The NEP is a Communist-inspired Policy PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 21:34
There is an old Chinese adage that goes something like “Know your enemy and know yourself and you will always be victorious …. (I paraphrase)” So while Lee Kuan Yew was a fierce anti-communist, he was not unwilling to learn from them. The PAP consequently is organized much like a communist party. In like manner, UMNO,although fierce anti-communists, has not been unwilling to learn from communist policies. The NEP is communist-inspired. My arguments are as follows:

The Russian communists found themselves in charge of a largely peasant country. It was a struggle to win the peasants whom they looked down upon to their side so that it would be easier to achieve their communist aims. They did it by many means but chief of all was the tactic of placing communist cadres in every influential nook and cranny and in every position of power. This is the inevitable result of rule by political party rather than rule by class.

To compare, the western countries by contrast have their political parties, but individual capitalists are already ensconced at the head of every big and small business – hence in most influential nooks and crannies. The western countries are therefore ruled by default by the capitalist class which is tried and tested by the market (even if the market is highly biased in their favour).

In Malaysia, UMNO was originally of the Malay high classes (it is debatable whether it is high class now). To win the Malays over, after Malays voters showed that high class arrogance, self-interest and corruption was not compatible with low class aspirations in the General Election of 1969, it was necessary to come up with the NEP. Malays were offered all sorts of goodies, but this was not the main instrument of control. The main strength of UMNO is to place its die hard supporters in every influential nook and cranny and in every position of power.

Unfortunately, it did not have enough qualified people to fill all these positions. The net result was that mediocre and often stupidly boorish UMNO supporters were forcibly placed in high positions in education, judiciary, police and other civil service branches as well as GLCs. These people owe their positions to political power, not to skill or ability. They became outright racists and in time came to protect their positions against all comers including better trained and more capable Malays themselves.

The mediocrity of these “people in high places” has cost the country dear with rampant corruption, incredible wastage and loss of skilled manpower emigrating to other countries. Malays too, if they are intelligent, skilled and capable became the victims of the NEP. The suppression of capable Malays was even more severe than against the Chinese and Indians (how many Malays are in ISA detention against the number of Chinese and Indians?), especially if these Malays showed even a modicum of social conscience in protesting that the NEP has not benefited the Malay community in many different ways and especially in taking away their ability to compete and also in the NEP’s tendency to discriminate against the poor and marginalized Malays – the very people it was supposed to help.

So it is, that rule by political party will always lead to stupidly boorish people ensconced in power. This happened in communist countries and since the NEP is communist-inspired, it is happening in Malaysia as well.

Now, Rt Hon. Lim Kit Siang… isn’t this better than pandering to the misery of students and parents (both of those who were unable to get into universities as well as those who have been there and now unable to find jobs)? Explaining it and allowing people to understand is always better than pandering to emotions, don’t you think? Stop sabotaging the KT by-election.

By batsman

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, December 04, 2008 21:52:10
Malaysia is a cross between Burkina Faso , Congo , Somalia, Zimbabwe and the Russian Republics shooting thro the thick skulls of the UMnoputras. Not only do they need a walking stick , but motorized crutches as well. Even that would never aid them because they have no standing at all!!!!! PERIOD!!!

written by KotaDamansara73, December 04, 2008 22:03:32
Countrie's wealth ranking

Rank Country GDP per capita(PPP)(USD)
8 Singapore 48,900
9 USA 46,000
14 hong Kong 42,000
34 Japan 33,800
41 Taiwan 29,800
42 Israel 28,800
48 South Korea 24,600
76 Malaysia 14,400

We are rank 76 in the world. Way behind other countries in Asia.

We are waiting for the Malays to wake up and be progressive. Otherwise, the whole of Malaysia is going to suffer.
written by The dragonheart, December 04, 2008 22:05:32
I thought communist is a system where everyone is common and equal... NEP is never close to that... you must be joking!!!!
written by asiseesit, December 04, 2008 22:06:11
NEP - Not Enough Protection
written by asiseesit, December 04, 2008 22:10:46
kotadamansara73, learn from our politicians. only compares with countries that are below us statistically. that's what UMNOputras always do to justifies themselves on all their shortcomings. just collecting and compiling data to prove that we are not that worst off even college students can do.
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 22:39:08
For there are mediocre and boorish people acting as mulahs or ulamas in every crook and cranny claiming positions of power by way of speaking for the gods. For more than a millenia, those jokers were in charge of large swathes of land on earth full of peasants that remain that way till today.

Progresion, or the lack of it, for the people ruled by that bunch are obvious and worse than that of communist countries. At the least, the Russians and Chinese manage to send people into space on their own capabilities.

The other group only hitch-hikes, like what you see with NEP.

Batsman was going off like the old Chinese adage 'watching a tree to catch a rabbit'.
written by ylcc, December 04, 2008 22:40:30
Communist or no communist, we are talking of education here. I came across a quote from MM Lee in the "Leaders" magazine in May 1978: "I do not think I am an intellectual. What has helped me to get along with other people in govt is practical common sense. Analysis and abstraction of principles I afford myself in my spare time, reading and ruminating".
In 1971, he said "Be fluent in the English language so that you can step into the world of science and technology but know enough of the mother tongue to preserve your Asian values." In 1978, he said that Singapore had developed and progressed because it was a hardworking, thrifty and disciplined society. He believed the human brain could handle two languages, that "your child has a brain bigger than the biggest computer man has ever built. Whilst the world's biggest computer cannot handle two languages, most human beings can, esp. if they are taught when young. Most important, they at the same time have to be courteous and gracious."
"To have a better life, all must play good music."

So, batsman, MM LKY's words say it all. From day 1, our UMNO leaders had lacked this wisdom to guide the nation towards the right path. My sister (ex-teacher) told me there are two different gradings for non-Malays and Malays. It is a much lower passing mark for the Malays, and even if they fail she had to find a way of passing them. It is not the Malays' fault. It is the system created by the NEP. FYI, we do not need our dear LKS to explain anything to us. It is plain common sense, as our dear Sultan of Selangor would tell us too, and unless we do something to rectify the situation now, we are going to fall deeper and deeper into the abyss.
written by cruzeiro, December 04, 2008 22:53:20
drgonheart,
Of course, in a communist world everybody is equal - and that depends on whom you ask among them.
Same goes here - everyone's "equal".
Just like what the pigs in Animal Farm said ....
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 22:54:53
2 different gradings for the Dims and Not-so-Dims? Those Dhimmis were supposed to be darn happy working harder and paying more tax.to the Dims.
written by cruzeiro, December 04, 2008 23:01:14
My sister (ex-teacher) told me there are two different gradings for non-Malays and Malays. It is a much lower passing mark for the Malays, and even if they fail she had to find a way of passing them.
============================================

Reminds me of what a UM lecturer (current, mind you) told me - it's the same story. The discrimination and mediocrity they speak of is nauseating.
Patrick Teoh's Niamah!! blog has a nice post on what is published proudly.... no- shamelessly, by our NRD on their website.
That in itself speaks volumes on the lack of shame in these Umnoputras!

Only thing is, our Mr. Chris & Mukhris would rather point at the vernacular schools as the root cause of polarisation.
written by binarytan, December 04, 2008 23:29:11
To eliminate malaysia problem, first is to remove UMNO, or else we just day dreaming if we rely on UMNO or Pak Lah. NEP is a total failure, I just wonder how Malaysia is going to face globalization. May be they should be proud of themselves being the best in Malaysia only above the other races.

Please wake up brothers and sisters malay friends, UMNO has done very wrong to your community. Rich is a small group and poor is of bigger group. The Malaysia Malay is just going to be like India citizens should umno keeps marginalizing your society.

vote for a change, never rely on UMNO!
written by Thinker, December 05, 2008 00:06:18
I know many non-Malays are resentful at the NEP but if change is to come, it will come slowly and will need a lot of effort from all parties. I'm not sure about discrimination in the private sector for Malays because I'm not a Malay and I've always strived to be as fair as possible and I hope that I practice the meritocracy that I preach when it comes to hiring. But since many Malays feel that they face some sort of discrimination, I guess there must be some truth to it.

Many good Malay workers are also being discriminated against in the government sector. These are the people whom we should reach out to but if they feel that they can't survive without NEP, then they won't dare to reject it. You may not think it's possible but there's a lot of politicking going on in those offices and it's a matter of political patronage and nepotism to go up. If we can demonstrate that we can work hand-in-hand with the decent people, we will all be the better for it.

Malaysia-today mirrors the Demi Negara blog. The author seems to have good intentions on the surface but can't seem to hide his racism. So too many of the commentators here who seem too bitter and prefer to indulge in racism.
written by Old Man, December 05, 2008 07:42:53
These days we find a lot of students having 10'A'. Phd holders are manufactured, not earned. 600 per year? Mahathir had said,"I can simply throw a pebble at our Malays and you wont missed a University graduate!"
No wonder a teenage 'genius' had ended up as a prostitute ( instead of being a Rocket Scientist ) in UK! smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 08:35:17
Another excerpt from MM LKY's speech:
"Deng Xiaoping came to Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore in November 1978 to have us join forces and stand up to the Vietnamese when they were about to capture Cambodia.
I think he had a shock, because he saw three third-world cities in better shape than Shanghai or even Beijing – if not on such a grand scale, at least with no dilapidated buildings. What intrigued him about Singapore was that it was orderly and clean, everybody had a home and the economy was run on trade and multinationals. He asked many questions and he realised that you can make use of international capitalism, train your people, generate revenue and bring about an egalitarian result.

When the aircraft doors closed after I sent him off, I told my colleagues, 'His staff must have been given a shellacking because the brief they gave him did not live up to his experience'. Instead of crowds applauding and waving at him, everybody went about their business. Despite him being the greatest Chinese leader since Mao, everybody said, 'Life goes on'. He then decided, that same year, on the Open Door Policy. He started with about ten coastal cities and, at the same time, set aside communal land for farmers. He must have been thinking for a long time that the system was malfunctioning, and what he saw in Singapore *****ed. China then had the good fortune to be invited by George W.H. Bush to export to the US, and it is now in the World Trade Organisation (WTO)."

Question: Did the PAP learn from the communists, or the communists learned from the PAP and the world? Maybe the “NEP” could learn something from the “communist PAP”?
written by Liberace, December 05, 2008 09:01:27
An NEP is essentially a policy that suspends the economic function from it's natural progression. While no economy is truly free from interference and intervention by the government, an NEP severely alters its course. In Soviet Russia, it was conceived to redistribute wealth from the rich to the poor to create a proletariat class of a nation of workers. In Malaysia, it was conceived to give the poor Malays a leg up, essentially making it a racist policy that defines those deserving of the favor as belonging only one race regardless of how rich or poor they were. As long as they have the right names, religion, and color, they were eligible.

Whether in a communist society or in Malaysia, the outcome is the same: failure. There are more than one reason for this, but the most obvious being that the power of administration is concentrated in the hands of a few elite. You question their decisions at the threat of prosecution, persecution, incarceration and often in Stalin's USSR, death. No man is without sin. Put some real power in their hands and you'll see some real ugliness.

Ultimately, this is an economic anomaly and works only to divert a natural tide for a while until some solid foundation and spinal strength is established. If it doesn't lead to that, then it must be abandoned. Perpetuate it and you will have a breached levee with a thousand leaks and then eventually, the economy starts to resemble New Orleans after Katrina hit.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 05, 2008 09:45:59
In Malaysia, UMNO was originally of the Malay high classes (it is debatable whether it is high class now). To win the Malays over, after Malays voters showed that high class arrogance, self-interest and corruption was not compatible with low class aspirations in the General Election of 1969, it was necessary to come up with the NEP. Malays were offered all sorts of goodies, but this was not the main instrument of control. The main strength of UMNO is to place its die hard supporters in every influential nook and cranny and in every position of power

THIS IS MAHATIR'S VISION OF KETUANAN 2020
written by batsman, December 05, 2008 09:48:07
dragonheart - when people read something, it has to go through a filter that is their bias and prejudice. The less the filter, the smaller the bias and prejudice. This way, the reader reads what was written rather than what comes out of his own mind. I never said NEP = communism. UMNO learnt communist organisational and implemented it in the NEP. Consequently, the NEP now suffers the same diseases that communist organisational practices suffer - mediocre or even stupidly boorish cadres in positions of power.

ylcc - the above comment refers to you as well - I never said PAP = communism.

cheekiaw - quacking away as usual I see.
written by batsman, December 05, 2008 09:49:50
BTW - when the Russian communists took power, they also implemented a policy called NEP. Even the name is the same.
written by cheekhiaw, December 05, 2008 09:58:30
Batsman,

Just trying to help you catch that rabbit - thought your eyesight may be a problem.

written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 10:04:38
Of course, batsman, we understood well you meant "communism-inspired". You have missed my point here. We learn from each other. If PAP had learnt from the communists and prospered, China has in turn learnt something from the PAP and others, and has opened its doors to the world. China realised in 1978, that "their system was malfunctioning". Contrary to what you have said, has UMNO really learnt anything from anybody but themselves? This is Year-eng 2008. When are we going to accept the fact that the NEP is malfunctioning?
written by batsman, December 05, 2008 10:09:38
Heehee - TQ cheekhiaw. I like to add however that talking about communism is emotionally charged. Similarly, NEP is emotionally charged and criticism of PAP is also emotionally charged not to mention DAP.

People use their filters and what comes out the other end shows their biases and prejudices - What Peter says about Paul tells us more about Peter than about Paul.

Hence it would seem that KotaDamansara73 is concerned only about money - his measure of success is how rich you are.

Cheekhiaw - I would say that hatred and viciousness oozes out of your every word.

ylcc - looks like you are a PAP (Singapore) supporter come what may.

Am I right folks? heeheehee
written by cheekhiaw, December 05, 2008 10:21:30
A simplistic fool batting around...

written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 10:22:52
Dear batsman, good judgement, but not exactly correct. I am not a supporter of PAP - hate some of their policies and hate LKY's ruthless "sue attitude" with his oppositions. That does not mean I cannot respect someone whose thoughts are so refreshing and sensible ... how would you rate our leaders' intelligence?
Since you have asked - my father was a loyal Immigration officer, Malaysia. I was born in Singapore when he was posted there. We left when I was 2 yrs old (now you know my age!). Malaysia threw me out during the separation. You can consider me a "causeway citizen" as like many Malaysians I knew the causeway by heart. Since I have retired, I am back to haunt the Malaysian govt for throwing me out!! Now you know why I am very aware of both Malaysian and Singapore politics!
written by ylcc, December 05, 2008 10:25:06
BTW, batsman. You are quite sharp and intelligent yourself. You should join PKR.
written by batsman, December 05, 2008 15:21:09
ylcc - TQ. May take up your suggestion, but life's too uncertain - haven't made up my mind yet. Take S'pore - it tied its fate to the US and now suffers much more from the US contagion compared to Malaysia.

Then again might join PAS.