Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Syed Hamid: ISA keeps the peace

Syed Hamid: ISA keeps the peace PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 December 2008 09:16

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia is one of the few countries that is safe and secure from threats of any form and Malaysians want it kept that way, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said.

He attributed the peace and security which Malay-sians enjoy as being due to the Internal Security Act.

"We must not look solely at individual rights, but at the interest of society at large. (To do so) we have taken preventive actions (under the ISA)," he said by phone on the Riz Khan Show on Al Jazeera last night.

"Malaysians must be responsible for their actions.

"Whatever we do must be in conformity with the laws. (And) Malaysia is one of the few countries that has not suffered terrorist attacks."
The guests for the 30-minute show were blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin; director of Instant Cafe Theatre Jo Kukathas and journalist and playwright Kee Thuan Chye.

Raja Petra said he would not join the government no matter who led the country. "I do not wish to be in the government. I wish to be in the group that pressures the government."

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, December 04, 2008 09:20:33
Malaysia is also a country where high level thieves, liars and murderers are safe and secure from any threat of justice...

written by michael chick, December 04, 2008 09:22:40
"We must not look solely at individual rights, but at the interest of society at large..."

These are Communist words !!! And look at The Malaysian Great Leap Backward
Gosh, who can stomach this any longer should have their head examined !!!

5hit Al-Blur should commit suicide !!!
written by miracle, December 04, 2008 09:23:40
yeah rite.. the peace of ammo creatures of their's murderer, liars and corrupter ... and from the opposition from making changes to the now so called govrtmt ..
written by DreamLady, December 04, 2008 09:40:58
ISA for keeping peace? My foot !!!!

Your version of ISA : VICTIMIZE THE INNOCENCE; and

PROTECT THE CULPRITS !!!!
written by eskay, December 04, 2008 09:46:04
ISA keeps the peace for UMNO, but ruins our country. smilies/angry.gif
written by Democrats, December 04, 2008 09:54:58
If so, the ISA should be used against you first. I think you are a bigger threat to this country's peace and stability compare to any pirates, taliban, mujahideen group, etc....
written by Liberace, December 04, 2008 09:56:26
For 70 years, there was "peace" in the USSR. Is this the kind of peace you're talking about? The kind that keeps tyrants in power and the ordinary citizens in misery?
written by Dualties, December 04, 2008 10:03:04
Seri Syed Hamid Albar:

" Malaysia is one of the few countries that is safe and secure from threats of any form and Malaysians want it kept that way"....................... EVEN TO THE EXTENT OF ALLOWING TERRORISTS TO USE MALAYSIA as an launching vehicle for international terror strike?????
written by AuntyG, December 04, 2008 10:09:06
Shit Alblurr says the peace n security Malaysians enjoy is due to ISA?
Tell us Alblurr, how many terrorists are under your ISA??? Many "political terrorism" acts are incited by you lot of goonies/croonies and then you simply taruh the ISA to 'I Simply Arrest' and detain people who dont sing your tune "for their own security", thank you!!!
Chinese say "man is you, devil is also you" - Niamah !!!(borrow this famous signature from a blogger aah ....)
written by Hakim Abdullah, December 04, 2008 10:14:13
Syed Hamid,

Not much difference between you and the terrorists....apart from them using explosives and you using ISA just to make your point!
written by yeechut, December 04, 2008 10:20:12
ISA is there to protect the sharks, bandits and Ali Babas that are robbing the country blind!
written by lamakawan, December 04, 2008 10:20:48
Syed HAMID, YOU ARE not a good minister. You do not apply the ISA for everyone. You only select the innocent opposition members to apply ISA. You are a double headed snake. TEWNIAMA.
written by Apek, December 04, 2008 10:29:33
Syed Hamid Albar, as I have said earlier,

No amount of legislation on the same line as the ISA will EVER protect citizens from fanatical groups of people who have no regard for the law or of life in any regard. It is like saying that we shall all be safe from theft if we make theft a legal offence. If we are all law abiding, then I agreee with you. However, there are some madmen, despite the law, who will steal rob and murder for mere RM1.00 - DESPITE the Law.

So, Syed Hamid Albar, you are clutching at straws when you attempt to argue that we shall be safe because of the ISA. Pray tell, how many bombing threats have you really uncovered with the use of the ISA? I am afraid the facts speak for themselves. Syed Hamid is damned by the facts.

Comparing the fact that you and your party loots, plunders and steals from Malaysian citizens, I'll get rid of BN, do away with the ISA and take my chances with the terrorist!
written by Delima25, December 04, 2008 10:31:12
Al Blur,
ISA does not keep the peace. ISA keeps people who love Malaysia enough to voice their dissent in Kamunting so that the mob that controls the Malaysian purse-string can continue to do as they like with our money.
The moment ISA is gone, there is no way the present leaders can hide from all the accusations circulating on the Net but which the MSM under the government keeps away from its readers. We Malaysian are living in 2 dimensions, if we want to read all the rosy things about our country, MSM like the Star, NST etc are the best place as they provide the best fiction writers in the country. If you want the truth, you can throw away the MSM papers and go to the Net where incidentaly, most of the sites are free.
Down with ISA and all the crooks who are propping it up for their own selfish reaons. Hidup Malaysia and God Bless Our King!
written by kurangfaham, December 04, 2008 10:53:12
Hoi! Botak awak tak ada rambut malah otak awak poun sudah karat, sebab itulah awak boleh megeluarkan kenyataan yang bodoh ini. Jika tada ISA Malaysia lagi aman. Jangan ingat rakyat kini semuanya bodoh. hanya orang-ptang UMNO sahja yang bodoh betul.
written by Kuku Burung, December 04, 2008 11:01:57
To keep the peace in Malaysia, we need to get rid of this moron botak and the najis.
written by unomalaysia, December 04, 2008 11:03:20
Yes, Botak, when you become a long staying guest at Hotel Kamunting, there will be peace.
written by capcomangel, December 04, 2008 11:11:30
agree. put he in ISA. Malaysia will be peace. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by lynn, December 04, 2008 11:12:38
syed hamid,

no one respects you. that is pretty obvious.
someday, in the near future, you will be charged for your crime of abuse of power.

start marking your calendar today.
written by batsman, December 04, 2008 11:23:14
munafiq.. munafiq.. munafiq
written by fireduck, December 04, 2008 11:26:53
As long as you did not and do not take action and ISA the likes of Ahmad Ismail and Toyo, then you have no right to preach 'ISA keeps the peace' crap to us, Syed Hamid!

It's plain double standards political persecution of the worst sort.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 04, 2008 12:23:46
Syed Hamid: ISA keeps the peace

BOTAK, ITS MORE LIKE KEEPING YR BLOOMING JOB AND MAKING YRSELF RELEVANT
written by Vincent, December 04, 2008 12:34:06
ISA STAYS.........UMNO IS SAFE.
written by cllim123, December 04, 2008 12:44:40
Hitler kept peace. Stalin also kept peace. Mao Tse Tung also kept peace. Then what kind? There is peace even in a chicken coup but there is no freedom. Compare the peace in US under Abraham Lincoln and JF Kennedy. syed Hamid, talking nonsense again.
written by JJFoo, December 04, 2008 13:10:44
Rakyat, please help to remember, before the ISA is being scraped or outlawed, the honour for the “Last Detainee of ISA” must be reserved for this “Botak”.
written by Xerxes, December 04, 2008 13:47:40
"...He attributed the peace and security which Malay-sians enjoy as being due to the Internal Security Act. "

Yes, except when you abuse it and made stupid decisions to detain the Sin Chew reporter "for her own safety", Teresa Kok for false rumours of stopping azan prayers and RPK to shut him up to prevent him from spilling the beans on the dirty deeds of your UMNO big wigs.

Botak, you can deny until you are blue in the face and you develop hernias but you will convince no one. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely and the ISA in your hands is clear proof of this.

written by ylcc, December 04, 2008 13:48:32
Difference between terrorists and corrupted UMNO leaders.
Terrorists do it openly, and UMNO leaders do it on the sly! Both fall under the category of Syed H Albar's ISA!!
written by Sinewy, December 04, 2008 14:52:16
For heaven sake this Syed Hamid Albar talking bulls. It should be the clean, honest, dedicated, efficient and intelligent enforcement agencies like the Police and the Millitary with outstanding integrity that will provide the peace for the country and her citizens. No ISA will stop any terrorist to bomb our country if they have a cause to do so. Fortunately there is none.
written by thor, December 04, 2008 17:11:11
Here we go again, ugly botak with bull in his mouth, spinning tales out of control. This country is peaceful is because its people from all races, MALAYSIANS, are peaceful lot despite the efforts make by the wolves from AMENO and its Insignificants Others to divide and rule by creating fear and jealousy and disharmony. This they do for one and one purpose only to maintain their grip on power and to ensure the gravy train stops are for them.

Let us look at the oil price for a glimpse of wat is trully in Be End's heart if its does hve a heart for MALAYSIANS. Increase one by a hugh amount of 78cts one goal while decreasing by 6 or 7 times that could only manages to reduce by its net effect of a mere 2cts while oil price has dropped from USD96 to USD50. By their gross incompetence it burdens our people and this so call "competent" nincompoop, like this ugly botak, the white hair joker and d idiot who bought rice from neighbouring country at higher prices sitting comfortably in their offices creating more anxiety for the people.
U idiots who r in power so be thankful for the peace loving nature of our people and the blessing of GOD in providing for us plentiful natural resources which u WOLVES are robbing from MALAYSIANS. Insaf lah for we do not take anything from this world to the next where our GOD will judge us.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by anakperlis, December 04, 2008 23:47:04
Haramjada, si botak nak tipu lagi ISA keeps the peace utk si haramjada BN/UMNO saja.