Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Rais: Sacking of Zaid is a lesson for all

Rais: Sacking of Zaid is a lesson for all PDF Print
Thursday, 04 December 2008 09:18

(The Malaysian Insider) The sacking of former Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim from Umno should serve as a lesson for other leaders in the party, Umno Supreme Council member Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said today.

He said party members and leaders should understand the party’s struggle and not resort to actions deemed to be extreme.

“If the council did not act, it would be seen as being toothless because the demeanour (of Zaid) was actionable,” he said when asked to comment on Zaid’s sacking from Umno.

Zaid was sacked from Umno yesterday for several actions which went contrary to the party principles, including attending opposition meetings and having talks with opposition leaders.

In Kota Kinabalu, Sabah Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun said Zaid’s actions of late did not reflect the qualities of an Umno leader genuinely championing the party’s cause.

“I feel there is no place in Umno for anyone who plays the double-crossing game. Our struggle must be clear even if we have differing views on any issue,” he said. — Bernama

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 09:21:32
Lesson from thieves, liars and murderers...

written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 09:24:56
I learnt that UMNO would do anything to stay in Power.
I learnt that UMNO practices Double Standards
I learnt that UMNO is making mockery of the Law
I learnt that UMNO needs to be removed immediately !!!
written by miracle, December 04, 2008 09:25:23
stupid move .. anyway its good for PR to welcome an intelligent and wise man ..
written by krising1, December 04, 2008 09:34:00
Rais! Rais! What lesson>? Is Zaid groveling and begging to be allowed to return to UMNO? He is glad that he is no longer associated with UMNOputras!
written by DreamLady, December 04, 2008 09:37:03
Rais, kau ingat Zaid hairan sangat nak jadi UMNO stooge??? kamulah orang yang tak bermaruah, konon nak bela nasib rakyat, tengok-tengok hanya pandai bodek sana , bodek sini..

SATU SEN PUN TAK BERGUNA!!!
written by gungadin, December 04, 2008 09:42:32
PR ignore these idiots, focus and work on what needs to be done to restore this country and get the message to the people. The people will vote these children out.
written by eskay, December 04, 2008 09:43:10
Rais: Sacking of Zaid is a lesson for all to truly understand now that UMNO betul betul is not for right thinking people. There must be something wrong for those who still stick to it smilies/wink.gif
written by humanist, December 04, 2008 09:44:55
Rais,

It is the evident that UMNO has fascist ideology.

Al.
written by Liberace, December 04, 2008 09:50:19
A lesson to whom? You actually think Zaid cares what you do? If he did, he would have toed the line and kept as quiet as a church mouse like you. Unlike you, Zaid does not need Umno to survive.
written by Democrats, December 04, 2008 09:51:49
Lesson? Hear that the rest of UMNOputras and BN members?

its a lesson how to get out of BN and UMNO, and especially MPs who wants to jump ship, just start attending opposition events and make contration remarks against BN. No guilt feeling and you wont be betraying your voters! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Dualties, December 04, 2008 09:57:41
RAIS: SACKING OF ZAID IS A LESSON FOR ALL

When your children told you the truth, you caned them, punished them and destroyed them of their demands so that they will take the lesson from you that whatever you said is the truth?

When you can consciously make a marked distinction between what is right and wrong with the country and have the gut-principle to declare the truth, we will respect you. As of today, you will never see the truth because the truth will be buried with you for fear of your wrong doings.

You have never admitted to your children when they were caned, punished and destroyed of their demands - it was due to your own grievous mistakes! How can you then be the Father of your own children which you should lead by example!

Similarly, you can't be a good Minister when you have erred in discharging your duties and responsibilities towards the rakyats whom have given you the authority. WE WILL REMOVE YOUR AUTHORITY IN THE NEXT ELECTION.
written by Counterpointer, December 04, 2008 09:59:11
And who do you think is going to learn the real lesson?

Rais and his bunch of corrUpted incoMpetent niNcompoOps, of course, at the Kuala Terengganu By-Elections.

It's like some half-wit trying to saw a tree and not forseeing the winds (winds of change, of course) blowing the tree and crushing to death the dim-wit.
written by HamChak, December 04, 2008 09:59:17
You orang, SEMUA HalfPastSix!
Berani to sack Nice & Honest people.
Last time, Mahathir talks Nonsence, you dare not sack him
Why? Why? Why?
Mahathir has done more damage to Umno than anyone.
Where were you then Rais? Tidur sama sama PM ahhh?
zzzzzzzz
written by Susanna, December 04, 2008 09:59:35
I am soooo glad you sack him. Because you are helping us taking the good sheep out of the black sheep. In UMNO only black sheep are not only not kicked out but glorified! The blacker the better! Because the more black and dark deeds they can dish and instigate racial issues the more hero they are! black and white is not their vocabulary. What is so different between UMNO and the Klu klux Khan group being so fanatically 'pure' about their race issues! Funny thing is KKK is truly pure, they are not and yet they dare to stir things up! Sacking is usually a negative thing but Zaid for you we congratulate your sacking because truly you are freed from the member slaving mentality.
written by Kopi37, December 04, 2008 10:10:11
“If the council did not act, it would be seen as being toothless because...Umno is well-known to be a sabre toothed zombie, we cannot allow Zaid to spoil it!"

"“I feel there is no place in Umno for anyone who plays the double-crossing game...except me, a Doctor fella, can only double cross or triple cross there is no problem! This is my 'Ketuanan, Ketuanan, Ketuanan you understand?"

Last but not least, How can Zaid talk to the opposition party, the more he talks, the more people will know Umno shits, though 90% are rumours......but...that 90% rumours have found to be the truths, Anwar said that! To me that's only perception!" - Said Rais Yatin.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 04, 2008 10:14:05
In Kota Kinabalu, Sabah Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun said Zaid’s actions of late did not reflect the qualities of an Umno leader genuinely championing the party’s cause.

THAT MUST BE THE JOKE OF THE DECADE. READ MY LIPS - UMNO HAS NO QUALITY, NO PRINCIPLE, NO HONOUR. JUST A BUNCH OF RACISTS, BULLIES, CRONIES ETC INTERESTED ONLY IN LINING THEIR POCKETS. MANY THANKS FOR SIEVING THE GOOD STUFF OUT OF THE BASKET OF ROTTEN APPLES.
written by tanhengken, December 04, 2008 10:17:52
it looks like everybody need to learn lessons except the almighty party. to them they had never made any mistakes and they know they never will.
written by MAMR, December 04, 2008 10:18:59
RAIS YATIM,
Untuk pengetahuan anda DATUK ZAID adalah saorang MENTERI yang bermaruah DAN SANGGUP MENYATAKAN PENDIRIAN NYA YANG SEBENAR DAN ADALAH TAK HAIRAN TAK BOLIH DITERIMA OLIH PEMIMPIN DAN PARTI YANG TERKENAL DENGAN AMALAN RASUAH SERTA MESTI IKUT CAKAP KETUA WALAUPUN YANG MEMIMPIN ITU SERBA KEKURANGAN DAN SERBA KECACATAN.
written by Iliyas, December 04, 2008 10:26:05
My fellow esteemed and learned commentators have very correctly place Rais in the highest of devils,that Satan would say"Welcome to my world".But what I would like to further add on is this Masidi Manjun character from Sabah.

While I was in Kota Kinabalu recently,a few Corporate friends of mind and myself decided to go for a drink at a pub frequented by businessman and tourist in downtown Kota Kinabalu,called Waterfront.While I sipped my Coca-cola,I noticed the flamboyant Masidi Manjun with his 8 inch Cigar,sipping his whiskey,[Chivas I think]and gorgeous ladies who just could not take their hands off him.Masidi Manjun was in cloud 9,his "raba-raba techniques"would have surely excited the ladies,let alone himself.This was a public place under the eyes of tourist and locals.This is UMNO AT IT'S BEST.

And Masidi Manjun has the cheek to talk about Zaid Ibrahim?Take a good look at yourself in the mirror,before you pass any judgment on others.UMNO Sabah semua pun boleh.
written by cahaya, December 04, 2008 10:40:15
He was sacked not because he is friendly with others in a different party. These insecure leaders sacked him because they felt embarassed by his focus on reform and his desire to build a better nation.

They were very uneasy because he recently explained Malaysia’s recent political history. He had revealed how their race-based policies had contributed to widespread corruption and “a political culture of promoting fear and division amongst the people”. http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/14777/84/

So they sacked him. But this sacking will backfire. Their sinking ship will go down even more quickly. More members will realise the sharp contrast between his integrity and their deceptive and intolerant ways.
written by tanwi, December 04, 2008 10:44:15
lesson for whom?

This is a painful lesson for BN. You lost an intellect like Zaid because you are not an intellect and only look at policies for your own gain. Zaid left because the Government is not agreeable to abolish the ISA (no lawyer would agree to the ISA) and the NEP (as a Malay he saw the policy as redundant).

Rais, you are the joker who likened Guantanomo to the ISA camp. Your intellect is dissapointing. Whilst i agree that Guantanomo does infringe on human rights, please dont forget that Guantanomo is used to house terrorists caught in Afghanistan, Iraq etc etc AND NOT US CITIZENS. So dont make idiotic comparisons like our beloved Home Minister who just idiotically said that ISA is in place to avoid situations like Mumbai.
written by mahkota, December 04, 2008 10:52:29
Zaid was sacked from Umno yesterday for several actions which went contrary to the party principles, including attending opposition meetings and having talks with opposition leaders.

So are those UMNO goons involved in talks with PAS some time ago gonna be sacked too? At least Zaid did it in public not like these cowards who did it in secrecy.
written by Kuku Burung, December 04, 2008 11:00:43
To me sacking of UMNO is the lesson for all -- includes PKR, DAP, PAS.
written by Krepot, December 04, 2008 11:14:44
The sacking of former Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim from Umno should serve as a lesson for other leaders in the party

Like we give a shit!
written by fireduck, December 04, 2008 11:24:02
Actually it is more like an honour to be kicked out of UMNO. It means you have arrived as a mature politician. It means you have been able to go above and beyond racial politics. It means you are able to transcend all those politicking and all those corrupt practices. It means you care about the future of the nation and of all Malaysians.

Anyway, who the heck is Rais to comment on this issue? He was not that great in his behaviour back in the 80's. Anyone still remember the Team A/Team B, UMNO Baru Semangat 46 episode? Where was Rais then? What was his role? Ah, ... go figure!
written by truthbespoken, December 04, 2008 11:29:17
Stupid UMNO! Stupid Rias! By sacking Zaid now, they have placed him safely on shore first! UMNO is a SINKING ship! The ship's hole will get bigger and bigger with each by-election that comes by. Let's watch.
written by AuntyG, December 04, 2008 12:11:02
Sinking ship, sinking ship (ship overweight with so much trash, filth, too big egos ...). Your Captain will out first when the ship hits the tip of the iceberg! leaving the rats to go down lock stock n barrell
written by JJFoo, December 04, 2008 13:25:42
It is a good lesson in showing the RAKYAT how intolerable, weak and pathetic UMNO has become.
written by asguard, December 04, 2008 14:34:54
Only one word... the truth hurts their ears!
written by Sinewy, December 04, 2008 14:42:53
Years ago I used to think that this Rais Yatim would be a very rational and fair person among the racist, arrogant and self serving UMNO warlods. It looks like the need for political survival always get the better of the person and today I have seen that he is no different than the rest of the UMNO warlords who always use race and religion to threaten others and pretend to be the saviour of the malays. They are only interested to safeguard their political power by using the race card at the expense of all.
written by teo siew chin, December 04, 2008 14:49:49
and the sacking of the BN govt in 5 states is a lesson for who? smilies/grin.gif
written by Kunta Kinte, December 04, 2008 15:45:37
Wrong Rais! Sacking would be a lesson if the UMNO head had sacked Ahmad from Penang. Zaid can't be bothered. Since they did not do it, just goes to show UMNO is biased corrupted liar. So Rais did you too learn a lesson from the 5 states that BN lost?
written by tino_chan1988, December 04, 2008 16:04:20
Yes, of course.

A lesson that if you dont obey the master, you will be rid off, even though the objective is honourable.
written by Fuminari, December 04, 2008 16:22:11
the lesson from all these top umno goons are,umno does not allow whistle blower,righteous character.....hence,clear cut,it is a party that only caters thieves,robbers,bandits,corrupts,murderers n munafiq.
written by thumb, December 04, 2008 16:43:16
Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim you talk as if Datuk Zaid Ibrahim is begging to stay in umno. We all know why you fells want to stick in umno, opportunity to make money, that's all.
written by mikewang, December 04, 2008 17:46:52
Datuk Masidi Manjun said Zaid’s actions of late did not reflect the qualities of an Umno leader genuinely championing the party’s cause.

------------------------
That's the problem with UMNO.
They are always championing the party's cause of how to enrich themselves.
They have, for a long time, not been championing the people's cause.
written by Stormquest, December 04, 2008 19:59:04
The Bernama article speaks of lessons on the “party’s struggles” and “party’s principles”.

What struggle might that be? If anything, ordinary Malaysians have been struggling under their stifling rule for 51 years.

What principles are they talking about? Principles like threatening others with keris’s, lying, cheating, double standards, etc?

Zaid Ibrahim is an exemplary Malaysian, and a class act. He is well beyond the intellectual capacity of Keris Klux Klan, who have yet to evolve from the primordial slime.
written by sarawakian, December 04, 2008 21:21:57
how UMNO treats it own members show their mentality. their members are not allowed to mingle with opposition they same way they try their utmost best to prevent Malays form mingling with non-Malays.

and everyday they sing the same tune that we should ALL work together to fight the looming world recession. what they meant was work ONLY with people who think like UMNO only and no one else.

God save Malaysia.