Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Book seized due to missing address

Book seized due to missing address PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 11:48

By Zedeck Siew, The Nut Graph

The Home Ministry confiscated a book by public intellectual Dr Farish Noor on the grounds that it did not contain the publisher's or printer's address.

“This book has no full address,” the Home Ministry's acting director for Selangor, Zainal Osman, told The Nut Graph, in reference to Farish's From Majapahit to Putrajaya, published by Silverfish Books.

Copies of From Majapahit to Putrajaya were seized from leading bookstore Kinokuniya on 15 Aug 2008, in a joint inspection carried out by officials from the ministry, Jabatan Agama Islam Selangor (Jais), Jabatan Agama Islam Wilayah Persekutuan (Jawi) and Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim). Kinokuniya has since ceased selling the title.

The first clause of Section 11 of the Printing Presses and Publications Act (PPPA) 1984 stipulates that “Every publication printed or published within Malaysia shall have printed legibly in Bahasa Malaysia or the English language on its first or last leaf the name and address of its printer and publisher.”

According to Zainal, while the book does contain “Silverfish Books, Kuala Lumpur” on its first page, this is not sufficient to fulfil the requirements of the law. “We can already charge the publisher and bookseller in court,” he asserted.

If convicted, they are liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year, or to a fine not exceeding RM5,000, or both.

Silverfish Books proprietor Raman Krishnan explained to The Nut Graph that From Majapahit to Putrajaya did not contain a terrestrial address because they became obsolete very quickly. “In the 10 years since [Silverfish Books] opened, we have shifted addresses three times,” Krishnan said.

“Instead, we have our website and email address on our books,” he said. “These are permanent. We have not changed them since we started. If you want me to put in my street address, I will, but it doesn't make any sense anymore.”

Farish's book, a collection of essays about contemporary Malaysia, was also under scrutiny because it touches on issues concerning Islam. “Because we have no expertise on this matter, we have sent it to Jakim for study,” Zainal said.

This was the reason the investigation is taking so long, Zainal explained. By contrast, inquiries conducted solely by the Home Ministry typically have a cut-off point of three to four months.

“It's difficult for me to say,” Zainal said, when asked to speculate when Jakim would arrive at a decision with regards to the book.

Pending a verdict, however, From Majapahit to Putrajaya is still legal. “The book has not been banned,” Zainal said. “If [Farish] wants to publish again, he can but he must include the publisher's full address.”

Raman believed Jakim's investigation will be in vain. “They will find nothing un-Islamic in the book.”

written by IbnAbdHalim, December 04, 2008 11:57:50
Hey! Home Minister and the likes! Ban the book right away. No books shall be produced except by JAKIM (Jakun?), JAIS or JAWI. Farish Noor is no intellect. Intellects only exist in JAKIM, JAIS and JAWI. We Malaysians are all dumbbells and deserve no knowledge. We prefer to be stupid.
written by amoker, December 04, 2008 11:58:32
Another liar. If it is the address that is wrong, why did the 3 islamic bodies strutting of their strength? How can the book be confiscated without any judgement delivered?

" We have not read the book but we are confiscating it. Dunno when we will decide as we need to read" .

How dumb
written by cklife, December 04, 2008 12:18:46
What an excuse!!!
written by Tompios, December 04, 2008 12:35:08
Totally disagree the decision has made by Home Ministry. But, whatever it is, he has right to do as wish as he wants. Only feel sorry for UMNO since people start to label her as Mahasuci UMNO.
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 12:41:02
the home ministry does a better job promoting this book than opray winfrey ! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by JJFoo, December 04, 2008 12:56:04
The Home Ministry just manage to prove one thing, which is how stupid they can be. The next reason for confiscating books might be for spelling or printing error. Their level of reasoning is utterly incomprehensible. This is total bullshit, shame on the Home Ministry.

written by Motherchell, December 04, 2008 13:07:31
But murderers are walking free even after signing SD's and the facts given ?? Oh !is it that they are part of your coterie, Albar? What exactly is your defination of freedom and justice Albar??? With an Englande LLB im sure you can do better!! cant find addresses??

written by 2edgedsword, December 04, 2008 13:43:32
The joke of the day. It is in the same genre of arresting the Sin Chew reportor under ISA to protect her. UMNO is good in all the things apparently bad. This time it's witch-hunting. Nobody in Jakim can match the mind of Farish Noor in clarity of thinking and unbiased balanced interpretation of Islam. Farish Noor represents Islam well, wheareas UMNO and cohorts garbled it.
written by SamSan, December 04, 2008 14:10:31
Botak is getting more and more paranoid by the day. All his reasoning and excuses border on insanity. The major malaysians won't buy or believe such crap and thrash dished out by Botak and Gang. I pray that the Sultan of Johor will prosecute Botak for bungling the Pulau Batu Putih and the impending loss of our EEZ. I am praying that the powers of the Sultans be restored back to what is what that was spelt out by our much loved and long cherished founding fathers so that they can effectively take on Botak and Gang for raping and pillaging our beloved with their greed and total incompetence.
written by Chuan, December 04, 2008 14:28:57
Farish Noor should use this 'publicity act' by the Home Ministry and start spreading his books via online mediums. This time, there won't be any 'address' issues, since all the books will be shipped to the readers' addresses.

That should turn the table around on the 'address' issue.
written by carribeanking7, December 04, 2008 14:29:50
In 1987 the Mahathir government made an ammendment to the PPPA, that gave sweeping powers to the home minister to ban any publication at his discretion without judicial review (kinda like an ISA for books)- and guess what the home minister was Mahathir himself.
So I find it laughable that current Home Minister cum clown Albar does not even know the powers he is vested with, quoting trivial matters like publishers address, I can see Mahathir banging his head on the wall.

But there is a loophole

Section 25(1) of the PPPA states:
“Nothing in this Act shall extend to the publication or making of any
documents or periodical by or for the Federal or any State Government
or any statutory body.”

It is about time that publishers like Farish Noor and others get the endorsement of Selangor MB Khalid or any other pakatan state governments, you see section 25(1) to my understanding overides even the home ministers discretion, you see way back in 1987 BN never dreamed that 5 state governments would be in opposition hands.

This however is my layman opinion :
To the Honorable Harris Ibrahim or others with legal background, can any of you confirm this ? If it is we can "checkmate" SH Albar, now that they dont have the 2/3rds majority to ammend the act.

written by fireduck, December 04, 2008 15:21:01
Further cartoonization of the Malaysian nation. Malaysia Boleh!

Duh! Using stupid excuses like that to try and nail Farish. Next they will say that there are some spelling errors in the book, and is not palatable to the Malaysian readers. What freaking shallow minds we have here in Malaysia.

And the Sultan of Selangor has just reminded us not to focus on trivial matters. Looks like the Home Ministry doesn't give two hoots to Tuanku's opinion.
written by arazak, December 04, 2008 16:02:50
Are those people in the Home Ministry still living in ancient times? Now we using emails and websites to communicate with each other. True, if those people at the Home Ministry are being appointed by UMNO than rest assured they are not technology savvy. Their rules regarding Printing Act are as obsolete as their ISA.

We need to kick out these goons who are still clinging on Jurassic era laws and are not abreast with changes of time!

I have also the feeling that the “address” issue is only an excuse to ban the book.

Anyway you can still contact and communicate the publisher with the following website; -

Silverfish Books
http://www.silverfishbooks.com/

So. . ., what is the problem with those goons at the Home Ministry?

written by Anti Relon, December 04, 2008 17:01:02
The problem with the Home Minister is:
He was a high-flying Foreign Minister. Now that he has been made Home Minister, he feels slighted. So his revenge on the Malaysian public is use the ISA to display his authority. He misses being the Foreign Minister.
For Info: All publications need publisher's and printer's addresss in every country, even if they change addresses.
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 17:26:07
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by jeffrey3005, December 04, 2008 18:08:30
Book seized due to no address...another greatest joke of the year to be included involving Si Botak heheh ...need to take such a long time to find out this issue???
Morons idiots of the highest degree.
written by ms.blogger, December 04, 2008 22:05:30
Had a long day and was rather tired when I logged in. But this article really cracks me up! Our beloved Home Minister just keep outdoing himself everyday. Bravo! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

What's next for tomorrow's joke?
written by SiHangChai, December 04, 2008 22:20:23
Put Farish into ISA! Put the bookstore owners into ISA! Put all the buyers into ISA! ISA ISA damn you all!
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 23:02:04
There is a certain book those fellas hold dear that does not have the address of its author, but they don't seem to have issue with it...

written by myke, December 05, 2008 01:25:51
Dr Farish Noor is an intelectual exposing bad things about UMNO and BN goons. That's why whatever he does is under government eyes..

Kotor punya kerajaan BN, bau tahi anjing.