Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdullah wants to settle key issues before leaving office

Abdullah wants to settle key issues before leaving office PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 16:44

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said he wants to deal with three key issues — corruption, the judicial appointments commission and the special complaints commission — before leaving office in March as the nation will be in trouble if these issues are not addressed.

The prime minister said he hoped that all Members of Parliament would vote in support for the proposed Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) Bill, which will be tabled in the Dewan Rakyat next Wednesday.

“I hope everyone will look beyond partisan lines and vote for what is best for the rakyat,” Abdullah said in an interview with theSun newspaper.

With the MACC in place, he said, it would change the way the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) works.

“Mind you, you will see a different kind of ACA, one with clout that responds and is answerable to the rakyat,” he said.
On judicial appointments, Abdullah said it was important to ensure that the people believed that the judiciary was a judiciary of integrity.

“If people have confidence in the judiciary then we won’t have to worry as we have someone who will look after our rights, someone who will defend us, someone we can appeal to,” he said.

In terms of procedure, he said, the proposed Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) would be free from interference from the Executive in the nomination of judicial candidates.

“The members of the commission will meet among themselves and decide on names based on secret ballot voting.

“In fact, we need to safeguard against interference or inappropriate pressure from all parties, not just the Executive,” he said.

On the appointment of Tan Sri Zaki Azmi as Chief Justice, Abdullah said Azmi was the best candidate for the job although he had several other candidates to consider.

Though Azmi was a former Umno legal advisor, he was known to be a man of integrity, he said.

“He doesn’t mess up his work and has done a good job, so if he is assigned to another job, I know he will do it right.” “The critics will make noise if he rules against them but he is considered a good judge if he rules in their favour,” he added.

On claims that there was resistance to the setting up of a complaints commission, Abdullah said he did not think that anyone was opposed to “reform”. “Different groups want to be heard, to give their input into the design of the reform,” he said.

Abdullah said that although it would be a difficult process, it was worthwhile. (Bernama)

written by indianputra, December 04, 2008 16:50:34
This guy is going to outsmart Najib and will continue to be the PM till year 2013. So he still has lots of time to settle the key issues which includes smear campaign against Najib by March 2009..... and that is his priority now!!
written by loosecannon, December 04, 2008 17:05:02
Do we smell a rat here? I think he's trying to prolong his stay in power. The next thing that's going to happen is his supporters will come out to "plead" with him to stay on and complete his "reforms". Not that it matters one bit to us he stays or goes.
written by malsia1206, December 04, 2008 17:09:45
But I have yet to read any report he has woken up from his slumber. Is he really awake now during his last few months as Premier?
written by ahmadneil, December 04, 2008 17:13:41
AAB is still waiting for some 'payment' that Najis have promised to settled.In fact AAB post as PM was been 'sold' to Najis and that is why Najis was given the Finance Ministry.Once the 'payment' is competed then AAB will relinquished his position.Also a huge deal is been negotiated with regards to the C4 of Aminah as it involves Najis former Ministry.All these can be solved is some form of 'compensation' are reached.
written by unomalaysia, December 04, 2008 17:16:12
If this guy wants to remain for the whole term, better him than what's coming..... Rosmah as PM.... Help wake me up from the nightmare.
written by AuntyG, December 04, 2008 17:26:52
ApaLah lu, PakLah ... 4 years in office you didnt settle any issues, in the next 3 months what can you do?? please go LAH. Unless, unless .... you want to start the key "stop Najis issue", then please stay longer LAH, provide us dramas minggu ini between your goonies and Najis croonies, and you go down in history as "Bapak Entertainment"
written by azee72, December 04, 2008 17:38:57
He is still waiting enough money that can last him for 7 generations. Now he already got for 5 generations, 2 more to go
written by cllim123, December 04, 2008 18:17:29
Judicial Appointments Commission, Anti Corruption Commission and Special Complaints Commission, all will be watered down just like the Independent Police Commission (IPCMC). In the end, its loo C wa C ee bo C.
written by mob1900, December 04, 2008 19:37:11

This is how he 'settle' loose ends, by unleashing another catastrophe unto us!
written by jjireh99, December 04, 2008 19:47:47
i don't know how many times the rakyat have to repeat this statement incessantly? We don't want either to stay, definitely not until 2013!!! Pocik! We want a change in gomen, NOW!!!!! DSAI, over to you! You have my support. We cannot afford to have either of them to stay on as PM. If DPM has to become PM, so be it BUT I hope it'll be only for A DAY! PM is only thinking about his family, you all know that! There's nothing more they can convince me otherwise!
written by CCChuah, December 04, 2008 22:13:48
You must strike more fear into UMNO.
You are the greatest Malaysian of all.
There is not one present leader who can match you.
You are definitely PM material
written by onnetline, December 04, 2008 22:20:37
BadAKwi,

You are a weakling by UMNO standards, so please save your promises for yourself, please.
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 22:42:45
Pak Lah,

Can settle the problem of thieves, liars and murderers in high places before you go?

written by johanssm, December 04, 2008 23:18:13
What he can't do in his 6 years in office can be done in under 4 months?
Hoi, Pak Helah. We also wants the original IPCMC , abolish the ISA and local election for town and city mayor.
Hoi , Pak Helah dont sleep too much.
written by Old Man, December 05, 2008 08:05:26
AAB, your friend Ar David KK Ng practising in the name/style of Arkitek Nikareka in Sabah is pleading and praying that you stay on! Otherwise what'll happen to the RM5,000,000/= ( Ringgit Malaysia: Lima Juta sahaja ) given to you ? ACA wont go after you but may go after him instead! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 05, 2008 09:50:01
Abdullah wants to settle key issues before leaving office

FAST FORWARD TO MAY 2009 WHEN SOMEONE ELSE IS SITTING IN PUTRA JAYA'S
HIGHEST OFFICE, YOU WILL ISSUE A STATEMENT, IF ONLY I Had A LITTLE MORE TIME, IF ONLY THEY WOULD HAVE LET ME, I WOULD HV COMPLETED ALL THE REFORMS. NOW, WHAT WAS IT I WANTED TO REFORM?? WHERE IS THE MEMO?? IF ONLY I CAN REMEMBER.....