Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow IGP's statistical sleight-of-hand to explain away worsening crime index

IGP's statistical sleight-of-hand to explain away worsening crime index PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 December 2008 14:21

Call on all BN and PK MPs to take a common stand in Parliament tomorrow to reject Musa Hassan's ridiculous ploy to explain away the worsening crime index with a statistical sleight-of-hand by claiming that it is purely a problem of misperception

Malaysians are shocked that the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan is deadly serious with his ridiculous ploy to explain away the worsening crime index with a statistical sleight-of-hand by claiming that it is purely a problem of misperception by Malaysians, tourists and investors.

What is outrageous is that the Cabinet and the National Economic Council could be browbeaten so easily by the IGP on Tuesday to accept such a ridiculous ploy, to the extent that this has been adopted as the official policy position as to be publicly enunciated by the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak two days ago.

Musa has claimed that figures show that Malaysia is a relatively safe country with 772 crimes for every 100,000 residents in the country. This ratio compares favourably with Hong Kong where there are 1,166 cases for every 100,000 residents; Japan 1,569 cases and Australia 4,470 cases.

Taken as a whole, the statistics showed that only Singapore with 704 cases per 100,000 residents had a safer environment.

It is a reflection of the intellectual inadequacy and poverty of the Cabinet Ministers and National Economic Council members that they could be so easily bamboozled by the IGP with suspect statistics and data.

The statistics given by the IGP to show that Malaysia is safer than Japan and Hong Kong are most misleading and unacceptable, as different definitions are used as to render a proper comparison quite useless.

What is needed is a proper comparison of the crime statistics for the three countries.

For instance, homicide per 100,000 population is 1.09 cases in Japan, 0.26 cases in Hong Kong but 2.12 in Malaysia; while rape per 100,000 population is 1.62 in Japan, 1.54 in Hong Kong while in Malaysia it is 11.47. For robbery per 100,000 population, it is 4.78 for Japan, 17.56 for Hong Kong while 90.49 for Malaysia.

With these shocking statistics about violent crimes for the three countries, how could the IGP be so irresponsible as to mislead the Cabinet and the National Economic Council to believe that Malaysia is safer than Japan and Hong Kong?

If the Cabinet Ministers and National Economic Council members can so easily buy the bluff of the IGP, I challenge them to walk the streets of Johore Bahru and Kuala Lumpur for a day without protection - when they would have no qualms about safety in walking the streets of Tokyo and Hong Kong without protection for a day!

I call on all BN and PK MPs to take a common stand in Parliament tomorrow to reject Musa Hassan's ridiculous ploy to explain away the worsening crime index with a statistical sleight-of-hand by claiming that it is purely a problem of misperception and to demand full police accountability, responsibility and transparency for the galloping crime situation in the country where Malaysians, tourists and investors have lost their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

Lim Kit Siang

written by ahmadneil, December 03, 2008 14:28:28
Musa Hassan,remember what the doctor told you when you lay half dead in National Heart Institute.'Do not lie and if you lie again your arteries will burst like a balloon .'
written by PRman, December 03, 2008 14:32:27
Thanks for the breakdown, YB LKS! Public can digest the actual figure, and breakdown ourselves if the facts were presented to us, without the bias and ignorant judgement by the incapable leaders.
written by chebella, December 03, 2008 14:35:02
musa hassan is taiko of all the criminal bosses in malaysia or course it is just a matter of perception i also have my perception i fear the cops more than i fear the criminals
written by Kunta Kinte, December 03, 2008 15:03:44
Musa Hassan is a criminal himself so of course he won't understand anything about the severity of crimes committed in the country. And just look at who is backing him up. Another criminal. Both criminals at work!
written by whlau, December 03, 2008 15:11:29
This is only one of the statistics in Malaysia that can be played around. I shudder to think what the others might be, although most of us know that the figures given by our incompetent powers-that-be running this country is anything but the truth! Inflation(you and I know is not the truth,except the government), FDI investments foreign reserves even the electoral rolls. what else? I don't know about you but I don't trust these figures.

written by alpha100, December 03, 2008 15:13:42
Yes! Crime going to reduce esp in housing estate. Why? cos more and more household got to provide at least RM40/month for security in their housing estate! Why? They can't rely on the police anymore! More and more housing estate (old or new) are looking into being gated in someway.
In future, all new housing estate I guess will have one fixed maintenace cost to pay monthly - security cost!
written by MalaysiaBaru, December 03, 2008 15:17:50
the Crime rate quoted for Malaysia is for serious crime while that quoted for Hong Kong and Japan include white collar crime and minor offences. Different benchmark. smilies/angry.gif
written by Kamikaze, December 03, 2008 15:19:21
No wonder is so unsafe. Our IGP is still sleeping, thinking Malaysia is safer than Hong Kong, Australia and Japan. So no action was taken to beef up the security.

How can we have this kind of IGP. Well, that's BOLEHMAN in our BOLEHLAND
written by cheekymate, December 03, 2008 15:22:04
1.Ask how many females have been a victim of hand bag snatching. I have been a victim of this crime.
2.What do we do when we get into our car? We lock our car IMMMEDIATELY.
3.The knife point robbery at traffic lights are rampant. I have again been a victim of these crooks.
4.Three of my immediate neighbours have had breaks ins/robbery.
5.Among my ten closest friends and relatives, four of them have had their cars stolen.

IGP, get real. We are not stupid and the frequent occurrence of these rampant crimes speak for itself. Ask your wife to go about everywhere without the protection of her body guards. I am sure she will have her own tale to tell within a month.
written by manic_annie, December 03, 2008 15:38:36
Thanks YB LKS!
Look at how our country is in ruins when placed in the hands of the crooks.
written by SCM, December 03, 2008 15:48:46
This is the same clown that said Hindraf is a terrorist group just because one of its members said that he will fight on bravely like a tiger.

This shit-head is a known thug in uniform. Just see how the police behave in public, especially when they had a few drinks. Many of the brutal crime are committed by police personnel or ex-policemen. They are trained to be gangsters. That's why they have no problems blowing up an innocent girl to bits with C4. You thug Musa!
written by batsman, December 03, 2008 15:59:28
Malaysian David Copperfield? or just mafia in uniform?
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 03, 2008 16:24:41
Next that evil Musa will suggest and recommend that due to the large numbers of criminals and over congestions of prisoners, all these criminals should be set free so that his overworked police force can start afresh with zero crime.
And that Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis Home Minister will immediately proclaim this as a very “smart” idea.

Another Malaysia first and Malaysia Boleh!
written by sydput, December 03, 2008 17:09:07
musa himself is a criminal. what do you expect when a criminal heads a police force?
written by arazak, December 03, 2008 17:25:57
Remember,they have to close the Chow Kit's beat station because the mafia there is beyond control and endengering PDRM personnell? Well,I have never heard of such things happening in Tokyo and Hong Kong!

In Malaysia, the line is blur between the mafias and the men in blue. You can never know which one is which!
written by lamepug, December 03, 2008 18:39:34
some body going to get kicked in igp office report department for giving such figure to his/her boss to present and the boss also one brainless s2p pirate that do not know how to make comparison. imagine such brainless s2p person to lead the force. no wonder we don't feel the peace nowsday.
written by educationist, December 03, 2008 19:49:21
If Musa can use statistics to lie to the Cabinet and the National Economic Council and get away with it, we know the sort of leaders we have.
So, is it any surprise we are lagging further behind Singapore, Taiwan and South Korea?
Musa can claim what he wants, the rakyat knows better-from bitter first hand experience or from reports in our dailies as to how safe our streets are!
And, coming from the IGP himself! How shameless!!
written by Uncorruptible, December 03, 2008 20:22:44
The igp musang Hassan, is under the payroll of the gangsters in MALAYSIA, an allegation he has not yet denied. Police beat bases pack up under his instructions because the conditions are "dangerous". How can this man be allowed to carry on working?
written by asguard, December 03, 2008 21:20:04
As you already known that Police and government loves to lies to the public let it be on any matters pertaining to security! They can't be bother as long their house is guarded by security personnel that should be enough while ignore the real harsh realiti faced by the public everyday reports theft here and there, broken in house, murder, rape...
written by arifmr, December 03, 2008 21:44:49
Too late LKS.. I already change my perception I feel safe now after changing my perception; Now I don't need to walk my daughter to school every morning (the school gate is less than 50 meters from my house) and safe myself at least one hour of precious sleep
Hmmm.. what my wife have got to say about this. she need perception's changing
written by arifmr, December 03, 2008 21:53:45
Dang! Wife said I still have to wake-up at 7 and walk the girls until she said otherwise or until the culprits responsible for Nurin & Sharlinie were caught and put out for good

sigh!!! Musa should get all those posters remove or else it going very difficult for my wife to change her perception
written by arifmr, December 03, 2008 21:57:49
She said "Jangan nak mengada-ngada dengar cakap Musa pembohong tu; anak-bini dier pun ada orang escort abang tau tak.. bla.. bla.. bla.. (censored)"
written by arifmr, December 03, 2008 22:01:16
If Musa think that by producing this stats people would feel safe He's more stupid than I think he is; and the Ministers who quote the stats 2x5 saja lah
written by Tan Tan, December 03, 2008 22:32:08
HK only has a population of 7million and malaysian got more than 23millions...so even by times the number of case per 100000 ppls. Msia is already 17 thousand cases whereby HK is 8 thousand.

I lived in HK, Singapore and Australia. No way Malaysia is safer. As mentioned by LKS, robbery, raped and homicide in Malaysian is a lot higher!

In Singapore, HK and Australia, the economy crime like corruption that account to their high number whereby Msia figures doesn't include that, if we did include our corruption crime, trust me....we r really bad.

Trust me, woman in Singapore, HK and Australia, can wear sexy and walk around in the late nite and no one bother them. I cannot say the same for Malaysia.

Australia got very high rate crime because of fighting which Malaysia police force dun bother to record our statements. So not true reflection.

We got robbed everyday so easily in malaysia and this dun happen in HK, Singapore and Australia.

I am wondering why I pay tax which use to pay the police in Msia....they r lousy.
written by wood, December 03, 2008 23:36:24
Perhaps the guy is just telling a JOKE so no need to get so upset and surprised ! Just wonder what the Japanese are thinking when they hear Japan is a more dangerous place to live than in Malaysia.

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Aming, December 04, 2008 00:02:15
A gated community is proof of absolute failure and distrust of the Police. It is not a mere perception but a real and tangible fear of residents' safety as they have to pay monthly fees for this extra security service.

written by ROBERTNGTG, December 04, 2008 08:57:25
IGP's statistical sleight-of-hand to explain away worsening crime index

HE HAS PERFECTED THE ART OF MISLEADING AND MISINFORMATION FROM NONE OTHER THAN OUR VERY OWN HOUDINI TYRANT.