Kaliamman Temple Demolishment, Taman Desa, KL PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 15:23

Bahawa pada hari 02/12/2008 lebih kurang 10:30 pagi saya melihat kuil Kaliaman di Taman Desa berdekatan dengan Restoran Vitya telah dirobohkan oleh pihak DBKL. Mengikut laporan media sebelum ini, Timbalan Menteri Wilayah Persekutuan ada membuat kenyataan bahawa tiada kuil akan dirobohkan oleh pihak DBKL. Saya membuat laporan polis ini kerana amat kecewa dan tidak berasa senang hati memandang kuil ini dikunjungi ramai orang India di kawasan tersebut. Baru-baru ini kami juga telah mengadakan satu perayaan yang telah dihadiri oleh lebih dari 500 orang.

Sekian laporan saya.

Here are pictures of the demolishment:

a 

b 

c

d 

e

f

g 

h

i

k

l

written by New Malaysian, December 04, 2008 15:36:03
I'm a temple-going Hindu.

Frankly, while I don't condone demolishing anybody's place of worship, there must be method to erecting a shrine. Was this one of those registered after the call by the President of the Hindu Sangam to have temples register themselves?

New Malaysian
written by bradwell_estate, December 04, 2008 16:16:38
I agreed with New Malaysian. I notice many temple, tokong & masjid build hapzardly. This is not right.
written by Newkidonblog, December 04, 2008 16:19:46
I pray at home.
written by SamSan, December 04, 2008 16:22:17
What has Semi Value and his son Vel Pari got to say about this demolition. Didn't I say that MIC, MCA and Gerakan Leaders are powerless in front of UMNO. If I was Semi Value, I would immediately pull out of BN and hope that Gerakan and MCA follow suit. After that negotiate with UMNO that all are equal partners and that UMNO should learn to respect all the component parties including those from Sabah and Sarawak and not bulldoze whatever is UMNO's whims and fancies.
written by vineeth menon, December 04, 2008 16:24:14
Got to agree with New Malaysian..
i would suggest again ,what i suggested long time back in my blog here http://malaysia180degree.*****...aysia.html

# All the places of worship which are more than 25 years will be given land title; Provided it has been proved so in the court
# If any place of worship has to give way for development; the notice of 6 months will be given to the management of such places from the date of allocation of relocation place.
# All the places of worship which has mushroomed in last 25 years will be given notice to integrate with the older places of worship.
# Permits for new places of worship will be given, provided there is no such place existing in 10 sq km area of the requested place.
This is my suggestions and hope other commentators also can give some suggestions and possible fallouts of my suggestions.
written by temenggong, December 04, 2008 16:24:48
We thank umno for waking up the Indians and strengthening the community.
written by Mik, December 04, 2008 17:20:34
"stop building temples and start building the society." cant remember who said dat.
written by carribeanking7, December 04, 2008 18:14:09
While I agree with Vineeth Menon that there must be some semblance of order, even if temples need to be demolished they be done in a respectful manner, as emotions can run high and it can be potentially volatile.

I am having all sorts of info streaming into my email, some say the temple is 15 years old others say its 19, I dont have the facts yet but my info tells me- I paste it here unedited

"According to Munusamy who is the temple Chairman say the temple been there for more then 15 years. DBKL paste a one week notice at the temple. He then went to DBKL and wanted to meet the enforcement but before he can meet, DBKL came and demolish the temple. Previously Datuk Saravanan gave assurance that there will be no more temple demolish in Wilayah but today we can see what happen. Munusamy lodge police report against DBKL. We urge that the temple to be rebuild and action taken DBKL enforcement."

I have seen some other photos, that are different from above that show the demolition neatly done around the deities without destroying them, as if some one took a lot of care.

As usual MIC youth is already playing up the isuue on one site, but a few posters lambasted them for taking cheap shots.
Not knowing that Wilayah comes under Zulhasnan rafique and his wonderboy Saravanan.

I appeal to Hindraf members to be patient while investigations are carried out, dont fall for MIC's playing up of this issue to gain mileage.

written by A MI, December 04, 2008 19:00:39
Respectful manner? Now which world is everyone livivng in? Respectful manner and Ketuanan cannot be in the same sentence smilies/grin.gif

Present gomen officers do not accord courteous service.
written by drarasu, December 04, 2008 19:07:19
hiya , always the same issue. im also temle going hindu too. first of all we should not built temples as we wish n let the authorities demolish it. There has been too much of politics in temples too . Lets move on . Dont be too emotional n do things rationally n practically .
written by The dragonheart, December 04, 2008 19:59:41
I pity these Hindus people...

But can anyone built any temple, church, surau any odd place they like?

Looking at the photos above this temple is new... the grass behind the temple is still growing... the cement is still fresh...

Why not in future we allow temple or surau in private lands belonging to those who are sympathize... I think pious Muslims don't mind to allow people to build surau on his vacant private land...

written by Goldfinger, December 04, 2008 22:55:04
Agreed that no one is above the laws and should no build temples anywhere as they wishes.
No one is above the laws too, to allow and closed a blind eye on illegal food stalls or warungs build and operate on roadsides or pavements.
Want proofs? No need to go far,just one built less than a year old,opposite the new Casa Desa condominium in Taman Desa,KL.Aplenty more in Sri Petaling and scattered all over the country. Even the blind can find their way there.
I am not against rakyats earning a decent living but i am pissed off with all these double standards practices and corruption business that is so daringly going around.Yeah,you can all argue to show proofs...eff you as if no ones know, unless you're from Nibiru...or you are a dumnos' too!
written by kimlye, December 05, 2008 02:18:07
God is above the law and all powerful, but can't save his home (temple).
written by rpremkumar2u, December 05, 2008 10:25:39
Obviously this incident would be one that differing opinions are going to take places on the opposite sides. DBKL as usual will shield its actions with a piece of literature which, however, will go on to show its business as usual for them. Insensitive as usual.
written by Rozlan, December 05, 2008 10:52:32
written by bradwell_estate, December 04, 2008 16:16:38

I agreed with New Malaysian. I notice many temple, tokong & masjid build hapzardly. This is not right.

Bradwell,

Pleae tell me if any of the mosques,suraus,chinese temples,churches,sikh temples built anywhere according to the whim and fancy of its followers? But you could see Hindu temples had been built anywhere they wish to without approval from the owners.They dont give a damn if it is govt lands or private lands.Sometime the whole areas where adorned with illegal temples in every 500 metres apart..Dont blame the authorities for demolishing them..The authorities had been trying to be lenient all this while but the Hindus took advantage of the leniency..

The illegal Hindu temples were source of complaints from the muslims all these years
written by antiilluminati, December 05, 2008 14:17:31
My heart aches, how could they do destoryed the shrine dedicated to my Cosmic mother out of ignorance. May the mother forgives them all for they act out of ignorance.
Ma..pls bless us all.
written by 1351, December 05, 2008 23:53:42
Another instance of DBKL flexing their might.

Clearly MIC is of no help and Samy is a non entity having lost his balls. There was no intervention while Indian boys were dying under custody of PDRM and Prison Authorities, what more a temple !

The time is ripe for change. We can all but confirm the MIC, much like UMNO and MCA, are selling out the interest of their own. The 2/3 majority was breached 12th GE and next time round, we will usher in a new government and bear witness to a new dawn rising.

G'weekend all