Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RPK: 99pc of rumours become fact in Malaysia

RPK: 99pc of rumours become fact in Malaysia PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 09:22
By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin said tonight that 99% of the rumours he reports on his website eventually turn out to be true.

Defending himself from a caller on a special interview with Riz Khan on satellite television station Al Jazeera who asked why he persisted in writing about rumours, he said time and time again he had been proven right with his stories.

“I have always been told that two things sell and that is sex and politics. And sex involving politics sells even more,” he quipped.

He also denied the perception that Malaysia Today was an opposition mouthpiece, pointing out that he had been critical of Pakatan Rakyat (PR) as well.

Raja Petra added that he would also not consider playing a role in government if PR succeeded in toppling Barisan Nasional (BN).

“I do not wish to be in government. I wish to be in a pressure group. I have joked that if Pakatan forms the government I will then join Umno,” he said.

Besides Raja Petra, the other guests on the show were playwright Jo Kukathas and journalist Kee Thuan Chye.

All three guests offered their respective views on a gamut of issues from censorship and the media to the use of the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar also joined the discussion by telephone and made a stout defence of the ISA.

Offering the government’s condolences to the people of India over the recent Mumbai attacks, he justified the continued existence of the ISA by saying the law was the reason why Malaysia had not suffered any major terrorist attacks.

He also contended that it was only what he described as a vocal minority of Malaysians who were against the ISA while the majority wanted safety and order in society.

Kukathas responded, however, to the minister’s arguments by pointing out that most of those who were ever arrested under the ISA were not terrorists.

written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 09:26:23
Why has Malaysia not issued a Fatwah on the Terrorists in Mumbai, or the Suicide Bombers at the American Embassy in Afghanistan?
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 09:34:59
That's because those are not the concerns of Muslim thieves, liars and murderers...

written by Democrats, December 04, 2008 09:36:40
and 99% of what you read in the MSM front sections are probably lies.....
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 09:41:58
Democrats, it's 99.99% lies in MSM. Even the weather report is a Lie !!!
written by Liberace, December 04, 2008 09:43:27
Only a "vocal minority" against the ISA? Ok, let's put it to the test. Let's have a referendum like they did in California to decide if gay marriage should be legalized. Put it to the vote and have every registered voter's voice on this matter put on record.
written by Dualties, December 04, 2008 09:47:21
Terrorists in Mumbai :

Syed Hamid Albar's indifferent attitude towards an organized country in delivering Malaysia free from terrorist activities actually have been busy with the rakyats and politicians who voice their opinion and exposure of the government's day-to-day management policies of the country. The Home Ministry is too caught up with what he can see but grossly refused to look into the unseen hands on the activities of terrorists' use of Malaysia preparing and launching of the next international terror strike.

It clearly indicates that the Home Ministry is refusing to accept that terrorists activities could be 'boiling from Malaysia'! The Home Ministry's philosophy is that to put as many rakyats and politicians who voice against BN equates to placing the country as the safest place to live in this part of the word.

Perhaps, the brewing activities of the terrorists in Malaysia continue to boil without the Home Ministry's detection - Malaysia is still the safest country to live in. What if the WHEN Terrorists strike in Malaysia in the near future.......... what is the excuse and justification for Syed Hamid Albar to say?

HE WOULD SAY, HE IS BUSY PROTECTING THE RAKYAT AND DIDN'T PAY ATTENTION TO THE BONA-FIDE TERRORISTS IN MALAYSIA.

If the terrorists strike in Malaysia, would Syed Hamid Albar resign due to guilty conscience?

written by RKKK007, December 04, 2008 09:53:31
Syed Albar, don't make the excuse by linking the ISA to the recent Mumbai bombing. You mean you lock RPK up as he might be a terrorist? Terrorist don't bomb you for no reason like in our Malaysia case, the "terrorist" is still up and around walking with no case and no ISA????
written by blackpea, December 04, 2008 09:58:29
michael chick

Even in Malaysia alot of people having reservation about the Fatwa they issue, what more would people outside Malaysia thinks about this bunch of people who trying to be Little Napolean creating attention.
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 10:00:36
If our politicians were true statesmen, patriotic to a fault, totally selfless and bend themselves backwards just to serve the rakyat... then there is nothing for YM RPK to write about! except for the sex part...but heh, if they do work that hard for the rakyat, we aint gonna deny them a bit of time-out are we?
written by Frankfurtguy, December 04, 2008 10:03:16
on what basis this Arab says "majority of Malaysian wanted ISA"??
give us your data, figures !!
If you don't have, don't act like an expert, but fooling yourself!
Like Liberace said,
put it to the test
let the rakyat take a vote on a referendum, if you dare, BarisanNasional scumbags!
written by temenggong, December 04, 2008 10:08:07
Here is another rumour.

The plans to change the govt is still on! Two deadlines have been missed; Sept 16 and Nov 30th. The plan now for the change in govt is after the umno elections, sometime around or after Christmas!

By new year, umno will be deregistered, as will all other race based parties.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 04, 2008 10:09:51
Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar also joined the discussion by telephone and made a stout defence of the ISA

U SHOULD CHANGE YR NAME TO BOTAK ISA SO YR CHILDREN WILL CURSE THEIR FATHER FOR GENERATIONS TO COME.
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:12:47
DearBlackpea, the point is that UMNO, (and everyone else who kisses their ass) is absolutely NOTHING and irrelevant outside the confines of Malaysia. From the tiny red dot down south to everywhere else in the World, UMNO is insignificant. They needed to psycho themselves by calling for "Ketuanan UMNO", coz no one else would. We all know that UMNO has the brains of a 6yr old child. Unfortunately, this orphan is playing with Religion, and Malaysian Oil money, and wields the ISA as their phallic security blanket.
So they feel good when they announce that "God told me to tell you..."
We all know that it is pure Bullshit !!

Peace
written by DreamLady, December 04, 2008 10:22:11
Hats off, Raja !!! You spoke your mind, you said what is truthfully right, you exercise your rights as an indvidual to voice forth your opinion without the fear of being discriminated.

A single soul like you could speak up on behalf of the millions of us, is is indeed an amazing performance!!!!

Thank you Raja Petra, for looking out for us !!!!
written by Apek, December 04, 2008 10:23:53
Dear Rozlan,

Because they are interrogating the captured terrorist.

It is a little hard to accept your rationalization of the Mumbai Bombing and pinning it on a worldwide conspiracy of India-USA relationship of putting Pakistan down (although nothing can be discounted). If however, we take your view, then it must also stand to reason that America and India are willing to sacrifice hundreds of innocent Indian lives jut to allow Syed Hamid Albar defend the unholy ISA in Malaysia. Strange reasoning don't you think.

The real facts are these. Syed Hamid Albar is an opportunist who uses every angle his got to keep the ISA so that UMNO can remain in power. Mumbai just being an opportune incident for him. I don't think Syed approached Manmohan Singh and said "Hey, can you organize a terrorist attack by the Pakistanis and have hundreds of your people masacred so that I can retain this very useful legislation in Malaysia... you see me and my party need to be in power". A little far fetched would you not say?

However, let me be clear. Syed Hamid Albar.

No amount of legislation on the same line as the ISA will EVER protect citizens from fanatical groups of people who have no regard for the law or of life in any regard. It is like saying that we shall all be safe from theft if we make theft a legal offence. If we are all law abiding, then I agreee with you. However, there are some madmen, despite the law, who will steal rob and murder for mere RM1.00 - DESPITE the Law.

So, Syed Hamid Albar, you are clutching at straws when you attempt to argue that we shall be safe because of the ISA. Pray tell, how many bombing threats have you really uncovered with the use of the ISA? I am afraid the facts speak for themselves. Syed Hamid is damned by the facts.

Comparing the fact that you and your party loots, plunders and steals from Malaysian citizens, I'll get rid of BN, do away with the ISA and take my chances with the terrorist!
written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 10:50:31
Dear Apek, in Malaysia, the Law is just a "suggestion"....
written by carribeanking7, December 04, 2008 11:00:28
Quote :
He (SH Albar)a lso contended that it was only what he described as a vocal minority of Malaysians who were against the ISA while the majority wanted safety and order in society.

MUNAFIQ..........MUNAFIQ>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>MUNAFIQ

Bare faced LIAR ! Vocal minority my bloody foot !

What majority is he talking about ? Is he talking about the paid mat rempits who recently held a pro-ISA protest ?

"The majority of Malaysians DO NOT WANT the ISA. A poll by Merdeka Centre has revealed that 70% of Malaysian poll respondents disagreed with the statement that "it is necessary to detain people without trial to safeguard national security"?"

We know exactly why they want to mantain the ISA

Reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was arrested under ISA for allegedly for her own protection,
(ironically we are yet to hear the outcome of the Police report she lodged against Ahmad Ismail for
criminal intimidation for suggesting that she be shot ? What happened PDRM ? Too busy breaking up candle light vigils ?)

Teresa arrested for flimsiest nonexistent reasons,

RPK arrested allegedly for insulting Islam ,ironically under a the draconian ISA that Islam does not approve of.

is UMNO that stupid ?....Yes & No.
They knew it would blow up in their faces but it was a trade off, to send a message for MP’s in BN
who had pledged to crossover, —we can arrest you without rhyme or reason.
Apparently the intimidation has worked so far.

Hey SH ALBAR, I Vijay Kumar, an ordinary citizen of Malaysia of average intelligence , challenge you to an online debate on the ISA.

written by 2edgedsword, December 04, 2008 11:18:01
The likes of Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo are clearly threats to the security of the country. How is it that they are immune to the ISA. Fascists and communists, what's the difference?
written by SamSan, December 04, 2008 11:24:52
The ex Foreign Minister, Botak who due to his inept and stupidity resulted in Malaysia loosing Pulau Batu Putik should be put in jail under ISA. The greatest threat to Malaysia's integrity and honour are these kinds of munafiks. I am praying that our beloved Sultan of Johor would take action in prosecuting these criminals whose actions or inactions resulted in our lost honour in loosing our Pulau Batu Burok soil and now the impending loss of the valuable and vital EEZ around the area. Our beloved Sultan of Johor should take action in protecting his beloved fisherman citizens who are going to loose their valuable fishing rights in that potential area around Pulau Batu Burok.
written by SamYap, December 04, 2008 11:42:19
The ISA should not be discarded just yet. Review it to prevent abuse of the Act and allow it to be used very sparingly to detain suspected terrorists and protect us, the rakyat from being terrorized.

Now is the time we should use it, to protect ourselves from the BN MPs who regularly terrorize the rakyat with racial epithets and threats of racial riots, raiding the public coffers to save mismanaged GLCs, and using the PDRM as their paid goons to beat the rakyat. Those acts against the rakyat are acts of terrorism. Even my Malay friends dare not let it be known they support Pakatan or simply just benci BN.

written by HHKim, December 04, 2008 13:24:46
We still leaders who can't think logically by comparing Mumbai incident and the need for ISA. We all fully aware that our ISA is used against our peaceful citizens who voiced their concerns on national issues, whereas ISA is meant to apply on terrorists.

If we have people like these terrorists in Mumbai, yes, by all means use ISA on them. I am sure all raayat who have the right thinking brain will support the government. But we have different applications here in Malaysia by the government.

written by Kopi37, December 04, 2008 13:40:33
Relating ISA to the Mumbai carnage was not the sole franchise of Botak Syed Hamid. It was his future boss Najib who had said it earlier when under the pressure of the journalist to comment. He was first to say that with the blessing of ISA, Malaysia stayed peace and free from terrorists, ISA is the guardian angel for Malaysians therefore it should be maintained! Syed Hamid had only said that he prepares to be unpopular to the perceptions of the rakyat, as along as he is a popular toady, a cheap sycophant to his boss, it doesn't matter he is an unpopular 'Home Minister'...what is important is he will still be a Minister! So he has to make sure he works to lick the ass hole of his future boss to serve his optimum pleasure, that's it!
written by Sinewy, December 04, 2008 14:34:50
This Syed Hamid Albar fellow claims that the majority of the Malaysians support him. He is one of those self serving big liars among the UMNO warlords. I dare this fellow to allow the citizens of this country to vote to see whether there is any majority support for ISA. Don't talk nonsense and expect the people to believe in him.
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 04, 2008 14:43:30
How I wish one day when I had the power to put Syed Hamid and his gang under ISA to taste his own medicine before it finally being repealed.
written by Stormquest, December 04, 2008 16:04:07
The ISA could not stop a C4 attack on a certain Mongolian lass,
so why then is Syed Hamid talking through his ass?
Crocodile tears he sheds, for Mumbai's residents
When none are shed for Malaysian Indian peasants.
ISA, he says, keeps us secure,
So why then are India's newspapers speaking of a Malaysian link, that makes us so unsure?

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/NewsBreak/20081130190330/Article/index_html
written by Cinakelate, December 04, 2008 16:47:56
Dear IbnAdbHalim,
No need to put him in ISA la, just kurong him in a lock up and give him the international standard food that he gave to Teressa for one week and we see how.
written by Sabahfan, December 05, 2008 00:55:43
Yes yes, this is one statement that is dammed true, and learning the history from Sabah, its probably....101 percent correct....

The sabah example...

1. Tun Mustapha was ruling as a dictator, he said.."dont listen to rumours" the next day... the local newspapers announce.."New party formed, it was BERJAYA who finally overthrew the USNO regime..

2. Then Harris took over from the dead leaders in the triple six tragedy...
Harris says... his rule is the best and the people should never listen to rumours.... Next day Pairin and his supporters walk out from Datuk Harris led meetings then to form PBS and thrashed them in the election.

3. Pairin refused to listen to rumours, next day the UMNO took over his third election win by buying his YBS millions to cross over to UMNO...

4. Now UMNO says, dont listen to rumours, we are the best party ever for the Malays... and last election, they nearly lost.

If not for the phantom votes, postal votes, sure KALAH punya useless fukking umno govt...

do i need to say more??>>>>