To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

• RPK's defamation trial - 2 July, Jln Duta Sessions Court
  • RPK's sedition trial - 17 July, PJ Sessions Court

Deputy Finance Minister's Head Under the Sand PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 14:36

The Deputy Minister of Finance Datuk Kong Cho Ha told the Dewan Negara yesterday that Malaysia has not been directly exposed to the full impact of the global financial crisis. He further indicated that "It is only feeling the pinch indirectly from the minimum impact of the sub-prime mortgage crisis cushioned by the strong domestic economy."

This is an irresponsible statement to make and amounts to misleading the country.

His argument does not hold water as the local business media in the last few weeks have been reporting that Malaysian corporate earnings may contract by four percent in 2008. Furthermore, corporate earnings in the third quarter were weak and point towards a gloomier set of numbers in the final quarter.  The estimates can be further reduced depending on the severity of the global economic and financial crisis.

Clearly, lower corporate earnings are a reflection of a slowing economy.

Companies are also reducing the length of the working day, existing orders are being slashed, future orders cut down to critical levels and retrenchments are being planned. Job losses will be significant. The unemployment rate is expected to hit 4.9% next year. The country's manufacturing exports are expected to drop.

The country's revenue will dip critically with deteriorating oil, oil palm and other commodity prices. Crude oil prices dropped to a three-year-low to USD 48 yesterday. Malaysia's timber based exports for 2009 is predicted to be lower, as well.
Last week Bank Negara Malaysia indicated that the country's gross domestic product (GDP) growth for the third quarter of this year slowed to 4.7%, a substantial drop from 6.7% in the previous period.

Analysts are indicating that if commodity prices continue to drop or stabilize at low levels and manufacturing deteriorates, the possibility of the country slipping into a recession cannot be ruled out. Brokerage houses have downgraded the economic growth of the country with one suggesting that Malaysia will experience zero economic growth rate next year.  However, all of this would be fundamentally dependent on the severity and duration of the crisis and the country's response to it. 

Previous assumptions underlying the various projections are currently redundant. This is because of the daily painful unraveling of  bad economic news triggering unprecedented levels of  uncertainty and lack of confidence in the global market system. 

Recession, economic slump, poor and weak earnings, slowdown, sales slides, pay cuts and lay-offs have become the buzz word in the last weeks and months.

A recent UN report entitled World Economic Situation and Prospects 2009 indicates that that "most developed economices entered into recession during the second half of the 2008 and economic slowdown has spread to the developing countries and countries in transition".  

According to the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)  World Investment Report 2008, Malaysia's foreign direct investment outflow surpassed inflow by RM8.99 billion in 2007.  Malaysia was the only country to have recorded a negative investment flow among ASEAN nations.

The economic situation is grave and needs urgent, coordinated massive stimulus package both at the national and regional level.

Deputy Prime Minster and newly minted Finance Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak needs to acknowledge that we are not confronted with a pinch but a catastrophe that needs to be taken seriously.

Najib has to also remind his deputy that we have already begun to feel the direct impact of the global financial and economic crisis. Specifically, the global crisis is biting into the real economy and hurting people and business. 

ng

Charles Santiago
Member of Parliament, Klang
016-6267797

written by IbnAbdHalim, December 04, 2008 14:45:27
Majority of BN ministers are born LIARS.
written by densemy, December 04, 2008 14:48:40
... and so are most Malaysians. So why are you so surprised?

The Malaysian National Bird should be the Ostrich
written by middlepath, December 04, 2008 14:49:33
Yes, the govermen is still sleeping. The MNC here in malaysias, are all lining up to have some year end shutdown, due to the slow economy world wide. A lot of the commodity price are dropping like coconuts, and the big 2 auto company in USA is going to have beg money from govermen or else they will run out of cash this month Dec 2008, our deputy finance minister is still not aware ??? where is he from ? he dont have ASTRO at home ? he dont have the MNC feedback from malaysia ?
what lah ?
The MNC in malaysia many already declare VSS, or longer shutdown, 5 day week, or 4 day week due to the slow in order, this will be tsunami effect, local industry and less OT will trigger slow in business. Lots of property developer feeling all the private project are very slow due to worry, and the effect of slow down, this is psycology and also real, and net net, it will translate into a slow down. There is major injection of $ to stimulate the economy in many countries around the world, many are lowering the interest rate to and inject major stimulus package to help the economy. The Chine have a us$548 Billion package to help their local economy, this is like panic button, hence, looks like our malaysian govemen are very relax, and dont know what happen. very sad. So, we must wake up this govermen, in the KT by election, we must vote for the Pakatan Rakayt, to wake up our govemen. Yes We Can. vote peacefully, vote the Pakatan Rakyat. No need to go to the street for demonstration. we want a peaceful transition of power from Paklah to DSAI. We want PKR, RPK, we believe, Pakatan rakyat is not very good opposition, they need to be the federal govermen, and the Umno and BN are very good opposition, because the Umno and BN are very good at the corruption, cronies, so they are the best opposition for malaysia, they know how to control the govermen. lets united and make the Umno/BN the opposition, the best opposition to watch dog over the Pakatan Govermen. Yes we can.
written by Sinewy, December 04, 2008 15:03:26
This deputy minister is talking for academic and political reasons. He is in a denial mode like the malaysian government with very shallow practical knowledge about the state of affairs on all economic fronts. From the manufacturing, construction, service and logistic industries, all will be affected by the shrinking world market demand on products and services. The inflated demand for goods caused by the irrational spending by the US consumers on credit is collapsing. The enterprises world wide is left with over capacities and the only thing that will happen will be the reduction of such excess capacities. This will affect jobs and the consumer confidence will take a beating. There is no point reducing interest rate under such wide spread reduction of consumption due to previouly inflated demand cause by loose credit regiment. It will not generate consumption from the general public because they are facing threat to job security and business expansion will not happen at this moment when everybody is cutting down. The reduction in interest rate will drive earning from public savings down and make them more cautious about spending. The government should support and encourage local production of goods meant for import replacements to serve the local consumption to reduce import. This will provide jobs to the locals and the fund injected to the local economy will be retained within the country to help to spur the economy.

written by AuntyG, December 04, 2008 15:23:51
DePITY Finance Minister (King)Kong may be coret coret coret for the following 3 reasons:
a) He and BeEnd croonies have no financial crisis at all (lucky devils!)
b) This DePITY Finance Minister does not read world financial news, perhaps he only read comics and movie news ??
c) He is a liar liar (pants on fire), so that his boss will not retrench him in this economic uncertainty.
written by fireduck, December 04, 2008 15:32:18
He further indicated that "It is only feeling the pinch indirectly from the minimum impact of the sub-prime mortgage crisis cushioned by the strong domestic economy."

Sure, strong domestic economy ..... like using my money as part of the RM5bil to prop up your stocks so that you and your cronies can cash out. Ya, what effects? No effects as our cronies will all get back their money once we pump in that RM5mil from EPF.

Why not go and ask the SMI's. Ask the ordinary folks trying to earn a living. And minimal effects you say, why not ask the tour operators. This deputy minister is either reading past years issues of the Business News or he's been smoking some stuffs. Maybe he has been sharing his smokes with all his BN colleagues.
written by Trueandfair, December 04, 2008 15:49:14
Actually, YB Datuk Kong and members of his family are involved in the number forecasting business (MAGNUM 4D) in Perak - so the business is practically RECESSION PROOF - so he got a slight "pinch" hhaaha.

Seriously, having known these MCA leaders for more years than it is good for my health and sanity, I know for a fact that they know NUTS about economics or care about the welfare of ordinary Malaysians ekeing out a living except for what really matters to them! If UMNO is bad, MCA is WORSE when it comes to self-serving - after all, Tun Mahathir and his UMNO "crooks" LEARNED FROM MCA in the late 80s and 90s about MONEY CONQUERS ALL (MCA)
written by AuntyG, December 04, 2008 15:50:11
DePTIY Finance Minister says Malaysia cushioned by strong domestic economy. But only recently I remember reading differently from DrMadhatter's man, the "economic prophet of doom". DePITY Finance Minister may wanna take on your RM5K bet!
written by Zapper, December 04, 2008 17:08:15
We have a bunch of morons running the finance ministry in specific and the government in general
written by MAMR, December 04, 2008 17:32:08
World holders in terms of ecconomy can be assumed to be 1.America,2.Europe,3.China,4.India.All countries mentioned are our trading partners.America had been confirmed to be in recession since Dec 07.Most of Europe are either in Technical recession or already in one.China said to be still in "GROWTH" but quite a few analyst think otherwise, especially with closure of factories in THOUSANDS.India is facing problems as well. Think before you speak
written by mountainking, December 04, 2008 17:58:09
Deputy Minister of Finance Datuk Kong Cho Ha

either you are uneducated at all or you studied shit all your life. you are worst then any ppl that i know on the street where they know about looming recession.

you are another disgusted face of MCA.
written by cllim123, December 04, 2008 18:27:26
What our Ministers are saying is that we can still afford to be tapped by Umno goons. We still have money for them to squander. We are not like Zimbabwe yet. Or Uganda or Somalia. Get rid of them now or we truly be Malaysia truly Africa.
written by carribeanking7, December 04, 2008 18:40:30
Inflation in Malaysia is at a 27 year high, and the half past six government of the day tells us that everything is OK
they must have been taking economics lessons from Mr.Bean.

To make matters worse thay have cut interest rates, this could push us into deflation, which will be harder to come out if than inflation.

This ostrich needs a good kick in the arse.

datuk kong -do us all a favor -go to kinokuniya and buy yourself- an economics for dummies guide.

written by A MI, December 04, 2008 18:56:57
is mental dememtia contagious? can it be contracted when one becomes a BeeEnd memeber? smilies/grin.gif
written by smeagrooo, December 04, 2008 19:50:52
why worry....in good times or bad times, the plundering will still continue and the gravy train will still be loaded but maybe not as much as before...but still these ppl are guaranteed money for patronising this system. The only skill u need is to polish shoes and service some butts.
written by lynn, December 04, 2008 21:40:07
Just abt 6 mths ago or so, when the bn govt raised petrol prices a few times, everyone was furious so do you people recall : najib said "change your lifestyle".

He got the fcuking arrogant cheek!!!

Change your lifestyle, he said. So, you, you, you and you, what kind of lifestyle do you really have? You don't go shopping abroad & bring back your branded stuff by the containers. Chances are, many of you have never even been to Europe or America.

So to all the Trengganu folks who will cast their votes in this by-election, you know what you need to do right for Malaysia. You must accept the cash the BN govt hands out to all of you to induce you to vote Umno. That money rightfully belongs to the rakyat and to you... so take the duit and vote PAS!!!