008 14:24:24
This is what racist in disguised.

"The shoe-polisher is not the Tuan (master). The man who pays you is the Tuan. I used to have a Chinese driver, he called me Tuan," he quipped.

If he wanted to use this analogy then the actual phrase shall be the whole sentence but minus the word "chinese".

"The shoe-polisher is not the Tuan (master). The man who pays you is the Tuan. I used to have a driver, he called me Tuan," he quipped.

He is unconsiously saying he is a PURE RACIST and surely he suffered from inferiority complex..period.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 05, 2008 16:32:02
"There is no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu. We are the underdog.

======

Mahathir, you know why. Practically most of the benefits for the genuine Malays were grabbed by the "hop on the wagon" Malays like your kind and Khir Toyo 's. This is the reason why the genuine Malays are mainly not as progressive as the "hop on the wagon" Malays.

That's why you create the definition of a Malay as following that of the Malay mother's race and not that of the father as is the norm.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 05, 2008 16:34:02

He also expressed concerns that current Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak might not step up to the premiership after the March Umno party polls despite winning the presidency unconstested.

===

So Mahathir , you are making your manoeuver to put your man Myuhiddin in the driver's seat so that he will help groom your Mukhriz to be the next PM after Myuhiddin ?.