To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

• RPK's defamation trial - 2 July, Jln Duta Sessions Court
  • RPK's sedition trial - 17 July, PJ Sessions Court

Kit Siang accuses IGP of lobbying for private companies PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 17:36

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan was accused of lobbying on behalf of two private companies hoping to secure more than RM24 billion worth of projects from the government.

DAP veteran Lim Kit Siang, who had just a day earlier challenged Musa’s contention that Malaysia’s crime rate was lower than Japan’s, read out excerpts from two letters the IGP allegedly wrote to the finance minister and the home minister on behalf of two companies known as Asiacopter and Web Power Sdn Bhd.

The first letter produced by Lim was addressed to Second Finance Minister, Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, and dated Feb 12, 2007, in which Musa supported an Asiacopter proposal for the rental of 34 helicopters over 30 years in a deal worth RM20 billion.  

In a separate letter, Lim said Musa had written to Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, who then held the home ministry portfolio as well, regarding a RM4.2 billion proposal to acquire an integrated digital wireless system known as the “E-Police Force Solution,” from Web Power Sdn Bhd.

"I have no problems with the police wanting to purchase a system that will help them in investigating crime, but how can the IGP ask the Prime Minister for a "Letter of Exclusive Intent" to be issued to Web Power Sdn Bhd and not via the Secretary General of the Home Ministry?" the Ipoh Timur MP asked.

"The proper procedure in any such purchase is that the IGP must write a letter to the Secretary General of the ministry, who then writes to the Finance Ministry and only after approval, does the home ministry call for tenders.

"But now, the IGP has 'bypassed' this by going straight to the Prime Minister," he said.

He also read out from the letter to Nor Mohamed, in which Musa wrote "I fully support this proposal."

The DAP parliamentary leader made the allegations when he stood to table a motion to dock RM10 from the IGP’s salary, a symbolic gesture usually used in Parliament to express a vote of no confidence against ministers.

The motion was defeated by 48 votes to 30.

Deputy Home Minister Datuk Chor Chee Heung was left defending the IGP. Chor said there was no question of any doubts about Musa’s integrity.

There was no reason why Musa could not recommend the two projects if he saw fit, said Chor, adding that the IGP had not "forced or pressured" for the projects to be approved.

Both projects have not yet taken off and it is unclear if they have been approved.

Lim then challenged Chor to allow the matter be investigated by the parliamentary Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

"We have no problems with bringing it to the PAC. All parties will give their cooperation," Chor replied.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, December 04, 2008 17:52:04
Chor Chee Heung, you are the biggest idiot in MCA. Your apple polishing on Umno and your staunch support of corrupt officials is a total disgrace and an embarrassment to yourself.
written by Qcumber, December 04, 2008 17:55:40
Uncle Lim,, are you sure with ur facts? How can IGP do that? No integrity one meh? Cannot be lah.. He just had his bypass, he should be insaf enuf not to do dirty things liao mah... You better get ur proofs.

BTW who owns Web Power Sdn Bhd ?
written by Margeemar, December 04, 2008 17:57:56
Malaysiakini quoted former PM Mahathir Mohamad that the 'headaches' left behind by sacked Umno leader Zaid Ibrahim will be inherited by premier-in-waiting Najib Abdul Razak. Whoever is PM come March 2009, must ensure that Malaysia has a Judiciary that is free from interference by the Executive, a free press and an electoral process that is free. Malaysia may pride itself that it has free elections. Zimbabwe also prides itself of having free elections. But in both cases, none can claim to have fair elections...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by Rashid, December 04, 2008 17:59:46
Chor Chee Heung won his seat even after postal votes by mere 100 votes beating the PKR candidates. So, give him few more months to show us his unedited stupidity and love for slavery. He is a criminal and one of Malaysia Castrated Ass.'s (MCA) drug barons. No wonder he has been kept where he is and is always at the forefront of defending crime.
written by Rashid, December 04, 2008 18:08:33
BTW who owns Web Power Sdn Bhd?

Who else? Israel and Singapore. But that's fine with the AMNOputras. Stealing and working with zionists is fine though they cheat the poor Malays that they are fighting for ...(add)
written by cylee, December 04, 2008 18:10:39
This is just tips of an iceberg. For a long time people are suspect that is a Dark hidden hand behind our country executive system. The above issue was not as simple as lobbying for a project. This is actually hold Our country in ransom. It was not difficult to understand why our PDRM are trying so hard to protect and ensure only those full of shit(Najis) are to be our country top executive. Our PDRM have all those hard shit evident on hand. And this are the most powerful tools for demand. As from the above issue, it was more like a demand then lobbying, this MUsang had no respect at all to the country's system and the PM.
$$$It sound like "You fulfil our demand you stay, else, you step down ! if not, we will charge you. You known ? your ball are in our hand"
written by Motherchell, December 04, 2008 18:47:17
Well with a blocked artery -- he definitely need a job that's aircond, with a secretary, 4 hours work to sign cheques, chauffeur driven after his retirement . Why is the govt still keeping sick goats than retiring such imbeciles? why cant the govt believe in the total efficiency of bringing the Country to where it belongs ? OOps i forgot !

An UMNO govt's rule of the thumb is ----as long as they have their cronies ,the rest are safe to make hay as the sun is always forcefully kept to shine ! They don't also realize that too much sunshine can burn the hay!!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by ahmadneil, December 04, 2008 18:49:29
Mr chor,you are a coward.How can you support this IGP!He is none other than a crook.This are his last dirty effort to rape the country before he goes into retirement.Being the taiko of the underworld,he is still trying to fill up his bank and none in umno dares to confront him,let alone this MCA lapdogs Mr Chor to smooth his two balls.He wanted to make up for his lost time while fighting for his life having a bypass.So going at full RPM,he is bypassing everyone and go straight to AAB to ask for favour.
written by Mr Smith, December 04, 2008 18:54:05
I think Kit is performing better than Anwar in Parliament. He has raised very pertinent issues using his probing and incisive mind. Perhaps he will make a better Opposition Leader.
written by OilMan, December 04, 2008 18:54:52
Biasalah tu.... Datuk Chor Chee Heung is the dog on a leash of BN. He can't say no... otherwise all the promises for wealth for him will be scraped. Bukan kita tak tahu just how BN works...
written by ToeJam, December 04, 2008 19:06:56
Abang Rashid,

Let's be objective here if we are serious about saving our country from corruption. Pls don't make wild and stupid accusation unless you have the proof. I am no lover of the little dot down south but I know making racist and bigot comments don't help this country. In fact when you do so, then you are no better than UMNO because that is exactly what they are very good at!

I don't like Zionist and the little dot but at least I know they can only cheat us if UMNO allows them to do so. So if you want to curse the Zionist, please make sure you double curse the muslims in UMNO for allowing it to happen.

p/s
For those of you who supported Rashid's comments, please open your eyes. Don't let your bigotness and narrow-mindedness distract you from saving our country from UMNO.
written by mob1900, December 04, 2008 19:30:48

Pic irrelvent(maybe) but this just happened at Jln Damansara, landslide.
This what happens when hillsite development went uncheck. Pray there's no one hurt.

Samy must be heaving a sigh of relief coz he's no longer the Works Minister.
written by smeagrooo, December 04, 2008 19:47:33
Dato Chor Dai Dee

You are a numbskull to say that it was OK for IGP to do so and nothing has materialized yet but you hv forgotten that any of such projects approved will never be cancelled no matter how shaddy tha deal is without costing the taxpayers to fork out more money to compensate the aggrieved party.

And now u know why demo permits are hard to come by for opposition and no permits needed for UMNO idiots?
written by educationist, December 04, 2008 20:17:31
I can't believe it, PR has 82 MPs and it can't muster 49 of its own members to win that vote of no confidence against the ministers!
So, even before PR forms the federal government its MPs are behaving like busy government ministers, deputy ministers and parlimentary secretaries!!
Back to Musa, the Malaysiakini report is more explicit - the IGP's son has an interest in both firms.
But, maybe in MalaysiaBoleh, this is not a conflict of interest!!
written by charcoy feng, December 04, 2008 20:40:12
Abang Rashid,

From what I have read in MT previously. It is owned by B K Tan & Musa's son. Remember YB Theresa Kok bringing it in Parliment sometime ago....
written by Midvalley, December 04, 2008 21:17:13
The junior get to wash cars ( even offical cars ) free, durian, cigarettes, drinks,roti, free. the senior angpow, women, free. the top gun takes care of pimps, loan sharks, pubs, massage centres,
The higher up take care of Taikoh of the underworld then the TOP gun take care of Billion Ringgit projects.
As for crime, security for the rakyat you take care of yourselves we prefer the illigel because that where is the moneys. The whole police force is now in AID.
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 04, 2008 21:24:58
Lobbying is always related to corruption. Deputy home minister is MCA which is BN component. IGP serves the current government. So, if they are corrupt it is usual. If they aren't, that's unusual. Nowadays it's difficult to find a clean minister and corrupt-free cop. The top brass are the most corrupt.
written by onnetline, December 04, 2008 21:46:21
Now, the rakyat can see clearer why all the entire polis dogs are working so hard for Barisan Najis !
written by malsia1206, December 04, 2008 22:04:42
The IGP's son was reportedly linked to the companies in which he lobbied for the contracts. That says it all. This IGP is up to his tricks as soon as he gets his bypass done. Typical Barisan cable connection and reflects badly on his integrity. A stool of UMNO. A stool of this Barisan Government. Is the Malaysian rakyat still so gullible? Is this IGP concerned with the worsening crime situation or his son's business? And yet there are prominent Barisan leaders coming out to defend him. The whole Barisan bunch is SHI_.
written by onnetline, December 04, 2008 22:05:59
Chor Chee Heung,

Seriously, you've shown yourself to be a crony of a corruption !
written by mikewang, December 04, 2008 23:27:10
Shouldn't Si Botak be the one responsible for answering those questions ?

Stupid MCA deputy, even after Mar 8, still carry balls in an untenable situation, as if he is the one responsible for the conduct of the IGP.

It is wrong to issue any letter of recommendation when one is an interested party.
Wrong is wrong and no parliamentary arrogance is going to make that right.
written by Spear Bing, December 04, 2008 23:35:26
Principally, this is not so much an UMNO issue or Singapore/Zionist linked issue.

It's all about integrity, ethics and accounability.

You only need to do a search at the ROC and find out who's who in the company set-up. The IGP has obviously soiled his hands in lobbying PDRM projects to be secured by this company. Even though Chor said the projects have not being approved, the very act of the IGP's collusion with the company is already tainted with self-interest and self greed that overshadowed his responsible role as the top law enforcer of the nation.

It certainly does not look good for the country's image to have such business collusion being networked among the top brass police officers, past and present.

It's also against the Islamic teachings of honesty and morality. Those people involved in this projects can defend and justify their roles for all the reasons one can find, but still CONSCIENCE will prick those soiled hands.

That is, if ever there is such a thing as CONSCIENCE that ever exists in the minds and hearts of those in corridors of power.

Salam.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, December 05, 2008 00:14:58
Ketua Polis Negara= Ketua Perasuah Negara?

“E-Police Force Solution” merupakan satu rangkaian sistem wireless digital sepenuhnya yang berasaskan teknologi informasi dan komunikasi (ICT) yang canggih dengan litupan seluruh negara. Sistem ini berupaya menyalurkan suara, data, video, grafik dan maklumat biometrics dan DNA secara serentak dan tanpa batasan. Kertas cadangan perlaksanaan projek ini bernilai RM4.2 billion. PDRM berminat dengan sistem ini kerana mereka percaya ia dapat membantu pihak polis dalam siasatan dan membanteras jenayah.

Corrupted Musa Hassan – read here

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1828

Here is what E-Police all about.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=732
written by bexe, December 05, 2008 06:21:26
How can this totally outrageous conduct be condoned and defended by members of parliament, The PM, the Rulers and anyone with any sense of justice or any concern for the well being of our country?
written by Stupid me, December 05, 2008 06:59:43
So this Chor fella sees nothing wrong with the whole matter. In that case his boss and him should see to it that something is done to drop all charges against anyone for corruption and release all those convicted of corruption. They do not fall into the category of corrupt people according to his reasoning.
written by The Voter, December 05, 2008 08:33:19
Dato' Chor Chee Heung has proved what Soi Lek claimed - Ketuanan Melayu in BN. MCA has to folow and abide whatever UMNO said.
written by Taikohtai, December 05, 2008 08:45:26
In the words of YB Tajuddin: 'PDRM, YOU BLOODY BASTARD!'
written by Goostee, December 05, 2008 09:12:43
The grape vines told me that at least one of his former bosses is the mooter of the second company. Can someone please check and publicise his name and those behind it.
written by NSS, December 05, 2008 23:48:16
Uncle Kit, He must be referring to Semi Value... not u good guys in opposition. smilies/smiley.gif I think this is what "meludah ke udara" means
written by Davy McChester, December 06, 2008 02:04:58
This is just the surface of the iceberg.The same happens in all other major ministries so much so it has become part and parcel of the culture when dealing with the govt sector including Govt privatised companies. Corruption is entrenched in the system and a way of life. To get rid of this evil that would evetually destroy the country,UMNOputras should be uprooted