Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow RPK: ISLAM & THE MALAY PSYCHE

RPK: ISLAM & THE MALAY PSYCHE PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 10:13

Malaysia-Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin talks about Islam and the Malay psyche at an anti-ISA forum on December 1st, 2008. Raja Petra argues that detention without trial is against Islam but yet many Malays especially those in Umno support the ISA. He also focuses on issues that conflict with Islam but are practised by the hypocritical Umno/BN government.

Bravo, Pete! Simply brilliant lecture, great to see you in such excellent form :-)

Just for laughs, take a look at this video from Malaysiakini showing a bunch of Umno-sponsored pro-ISA protestors who assembled outside the Bar Council even as the Anti-ISA Forum was in progress...

READ MORE HERE: http://magickriver.blogspot.com/

written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:15:55
He who manipulates Religion for Political Gain should be punished. UMNO should be punished. Period !
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:17:02
Separation of State and Religion please !!
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 10:23:41
errrr Michael Chick, the manipulators are indeed waiting for punishment. From God. Meanwhile, they carry on.
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:31:28
Hey Siew Chin. Good to hear from you again... I think these UMNO dudes are Atheists. They act as if there is no God, and therefore use his Name as if there is no tomorrow...
written by Old Man, December 04, 2008 10:45:44
Sir RPK, those ISA zombies and enforcers should be given a dose of their own medicine before the ISA be abolished!
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 10:55:26
Hey Michael Chick, good to know you are safe! Aiya, we all fear God in our own way but it kinda seems he takes awhile to punish us so anything goes lah! somor he is all forgiving smilies/wink.gif
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 10:56:17
oops... i mean She is all forgiving smilies/grin.gif
written by Kuku Burung, December 04, 2008 10:58:03
Raja Petra: We cannot get rid of ISA unless we get rid of UMNO.

So what is there more to say? Everyone, repeat after me: Out with UMNO, out with UMNO, out with UMNO!
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:59:47
Dear Siew Chin, Yes, I managed to travel by Train to Vientienne in Laos to fly out of Thailand. It was a nightmarish 16 hr journey, with border crossings and all. But am glad that I'm out now. Bali, here I come....
UMNO will continue to Bastardise the name of God, and do it with impunity should Malaysia allow UMNO to stay alive for even one more day....
For once, and only once, I wish that Odin would strike UMNO down with a bolt of Lightning !!!
written by Democrats, December 04, 2008 11:06:53
The glaring panic among UMNO is so clear. They have used all in their arsenal to stay in power : ISA, MSM, religion, racial hatred, Parliament Speakers, Judiciary, PDRM, idiotic racist NGOs,etc.... and more, and none is working on their favor. In fact, people hate them more now than ever.

They are only waiting for the retaliation of the rakyat before they declare martial law and use their ultimate weapon - The military.
written by Iliyas, December 04, 2008 11:07:29
This is how we equate the boys and the men,the intellectual and the nincompoops.God willing,Pakatan Rakyat will show the way.Kudos to you Raja Petra.
written by DontPlayGod, December 04, 2008 12:30:43
How come the National Fatwa council did not make any rulings on the ISA? Most likely UMNO did not give any instructions to the council. Or does silence means approval of the ISA?

Now RPK has said that the ISA is against Islam. So what do you, National Fatwa Council, the mufti's, the Imams, the Ayatollah's, and the chief Imam of Islam Hadhari? Most likely, you lot have not received any instructions or approval from UMNO.
written by hellosunshine, December 04, 2008 13:11:28
Aiyoyo.........these dogs in the Malaysiakini video were totally lost and barking up the wrong tree with 'hak hak Melayu' when they were protesting for ISA. What has ISA got to do with Malay rights? Is this the best people they can come out with? God help Malaysia.
written by hakuna, December 04, 2008 13:23:52
Pete - nice tosee you man.

But I liked the pro ISA comedy and this is the first time I am hearing that it was meant to protect the Malay rights. So why are many Malays held under ISA? These guys could easily find employment in a circus by their antics.
written by asguard, December 04, 2008 14:41:37
UMNO leaders is like scribes and pharsies that live in Jesus time erected own custom made laws and don't followed the true teach of Islam...
written by densemy, December 04, 2008 14:45:31
Isnt just about everything that UMNO does anti Islam??
written by pillars, December 04, 2008 14:57:50
Brilliant RPK, simply brilliant. God bless you for opening my eyes. Just hope more and more people can open their eyes.
written by Spear Bing, December 04, 2008 15:22:40
You don't need a "high level intellectual" to grasp and understand RPK's message. Even a "low level intellectual" reader from MT can comprehend.

Islam is a way of life. It is more than a religion. It is also a religion of faith and EMOTION. That said, no matter how succinctly RPK posits his argument, explains in layman terms that ISA is an affront against Islam, the Malays still go against the very grain of the teachings of Islam, as so glaringly examplified by the Pro-ISA demonstrators just outside the Bar Council building.

This is all because of EMOTION. Or is it because they can choose not to believe in Islamic teachings at their own whims and fancies, and that they blindly follow the teachings of UMNO's version of Islam?

We are very confused!!!Can JAKIM please explain?
written by Angela Ooi, December 04, 2008 16:12:33
Dear Raja Petra, I always get lessons on Islam whenever you comment on it.
Those UMNOputras are blasphemous using Islam for their evil, corrupt personal gains and distorting it in the process. May they and their 7 generations after them, burn in hell forever and ever. AMEN
written by admiral Tojo, December 04, 2008 16:29:06
UMNO is munafeequn and unislamic. Period.

Salaam
written by jwars, December 04, 2008 17:26:18
dear YB RPK
i am blessed to watch the videos of YOU putting YOUR message across.
keep up yje good work bro
julian
written by Kotadamansara73, December 04, 2008 19:28:44
If that is the case, that Religion is everything and everything, then the hope of Malays to progress is very slim. VERY SLIM.
written by borneoman, December 04, 2008 21:02:04
he who play God belittle God and therefore deserved the lowest place in hell.that 'he'is non other than tuan melayu umno.
written by magickriver, December 04, 2008 21:54:03
Siew Chin said: "We all fear God in our own way but it kinda seems he takes awhile to punish us so anything goes lah!"

This all-encompassing, all-embracing, all-inclusive, all-knowing Original & Ultimate Entity we call superstitiously call "God" is not to be FEARED but recognized, appreciated, applauded, befriended, loved & wholeheartedly trusted. It is, after all, the Most Conscious Aspect Of Our Individual & Collective Selves!

In fact, the idea of PUNISHMENT itself ought to be reassessed. The whole point of "Creation" is to enable the Supreme Being or Prime Creator (present within us on the molecular, cellular, atomic & nuclear levels) to explore, experiment & fully experience Itself in all its omnidimensional complexity & simplicity - along with all its internal & external contradictions & paradoxes. In view of this, "error" need only be acknowledged & rectified for it to be rendered educational, instructive & therefore harmless. The concept of SIN & ETERNAL DAMNATION was perhaps a useful device to keep an unruly mob of semi-intelligent ruffians in line - but as each of us evolves & attains reflexive self-awareness, the harsh laws become irrelevant & fall away like so much dead skin.

written by Proarte, December 04, 2008 22:57:30
Of course PAS can be defeated. They were wiped out in 2004 on the promise of reformation by Pak Lah. These 'western ideals' were greatly supported by the Malays and they abandoned PAS.

Let us not put Malays in a box.
written by Jit Dharma, December 04, 2008 23:01:17
Ordinary Rakyat are also afraid of the ISA.These people who do not break
the law are afraid of it. Why? Shouldn't only the terrorist be afraid
of it? This is why it is wrong. The Rakyat know that 'anyone' can be caught by the use of this law. It does not matter one whit if you are guity orinnocent of any crime.It is enough for you to know that there is a law which those in power can destroy you with if they think you have stepped out of line.That is the menacing power of ISA and similiar laws.Justice is besides the point. Might decides what is right.Moral cowards hide behind such laws. It helps them to sleep easier to know that the power that they love more than their God or fellow man is protected with an iron fist and claw.Yes! they hate us, and love their power.Damn them all!!! Wherever they may be.
written by Apek, December 05, 2008 09:48:01
Thank you RPK for your illuminating talk.

I understand and agree with you that a large segment of our Malay brothers are passionate to the point of being irrational over Islam (some other persons are also irrational about their own religions mind you). This irrationality and absence of a logical questioning perspective have caused the Malay mind to be easily poisoned and easily manipulated to the point of stupidity.

Evidence of this can be seen from the irrationality and absence of a proper thought process in the reason of the "Pro-ISA" camp stationed outside the BAR Council. The reason for the continuation of the ISA (in their own words) is so that "hak-hak orang Melayu boleh dipertahankan dan Raja-Raja orang Melayu mesti dipertahankan". "ISA itu Hak Orang Melayu".

It is quite clear that the "Pro-ISA" camp have been fed on a diet of UMNO's insidious racial and (currently) insidious religious spew. The irrational passion of the Malays over Race and Islam gives no proper "compass" for the Malays to see the truth in this UMNO driven "storm" of rubbish. The same goes for any person who abandons right and proper reasoning - though such faculties have been provided.

Whilst I do agree with RPK providing such needed right and proper reasoning (although through Islamic principles), I worry that we may be going down a slippery road of testing each and every government Act, person and action with the rules set out in one religious book to see whether it is "halal" or it is "haram". We should not use Religious concepts to destroy one government (or one Act) only to face the inevitable use of Religion to destroy the one that replaces it. Thence, all future governments would be bound by ONE religious tenet in exclusion of other religious tenant (whatever that may be) and the people be no better off with continuous quarrel.

Rather I suggest that we educate the Malaysian mind to think more critically and more rationally and to accept some basic truths (presently found largely in Western expressions of free speech, democracy, freedom of the individual, of the Press, separation of powers, independence of the Judiciary etc. etc.) so that we may be able to make better choices for our people and our future. The goal (in my mind) is not to discredit the Government by testing it on religious grounds (although I must say "padan muka" to this opportunistic UMNO government for attempting to poison the Malaysian mind with religious spew), but to educate the Malaysian mind on basic human rights and right and proper reasoning.

This the government fears the most but sadly the battle lines have been drawn in favour of the government because the terrain is littered with irrational passion of race and Islam that are so easily exploited.

written by fikiran, December 06, 2008 08:30:34
How about a fatwah on ISI.