Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mukhriz: Razak said it first

Mukhriz: Razak said it first PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 23:47
By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 4 - Umno Youth chief candidate Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir continued to defend his proposal to unify the education system today, stating that it is an idea that was first mooted in the Penyata Razak (Razak Report) of 1956.

He made reference to the report by former Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak Hussein, the then Education Minister, which was to "unify students from all races with one education system that covers all races. We are of the opinion that to carry this out, we need to integrate the syllabus of all schools."

"Of course, it did not set a deadline for this. But it has been 52 years, so when are we going to do it?" Mukhriz said as part of a panel on local television channel Astro Awani's Analisis Awani show this evening.

Mukhriz had on Monday suggested that the current dual-stream system of national and vernacular schools be scrapped and be replaced by one which would use Bahasa Malaysia as its medium of instruction in all subjects except science, math and other language subjects.

It came under heavy fire from both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat parties, to the extent of being accused of sedition with a police report filed against him.

The Jerlun MP added today that to an extent, the Wawasan schools idea could achieve the integration that was the objective of his suggestion as at the very least, the shared field, canteen and other facilities would allow the students to play and mix with each other.

Mukhriz, the son of former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed, also hit back at DAP for saying that he should be charged under the Sedition Act for questioning a sensitive issue that is protected under the Federal Constitution.

"In fact, all languages are protected not just Mandarin and Tamil. But while the opposition continues to criticise the allocation for vernacular schools, Ibans and Kadazans get no allocation at all," he said, implying that the opposition was playing to the gallery.

Mukhriz concluded by saying that his suggestion should be taken with an open mind and discussed together between various political parties and NGOs to come up with a policy that is accepted by all to be tabled in Parliament.

Another panellist, Mental Development Institute (Inmind) chief executive Norizan Sharif, said that the reason Mukhriz had come under heavy criticism was due to the ongoing roiling debate on the social contract and Ketuanan Melayu (Malay Supremacy) and his suggestion was immediately viewed from a racial viewpoint.

written by binarytan, December 04, 2008 23:57:47
Mukhriz is racist to core so he could win the pemuda chief. This is the tradition in UMNO with full of racist leaders. May be he will gain more projects in near future under his father influence. Sorry, only Chinese or Indian and opposition Malay will be questioned and investigated and charged by our PDRM. This is the real fact.
written by chrisyong, December 05, 2008 00:05:40
You should do all your homework before and not after opening your mouth. Hello, you have no brain of your own, trying to use something brought up 52 years ago for this modern society? Trying to use this for UNITY REASON? This unity issue is caused by UMNO and BN to divide and rule and corrupt and mislead the Malaysians not just non Malays. Using MSM to brainwashed Malays that ISA is used to protect Malay Rights! Be responsbile for what you have said and don't blame others or find excuses! What kind of hopeless leadership quality. if you do not hae leadership then step aside and let others lead!
written by my oumrie, December 05, 2008 00:08:00
We did have one education system that covered all races - until the early 1970's. It was called Government schools and medium of instruction was English. Standards were high in every subject. Most were same sex schools so that the students could concentrate on STUDIES and not feel shy and awkward like they do now - in sekolah kebangsaan mixed sex schools where students are taught "how to pass exams" in practically every subject. As a result, these students fail miserably when they enter universities abroad because they're so used to being spoon fed in the past. What a joke! Malaysia should have stuck to the previous kind of education where students had to think for themselves!
written by fireduck, December 05, 2008 00:24:12
Iban & Kadazan not getting any allocation -- whose responsibility? Your father's too.

If you are anything like your dad, then I think I'm willing to give KJ a chance instead. Don't get too carried away with the 'glory' of your father's days. Beneath it all, those were dark days. And the more you father refuse to retire in peace, the more despised he becomes. And the net effect will be the early demise of your political career. Think about that, Mukhriz!
written by Motherchell, December 05, 2008 00:29:25
Yes! the 2 educated in the same school of thought-- none of the 2 would have smelt the walls of the schools they talk about . They are now fishing --- they have their cronies to cover them when there is trouble . Musa is busy with private business , Patail may be busy packing his bags-- so these guys are out blowing the horns to buy power in a flea market!! Scums of the first order!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by The dragonheart, December 05, 2008 03:34:52
I think it is better to have separate schools for every race in malaysia. Bring back sekolah melayu. then separate the housing estate to races like what the British did in their Briggs Plan.

Then we see a better separation in malaysia.

no race will trust the other race...

we will have chinese village, kampong melayu etc etc...

Why malaysian are so selfish?

Is this malaysia or china or India? or Tanah Melayu?
written by Desert Fox, December 05, 2008 03:50:28
Ask Mukriz where are his children,nieces and nephews are educated. Ask him where all the Malaysian Prime Minister's grandchildren go to school. If he answers honestly,that should be enough to explain why they need to stay in power.
written by Desert Fox, December 05, 2008 04:09:09
Am told his children go to school in Switzerland.... does he have a right to tell us how schools should be run over here???
written by NSTPravda, December 05, 2008 06:01:56
Mukhriz: I just followed as Razak said it first
Daddy says OK to all my anti-pendatang outbursts
It has been 52 years, so when are we going to do it?
NEP is just as old, but that’s our divine benefit

Charge me under the sedition act if you dare
I am the son of a Tun, so you infidels beware
Touch me and see what my daddy Tun Momak will do and say
I am a prince in UMNO, my seditious sh*t is always semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by borneoman, December 05, 2008 06:29:04
mukriz,dont use a deadmans body as an excuse to your stupidity.you are a mirror image of your father...always think that you 'more right' than everybody else.FCUK YOU AND YOUR TUAN MELAYU UMNO FAMILY.
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 06:32:55
First, divide and rule. Policy must not change. If 52 years is not enough, then please take more time. After damage has been done, then "unify students from all races with one education system that covers all races." I thought Tun MM is a doctor by profession? Isn't prevention better than cure?
As oumrie would have said, we did have one education system that covered all races - until the early 1970's before it was dismantled by the present government.
written by mikewang, December 05, 2008 06:40:37
This guy is playing to the gallery because he is one of the candidates for UMNO youth chief.
Perhaps Toyo and KJ would later suggest something more radical to capture the thunder from Dr M's son.

The show ain't over yet.
written by Old Man, December 05, 2008 07:23:19
Muhkriz, is your father Razak or Mahathir? We are very confused because Malaysia history of today is confusing! Is Hang Tuah a Chinese or a Malay? We were told that the Hang brothers were sent by the Emperor of China to protect Sultan of Malacca during that period. Now the names of Hang Tuah and his brothers are missing in our current history books. How come?
written by truthbespoken, December 05, 2008 09:09:04
The mentality of these UMNOputra fcukers is they will continue to send their children to English-medium international primary schools and overseas universities while they insist that other Malaysians are to study in national schools in the Malay-medium. These fcukers must search their conscience first if ever they are to qualify to speak again on the education system!
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 05, 2008 09:39:25
"Of course, it did not set a deadline for this. But it has been 52 years, so when are we going to do it?" Mukhriz said as part of a panel on local television channel Astro Awani's Analisis Awani show this evening

WANNA KNOW WHY?? YR SENILE OLD MAN WAS DRUNK WITH ABSOLUTE POWER THAT HE DID NOT DEEM IT NECESSARY. WHY, HE Had THE WHOLE MONARCHY AT HIS MERCY. NOW THAT YOU ARE ABOUT TO LAUNCH YR AMBITION, YOU WILL BRING THIS ISSUE UP JUST TO GET YRSELF ELECTED. AND, WHEN YOU KICK NAJIS OUT AND TOGETHER WITH YR Dad BECOME ABSOLUTE RULERS, THIS ISSUE WILL FadE INTO THE BACKGROUND AGAIN, JUST LIKE SODOMY, AGAINST ANY POTENTIAL THREATS.
written by jjireh99, December 05, 2008 09:47:03
i think mukhriz is talking like CHINA. China sends all their children (the rich ones) overseas here in Malaysia for "studies". It is also a known fact that our UMNO goons also send all their children to study overseas once they completed their secondary education. Heck, some even send them as early as 15 years old to boarding school overseas! So, parents, please, don't ever agree to this kind of rubbish thrown at you all for the sake of your children. Think out of the box, nah, too many ulterior motives to begin with. It's all about Malay being the "universal" language again! Which part of the world recognises Bahasa Melayu/Malaysia as a "universal" language? Malaysia Boleh only-lah. English and French is THE RECOGNISED languages of the world. Period!
written by cheekymate, December 06, 2008 09:42:24
Come on, stand up like a man, Mukhriz. You jolly well take the conseqences of your actions and this cowardly act of throwing the blame to Ex PM does not let you off the hook. Obviously you agree with his ideology for the same words to emerge from your mouth now. Your weakness is glaringly showing before you have even taken the reins. You should accept that you are wrong graciously, apologise (what! the son of the most conceited man on earth, apologise?!!!) and please do not think we are fools anymore.
For 51 years, we have been robbed blind, belittled, troddened and spat upon with abusive language, marginalised and treated as second class citizens in MY OWN COUNTRY, have our children endure an inferior education system while your children are studying in elite schools overseas, called a pendatang in MY OWN MOTHERLAND(up yours Ahmad Ismail), duely paid my income tax and EPF so as to watch the monies disappear conveniently into Swiss accounts. Yes, I fall into the category of the 80% of those who pay taxes, I am Chinese, and that is my money you are talking about. Don't you all dare call me a pendatang when it is my hard work, my taxes, MY BLOOD SWEAT AND TEARS MONEY that is keeping the economy going.