Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid not joining any political party for now

Zaid not joining any political party for now PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 11:51

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

Former Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, who was sacked from Umno on 2 Dec, says he is not joining any political party "in the near future" but will concentrate on building his foundation for youths.

At a press conference this morning, he said he was not surprised by his sacking and that Umno has no regard for natural justice by not giving him a fair hearing.

Zaid was issued a show cause letter by Umno for writing an open letter to the prime minister and for meeting with opposition Members of Parliament (MPs) to repeal the Internal Security Act (ISA).

He recently came under fire for attending the DAP victory dinner on 28 Nov, and the Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) congress the next day.

Earlier, his remarks on ketuanan Melayu also raised the ire of several Umno leaders, who demanded that he apologise. Zaid, however, refused.

"I did not do all that to invite expulsion. I think they expelled me because of my ideas. They resented my more accommodating approach," Zaid told reporters today.

He also questioned the manner in which he was sacked from Umno. "I have not been given the opportunity to be heard and neither am I aware of any specific violation I had committed," he said.

"I did not attend the DAP's dinner or PKR's congress to provoke anyone. I was there to listen on the invitation of friends.

"But that's Umno for you. They see provocation and enemies everywhere," he said.

"I could take them to court but it would be a hollow victory because when people don't want you anymore, what's the point?"

Zaid, who has been in Umno for over 23 years, said his one regret is that Umno has misunderstood his stand on helping the Malays.

"I believe that Umno and the government must provide guidance and support to the bumiputera on the basis of needs and merit. It is important that the Malays have the right values to be successful.

"This unfortunately has been construed as betraying the race and abandoning the cause of the party's struggle," he said.

The former Kota Baru MP was appointed a senator by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on 18 March and made Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, in charge of legal affairs and the judiciary.

During his tenure, he tried to spearhead judicial reform, but found little support among his colleagues in the cabinet.

He resigned as minister on 15 Sept over the use of the ISA to detain blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, Seputeh MP Teresa Kok and Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng on 12 Sept. Tan, Kok and Raja Petra have since been released.

Since Zaid was sacked, Pakatan Rakyat parties have said they would welcome him to join them.

On 3 Dec, Opposition Leader and PKR advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said Pakatan Rakyat was comfortable with Zaid's principles. He described Zaid as someone who is stern in opposing laws that are contrary to human rights, including the ISA.

"We welcome him. It's his choice to discuss with PKR, DAP and PAS leaders. We are comfortable because we have seen him steadfast in defending the principles of human rights and being very committed in his position and stand against the ISA," Anwar said.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Tompios, December 04, 2008 12:23:49
smilies/grin.gif Datuk Zaid, are you trying to tell me that this UMNO similar with those Triad Members or Kongsi Gelap members?
written by ahmadneil, December 04, 2008 12:28:34
Zaid,lucky, you are now free to hantam umno from outside.Give umno no credit and spill the beans.That Racist mahathir is the happiest man and he dedicated a few line about you in his blog.Just becos he doesn't like you,for paying those judge that he sack,doesn't means that we have to follow his stupid idea.
Take a rest and when times come give umno hell!
written by truthbespoken, December 04, 2008 13:09:08
Doesn't matter lah, Zaid. Corrupted UMNO just did you a good turn and placed you on shore before the SINKING ship sink to the bottom. Just wait a little longer and go on board a better Malaysian ship when the time is right. The people are with you.
written by JJFoo, December 04, 2008 13:44:57
Zaid, apart through political parties, you still can contribute to the goodness of the society in more than a thousand and one ways. It is the urge for positive betterment that counts.

Unlike those pervert in UMNO/BN, who are devising a thousand and one ingenious ways to screw the RAKYAT for personal gain.

written by DreamLady, December 04, 2008 15:11:25
Our Zaid needs a good break. His mind is too bogged down with the several events that took place at one go. He is physically and mentally exhausted.

Maybe it would do him good if he goes for a holiday, get some fresh air elsewhere and be back once more, feeling afresh to make decision with a clear mind...

Poor Zaid, I feel sorry for him, him being treated shabbily by the goons.........
written by eloofk, December 04, 2008 15:20:36
Yes Datuk Zaid, Take your time and reflect on your past 23 years you were with them and how rotten UMNO has become because of certain clique now claimed to have grab power and dictate their terms regardlessly. With your wisdom, conviction and principles, the country would be a much better place if you could decide before the next GE to serve the country in any capacity you think you can contribute effectively.
written by apa jadi, December 04, 2008 15:48:27
Good, Zaid. That's the way. Take your time to make your choice if you do intend to join any party in future.
written by tcng, December 04, 2008 16:39:05
Helping the Malay masses to progress is NOT a priority for UMNO. Exclusive right to the votes of Malay masses is. If a policy is good for Malay masses in the long term but NOT a popular one, UMNO would not do. On the other hand, if a policy is detrimental to the progress of Malay masses in the long term BUT a popular one (i.e. vote), they woud do it.

In other words, Zaid is 'foolish' to think that UMNO has the interest of the Malay at heart.
written by The dragonheart, December 04, 2008 19:44:31
After 23 years in UMNO made him an Un-Umno?

PKR wants him? PAS wants him?

How about DAP? You want him too?

I think PKR stop taking ex-uMNO no mater how good they are...

This man even sued Nik Aziz government to court...

Why don't you just be like YM RPK... stick to writings and put across your piece of mind in a blog... i don't think you can work with any party as you will disagree with their policies ...

You will get support from people like in MT not from the masses... In politic the masses will determine one's political carrier...
written by Sudahlah tu, December 04, 2008 21:50:55
inilah umno .... zalim dan tidak mengenali adat resam orang melayu.
written by shepherdvoyage, December 04, 2008 22:47:46
UMNO has lost a great asset but Zaid loses nothing for leaving UMNO.