Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Zaid and Umno free of each other... at last!

Zaid and Umno free of each other... at last! PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 December 2008 10:54

His sacking from Umno will allow him to follow his dreams. His sacking will allow Umno to finally get rid of a politician who was never one of them.

The Malaysian Insider

It may sound like a cliché but Umno's decision to expel Datuk Zaid Ibrahim from the party is a win-win solution. For the ruling party, it ends a painful charade which started in March 2008 when the lawyer cum politician was made a senator and appointed to the Cabinet as the de facto Law Minister.

From the word go, it was obvious that he and other Umno politicians did not have much in common.

He spoke the language of a reformer, behaved at times like a social activist and often found himself in the same pack as Pakatan Rakyat politicians and the Bar Council.

In truth, he was tolerated in the early days because the party reeling from the shock results of Election 2008 had more pressing issues at hand.

It was still coming to grips with a stronger Opposition and the vexing question of whether Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should remain as party president and Prime Minister.

The clarion call at that point was party unity. So everybody put up a facade of getting along with each other.

But privately, the whispering campaign against Zaid among senior Umno officials, including ministers, started in May.

They were uneasy with his battering ram approach in reforming the judiciary and dismantling the Internal Security Act.

Several Umno ministers blamed him for the ex-gratia payment which the government made to the judges who were either sacked or suspended during the judicial crisis in 1988 and the decision to make public the Royal Commission's report on the V K Lingam video clip.

The report implicated a host of prominent individuals including Umno secretary-general Tengku Adnan Mansor and former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

By July, Zaid cut a lonely figure in the Cabinet. He was being attacked in Parliament by Umno MPs, behind closed doors by Umno ministers and publicly by Dr Mahathir. The only protector he had was Abdullah.

But as Abdullah's hold on Umno got weaker and weaker especially after Anwar Ibrahim's win in the Permatang Pauh by-election, so did his ability and willingness to defend Zaid.

Umno politicians began questioning Zaid's ability to be a team player and arguing that he did not carry or represent the aspirations of the Malays.

They rejected the first draft of the Judicial Appointments Commission and Home Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar ticked him off for suggesting in Parliament that the government was reviewing the Internal Security Act.

When the government reached for the ISA against a journalist and DAP MP Teresa Kok in September, Zaid handed in his resignation as a minister. His friends say that instead of being depressed, resigning from the Cabinet was a liberating experience.

After the euphoria of being appointed a minister had died down, it had been a torture for him to be in the government.

He could not stomach the chauvinism and narrow-mindedness of ruling party politicians and realized that he was an outsider.

On at least a couple of occasions, he went to see Abdullah to offer his resignation, saying that he did not fit into this landscape. On both occasions, Zaid was persuaded to be patient and assured that the Administration would back the initiatives to reform the judiciary.

He agreed but it had become a chore for him to wake up daily and go to Putrajaya..

His presence at Cabinet meetings grew more infrequent in August/September and he knew that there was only going to be one conclusion for this political experiment which began when he received a late night telephone call from Abdullah several days after March 8.

His friends said that his few months in Cabinet made him realize that he had a value system that was completely different from Umno's.

He does not believe in the concept of Ketuanan Melayu or in the use of the ISA.

Days after he resigned from government, Anwar reached out to him. He appeared seduced by the idea of joining the Opposition, especially at the time when all the talk in town was about the September 16 crossovers.

But he decided against it and told family and friends that he would like to set up a foundation to foster better race relations among Malaysia's young. The Opposition has not stopped wooing him. He may be tempted to join either the PKR or DAP.

Why?

Unlike Umno, they want him. Also, his ideals are closer to those espoused by Anwar and Lim Kit Siang. He wants the ISA to be abolished, for the separation of powers to be respected, for the country's institutions to be restored to their full glory.

His sacking from Umno will allow him to follow his dreams. His sacking will allow Umno to finally get rid of a politician who was never one of them.

written by indianputra, December 03, 2008 10:57:51
Zaid, feel good that you are sacked from the 'idiots party' which is UMNO. UMNO is going down everyday and you must feel good that you are saved from the sinking ship.

Be smart, be adventurous, be proactive and join PR. You have a lot to give for Malaysians.
written by Hakim Abdullah, December 03, 2008 11:02:59
Aaah...a Malaysian Gentleman....
written by arazak, December 03, 2008 11:06:06
Zahid had expected this coming.

I think he would just say to UMNO what the late P. Ramlee often said in his comedy movies; “Pegi dah. . ., boh layan sama dia . . .!”
written by unomalaysia, December 03, 2008 11:13:53
When Zaid was still in amno, the party still has a decent gentleman. Now it is only a fit for the toilet pariah racist political party of sleepyhead, murdering shit, bald headed idiot, MMTahi, kerisman and the long list of degenerates goes on...

Congratulation Datuk Zaid for being free from amno. I think this is like a release from "hell and its demons".
written by Janaka, December 03, 2008 11:26:16
Excellent, Well done ZI, Time for you to move out and Move up. This is the great stepping stone for you to MOVE FORWARD to me and NEVER LOOK BACK ANYMORE, perhaps these direction you moving will be one of our future PM of Malaysia after YAB DSAI, YAB LGE, etc. Let those morons who reject you, Let them nail their own coffinS soon. Let us all of us (Rakyat Malaysia) work together, send those corrupted morons and Murderers to HELL! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by cheekhiaw, December 03, 2008 11:44:21
Thieves, liars and murderers free of their conscience...at last!

written by asianguy, December 03, 2008 11:57:51
Zaid, you will go down in history as one of the few 'UMNO' men whom Malaysians actually admire and respect. Well done - just continue to listen with your conscience, and you will win all our hearts.
written by Zapper, December 03, 2008 12:20:57
UMNO will NEVER accept a member with a rational mind and a true thinking Malaysian. The more ultra you are, the higher you will go in the leadership ladder.
written by malsia1206, December 03, 2008 12:47:08
The time will come when Datuk Zaid is more destructive to his former party from outside than from within. UMNO's tradtional base support is now eroding fast and furious except for those who cling on for the scrupulous financial and cable opportunities to make a quick ringgit.
written by Fuminari, December 03, 2008 15:10:05
the sacking of zaid is a clear reflection on how narrow minded the umno doctrine is sitting on!these umno goons are not fond of reform,the would kill off any whistle blower by hook or by crook.morally,this rotten ship is not only sinking,it is steering in the astern mode...it is good for zaid n the same to get off n jump ship.
written by Sinewy, December 03, 2008 16:48:13
This country is ruled over by a group of UMNO warlords whose party has less than 20% of the support from the voters. The collaborators in this scheme are those self serving members from other components like MCA, Gerakan, MIC etc. The average citizens in this country irrespective of race are struggling to survive, more so for those who are discriminated by the NEP policies. These UMNO warlords dictate the rule of the games in running this country with their self serving cronyism and nepotism, and they will continue to play the racist card to perpetuate to get the support of the UMNOputras to perpetuate their hold to the power. The sacking of ZI may not be what the PM wanted but he has no choice in the face of these UMNO warlords. He is just a puppet. When he was asked why he didn't carried out the reform after the 2004 GE 90% mandate given to him, he replied that if UMNO did not allow the reform, the 90% couldn't do anything. So even after the 2008 GE, these UMNO warlords will not give a damn about the voters as long as they can cling on to the power with whatever means.
written by singam, December 03, 2008 17:08:01
The sacking of Datuk Zaid is the clearest sign of the impending demise of UMNO.

When a power, whether of an empire or a local political bloc, becomes too great, internal forces come into play that cause the power to collapse. Most of the time, those who have positions of strength within the power are unable to see the collapse because they cannot believe that their power is waning. But the reformers are able to see the mistakes and valiantly try to reform the power to stem its collapse.

Such reformers are decried as troublemakers and traitors and are disposed of in unsavoury ways. Datuk Zaid is fortunate that they are merely sacking him. He is now free to follow his conscience in helping the nation to heal and recover from collapse.

Leave UMNO to implode. They need no help with that.
written by ricky, December 03, 2008 21:30:01
About time too. Congrats Datuk smilies/smiley.gif
written by mahendra5, December 03, 2008 21:45:13
UMNO has lost a great leader - Our YB Datuk Zaid. He tried to change UMNO within but failed and as a man of principle he gracefully resigned as a Minister. This action of his in itself shows his greatness - shakepeare quote : SOME ARE BORN GREAT - SOME ACHIEVE GREATNESS - SOME HAVE GREATNESS THRUST UPON THEM. Dear Datuk Zaid - you have achieved greatness.
Malaysians need you to lead the country. I bet you 100% that if you stand in the coming General Election,it will be a easy over-whelming victory for you. This BN Govt. needs an urgent change and only people like YOU(Datuk), Sdr.Anwar, RPK. Sdr.Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Sdr.Nik Aziz,
coupled with all the powerful brave-intelligent and outspoken Pakatan Rakyat MP's. The Rakyat are happy with the brave performance of the Pakatan MP's in Parliament. The Rakyat know that they are being stifled
by the Speaker, each and everytime they request for important issues to be debated. The Rakyat knows best - don't worry Brothers, the coming General Election would see the wrath of the Rakyat. They are fed up.
Carry on with your struggle as the saying goes - EVEN AN ANT CAN DROP THE ELEPHANT.
Pro-Bapa Malaysia.
written by DontPlayGod, December 03, 2008 22:49:36
Well, Zaid, I have often written to say that you do not fit in with UMNO and the racist, discriminatiory, and apartheid policies. I have also asked you to leave, but you "preferred" to be sacked. Anyway, the result is the same. You are now free of UMNO, and can follow your true principles. UMNO only stands for racism, apartheid, discrimination, and ketuanan, just like what Hitler stood for.

The only way to rise up high in UMNO is to play the race and ketuanan card. You didn't and you could not rise up in UMNO. Now even Mukriz is playing the race card to get elected as the Youth chief. He has called for the shutting down of vernacular schools. Well racist stance is nothig compared to what Najib did when he was just elected as Youth chief. Najib asked the Malays to kill the Chinese!!

So you see, Zaid, there was no way you can rise up the ranks in UMNO. To do that, you have to make racist posturing, and say something like, "asking the Chinese to leave if they are not happy with the racist policies of UMNO"
written by cpchen, December 03, 2008 23:20:13
Hishammudin call for those BN parties who speak like opposition to join the opposition is indeed digging his own graveyard. With the addition of 15 MCA parlimentarian to Pakatan. DSAI way to Putrajaya will not be far. If MCA join Pakatan, the opposition will have 97 seats in total.
written by wood, December 03, 2008 23:48:55
Datuk Zaid , you are now "free as a bird" ! Enjoy the freedom and do what you like and believed in. May God bless you and your family.
written by Wakeupmsia, December 04, 2008 01:38:29
UMNO has lost a true Patriot, a Nationalist. Datuk Zaid Ibrahim's vision for Malaysia and particularly for the Malay race is to "Stand Up and be Counted". But UMNO is propagating otherwise so as to hold on to power. Generally the urban Malays are are awkening and UMNO's demise isn't far away. I hope Datuk Zaid will make a wise choice to voice his idealism with a party he deemed fit. Datuk Zaid, you need a platform. We, the Rakyat needs you. The Nation needs you. Please don't retire.