Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Bogged down by negativity

Bogged down by negativity PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 December 2008 14:38

How do we innovate if we constantly have to think of whether our souls can survive? What new things can we discover if we’re constantly told to take no risk?

MARINA MAHATHIR, THE STAR

We need to change our culture from a disabling one to an enabling one. But, first, we need to change those in charge of reform.When you have children growing up, part of the challenges of parenthood is to ensure that they make their way safely in the world without being so protected that they can never be independent.

While we warn them of the many dangers out there, we also want them to be curious and creative so that they may learn to be innovative.

Incurious people or those unwilling to take risks never made great scientific discoveries or found solutions to the world’s problems.

To do that, they must have the freedom to think and to explore the world around them. They must live in an environment that nurtures that curiosity rather than suppresses it, that allows expressions of ideas rather than beats them down.

When I look around our current environment, I wonder how we are ever going to produce that kind of citizen. Every day, we are told about the great many things we cannot do, rather than what we can do.

Our emphasis is to take the same old course in life, to keep our heads down and ask no question. We think of those who see things differently, who ask awkward questions and will not take no for an answer, as aberrations, rebels or sometimes even apostates.

When Barack Obama made his victory speech, his simple message of “Yes We Can” struck a chord even with non-Americans. It was a message that was positive and full of hope. Yet some leaders are not trying to fill us with that optimism, that while times are hard we can still overcome it if we work together.

Instead, we see petty issues being made gargantuan and a constant negativism being touted. The good and the upright are the ones who sit obediently and demand nothing while the evil and the lost are those who demand answers to life’s problems and reject simplistic ones. Everything is a big no-no; life feels like a giant minefield we have to navigate, lest one wrong move results in us being blown to pieces.

How do we innovate if we constantly have to think of whether our souls can survive? What new things can we discover if we’re constantly told to take no risk?

How do we solve the big problems of the world when we are constantly being distracted by minutiae?

The polio vaccine would never have been found if Dr Jonas Salk had not discovered that injecting someone with dead poliomyelitis viruses would cause the body to produce antibodies against it.

The result of this discovery is that thousands of people all over the world were saved from this crippling disease. A few years later Dr Albert Sabin discovered the non-invasive form of immunisation by giving children polio drops.

These types of discoveries would not have happened if these two people had not used their brains to find creative solutions. But imagine if someone had told them that they needed to get dispensation from some religious authority first or they lived in an environment where thinking of new ways to solve a problem was discouraged?

Despite 50 years of efficacy, as late as 2003, some Nigerian Muslim authorities saw it fit to make unfounded claims about the polio drops, resulting in this easily eradicable disease spreading to 12 new countries within 18 months.

How do we expect our children to find the next big thing, perhaps a cure for AIDS, when they live in such an un-nurturing environment? When the mainstays of policy are not sound and rational research but personal whims and fancies which brook no dissent from anyone else?

Perhaps that is the real reason behind our inertia regarding reforming our education system. Why should we change it to one that makes our children think, because then they will ask even more awkward questions.

Perhaps we realise that in order to reform our education system, we have to first reform those of us who are in charge of that reformation.

And those people are notoriously unwilling to do so because once that is done, it will be like opening Pandora’s Box.

Imagine, suddenly lots and lots of young people will be asking endless questions! And we might not be able to answer them, or worse, tell them they should not be asking such questions at all.

Yet, among a thousand annoying questions, there might be one really brilliant one that lets us think in a new way. By not allowing the many, we may never find that one that can change our lives for the better. What a loss that would be!

We need to change our culture from a disabling one to an enabling one. But it won’t happen if we allow the negativists to rule.

written by truthbespoken, December 03, 2008 14:58:14
The main problems we have in Malaysia are from the UMNOputras, ultra Malays and unenlightened religionists. These people are prone to shouting down on other Malaysians with the "Don't question this, Don't question that" mentality! They are Malaysia's social and knowledge barrier-builders! When will they ever learn, Marina?
written by cahaya, December 03, 2008 15:17:57
Good observations. Yes, we need to develop a culture that enables all young Malaysians to achieve their full potential. Sadly, we have too many narrow-minded and insecure old leaders do not want young people to explore alternative ideas. They prefer them to be "katak di bawah tempurong" (frog under the coconut shell).
written by Mr Smith, December 03, 2008 15:19:54
If Marina had attended any government department meeting she will be amazed even more. The boss speaks and the entire hall keeps quiet, while nodding their heads to all that is said by their chief. It's a monologue.
Question Time. All is well. No Questions, and they disperse for refreshment.
One director once told we, who dare question the boss or comment negatively on any government policy. Matilah kita!
written by jchantw, December 03, 2008 15:22:06
"part of the challenges of parenthood is to ensure that they make their way safely in the world without being so protected that they can never be independent"

Isn't that the exact opposite of the present UMNO NEP?
When are 'bumiputras' going to be independent if they are still being spoon fed after 51 years of independent?
Can 'bumiputras' honestly say "Yes we can" without the spoon feeding?
written by batsman, December 03, 2008 15:46:04
On the one hand - "Malaysia Boleh". On the other hand - bully people into submission and take charge of everything. Negativity is even built into motivation. It is the UMNO way. UMNO needs to change or be removed.
written by Admiral Tojo, December 03, 2008 16:07:44
The process of making the Malays not being able to think and reason spanned many years. Now suddenly you are faced with these monsters that you created. This is the creation of UMNO and Barisan National. MCA and MIC are equally to be blamed.

Most have grown to be bigots, racists and sectarians. Coupled to this, Religion has been made tools for the end game. Now, if you go against UMNO, you are going against GOD. So much so UMNO's law is above that of GOD's, such as the ISA.

To correct all the above, something really drastic needs to be done. I know what this action is, do you?

Peace
written by temenggong, December 03, 2008 16:19:46
To correct all the above, something really drastic needs to be done. I know what this action is, do you?

I do.
written by teo siew chin, December 03, 2008 17:12:02
"To correct all the above, something really drastic needs to be done. I know what this action is, do you?"
-------------

I do too.
written by Whatif, December 03, 2008 17:57:51
"To correct all the above, something really drastic needs to be done. I know what this action is, do you?"

I don't. Pray tell...
written by asguard, December 03, 2008 21:22:56
For UMNO its just the opposite of yes we can to no we can't do that! That has been their favorite tagline for decade...
written by cruzeiro, December 03, 2008 21:24:32
Marina,
The issues you mention are for Muslims to deal with, and hence, I shall refrain from commenting on them.

One thing never ceases to amaze me - the level of reverence accorded to Ulamas (regardless of credentials) by leaders & people among Muslims.
This reverence is seen only among the "indoctrinated" in other schools of thought.

The only way things can change is, when people start questioning opinions of "godmen", be they right or wrong through open debate/ intellectual discourse. But in Malaysia, the holy mantra is "Don't Question"!
Until then, good luck.
written by wood, December 03, 2008 23:31:36
Marina, at the way things are developing , unless there is a serious, sincere, honest, committed ..... change, I see we are leaving a lousy place for the young and old in the future.
written by Admiral Tojo, December 04, 2008 16:32:22
The slaves must be set free, slaves of their minds, put there by Mullahs, Priests, Rabbiis, Monks and what have you.

Religion, in itself, is a crime against the greatness of this GOD created system of the universe.

Therein lies the solution.

Peace